New Line Cinema | Release Date: December 17, 2003
9.0
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 2629 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
2,377
Mixed:
82
Negative:
170
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characteres (5000 max)
10
DavidC.Jan 2, 2004
Thise who gave this movie '0' are shameful and tasteless.
7 of 8 users found this helpful
10
AnonymousJun 8, 2005
Actually, a 10 isn't nearly enough. It derserves every academy award it won. Emotional resonance is prevalent throguhout, acting is top grade, and the action is quite the eye-opener. If you thought the battle of Helm's deep in Two Actually, a 10 isn't nearly enough. It derserves every academy award it won. Emotional resonance is prevalent throguhout, acting is top grade, and the action is quite the eye-opener. If you thought the battle of Helm's deep in Two Towers was good, wait till you see The battle for minas tirinth. Possibly the best movie ever made. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
MattH.Dec 12, 2003
The best of the three, made me cry, crap my pants, and everything. The best movie of the year by far with some of the best performances yet. And, this is the best movie I have seen in my entire life.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
MarkM.Jan 10, 2004
Direction by Peter Jackson is bracing, sophisticated, stylish, lyrical, brash, romantic, and elegiac all in one. The cast conjures forth the best ensemble performance of the year, and Sean Astin finds himself with a performance deserving an Direction by Peter Jackson is bracing, sophisticated, stylish, lyrical, brash, romantic, and elegiac all in one. The cast conjures forth the best ensemble performance of the year, and Sean Astin finds himself with a performance deserving an Oscar nomination. Oh, and Miranda Otto does the females proud -- no doubt -- delivering the other Oscar-worthy performance of the film. Don't wait to see this one. Here is a cinematic beauty to behold in theatres. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
ChrisJan 10, 2004
MASTERPIECE!!!!! My favourite film of all time. Amazing scenes that will leave you breathless and scenes of real emotion are crammed into every second of this long and entertaining movie.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
10
Marc-oJan 14, 2004
I am not really a fan of fantasy literature or films but how can you watch these films and be anything but amazed, the sheer scope of these three gigantic movies envisioned by Peter Jackson blows me away, the mans sheer dedication to his I am not really a fan of fantasy literature or films but how can you watch these films and be anything but amazed, the sheer scope of these three gigantic movies envisioned by Peter Jackson blows me away, the mans sheer dedication to his craft is unprecidented, one only has to look back at his first feature Bad Taste and ok its not anything on this scale or level of story telling but that took him six years or so to make with no budget and a crew and cast of mates on weekends. After good but commercially unrecognised movies like The frighteners , and Heavenly Creature Jackson comes up with just about the biggest films ever mad. I can understand if this is not you thing but if you didnt think it was your cup of tea cinema go'ers then why pay the admission, i for one would not pay the entrance to see a 3hr Sandra Bullock romantic comedy!!! But in all seriousness this movie is about as good as it gets i for one am going back to the movies tonight just to remind myself how good it really is. This movie really is the best modern cinema can offer if you don't have respect for this then i suggest needle work or mabey stamp collecting!!!!!!!!!! Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
BobLuxenburgJan 20, 2004
Cormac P., heres what i want u to do, BURN IN HELL!!!!!!!!!!!! SO DON'T YOU ANDREW K!!!!!!!!! How can you how can you say that its nothing when everything about this movie is spectaculer. Even you, yes you Frieda L, you can suck my cupCormac P., heres what i want u to do, BURN IN HELL!!!!!!!!!!!! SO DON'T YOU ANDREW K!!!!!!!!! How can you how can you say that its nothing when everything about this movie is spectaculer. Even you, yes you Frieda L, you can suck my cup of tea. And everyone that disis it like Robert H, Leigh C, David R, Arleen, Dwayne R, Jawad S, Joe B, J R, Goliath, Harriet, Bob B, Sally L, Rebecca R, Fantasy, Jude T, Simon L, C B, Antonio A, John D, Joyce T, Rick S, Sweet angle, Brian K, Mike G, Jeffery G, Matt B, Eric M, Matt R, Maria T, Marcus B, Matt P, John S, Sam K, Joe C, i want you all to die and rott in hell!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! You have no joy in this series so all of you all are full of s&^%t!!!!!!!!!!!!!! you all are the weakest link. goodbye. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful
10
GinaN.Jan 26, 2004
What an amazing achievement! I love this movie! Thank you to the cast and crew for making such a memorable final chapter to this dazzling trilogy.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
FunEddieJan 4, 2004
Is this the greatest movie of all time? Probably not. Is Lord of the Rings the greatest trilogy of all time? Lets leave it a few years before making that judgement but I can think of two very good reasons why it may well end up being Is this the greatest movie of all time? Probably not. Is Lord of the Rings the greatest trilogy of all time? Lets leave it a few years before making that judgement but I can think of two very good reasons why it may well end up being considered the best - Return of the Jedi and The Godfather 3. What this movie most definitely is however is a magnificent, thunderous, amusing, touching, beautiful spectacle of a movie, the likes of which we only get the privalege of seeing once every few years. Too much CGI? Not once in this movie did I stop and think "that was clever", I was totally immersed in the story and the fantastic images merely served to make the story more compelling and real. I can only think that people that give this movie a 0 do it for the simple purpose of dragging the average score down and to me that is childish, petty and annoying. Everyone is entitled to their opinion and I've got no problem with someone thinking it was a little long winded in places, a bit boring for those who didn't buy into the first two movies or a little too battle heavy. Fine, so 5,6? No, 0. Come on!! While these people attempt in vain to get a life the rest of us can rejoice in movie making at its very best, the likes of which we may not see agin for many years to come. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
SharpdressedmanJan 8, 2004
I get the feeling the naysayers had their opinions formed on this trilogy before it was even released a couple years ago. I have seen ROTK three times now and watched other people in the audience cry through the ending(s). This is really I get the feeling the naysayers had their opinions formed on this trilogy before it was even released a couple years ago. I have seen ROTK three times now and watched other people in the audience cry through the ending(s). This is really having an impact on people who see it. An epic for the ages. I think the quote taken from Michael Wilmington's review sums it all up best: "Like all great fantasies and epics, this one leaves you with the sense that its wonders are real, its dreams are palpable." Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MandyL.Feb 12, 2004
I absoulutely loved this movie. The fight scenes were spectacular, making the locations look utterly believable. That coupled with the emotional story creates a beautiful story, that has all the necessary elements to make it a blockbusterI absoulutely loved this movie. The fight scenes were spectacular, making the locations look utterly believable. That coupled with the emotional story creates a beautiful story, that has all the necessary elements to make it a blockbuster hit. The love story between Aragorn and Arwen, the friendship between Frodo and Sam, and the evil of Gollum draws you into the story. I have watched it three times and have not yet grown tried. Director Peter Jackson has created an ultimate classic from a classic book. It is a movie that will live forever as one of the most magical films of all time. The characters are delved into more deeply. Overall, a very wonderful movie. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
NinaJ.Feb 20, 2004
Return of the King is a radiant, heartfelt, compelling, transcendent film. It is a tribute to one of the greatest literature epics. It is a film made with flair and verve by filmmakers who evince love and respect for their source with every Return of the King is a radiant, heartfelt, compelling, transcendent film. It is a tribute to one of the greatest literature epics. It is a film made with flair and verve by filmmakers who evince love and respect for their source with every scene, every frame. It is a historic achievement. And it is an amazingly good movie. It is shameful that certain persons involved in other films have resorted to dirty tricks and classless campaigning against it. But in the end it doesn't matter, because this movie trilogy has risen above such temporary pettiness. I personally don't care what awards it wins or doesn't win because it doesn't need these things for people like me to love it or for it to be validated as a truly great film. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
LeanneJ.Feb 3, 2004
Stunningly beautiful and genuinely touching. I really love this movie. It's scope ranges from the widest battle shots to two hobbits crawling up a mountain. Every scene, every character, every line is part of tightly woven epic that Stunningly beautiful and genuinely touching. I really love this movie. It's scope ranges from the widest battle shots to two hobbits crawling up a mountain. Every scene, every character, every line is part of tightly woven epic that reaches an amazing culmination. The wistful conclusion gently demonstrates the full meaning of their quest: what has been won, what has been lost, and how everything has changed. Peter Jackson, Fran Walsh, etc. have delivered a complete triumph of a movie that will be remembered. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
LorenzoB.Feb 5, 2004
The Best!!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
SallyK.Feb 6, 2004
What can I say? This is a gorgeous, inspiring epic, lovingly made. The artistry is consistently astonishing. The ensemble cast comes into its own. Wow. It took my breath away.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
DorotheaFeb 9, 2004
Oh my God. It's already won the Broadcast Film Critics Awards, the Golden Globes, the Producer's Guild Award, and the Director's Guild Award! And all of them deservedly so! This is a grand, gorgeous movie and an unparalleled Oh my God. It's already won the Broadcast Film Critics Awards, the Golden Globes, the Producer's Guild Award, and the Director's Guild Award! And all of them deservedly so! This is a grand, gorgeous movie and an unparalleled achievement in filmmaking. The way it has captured Tolkien's vision is nothing short of miraculous. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
KevinM.Jun 20, 2004
That was an awesome movie, you can really attach to the charactors, you feel that you know them. The battles are great and also the acting. Overall, one of the best movies I have seen in my life.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JiggyG.Nov 7, 2005
A fitting end to the greatest film trilogy ever created. Everything, from the acting, to the cinematography, to the special effects, to the score, is flawless. Return of the King retains Tolkien's ascending level of excitement and A fitting end to the greatest film trilogy ever created. Everything, from the acting, to the cinematography, to the special effects, to the score, is flawless. Return of the King retains Tolkien's ascending level of excitement and suspense. Yes, Jackson removed some scenes, but in the interest of time, it was worth it. Lord of the Rings is spectacular in every regard; LOTR is to our time what Star Wars was to the late 70s-80s....purely amazing filmmaking. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
MatthewMar 9, 2005
I wish there was a score of 11/10. This is the greatest movie of all time, next to "The Godfater" of course. Those who gave this film a score of 5 or less, you should have no right to post your score, because you obviously have no reason I wish there was a score of 11/10. This is the greatest movie of all time, next to "The Godfater" of course. Those who gave this film a score of 5 or less, you should have no right to post your score, because you obviously have no reason abilities, or know a good movie when you see one. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
rondaJun 13, 2005
Ten doesnt even begin to tell how much i like this movie not including the others.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
anonomisIJun 18, 2005
This is the best movie I have ever or possibly will ever see.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
WilliamE.Sep 20, 2005
I suspect the people who give this or any LOTR movie a low score must be frustrated Matrix- or Star Wars-fans, jealous of LOTR's success.

I am a big fan of all three franchises, but in our hearts, we all know that LOTR far outshines
I suspect the people who give this or any LOTR movie a low score must be frustrated Matrix- or Star Wars-fans, jealous of LOTR's success.

I am a big fan of all three franchises, but in our hearts, we all know that LOTR far outshines the other two in most respects - acting, direction, cinematography, and overall story depth are but a few that spring to mind.
Make no mistake, this trilogy (which not long ago most thought would be impossible to make) is a cinematic achievement rivalled by few, and bettered by none.
Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful
10
J.kJan 4, 2006
It's a movie with a lot of war i love it.
3 of 3 users found this helpful
10
SamXApr 1, 2006
Flawless CGI really brings Tolkien's creatures to life in this film. Peter Jackson has done it again, he was made for adapting long books to long films. With King Kong the plot had to be stretched because Jackson obviously wanted anotherFlawless CGI really brings Tolkien's creatures to life in this film. Peter Jackson has done it again, he was made for adapting long books to long films. With King Kong the plot had to be stretched because Jackson obviously wanted another long film, like one of these LotR movies. But with Jackson working with Tolkien's books he couldn't have gone wrong. He filled the cinematic Middle Earth with almost everything Tolkien described, and followed Tolkien's sequence of events quite closely. At some points the film sores to give a feeling that you're watching a true legend unfold before your eyes, like the scene where the Witch King gets killed by Eowyn. Sir Ian McKellen is a terrific actor and some of the lines which actors say carry real wisdom in them. The musical score was absolutely beautiful, the best of any movie I've ever seen and probably ever will see. The plot was the most engaging and interesting ever, with fight-scenes all over the place to keep the less taken-in among us in our seats. Even the fight scenes have their own emotional beauty to them. And although the ending of the film was heavily criticized for being too long, I feel it was necessary as it was not a case of ending the film, but ending the film for each character in turn. The film deserves all the 10/10s it recieves, and is truly a masterpiece. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
WilliamH.Apr 6, 2008
These films show film journalists and fans everywhere that fantasy films can be absolutely superb. And this film has been the perfect end to what has been an epic masterpiece and adventure.
3 of 3 users found this helpful
10
XavierEJul 2, 2009
The greatest film I've ever seen.
3 of 4 users found this helpful
10
AaronRAug 1, 2009
I recently re-watched the entire trilogy. I can safely say, that these are my all time favorite movies. RotK has some of the best action scenes I've ever had the pleasure to watch. The love between Aragorn and Arwyn is so beautiful and I recently re-watched the entire trilogy. I can safely say, that these are my all time favorite movies. RotK has some of the best action scenes I've ever had the pleasure to watch. The love between Aragorn and Arwyn is so beautiful and well crafted that I myself started to love Arwen. Every character was fleshed out so much so that there is no question as to them being real. You really feel that this is more of a true story then a fantasy epic. The sets? My god, I want a scal model of Minas Tirith. These sets were so well designed, so well painted, that it was just, amazing. Special effects were easily the best I have ever seen. The Oliphaunts were my favorite effect next to the Fell beast, which was also an amazing effect. Finally, the story, its a fitting end to the best trilogy that i can think of. At four hours long (the credits accounting for the last twelve minutes or so), it doesn't rush, nor does it feel drawn out. This trilogy, not just the film, but the entire trilogy, set the bar for how book-to-movie adaptations should be made. Thank you, Mr. Peter Jackson, thank you for giving me my most cherished film series of all time. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful
10
AnnaLAug 1, 2009
An amazing finale to an epic trilogy. The first two out of necessity lacked the satisfactory feel of really ending, whereas this final film had the privilege of finishing all character arcs and loose ends and presents Tolkein's finest An amazing finale to an epic trilogy. The first two out of necessity lacked the satisfactory feel of really ending, whereas this final film had the privilege of finishing all character arcs and loose ends and presents Tolkein's finest book in all its majesty. Even if it was 10 times longer I would have watched it to the end. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful
10
KevinP.Dec 17, 2003
The best movie of all time.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JakeR.Dec 19, 2003
Easily the best movie of the year, mabey even ever!!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
CaileeM.Dec 22, 2003
How can anyone think that this movie is anything less than a 10? And how can someone think its a 1??? So he changed it a bit from the book but that is the beauty of interpretation. I think if anything Tolkien would have been pleased with the How can anyone think that this movie is anything less than a 10? And how can someone think its a 1??? So he changed it a bit from the book but that is the beauty of interpretation. I think if anything Tolkien would have been pleased with the outcome of Jackson's masterpiece. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JoeyM.Dec 20, 2003
Is it really possible to judge this movie on its own merits without considering that it is really the final three hours of a nine hour work? I had the pleasure of watching all three films back to back and, let me tell you, the work as a Is it really possible to judge this movie on its own merits without considering that it is really the final three hours of a nine hour work? I had the pleasure of watching all three films back to back and, let me tell you, the work as a whole is amazing. Others have written about this, but this is essentially a movie of climaxes - to say more would be to utter spoilers. Sean Astin is terrific - once again, I found myself more emotionally involved with his story than with any other. There are some flaws - I was more aware of hobbit stand ins this time than before and, yes, the Mortensen/Tyler romance never quite achieved the level of poetic grandeur that Jackson, perhaps, wanted. On the other hand, it certainly didn't achieve a level of poetic grandeur in the books either. Anyhow, I had a great time - I lived the "I laughed, I cried" cliche to its fullest. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
BobH.Dec 27, 2003
Okay, how can anyone say this is bad this is one of the best movies of all time and anyone who says otherwise should slap themselves.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
DaveJ.Dec 30, 2003
Absolutely astonishing.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MalC.Dec 30, 2003
I think this movie is a great movie and the most defining movie trilogy of recent years. It is pure entertainment. For those of you blasting the movie for not being artistic, LOTR wasn't meant to be artistic. It's meant to be a I think this movie is a great movie and the most defining movie trilogy of recent years. It is pure entertainment. For those of you blasting the movie for not being artistic, LOTR wasn't meant to be artistic. It's meant to be a form of escapism, which is why it's called FANTASY. Sure, art has a place in film, but if you want to see a film just to have a good time, this is where it's at. I just recently read the books, and I don't think there is anyway to put in all the subtleties of the book trilogy in a movie that is less than 6 hours long (yes, this is geared to all you unsatisfied tolkien fans out there). I think Peter Jackson has adapted the movie into a very entertaining set of films that includes the more important aspects of the books and I think they can inspire others to also read the books (which is a good thing). So, overall, if you're not a bitter tolkien fan, or a stuck up artsy movie critic wanna-be, and you want to see a good, well crafted piece of entertainment, see this movie. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
KarlD.Jan 1, 2004
Magnificient! I dont know how can anyone say this film is annoying its really a shame. And this film deserves more oscars than any other movie yes, because of its heart and wonderful spectacle. Just brilliant.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
TooGoodToBeTrueJan 10, 2004
As good as a movie gets. It may not win an Oscar, but in the end it doesn't need to. Oscars are given to validate the opinion of a small group of narrow-minded fools, but this will be validated by a group a million times greater and As good as a movie gets. It may not win an Oscar, but in the end it doesn't need to. Oscars are given to validate the opinion of a small group of narrow-minded fools, but this will be validated by a group a million times greater and more diverse for ages to come. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
WarioJan 11, 2004
Great! End dragged on a bit!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MickeyC.Jan 10, 2004
Wow! They don't make em like this... ever. A masterful achievment by Peter Jackson and crew.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
DaisyB.Jan 10, 2004
I cried I laughed it was the best movie ever you ppl who trashed it how can you this work is a masterpiece have you ppl even read the books??????? I highly doubt most of you have if you are leaving such comments as you are any tolkien fan I cried I laughed it was the best movie ever you ppl who trashed it how can you this work is a masterpiece have you ppl even read the books??????? I highly doubt most of you have if you are leaving such comments as you are any tolkien fan would say that Jackson did a spectacular job on rotk. You ppl who say its boring how how how I mean how its nonstop emotion and drama truly one of the greatest movies ever in my opinion and taken from the one of the best piece of literature you could ever read and you ppl are acting like 5 year olds its sad really belittling truly great actors some how have been knighted Jackson took some liberties I admit but still they just added to the emotion of the movie and this movie deserves the Oscar this time I guess you ppl don?t really appreciate good movies and/or good literature and those of you who are so picky saying that the book should be reflected out in the movie word for word oh my god I can?t say anymore without screaming as for you the ppl who defended rotk hats off to you I have to leave I?m getting a migraine and all you ppl who have trashed rotk you all deserve to be eaten by shelob. ~ Daisy Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
CourtneyR.Jan 1, 2004
This movie was very well made. It definately deserves best picture in the OSCARS. And Peter Jackson should get best directer. He put a lot of hard work into all three of the movies. There is also great acting in the movie.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
LOTRisthebestJan 13, 2004
The best trilogy ever made. A great book now comes full circle. This is one of the few movies where I actually wanted to see all the credits, just to get a glimpse at the sure amount of love and effort that comes with such a movie as this. A The best trilogy ever made. A great book now comes full circle. This is one of the few movies where I actually wanted to see all the credits, just to get a glimpse at the sure amount of love and effort that comes with such a movie as this. A blast for the eyes, the action is 10 times the Battle of Endor in Return of the Jedi. Just look at how closely the visual landscape of Mount Doom resembles early inspired paintings of the book, and tears will literally come to your eyes. A depiction of pure love for art and literature. I advise for every movigoer, fan or not to see it. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MikeJan 17, 2004
All i have to say is... wow.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
SJan 17, 2004
I really wish people would stop whining that it's not like the book. It's a completely different entity.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
LyubomirZ.Jan 18, 2004
The best film i've ever watched!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
PatriciaR.Jan 21, 2004
Anyone who didn't like this movie because it "didn't have enough of the book" is a dork.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MegJan 22, 2004
Excellent! Great shots, great actors, great scenery...Absolutely loved it!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MarcusE.Jan 2, 2004
Film of a grand scale - as significant as Gone With the Wind.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
EllisMJan 2, 2004
Gollum to open this film made it a complete story - the full circle of Tolkien.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
DavidP.Jan 27, 2004
Just incredible.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
RamyCungJan 28, 2004
All those trashing the lord of the rings and saying such things as "predictable!" then first of all learn how to read and then pick up Tolkien's wonderful book and start reading. Many of you have trashed it so becasue your intellegenceAll those trashing the lord of the rings and saying such things as "predictable!" then first of all learn how to read and then pick up Tolkien's wonderful book and start reading. Many of you have trashed it so becasue your intellegence is below our standard level, and if this is an American site then it's probably normal so don't worry about it. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
HarryPotterIsgayJan 2, 2004
Anyone who doesn't like the lord of the rings can suck my ass. You dirty pieces of shit are the reason it has an 8.9 out of ten instead of one hundred. And all you purists can shut the hell up because its called a screenplay, which meansAnyone who doesn't like the lord of the rings can suck my ass. You dirty pieces of shit are the reason it has an 8.9 out of ten instead of one hundred. And all you purists can shut the hell up because its called a screenplay, which means it is made for the cinema and isn't going to have every fucking thing that was in the books in the movies. You stupid shitlickers Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful
10
JohnS.Jan 3, 2004
It's amusing to watch the reaction of Star Wars and Godfather fans as many professional critics slaughtered their sacred cows by proclaiming Lord of the Rings trilogy better -- which it is. At 37, I have viewed those other trilogies manyIt's amusing to watch the reaction of Star Wars and Godfather fans as many professional critics slaughtered their sacred cows by proclaiming Lord of the Rings trilogy better -- which it is. At 37, I have viewed those other trilogies many times. I love Stars Wars and the Godfather movies, but the Lord of the Rings is both grander and more subtle. And the Return of the King distills its best qualities to their essence. Their has never been a better blend of operatic grandeur and intimacy, and there won't be until someone takes decades to create world and its history again. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful
10
MariW.Jan 3, 2004
Peter Jackson has truly made history, creating the greatest trilogy of all time, leaving all others in the dust, it's been out for 2 weeks and already well on it's way to making $1 billion.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
ClayE.Jan 4, 2004
A Fitting ending to the greatest trilogy of all time!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
ClayE.Jan 4, 2004
A Fitting ending to the greatest trilogy of all time!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
ClayE.Jan 4, 2004
A Fitting ending to the greatest trilogy of all time!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
DazJan 4, 2004
Without ten thousand words i could not do justice to this wonderful, wonderful piece of cinema history. you owe it to yourself to watch this film at the cinema and your jaw WILL drop.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
RussellLowery-H.Jan 5, 2004
I was surprised at the emotion the third installment pulled from me. Astin's (Sam) performance was the heart of this movie, and ultimately the heart of the trilogy. We come to realize that he, rather than Frodo, represents us all.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JustinH.Jan 5, 2004
An absolutely stunning movie! I've seen it once and I have to admit that I felt a slight disappointment that it somehow had not reached my expectations. However...it was also exactly how I felt after watching the Two Towers for the An absolutely stunning movie! I've seen it once and I have to admit that I felt a slight disappointment that it somehow had not reached my expectations. However...it was also exactly how I felt after watching the Two Towers for the first time. But each time I have watched the TT on DVD and the extended version, I have gained a greater appreciation for how wonderfully made these movies are. Therefore, I know that good things can only come out of watching the Return of the King again and again and I know that the extended version will certainly make this the "One Movie to rule them all". The acting is certainly not hollow and the original themes of Tolkien are all there. Themes of hope, perseverance, loyalty, self-sacrifice, courage, and the list goes on and on. Jackson himself stated that he has made an attempt to avoid placing any of his own themes in the story. In fact, I didn't find mind the absence of the scouring of the shire because Jackson always has a good and logical reason for making the changes he has for the movies. As for the endings, I'm very glad that he has been true to the book. I disagree with those who said that this movie focuses too much on battles when in fact I felt that ROTK focused much more on Frodo and Sam's journey than the TT, which it should since that is the main theme of the story-Small Hands can do Great Things. Too long! some say...personally I would be willing to sit as long as Jackson made it...be it 5 hours or 12. Now I can only hope that Christopher Tolkien will let Jackson make the Hobbit... Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
TheChimpJan 5, 2004
First i would like to say i wholeheartedly agree with what "fun eddie" said about people giving this movie a zero. on metacritic it seems like everyone either gives it a 0-1 or a 9-10. most of the time i will give movies a 2 for being First i would like to say i wholeheartedly agree with what "fun eddie" said about people giving this movie a zero. on metacritic it seems like everyone either gives it a 0-1 or a 9-10. most of the time i will give movies a 2 for being horrible(with the exception of timeline, 0) or a 8, maybe 9. But i can say that this movie truly deserves a 10, and im not just giving it to raise the score. this film is so flawless in every way, i personally think it is the best movie ever made. some people who gave it 10's may not, and that is fine. not during one scene did i wish the movie would hurrry up, or enough of that character, or anything. every scene was perfectly crafted and the battle scenes were simply the most stunning battle scenes ever. the battle of pelennor fields beats braveheart by miles. the music is composed perfectly, and gimli is along for some small jokes that nonetheless will make you smile. the sound is amazing, particularly i thought when the trolls were beating the drums and the orcs were chanting their warcries as the horns were blowing. if some movie like cold mountain wins best picture instead of this, i will simply give up watching the oscars. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
DanC.Jan 5, 2004
Wow, this movie is great! The best film in 10 years! If not, the best since E.T.! I don't know how anyone can give this movie less than a nine.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
Ben&BashA.Jan 6, 2004
David R just because it's long you think it's crap, it shows your not into films. We both thought it was fantasic.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
PeterJ.Jan 6, 2004
A fantastic movie. I have read the trilogy myself and to all the people who think its been changed too much it was changed only because if the movie was made exactly the same as the books it would go for 20 hours. I think that Jackson did a A fantastic movie. I have read the trilogy myself and to all the people who think its been changed too much it was changed only because if the movie was made exactly the same as the books it would go for 20 hours. I think that Jackson did a brilliant job. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
BobL.Jan 6, 2004
This is simply one of the best movies of all time. How can't you give this a good grade. I am a die hard lord of the rings fan. i have read all the books four times each (that includes the hobbit). The only thing that i can say to the This is simply one of the best movies of all time. How can't you give this a good grade. I am a die hard lord of the rings fan. i have read all the books four times each (that includes the hobbit). The only thing that i can say to the people that say that the ending is too boring.... You dont have to wach the dang movie any way. The ending is for true Lord Of The Rings fan to compleatly get the ending and everything that is going on. This is why i give this movie a 10!!!!! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
LSJan 8, 2004
Robert H says "Too long for my taste and that ending, well I thought it would never end?" Here's a little free advice. Don't go to see a three and a half hour movie if you're worried about seeing something "too long". Robert H says "Too long for my taste and that ending, well I thought it would never end?" Here's a little free advice. Don't go to see a three and a half hour movie if you're worried about seeing something "too long". You'd think you'd get the hint after the first two movies. And if you're only interested in two dimensional characters and non stop action, go see fast and furious. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AndreasK.Jan 8, 2004
Unprecedented!!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
WillJan 8, 2004
I couldn't help at some points to become teary eyed. Jackson does a great job of tying everything together perfectly so no questions are raised in after thought. Was a bit long but it was worth it in the end. I left the theater content I couldn't help at some points to become teary eyed. Jackson does a great job of tying everything together perfectly so no questions are raised in after thought. Was a bit long but it was worth it in the end. I left the theater content and this film went above my expectations. This trilogy will be the new Star Wars for the younger generation. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
WillJan 8, 2004
I couldn't help at some points to become teary eyed. Jackson does a great job of tying everything together perfectly so no questions are raised in after thought. Was a bit long but it was worth it in the end. I left the theater content I couldn't help at some points to become teary eyed. Jackson does a great job of tying everything together perfectly so no questions are raised in after thought. Was a bit long but it was worth it in the end. I left the theater content and this film went above my expectations. This trilogy will be the new Star Wars for the younger generation. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
ErwinK.Jan 8, 2004
Unbelievable.... Makes the previous two already brilliant movies seem amateurish in comparison. Even in the era of CGI, I still couldn't believe some of the scenes were physically possible to be put on film; The aerial shots of the Unbelievable.... Makes the previous two already brilliant movies seem amateurish in comparison. Even in the era of CGI, I still couldn't believe some of the scenes were physically possible to be put on film; The aerial shots of the catapault firing into the orcs... the chaos of the oliphants in the battlefield.... the scene where Legolas slays one of these beasts..... Gandalf riding along the alleyways of the Minas Tirithas the camera swirls around him.... gollum.... the spider... and there are scenes with incredible pathos and beauty; The lighting of the fires on the hill tops.... Frodo and Sam lying on a slab of rock as lava flows around them.... the acting is incredible (Sean, Elijah, Serskis deserve to be in the running for an Oscar). You COMPLETELY feel for these characters and the brevity of their actions. Peter Jackson: You are a God. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
DavidN.Jan 8, 2004
If i could give it more than ten i would this is the greatest film ever made i am the biggest lotr fan.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
WalterA.Jan 9, 2004
Just three words - BEST MOVIE EVER.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
AustinG.Jan 9, 2004
Average acion flick!!??? What are you talking about thin in the best movie iv ever seen and yes iv seen classics like Citizen Kane and Casablanca but this sertainly takes the top notch. How on earth could you say this is boring? For all of Average acion flick!!??? What are you talking about thin in the best movie iv ever seen and yes iv seen classics like Citizen Kane and Casablanca but this sertainly takes the top notch. How on earth could you say this is boring? For all of you who gave it a zero i would like to no what kind of movies you like? Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JohnJan 9, 2004
Great!!!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MelL.Feb 11, 2004
This movie is fantasic , especially the battling part ... Catch the movie or u will regret it .
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JuliannaL.Feb 10, 2004
i love the movie i esspecialy like all the action.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
SarahL.Feb 1, 2004
This is a beautiful, brilliantly-made film.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
AndyFeb 13, 2004
Simply incredible.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
NatalieJ.Feb 2, 2004
Simply spectacular, this is the best movie of the year, or possibly the century.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
KyleS.Feb 25, 2004
NOT overrated.... I thought it was the best of the three.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JasonC.Feb 8, 2004
This is the best movie I have ever seen in my life. I am a huge fan of Tolkien. In my opinion, Peter Jackson could not have done a better job of bringing it to the big screen. The entire series does a great job of making the audience feel This is the best movie I have ever seen in my life. I am a huge fan of Tolkien. In my opinion, Peter Jackson could not have done a better job of bringing it to the big screen. The entire series does a great job of making the audience feel connected to the characters in the movie. Another important part of this film is the seemless integration of CGI and and real world people and objects. This movie will be a benchmark for future epic style fantasy and science fiction films. I can't wait for the extended version. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
AmandaC.Feb 9, 2004
the film is perfect...It's funny and interessant...go see you!!!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
NRMar 14, 2004
This was absolutely the best movie (all three together that is) I've ever seen. It stuck with me in such a profound way, that it still runs through my mind long after I've seen it. I don't believe there will ever be another This was absolutely the best movie (all three together that is) I've ever seen. It stuck with me in such a profound way, that it still runs through my mind long after I've seen it. I don't believe there will ever be another movie made able to top this work of art. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JohnO.Mar 19, 2004
Epic, enchanting, magical. This immortal picture deserved every Oscar it got.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
10
JoeS.Mar 22, 2004
There are three things that make Peter Jackson a bad-ass: The Fellowship of the Ring, The Two Towers, and of course the final and dramatic masterpiece The Return of the King. From the moment I was able to sit through The Fellowship of the There are three things that make Peter Jackson a bad-ass: The Fellowship of the Ring, The Two Towers, and of course the final and dramatic masterpiece The Return of the King. From the moment I was able to sit through The Fellowship of the Ring I knew Peter Jackson had done something amazing. I was just upset that I had to wait so long for the conclusion of the trilogy. The Return of the King gave me tears more than once and when I sat down in the Special Preview the Night before at 12:00 AM technically on the 17th (very early morning) I could hear people making the same sobbing noises I was making and it made me realize that I was not the only one obbsessed with the power of the "One Ring" and the One Triligy. The Lord Of The Rings really does Rule them all. Once Again in the words of Gandalf "Authority is not given to you to deny the return of The King!!!" Amen. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
StevenA.Mar 26, 2004
It was one of the best movies I've ever seen.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
CameronD.Mar 3, 2004
The best movie experience of my life, I've never been so moved emotionally by film. From the wise words of Gandalf & bravery of all the characters this movie truly lifts the spirit, moves the soul & ascends to the grandeur of myth. The The best movie experience of my life, I've never been so moved emotionally by film. From the wise words of Gandalf & bravery of all the characters this movie truly lifts the spirit, moves the soul & ascends to the grandeur of myth. The sweep & vision is remarkable & Jackson is commended for bringing to screen such an emotionally rich embodiment of Tolkiens work. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
KelseyL.Mar 8, 2004
This is the best movie ever!!!! I loved it!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
KaliM.Apr 3, 2004
An extraordinary cinematic achievement and powerful conclusion to the Lord of the Rings. The film is exquisite in detail allowing the viewer to slip into the world of Middle-earth. Highly recommended.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
AnandP.Apr 5, 2004
This is the greatest movie I have ever seen!!! The action was terrific, the acting was superb and Peter Jackson should be commended for his great direction.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
AnnaW.Apr 7, 2004
10? That's as high as it goes?!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
KellyJun 1, 2004
Come'on! Who doesn't love Lord of the Rings?
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
AnnieW.Jun 18, 2004
The best movie ever made.
3 of 3 users found this helpful
10
SuI.Jun 18, 2004
The greatest movie movie I have ever seen.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
ChrisM.Jun 19, 2004
Return of the King is an extraordinary piece of flim making and full credit goes to Peter Jackson for such a wonderful job.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JustinJ.Jul 2, 2004
IT ROCKS!!!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MarcD.Jul 29, 2004
I don't understand why so many people are bashing the show. The film may not be 100% faithful to the original films they were based on...but this is a very commendable effort. An entertaining show which left me smiling at particular I don't understand why so many people are bashing the show. The film may not be 100% faithful to the original films they were based on...but this is a very commendable effort. An entertaining show which left me smiling at particular scenes. People need to lighten up. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful
10
HarrisonB.Aug 8, 2004
Simply a masterpiece! Peter Jackson's best ever! Peter Jackson turned the books into great movies. Even, you know it's a little long, who gives a crap? Not me. Great special effects. A little sad of an ending, but nevertheless a Simply a masterpiece! Peter Jackson's best ever! Peter Jackson turned the books into great movies. Even, you know it's a little long, who gives a crap? Not me. Great special effects. A little sad of an ending, but nevertheless a good one. I was very glad it won 11 Academy Awards. I was very pleased. One of the best movies ever!!!!! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
KevinH.Jan 19, 2005
King Arthur was better?!?!?!?!? Dude, you have got to be kidding me! This may very well be the best movie trilogy ever put on film! Awesome!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MattL.Jan 28, 2005
Best movie trilogy of all time. And this is coming from a non-Tolkien reader who thought fantasy movies was something I wouldn't like anymore. Has everything a movie ever dreamed of having. Renews the movie-making art-form that's Best movie trilogy of all time. And this is coming from a non-Tolkien reader who thought fantasy movies was something I wouldn't like anymore. Has everything a movie ever dreamed of having. Renews the movie-making art-form that's been missing for so long. This has set the trend of great epic movies. Directors will try and copy the scope of it's greatness but it won't be matched in a very long time. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful