The Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King Image
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 41 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.9

Universal acclaim- based on 2465 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: ,
  • Summary: Sauron's forces have laid siege to Minas Tirith, the capital of Gondor, in their efforts to eliminate the race of men. The once-great kingdom, watched over by a fading steward, has never been in more desperate need of its king. But can Aragorn (Viggo Mortensen) answer the call of hisSauron's forces have laid siege to Minas Tirith, the capital of Gondor, in their efforts to eliminate the race of men. The once-great kingdom, watched over by a fading steward, has never been in more desperate need of its king. But can Aragorn (Viggo Mortensen) answer the call of his heritage and become what he was born to be? In no small measure, the fate of Middle-earth rests on his broad shoulders. [New Line Cinema] Expand

Trailer

Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 41
  2. Negative: 0 out of 41
  1. Wall Street Journal
    Reviewed by: Joe Morgenstern
    100
    The invisible wizard Peter Jackson makes use of every scene to show us the meaning of magnificence. Never has a filmmaker aimed higher, or achieved more.
  2. The conclusion of Peter Jackson's masterwork is passionate and literate, detailed and expansive, and it's conceived with a risk-taking flair for old-fashioned movie magic at its most precious.
  3. First and foremost, it soars because its grand design and numerous story problems were worked out half a century ago by a guy named Tolkien, and Jackson was smart enough to realize this.
  4. Like all great fantasies and epics, this one leaves you with the sense that its wonders are real, its dreams are palpable.
  5. Reviewed by: Alan Morrison
    100
    Those who have walked beside these heroes every step of the way on such a long journey deserve the emotional pay-off as well as the action peaks, and they will be genuinely touched as the final credits roll.
  6. 88
    There is little enough psychological depth anywhere in the films, actually, and they exist mostly as surface, gesture, archetype and spectacle. They do that magnificently well, but one feels at the end that nothing actual and human has been at stake.
  7. Add a lot of dull acting -- except Sir Ian McKellen and Andy Serkis -- and you have an uneven movie with yawns aplenty.

See all 41 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 84 out of 757
  1. Jul 24, 2015
    10
    Властелин Колец: Возвращение Короля (The Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King) я по праву считаю самым ЗРЕЛИЩНЫМ, самым ЭПИЧЕСКИМ фильмомВластелин Колец: Возвращение Короля (The Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King) я по праву считаю самым ЗРЕЛИЩНЫМ, самым ЭПИЧЕСКИМ фильмом в истории. До определённого момента именно третий фильм я считал лучшим в трилогии. Явно видно, что создатели вложили в него уйму сил. Про сюжет, актёров и спецэффекты я писать не буду, так как там они на максимально высоком уровне. Говард Шор на этот раз превзошёл самого себя, и заслуженно получил свой второй оскар (первый был за "Братство"). Трек "Сигнальные Огни", или "Белое Древо" я считаю лучшей композицией Шора, и его абсолютным шедевром. В этом фильме все сюжетные линии подходят к концу. Добро побеждает зло. Перед нами разворачиваются великие битвы - (самые великие за историю кино, конечно же). И самое главное, мы видим уничтожение кольца. Итак, какой же главный смысл Властелина Колец (по моему мнению)? Попробую объяснить. Кольцо, - это ЗЛО. Фродо, - это человек, который по собственному желанию ВЗВАЛИВАЕТ ЕГО НА СЕБЯ, НЕСЁТ ЕГО НА СЕБЕ, дабы УНИЧТОЖИТЬ. Вопрос: это каким надо быть человеком, чтобы (образно) согласиться нести на себе ВСЁ ЗЛО МИРА? Этот человек знает, что будет страдать, знает, что будет мучиться, то есть, он совершает своего рода САМОПОЖЕРТВОВАНИЕ. Но ради чего? - Ради того, что он любит, ради того, что В МИРЕ ЕСТЬ ДОБРО. И, сами подумайте, это до какой степени надо любить. Этот человек знает, что зло нелегко победить, он даже предполагает, что поход против зла может стоить ему жизни... ДУМАЙТЕ. Властелин Колец - это философское произведение ОБО ВСЁМ. Например, о безграничной любви к дому, и защите его. Защиту дома мы могли бы лицезреть в конце этого фильма, если бы Джексон, конечно, снял её. Но, к сожалению, он её не снял. Также, все произведения Толкина о любви к природе. Размышлять можно много, но нужно ДЕЙСТВОВАТЬ. Итак, ещё я хочу сказать, что ВК, конечно же, нужно смотреть только в РЕЖИССЁРСКИХ(РАСШИРЕННЫХ) ВЕРСИЯХ, которые интереснее театральных, и ближе к книге. К тому же, такие фильмы длиннее театральных (это при условии того, что даже театральная версия идёт 558 минут (за все 3 фильма, - ( а режиссёрская версия идёт 683 (!) минуты)), - но я совершенно не против очень длинных фильмов, и даже наоборот, всегда отстаиваю максимально длинный хронометраж во всём. В общем, Властелин Колец классика, как кино, так и литературы. Могу писать ещё много, но остановлюсь. А на что вы готовы ради того, что любите? 100/100 или 10/10 (или 5/5 или 4/4). Expand
  2. Jul 16, 2013
    10
    Una de las mejores peliculas de todos los tiempos, excelente tema, actuaciones, efectos visuales y obviamente un epico final predecible peroUna de las mejores peliculas de todos los tiempos, excelente tema, actuaciones, efectos visuales y obviamente un epico final predecible pero aun no tapa el gran trabajo de todo este equipo, agradezco por este gran film. Expand
  3. Aug 9, 2011
    10
    It's a perfect epic. There's not one false step. The battles are incredible, the characters just as fun as ever. This movie is basicallyIt's a perfect epic. There's not one false step. The battles are incredible, the characters just as fun as ever. This movie is basically flawless. One of the best ever Expand
  4. StevenL.
    Dec 23, 2006
    10
    After twice reading The Hobbit and The Lord of the RIngs, I would not have thought it possible to bring the books to the big screen. Having After twice reading The Hobbit and The Lord of the RIngs, I would not have thought it possible to bring the books to the big screen. Having seen the films I can say that Peter Jackson did a masterful job and the films are excellent. Expand
  5. Mar 23, 2013
    10
    A truly epic and beautiful end to one of the most incredible stories made ​​in the history of mankind.
    Chapter of interpretations, the best
    A truly epic and beautiful end to one of the most incredible stories made ​​in the history of mankind.
    Chapter of interpretations, the best over the trilogy is Viggo Mortensen as Aragorn, and Ian McKellen in the role of Gandalf. A hitherto unknown actress who does very well is Miranda Otto, who plays Eowyn. Transmits tenderness, nobility and courage in equal measure, as a new Krimilda. The sequence in which defends the King Théoden Witch King of Angmar is superb, especially when you cut the head to evil beast. The Nazgul are beautifully created, it must be said. That has been one of the best performances of Jackson.
    Ultimately, the greatest achievement is that Peter Jackson has managed to recreate the atmosphere right hand novels in both locations (New Zealand was a fortunate choice) and the characterization of the beings who inhabit Middle Earth. I'm sure Tolkien would be proud to see how it has adapted its unfading work.
    One of the best films of the decade 2000.
    Expand
  6. Dec 20, 2012
    10
    Quite possibly the most satisfying and epic conclusion to an already perfect trilogy, the Return of the King is a testament to both the geniusQuite possibly the most satisfying and epic conclusion to an already perfect trilogy, the Return of the King is a testament to both the genius of the filmmakers and the original author J.R.R. Tolkien. It blends seamlessly with the Fellowship of the Ring and the Two Towers to create the journey and story that , and yet stands on its own as a masterpiece, a masterful piece of cinema that will endure till the end of days. Its visual grandeur, cinematographic excellence, musical dexterity, haunting narrative, and ultimate perfection coalesce to create a tale, unlimited in emotional richness, that will resonate through the ages. Every viewing of the film for me is a journey in and of itself, one that ultimately ends in tears (I hear Gandalf lamenting right now "I will not say do not weep, for not all tears are an evil"). I fondly recall the midnight premiere of film and how, when I looked around at the audience during the Grey Havens scene, there was not a dry eye in the house, including my father who has (forgive me for the clicheness ) the emotional range of a teaspoon. If that isn't evidence for the profound emotionality of the film, then I don't know what is. Little scenes throughout the film as well elicited such powerful reactions from the audience I couldn't help but feel even more emotion because of that. The Ride of the Rohirrim, Aragorn's speech, Gandalf and Pippin's moment during the Siege of Minas Tirith, and many other scenes throughout the film, whether they induced goosebumps or tears, created an energy in the theatre that was both palpable and moving. Once the text "The End" appeared on screen, there was a moment of silence, and then an uproar of applause and cheering. Once again, brought to tears. In any case, the Return of the King is and will ever be a Goliath among films, and I cannot imagine that a film will ever be made that will come to dwarf a film such as this. Expand
  7. LegionODorkS
    Dec 19, 2003
    0
    This ZERO is for the pinheads rating this movie as 'BEST MOVIE EVER'. Yes, if you've seen only three movies in your life--This ZERO is for the pinheads rating this movie as 'BEST MOVIE EVER'. Yes, if you've seen only three movies in your life-- including the first two installments of this outrageously overrated series-- than yes, FANBOY, this is the best picture ever. If, on the other hand, you're over 3 years old, you may have seen... oh... I don't know... 200 better films, conservatively? Let me guess: George W. Bushole.. best President EVER?!? I thought so... Expand

See all 757 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Movies of the 21st Century (So Far)

    The Best Movies of the 21st Century (So Far) Image
    Published: February 11, 2016
    Check out our lists of the best (and worst) movies of the century so far, ranked by Metascore overall and in a variety of genres.
  2. Film Critics Pick the Best Movies of the Decade

    Film Critics Pick the Best Movies of the Decade Image
    Published: January 3, 2010
    Dozens of film critics have made their lists of the best films of the past ten years, and we've tallied the results.
  3. Ten Years of Metacritic: The Best (and Worst) Movies of the Decade

    Ten Years of Metacritic: The Best (and Worst) Movies of the Decade Image
    Published: December 17, 2009
    Our best of the decade coverage continues with a look at the past ten years in cinema. While the decade's best-reviewed movie may not have been a commercial blockbuster (or even in English), our lists turn up plenty of recognizable names in addition to obscure gems you may have missed.
  4. Metacritic's Best and Worst Movies Based on Novels

    Metacritic's Best and Worst Movies Based on Novels Image
    Published: December 15, 2009
    While The Lovely Bones is receiving a cool reception from critics, some novels have made a more successful transition from page to screen. Metacritic's film editor selects ten of the best-reviewed adaptations in our database ... and ten of the worst.