Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 41 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 2282 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: ,
  • Summary: Sauron's forces have laid siege to Minas Tirith, the capital of Gondor, in their efforts to eliminate the race of men. The once-great kingdom, watched over by a fading steward, has never been in more desperate need of its king. But can Aragorn (Viggo Mortensen) answer the call of hisSauron's forces have laid siege to Minas Tirith, the capital of Gondor, in their efforts to eliminate the race of men. The once-great kingdom, watched over by a fading steward, has never been in more desperate need of its king. But can Aragorn (Viggo Mortensen) answer the call of his heritage and become what he was born to be? In no small measure, the fate of Middle-earth rests on his broad shoulders. [New Line Cinema] Expand
Watch On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 41
  2. Negative: 0 out of 41
  1. The invisible wizard Peter Jackson makes use of every scene to show us the meaning of magnificence. Never has a filmmaker aimed higher, or achieved more.
  2. The conclusion of Peter Jackson's masterwork is passionate and literate, detailed and expansive, and it's conceived with a risk-taking flair for old-fashioned movie magic at its most precious.
  3. First and foremost, it soars because its grand design and numerous story problems were worked out half a century ago by a guy named Tolkien, and Jackson was smart enough to realize this.
  4. Like all great fantasies and epics, this one leaves you with the sense that its wonders are real, its dreams are palpable.
  5. Reviewed by: Alan Morrison
    100
    Those who have walked beside these heroes every step of the way on such a long journey deserve the emotional pay-off as well as the action peaks, and they will be genuinely touched as the final credits roll.
  6. 88
    There is little enough psychological depth anywhere in the films, actually, and they exist mostly as surface, gesture, archetype and spectacle. They do that magnificently well, but one feels at the end that nothing actual and human has been at stake.
  7. Add a lot of dull acting -- except Sir Ian McKellen and Andy Serkis -- and you have an uneven movie with yawns aplenty.

See all 41 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 84 out of 748
  1. May 11, 2015
    10
    Undeniably one of the best movies in the cinema history. Such an amazing fantasy film. Return of the King is my favourite in the LOTR trilogy.Undeniably one of the best movies in the cinema history. Such an amazing fantasy film. Return of the King is my favourite in the LOTR trilogy. I think most people's favourite is this one. All in all, Return of the King is awesome. Expand
  2. Jul 16, 2013
    10
    Una de las mejores peliculas de todos los tiempos, excelente tema, actuaciones, efectos visuales y obviamente un epico final predecible peroUna de las mejores peliculas de todos los tiempos, excelente tema, actuaciones, efectos visuales y obviamente un epico final predecible pero aun no tapa el gran trabajo de todo este equipo, agradezco por este gran film. Expand
  3. Aug 9, 2011
    10
    It's a perfect epic. There's not one false step. The battles are incredible, the characters just as fun as ever. This movie is basicallyIt's a perfect epic. There's not one false step. The battles are incredible, the characters just as fun as ever. This movie is basically flawless. One of the best ever Expand
  4. KatherineL.
    Jan 11, 2007
    10
    Ok first up please let me establish that I am both a fan of the books and movie. I think Jackson did a damn good job of interpreting the 1110 Ok first up please let me establish that I am both a fan of the books and movie. I think Jackson did a damn good job of interpreting the 1110 page book (it's something like that I'm not getting technical). Also for those who say it's to long, I can stay up all night and watch all three extended additions. Yay for Tolkien and PJ. Expand
  5. Aug 27, 2013
    10
    This is one of the best movies I've ever seen, epic. Even if you're not a fan of fantasy films, you're definitely going to love this one! ItThis is one of the best movies I've ever seen, epic. Even if you're not a fan of fantasy films, you're definitely going to love this one! It lasts for more than 3 hours, but you'll enjoy every minute of it. Expand
  6. Jul 21, 2012
    10
    the best trilogy ever created. Peter Jackson has done what most people thought was impossible, made 3 amazing movies. Lotr deserved all 17 ofthe best trilogy ever created. Peter Jackson has done what most people thought was impossible, made 3 amazing movies. Lotr deserved all 17 of its Oscars and probably more. this will remain my top 3 movies ever!! Expand
  7. LegionODorkS
    Dec 19, 2003
    0
    This ZERO is for the pinheads rating this movie as 'BEST MOVIE EVER'. Yes, if you've seen only three movies in your life--This ZERO is for the pinheads rating this movie as 'BEST MOVIE EVER'. Yes, if you've seen only three movies in your life-- including the first two installments of this outrageously overrated series-- than yes, FANBOY, this is the best picture ever. If, on the other hand, you're over 3 years old, you may have seen... oh... I don't know... 200 better films, conservatively? Let me guess: George W. Bushole.. best President EVER?!? I thought so... Expand

See all 748 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Movies of the 21st Century (So Far)

    The Best Movies of the 21st Century (So Far) Image
    Published: March 26, 2015
    Check out our lists of the best (and worst) movies of the century so far, ranked by Metascore overall and in a variety of genres.
  2. Film Critics Pick the Best Movies of the Decade

    Film Critics Pick the Best Movies of the Decade Image
    Published: January 3, 2010
    Dozens of film critics have made their lists of the best films of the past ten years, and we've tallied the results.
  3. Ten Years of Metacritic: The Best (and Worst) Movies of the Decade

    Ten Years of Metacritic: The Best (and Worst) Movies of the Decade Image
    Published: December 17, 2009
    Our best of the decade coverage continues with a look at the past ten years in cinema. While the decade's best-reviewed movie may not have been a commercial blockbuster (or even in English), our lists turn up plenty of recognizable names in addition to obscure gems you may have missed.
  4. Metacritic's Best and Worst Movies Based on Novels

    Metacritic's Best and Worst Movies Based on Novels Image
    Published: December 15, 2009
    While The Lovely Bones is receiving a cool reception from critics, some novels have made a more successful transition from page to screen. Metacritic's film editor selects ten of the best-reviewed adaptations in our database ... and ten of the worst.