New Line Cinema | Release Date: December 18, 2002
9.0
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 1282 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
1,200
Mixed:
33
Negative:
49
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
rodericrinehartAug 14, 2010
When the "worst" movie of a trilogy is an absolute 10, then you sir, have a damn fine trilogy. This is an incredible movie from start to finish, but the one drawback is that it feels like it was continued and needs continuing. The thing is,When the "worst" movie of a trilogy is an absolute 10, then you sir, have a damn fine trilogy. This is an incredible movie from start to finish, but the one drawback is that it feels like it was continued and needs continuing. The thing is, it's actually worth the ride. Expand
21 of 24 users found this helpful213
All this user's reviews
10
csw12Mar 26, 2012
The Two Towers is equally as good as the first but with bigger and better battle sequences. It has even more adeventure and even mixes in some comedy in that makes the movie flow perfectly. The best picture of the year.
5 of 5 users found this helpful50
All this user's reviews
10
RyMintzFeb 8, 2012
When people ask me which film in the Lord of the Rings trilogy is the my least favorite, I usually say The Two Towers. However, seeing as how all three films are all cinematic masterpieces, this doesn't mean jack-squat. The Two Towers, likeWhen people ask me which film in the Lord of the Rings trilogy is the my least favorite, I usually say The Two Towers. However, seeing as how all three films are all cinematic masterpieces, this doesn't mean jack-squat. The Two Towers, like its other two siblings, is quite simply one of the greatest films of all time. Director Peter Jackson does an outstanding job with staying true to Tolkien's story, while adding some of his own flare to the film. Its visual effects, cinematography, and score are some of the best seen in film, which can be said about the other two films as well. The ending of The Two Towers is one of the most emotionally powerful endings of any film I've seen (which is saying something since I consider myself quite the film expert). The montage with Sam's moving speech to Frodo does the movie justice, and is the perfect ending to the second installation of the trilogy where hope for the defeat of evil in Middle Earth is all but faded. Frodo, stricken with grief and weariness of being the Ring Bearer, asks Sam what they are holding onto, which Sam responds with, and still to this day brings goosebumps and tears to me, "That there's some good in this world Mr. Frodo, and its worth fighting for!" Words we all could live by nowadays. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
8
spadenxDec 5, 2011
It was ok. While the CGI parts are pretty terrible and painfully obvious, The action more then makes up for it and the epic battle at the end delivers an amazing climax to the film. I agree with another reviewer that said you know its a goodIt was ok. While the CGI parts are pretty terrible and painfully obvious, The action more then makes up for it and the epic battle at the end delivers an amazing climax to the film. I agree with another reviewer that said you know its a good trilogy when the worst film in it still gets a high score. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
DaveDec 30, 2002
I am 48 years old and have read the book at least 10 times. I have NO PROBLEM with the changes! Granted, I was worried when the ring headed to Gondor, but the resolution made Faramir even more noble. Fanghorn/Treeberad was exceptional. I am 48 years old and have read the book at least 10 times. I have NO PROBLEM with the changes! Granted, I was worried when the ring headed to Gondor, but the resolution made Faramir even more noble. Fanghorn/Treeberad was exceptional. Battle scenes exceptional! Theoden ... Moving Shelob to film three.....brilliant decision. Eowyn and Eomer were inspired and Edoras a masterpiece and superb location. Bravo New Zealand! But the masterpeice and centerpiece of the film was Gollum. Jackson and Co. and Andy Serkis imbued him with a humanity that defies description. We are so accustomed to computer characters like Jar Jar Binks that we stand truly amazed when someone takes the technology and uses it in a true performance reality. For all those who say this is just action and battle....you didn't WATCH the film. An all encompassing human and moral epic and an achievement os staggering proportions. When the three films are seen together it will represent one of the masterpieces of film......not JUST fantasy or action films or whatever label you want to attach.....but any genre of film. Thank you Peter Jackson for a thrill and continued surprise and awe! Many thanks to the critics for praising a "fantasy" film. You show true bravery as well! I noticed the film made none of the New York Times critics 10 best lists, proving the public can sometimes be better judges of good and bad. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
CoryB.Mar 15, 2007
A great movie! Full of adventure and fun, more epic than the first.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
Andys_ReviewsSep 24, 2012
Having recently read the book I did find that this departed from J.R.R.Tolkien
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
CursedKnight187Jul 31, 2012
An action packed ride that is every bit as good as the first movie. It may be the least enjoyable of the films, but the fact that it is still a phenomenal film stands as proof the Peter Jackson has created the most consistent and brilliantAn action packed ride that is every bit as good as the first movie. It may be the least enjoyable of the films, but the fact that it is still a phenomenal film stands as proof the Peter Jackson has created the most consistent and brilliant book adapted film franchise of all time. My only complaint would be that it does not focus enough on the characters like the first two films did, but every other aspect of it is near perfect. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
LordOFlibertYJan 9, 2012
Like all the other films of the LOTR trilogy I watched this movie in one go without taking a break or falling interest. The actors did very well in the film but I personally think Christopher Lee (Saruman) stood out from the rest because ofLike all the other films of the LOTR trilogy I watched this movie in one go without taking a break or falling interest. The actors did very well in the film but I personally think Christopher Lee (Saruman) stood out from the rest because of his cold yet powerful voice on several occasions during the film. Bernad Hill (Theoden) also did an excellent job as the king of Rohan. The fight sequence were well choregraphed and the scene Wolves of Isengard was intense, fast paced and humorous (lol gimli). The Ent were also well brought into the screen and I think the best battle scene in all of the trilogy was the battle at Helms Deep. WELL DONE PETER JACKSON Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
LOTRfanMar 13, 2015
Very good movie. Well done peter Jackson and Crew. They are made a nice job. The Lord Of the Rings: The Two Towers made me love fantasy movie. Because before i saw it i think fantasy movie suck, childish, and cheesy but this is not. ThisVery good movie. Well done peter Jackson and Crew. They are made a nice job. The Lord Of the Rings: The Two Towers made me love fantasy movie. Because before i saw it i think fantasy movie suck, childish, and cheesy but this is not. This movie has epic battle sequence, beautiful landscape, stunning CGI, real setting and good cinematography. This film should've won best picture oscar 2002. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
grandpajoe6191Sep 23, 2011
"The Two Towers" isn't much epic as its powerful prequel, but its still amazes me that Peter Jackson can release such a wonderful movie within a year.
8 of 9 users found this helpful81
All this user's reviews
10
wesker2012Jun 1, 2012
Some of the best battles in the series....this movie is epic.
5 of 6 users found this helpful51
All this user's reviews
10
marnee96Nov 4, 2011
It's quite similar to the Fellowship of the Rings in terms of visual effects and overall style. But the story has now become much more interesting and multidimensional as we watch the Fellowship, now divided, struggle to complete theirIt's quite similar to the Fellowship of the Rings in terms of visual effects and overall style. But the story has now become much more interesting and multidimensional as we watch the Fellowship, now divided, struggle to complete their journey to save Middle Earth. 4/4 stars. Expand
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
10
asbeloliverNov 19, 2011
The best sound effects, also known for its impeccable sound, the script developed, very faithful to the book, good performances, a show well done, as I can say about the soundtrack, direction, costumes, makeup, art direction and visualThe best sound effects, also known for its impeccable sound, the script developed, very faithful to the book, good performances, a show well done, as I can say about the soundtrack, direction, costumes, makeup, art direction and visual effects. In short, an excellent movie. Expand
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
9
mubagreenSep 14, 2011
magnificent is the word i will say for this film, i havent read the book . And im sure i wont..cinematography is top notch expecially in the battle scenes its really awesome.
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
10
NintendoMasterGOct 17, 2011
The Two Towers might not be the best of the three Lord of the Rings movies, but it sure is one of the best movies I've ever seen! Great acting, story and scenes - movies cant get much better than this.
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
10
ObbiePR18Apr 3, 2012
Entretenida, con efectos especiales del mejor nivel, con un actuaciones sorprendentes y mas accion que la anterior. The Two Towers es simplemente perfecta, visualmente rica y muy bien dirigida por Peter Jackson. Es casi imporsible poderEntretenida, con efectos especiales del mejor nivel, con un actuaciones sorprendentes y mas accion que la anterior. The Two Towers es simplemente perfecta, visualmente rica y muy bien dirigida por Peter Jackson. Es casi imporsible poder mejorar a The Fellowship of the Ring, pero Two Towers logra no solo ser tan buena, sino hasta mejor que la original. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
10
nvnickAug 17, 2011
My favorite of the trilogy. Peter Jackson is a cinema god, there is a reason RotK tied for most oscar wins for one movie. Best fantasy novel and the movie does it complete justice. This is what modern cinema is all about: great acting,My favorite of the trilogy. Peter Jackson is a cinema god, there is a reason RotK tied for most oscar wins for one movie. Best fantasy novel and the movie does it complete justice. This is what modern cinema is all about: great acting, tasteful and thrilling special effects, excellent story of course, amazing screen play and the most spectacular soundtrack which is epic in battle sequences and harmonious in times of peace. A true masterpiece. To be watched again and again. 5/5 stars. Expand
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
8
cameronmorewoodNov 14, 2012
While the plot tends to meander, Two Towers is still alive and breathtaking in the moment. Jackson has proved himself to be a master craftsman of the so called 'epic movie.'
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
heyitsmegrif4May 26, 2012
With mind-blowing performances from the whole entire cast, along with skilled dialogue. Featuring its amazing visual effects, breathtaking action, and being even more emotionally resonant than the first. I give this movie 98%.
5 of 8 users found this helpful53
All this user's reviews
10
marian1233321Aug 9, 2011
This isnt filming this is art..
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
10
JawsPapi87Aug 9, 2011
This movie is pure gold. Besides a few weak points like some unrealistic lines and the shield-boarding down the stairs, it's perfect. There is no lack of emotion, all performances are good and the battle at Helm's Deep is perhaps the bestThis movie is pure gold. Besides a few weak points like some unrealistic lines and the shield-boarding down the stairs, it's perfect. There is no lack of emotion, all performances are good and the battle at Helm's Deep is perhaps the best ever in a movie. The highlight for me was the introduction to Gollum, though. He is one of the best characters ever. Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
8
gm101Mar 29, 2011
When compared to the previous movie, it was same old, same old for some stuff. Enjoyable, but too long. Plot became a bit more complicated, but battle scenes became much more awsome.
4 of 7 users found this helpful43
All this user's reviews
10
MovieLonely94Oct 30, 2010
the best in the trilogy and the awesomeness in the franchise.
13 of 25 users found this helpful1312
All this user's reviews
3
RuisertTheMadJan 18, 2003
[***Potential Spoilers***] I loved the stunning cinematography and mountain vistas, I'd bet Jackson could do some wonderful tourism films for New Zealand, something a little less ambitious... Another thing that I liked was Gimli's[***Potential Spoilers***] I loved the stunning cinematography and mountain vistas, I'd bet Jackson could do some wonderful tourism films for New Zealand, something a little less ambitious... Another thing that I liked was Gimli's line about dwarf wives and Aragorn's comment about the beards. It's true to the story, but it is information that's in the book, and inserted in such a way as to develop the history that otherwise would be hard to translate to a film. I wish they'd done some of that during all the travel sequences. And the cgi Gollum was pretty well done technically, but watered down scriptwise, and the (gollum,gollum) was overdone. (Fisssssh!) ...... Other than those points, it was horrible. Horrible. A lot of it boils down to some bad decision making, I think - hiring Liv Tyler for what is not just a bit part, but a minor bit part. I love her in the role, but it's extravagant unless you do as was done and rewrite major portions of the story to justify the expense. Another bad decision was building the set for Edoras. Why? For 3 or 4 scenes? What a waste. But the unforgiveable sin is the complete altering of the story line. Someone earlier mentioned pandering to your typical movie-goer's sensibilities, like not sending the women, children and old men to Dunharrow. Or Leg - O - Lamb skateboarding down the stairs shooting orcs on the way. Please. Then there's the whole loony Aragorn/Arwen sequence. Did someone really think this was an improvement over the book's storyline? Send me some of whatever it was you were taking when you made that decision, ok? Instead, we could have had the wonderful scene in Isengard where Gandalf masters Saruman with mere words and not the ludicrous pyrotechnics we were bothered with in the FotR movie. Or to quote from the TT itself 'Wizards are subtle and quick to anger'. Subtle. I'll bet that's even defined in dictionaries in New Zealand. The part I'm referring to is where Gandalf is talking to Saruman in the tower, and Saruman refuses the offer to mend his evil ways and still help, in some small way, those he was sent to help. Then Gandalf says 'Saruman, your staff is broken.', and it breaks, and his power is broken by the same force that reincarnated Gandalf. Subtle, but very dramatic if done right. And why precious, oh why, did they decide to change Halbarad and Aragorn's other Ranger kin into elfses, and then kill Halbarad in Helm's deep instead of later? Why? I'd have thought it much cooler to see riders that even the horsemen of Rohan knew were the better. One of the most dramatic moments in the second book, I think. Lastly, the final ton of hay that breaks this camel's back is the Osgiliath sequence. Faramir deciding to take Frodo to Minas Tirith, instead of showing his better intuition about the ring and allowing them to continue. Frodo offering the Ring to the Nazdrool, right there where there's no real defense to prevent it being taken. I've often wondered if the writers didn't have bad dreams after reading the Cliff Notes of the Reader's Digest Condensed Version for Dummies of the Two Towers and felt the need to rewrite it. I mean, do you really believe a commitee of people I've never heard of before could possibly re-write something that's sold millions of copies over almost 50 years and improve it? Didn't they understand that the whole game was won or lost on keeping the Ring's location and more important, final destination secret? The way the book plays it, Sauron thinks the Ring is in Aragorn's hand after he shows himself as Isildur's heir with the reforged sword that took the Ring. Now obviously I'm one of those that have read the trilogy more than once, which is saying something. I've read tons of books, but not many rate one re-reading, but I've read these more than I can count. Despite that, I can't quite imagine it real enough. I want to see it just like I've read it, or as close as humanly possible. I know it's difficult translating a book into a movie, and we're talking one book, not 3. I have to give the guys credit for being crazy enough to try and pull this off. They certainly did better than the Ralph Bakshi animated movie that only did about the first half of the story. But I was very disappointed by the sudden complete departure from the story in this movie. I had problems with the first one, but they didn't ruin the movie for me. But I'm still glad I went to a matinee and only paid 2.50 to see this dog. Expand
3 of 38 users found this helpful
10
beingryanjudeAug 24, 2014
With just as much thrill and wonder as the Fellowship of the Ring, we find ourselves a bit farther on this remarkable journey. The relentlessly beautiful visuals are perhaps some of the finest cinematography of all-time. Another modern classic.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
Trev29Mar 27, 2012
If you don't love this movie you should go to the doctor because you clearly have something inside of you that prevents you from recognizing the epitome of what is a perfect film.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
MonsieurEamesJul 12, 2012
In my opinion, the best of the Lord of the Rings films, and that's saying a lot. Not only does it duplicate everything that the franchise's first installment did right, it adds more of its own, such as the brilliantly made Battle of Helms Deep.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
WiesyJan 17, 2013
The best movie from one of the best trilogies ever. Great battle and awesome story. LOVE IT !!!!!!!!!!!!!!
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
WheelzFourReelzDec 29, 2014
The Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers is yet another near flawless film in this already magnificent trilogy. Oddly enough, this is my least favorite in the trilogy, but it still delivers so much perfection in every single area. It's one of myThe Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers is yet another near flawless film in this already magnificent trilogy. Oddly enough, this is my least favorite in the trilogy, but it still delivers so much perfection in every single area. It's one of my favorite movies of all time. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
andreekaMar 6, 2015
the best sequel ever made in my opinion, even the two towers can beat the godfather part 2 i think this movie should have won oscar for best picture in 2002. PERFECT!
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
9
ChristopherJ.Mar 20, 2007
Great external and internal conflict! This is the best of the trilogy. Gollum is the best computer-generated character in cinema up to this point. I think the extended version it too long, though.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KurtV.Dec 20, 2002
What a Visual feast! Admittedly Fellowship was a little better at emotional connection with the characters but in this epic adaptation of the 2nd book of the trilogy, it is so easy to have the size and scope of it all overwhelm the What a Visual feast! Admittedly Fellowship was a little better at emotional connection with the characters but in this epic adaptation of the 2nd book of the trilogy, it is so easy to have the size and scope of it all overwhelm the individual players. But this is exactly the point. This is war. This is life or death, undertones and inner motivations are no longer relevant not when there are 10,000 effin orcs beating down your door! Yes, know the elves should NOT have been at Helm?s deep and the Hurons should have been (and why did Haldir say greetings from Elrond and not Galadriel, he was a Lorien elf after all.) Quickbeam and Grishnak had the same agent as Bombadil and Glorfindal etc. etc. blah, blah blah. I am as huge a fan of the novels as any, however I find it difficult to understand those who cry foul with such veracity in regards to any alteration as if PJ is destroying Tolkien?s vision of ME when, in fact he is bringing so many more to this world than ever before. They will come, they will see the film, some will then read the source materiel and hopefully the differences between the two will be small enough to keep the virgin reader yet large enough to allow him/her to construct there OWN minds eye view of Tolkien?s world. The CGI Gollum in TTT was exactly what Ian Mckellen was in FotR, the actual character plucked straight from middle earth. God, they NAILED him Great job WETA! .... PJ, you barefooted little Kiwi, you did it again! Thanks!!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JamesMDec 20, 2005
Not as good as the first, but nothing short of magical nonetheless.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
KidR.Dec 19, 2002
The Lord of The Rings: The Two Towers is, as a movie, enjoyable. The special effects are spectacular, to the extent that fully CG characters, such as Gollum, seemed entirely real and natural. As an interpretation of Tolkien's novel, The Lord of The Rings: The Two Towers is, as a movie, enjoyable. The special effects are spectacular, to the extent that fully CG characters, such as Gollum, seemed entirely real and natural. As an interpretation of Tolkien's novel, however, this picture is very poor. In particularity, certain characters have been altered beyond recognition, and certain events have been changed without valid reason. Although I understand that certain sequences couldn't be filmed due to time constraints, there was absolutely NO reason for Peter Jackson to exclude crucial scenes from the book, only to replace them with senseless scenes of his own conception. The ending sequence at Osgiliath is a particularly egregious example. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JakeDec 14, 2005
The battle at helms deep was the most thrilling bit of movie magic since Steve's dinos in Jurassic Park. Sean Austin's performance is one of the most under-rated of all time. "There's good in this world Mr. Frodo, and The battle at helms deep was the most thrilling bit of movie magic since Steve's dinos in Jurassic Park. Sean Austin's performance is one of the most under-rated of all time. "There's good in this world Mr. Frodo, and it's worth fighting for." Amen to that! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
malloryt.Oct 29, 2005
I like all three lord of the rings movies the same. id saylord of the rings is by far the best movie ever. for me.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DerekP.Jan 17, 2006
Give it up! This was the best of the trilogy by some substancial amount. I mean take into consideration that 1 year before Fellowship ended and you felt in awe. In Awe! This one completely satisfied my expectations plus some. PS. Anyone who Give it up! This was the best of the trilogy by some substancial amount. I mean take into consideration that 1 year before Fellowship ended and you felt in awe. In Awe! This one completely satisfied my expectations plus some. PS. Anyone who loves LOTR should buy the box sets, the special features are amazing and have replay value. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JeremyE.Apr 18, 2006
In my opinion the best Lord of the Rings movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JeffZ.May 2, 2006
It mayfocus on the humans more than the hobbits, but it has a great battle scene and Gollum is a great psycho! not faithful, but not as boring as harry potter.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GeorgeC.Feb 3, 2008
Two Towers doesn't have the mood that the first one does, there are more battle sequences, heavier plots, and thrilling moments. This is Gullom's show, partailly Aragorn's (who of which has a background that gives off 10 Two Towers doesn't have the mood that the first one does, there are more battle sequences, heavier plots, and thrilling moments. This is Gullom's show, partailly Aragorn's (who of which has a background that gives off 10 minutes of important refferences of who he will become). Gandalf has just risen, it is partailly his show. Same Legolas', he is important in this because it is about time the elves stop chillin at home talking poetry, this time the elves go to war, which gives Legolas more screen time, which I like. Gimli, well he is always the humorous little cheekster that gives the fun to the screen. Frodo, this is ultimately his show, taking the ring to Mordor, his advnture is the most important. There many other characters, eomer, Eowyn, Theoden, Theodred, Pippin, Merry, Sam (who becomes way more important in #3), Gamling, Gladriel, Saramaun, Saraun, Treabeard, Arwen, and Lord Elrond. Everyone is connective and always have a powerful importance in the show. I loved this movie, this is the best of the three, has excellent moments, and the outline is very interesting. This is defintely up for the Oscars, it may have won only 2, but the Oscars it got it certainly deserved. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AdnanA.Jul 19, 2008
The first time I watched the trailer for two towers in the Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets movie. At that time I wasn't interested in the lord of the rings (because I didn't understand the first one) and I was waiting for The first time I watched the trailer for two towers in the Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets movie. At that time I wasn't interested in the lord of the rings (because I didn't understand the first one) and I was waiting for the trailer to end so I could watch Harry Potter. I found the trailer boring but in the end the scene (battle of Helms Deep) in which Legolas slides on the shield and shoots arrows really caught my attention. Now many years later the lord of the rings trilogy remains my favorite! Story... If you haven't watched the first one then it's gonna be difficult for you to keep up with the story but if you get the plot then it's a story that's gonna captivate you even after the end of the movie. Kudos to J.R.R.Tolkien for creating such a world and Peter Jackson for filling this world with life. Acting... Every character is special and all the credit goes to the actors. Each and every actor, has carried out his/her roles with dedication and devotion. No complaints. Direction... I'd only say that no other person in this universe could have made lord of the rings other than Peter Jackson. Visuals... Four Words... HELMS DEEP and GOLLUM !!!! Helm's Deep is the best war ever in a movie! Gollum is, will and always be the best animated character ever. Andy Serkis as Gollum is the strongest point of the movie. It's not easy for a 3 hour movie to keep you entertained for long but this movie makes you beg for more! Such movies are made once in a decade and to not see them is the biggest mistake of your life. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DavidS.Jan 15, 2009
The most action packed of the trilogy. You can't watch it without seeing the first one or finish it without dying to see the third
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MichaelLMar 6, 2009
The best of the 3 and all were great!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DreH.Jun 25, 2009
Best of the 3 movies. No slow build up, lots of story, lots of action, lots of excitement.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
YashSMar 17, 2009
Best of the series Aragorn was best in this film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
UltimateMovieCriticDec 18, 2002
WOW!!!! I want more, and more, and more... The movie's amazing!!!! Battles are truly epic, while Gollum is as real as it gets. From all the scenes with him, you get the feeling Gollum is real. If I was 6 yrs old, and somebody would tell WOW!!!! I want more, and more, and more... The movie's amazing!!!! Battles are truly epic, while Gollum is as real as it gets. From all the scenes with him, you get the feeling Gollum is real. If I was 6 yrs old, and somebody would tell me that Gollum is not real, I would not believe him. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RhysDec 22, 2002
Most of the "wow" type comments are taken, so instead of harking on about how great a movie this is (and it is a great movie) I'll instead try to answer a few points made below..... 1# The Two Towers is different from the books. Yes. It Most of the "wow" type comments are taken, so instead of harking on about how great a movie this is (and it is a great movie) I'll instead try to answer a few points made below..... 1# The Two Towers is different from the books. Yes. It is. And thank goodness for that. No movie will ever capture the full scope and history of the books without making one movie per chapter and being as boring as hell. Don't get me wrong, the books are great, but what works for a book will not always work for a movie. PJ always said that of the three movies, TTT was going to depart the most from the books - but it's all for good reason. He is making a movie, and that means altering things to fit. I loved seeing Arwen as she glimpsed her own future, and what it would cost her... and for her to play a meaningful part in the movie, those who haven't read the books needed to see just what being with Aragorn means for her future. 2# The Two Towers is missing bits! To put any more in a movie already 3hours long would have been folly. Some of what was left out will be in the extended version, so I'm hanging out for that. But actually most of the "cut" matarial has been moved over to 'Return of the King'. The reason is that the third book is about one third as long as the other two, most of it's pages going to the large appendix at the back... I for one am glad for such forsight, least the Fallowship turn up in movie three with nothing more to do. And yes, "she" will be in the third movie. 3# It's not as good/deep as Fellowship Actually, yes it is... in fact it IS Fellowship. Remember that this is one huge movie and , being the start of the movie, Fellowship got a lot of the the character building. But in TTT we have well established characters and the movie is about what happens to them, not the characters themselves. Return of the King will, as will as offer the finial part of the story, give us a chance to look at how far our friends have come, and see how they have been changed. It's all rather silly that every section of a movie must contain the same elements all the way through, and TTT is just one part of a much larger 3 hour picture. My last word will be to say that the best way to watch The Two Towers is to watch it stright after watching the extended version of Fellowship of the Ring.... togeather like they were made, and meant to be. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
tonyGreenMay 27, 2011
Another great movie in the trilogy. Maybe not quite as entrancing as The Fellowship of the Ring, but the story cracks along all the same. The final battle is truely thrilling.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
JacobJan 5, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Overall Two Towers is a great film. The characters are more developed and likeable. The presence of the awesome character Gollum adds even more interest. Frodo is still a weak character though. Plus, the movie is still gritty but there is some comedy to lighten things up. The story is more complex a little too much at times but it feels necessary. The film does drag at parts but it sets up some amazing battle scenes. The scenes that Jackson gets right he really gets right. There is some great moments in this film like the last one. While Two Towers still has some of the same problems as Fellowship, the characters and story are much better and the stuff that is good is really good creating a movie that is stronger than its predecessor and makes me excited for Return of the King, which some consider to be the best in the series. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
CaestusMar 3, 2013
The two towers is not as good as the fellowship of the ring but is stil a great movie with awesome battle sequences.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
DaematuneJul 20, 2011
Easily the best movie I've ever seen in my life. Great scenery, amazing story, heart warming ending, everything, It's just perfect. By far the best one of all three!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Potter17Dec 9, 2011
"The Two Towers" continues following all the greatness provided by the first film. Gollum's animation character and the Battle of Helm's Deep will not only be remembered for years but will be remembered through the ages.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
EssenceOfSugarDec 10, 2012
This somehow did not work for me. If this was supposed to be serious, it was verging on the ridiculous. I could excuse the first one for a little low-brow humour considering it didn
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
StevenFOct 2, 2013
The battle for Middle Earth continues in this epic and vastly rich in detail sequel to the Fellowship of the Ring, the Two Towers is often regarded as the best of the three, its name deriving from the tower in Mordor where the flaming eye ofThe battle for Middle Earth continues in this epic and vastly rich in detail sequel to the Fellowship of the Ring, the Two Towers is often regarded as the best of the three, its name deriving from the tower in Mordor where the flaming eye of Sauron sits, and the tower of Isengard, where the corrupted Saruman build his army. It introduces new characters while still maintaining heavy focus on the ones we grew to admire from the first part, the stories intertwine yet happen worlds apart, Frodo (Elijah Wood) and Sam (Sean Astin) have gone it alone to the fires of Mount Doom in the hope of destroying the ring of power, but they are my no means alone, as the shady creature known as Gollum (Andy Serkis) is on their every move, but he may soon prove his worth as the two hobbits seem to be going round in circles. Frodo is beginning to show signs of the ring overpowering him by now, he's grouchy, angry and taking it out on Sam. But another battle continues to rage as the evil Saruman (Christopher Lee) continues to raise an unbeatable army in the name of Sauron and the ring, an army that seeks domination of the lands, Rohan being the centre of it, Aragorn (Viggo Mortensen) Legolas (Orlando Bloom) and Gimli (John Rys-Davies) are in search of Merry (Dominic Monaghan) and Pippin (Billy Boyd) who have been taken by the dangerous breed of Uruk-hai believing them to be Frodo.
But there is more to it all that just needs to be watched, we have a reborn Gandalf (Ian McKellan) who helps steer the masses in the right direction, as each city must stand up and rise against the armies. We make way for one of the most memorable battle sequences in cinema history, the battle of Helms Deep, thousands of soldiers and even more orcs line the land to fight, it's raining, it's wonderful to watch and it's action packed, to the fullest. Wonderful to watch couldn't be used enough in this review, because the Two Towers is exciting from start to finish, whether its the epic battles, talking trees, continuing character-driven stories or vast landscapes of beauty, it takes everything from the first and doubles it, Aragorn seems to take centre stage in the film, as the Hobbits take a back seat for a while, the two hobbits on the way to Mordor are really just walking for most of the film, but Wood and Astin excellently play beaten travellers as we begin to realise the sway such a small object can hold, but Aragorn is the heir to the white city of Gondor, he therefore must salvage all the remaining hope in men, and deal with the many obstacles that stand in his path, but not without a few secrets to be revealed first, although he longs after Arwen (Liv Tyler), another woman, Eowyn (Miranda Otto) takes an interest in his peculiar being. Like before, it's the phenomenal acting and intriguing characters these actors portray that really bring the film to life, it's visually impressive as ever, yet these larger than life heroes are likeable, easy to root for and give a sense of happiness and despair rolled into one, we have love, loss, hatred and frightening elements of the supernatural to enjoy. McKellan's Gandalf speaks heavily in riddle, and the more I watch this trilogy the more I think he knew along what was going to happen, the reason for his participation was a bored pensioner with not long left until retirement. The element that drives Lord of the Rings head and shoulders above others is its own time and its own original world, everything about it breathes magic and fantasy, the Two Towers capitalises on success but doesn't settle to be just as good, it aims higher and opens up to a host of new characters and story lines that set up a massive and historic final chapter.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
oscarrNov 28, 2011
The best LOTR movie of them all. A 99/100. The third one was a 97/100 in my mind, because of it's epic length, and the first one is a 94/100. The Two towers is so beautifully made, it is hard to go to the bathroom. The epic battle at the endThe best LOTR movie of them all. A 99/100. The third one was a 97/100 in my mind, because of it's epic length, and the first one is a 94/100. The Two towers is so beautifully made, it is hard to go to the bathroom. The epic battle at the end seals the deal. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
PQuinnyJan 28, 2012
The Two Towers is an extraordinary movie which only Peter Jackson can deliver. It's a sequel to the 2001 movie The Fellowship of the Ring, and it continues the adventures of Frodo Baggins as he carries on his quest to destroy the One Ring inThe Two Towers is an extraordinary movie which only Peter Jackson can deliver. It's a sequel to the 2001 movie The Fellowship of the Ring, and it continues the adventures of Frodo Baggins as he carries on his quest to destroy the One Ring in the fiery depths of Mt. Doom to sabotage the Dark Lord Sauron once and for all. Peter Jackson once again proves his mastery of the Middle Earth universe in this movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
oxanaMay 20, 2014
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It is extremely difficult to review one of your long-time favorites. This is the movie I've seen most times in a movie theater (a total of 6 times I believe), and no matter what I write in this review, it won't be enough to explain my love for this film.

The story is split into two directions, one following Frodo and Sam's journey towards Mordor and their less than shaky relationship with Gollum/Sméagol, whom they manage to get as their guide to Mordor.

Personally, in the books or in the movies, I've never really cared for Frodo's journey; my heart always lay with the Three Hunters (Aragorn, Legolas and Gimli). Nonetheless, as we follow Frodo's desperate struggle to take the One Ring to its doom - while avoiding it falling to the hands of its true Master - we get to meet Faramir, son of Denethor and the brother of Boromir. The first glimpse at Gondor's demise leaves little hope that when the final attack comes, they would survive (but more of that in the next movie...).

Sam's outbursts kind of annoyed me in this film; sure, I get the hate and distrust he feels towards Gollum, whom Frodo is pitying and trying to help. It puts a strain on the relationship between all of them, which in the darkness of Mordor will twist itself into something far worse...

Quite well balanced with the Frodo/Sam scenes we have the primary focus of this film: Aragorn, Legolas and Gimli are pursuing the Uruk-hai who took Merry and Pippin in the end of "The Fellowship of the Ring".

As Saruman's deceit deepens, and he prepares to attack Rohan, Merry and Pippin have an important part to play - in their own way - while the Three Hunters are unexpectedly joined by an old friend and move onto Rohan to release its king from Saruman's grasp.

Besides David Wenham as Faramir, we get to see new, wonderful characters: Karl Urban as Éomer, Miranda Otto as Éowyn, Bernard Hill as Théoden... I could go on...

The epic battle of Helm's Deep is grim, dark and it is clear from the beginning that their hopes of winning are not very high. Not even with the addition of Galadhrim to join them (Craig Parker as Haldir returns, and I'm glad to see him, although heartbroken to see him go as well...).

The battle scenes are brutal and thrilling. Legolas and Gimli's contest puts some lightness into it, although it is a grim race.

"The Two Towers" is more action packed than "The Fellowship of the Ring". Perhaps that is why I like it so much better than the first movie.

If one has to complain about something, it is the rather random scenes with Arwen. Sure, we should not forget her, and they sort of fit in, but also disrupt the balance of certain scenes. Not to mention the scene with Galadriel and Elrond; by that time the union of the two towers had been gone over at least twice by several others, and it felt like a stale repeat of what is going on - only with a slight twist. It is unlikely anyone watching the movie and paying attention would have forgotten who exactly is working with whom.

This is an epic movie, though. Beautiful scenery, amazing score, incredible details... It all creates a world much like our own, and at the same time, nothing like ours.

And again, if you can get your hands on the extended version - hold onto that.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
ZegilgameshDec 28, 2012
It drags at time, and isn't as complete as the first, but the Two Towers is nothing short of breathtakingly awesome, and will satisfy any fan of the franchise and gives us new characters (like the irreplaceable Gollum) for us to ponder at.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
RealStriderJan 20, 2012
I am happy to see the awarness of the community. Reviews of those people who do not understand epicness and quality of this movie from some reason , are found unhelpfull. On the other hand almost everyone agrees with those who giveI am happy to see the awarness of the community. Reviews of those people who do not understand epicness and quality of this movie from some reason , are found unhelpfull. On the other hand almost everyone agrees with those who give compliments to this movie , peter jackson , and of course great tolkien. I watched whole trilogy many times and i can only say , that it is the greates trilogy ever. By my opinion all three of these movies are best there is in the movie world. If someone hasnt still watched it , chances are slim but , he should watch it right away , not just this one but whole tirlogy. Thank you community. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
imthenoobNov 22, 2012
This movie is my pick for the best of the series. The acting is better, the action is awesome, and once again it does a great job at creating middle earth and drawing you into the story.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
skyminsterFeb 12, 2012
this is the second best film ever, really, it's even better than the fellowship of the ring, everything about it is incredible, i really, really, really like it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
potatoes351Dec 8, 2012
The second chapter in the epic LotR trilogy. The Fellowship is disbanded, Frodo & Sam are venturing towards Mordor, Aragorn Legolas and Gimli fight for Gondor and prepare for the battle at Helms Deep and Merry & Pippin are travelling with theThe second chapter in the epic LotR trilogy. The Fellowship is disbanded, Frodo & Sam are venturing towards Mordor, Aragorn Legolas and Gimli fight for Gondor and prepare for the battle at Helms Deep and Merry & Pippin are travelling with the Ent's. Sauron is growing ever stronger and Golum finds the ring bearer. Peter Jackson is on top form yet again with The Two Towers and its the worst film in the trilogy. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
OfficialDec 6, 2013
"LOTR: The Two Towers" is absolutely magnificent. It's more action-packed than the first and they're some of the greatest battle scenes ever. It's emotionally powerful and the story is brilliantly paced and even tops the first one. The"LOTR: The Two Towers" is absolutely magnificent. It's more action-packed than the first and they're some of the greatest battle scenes ever. It's emotionally powerful and the story is brilliantly paced and even tops the first one. The extended edition's runtime, at 235 minutes, is absolutely tremendously exciting. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ValkyrieeeJun 17, 2012
This film was my least favourite of the trilogy, but it was still fantastic. It was very well done and I can still watch it over and over again without being bored.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
MrAppleKinsJul 3, 2012
Good acting, top notch visuals, epic battle sequences and a gripping plot make LOTR The Two Towers my favorite movie in the trilogy, and probably my favorite movie period! This movie would be perfect if not for it's length, which is about 3Good acting, top notch visuals, epic battle sequences and a gripping plot make LOTR The Two Towers my favorite movie in the trilogy, and probably my favorite movie period! This movie would be perfect if not for it's length, which is about 3 hours long. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
SpangleJul 9, 2014
Just marvelous. It is hard for me to separate this one and the first film as it is just as magical and entrancing as its predecessors and while it does struggle from being a middle film, it never shows that struggle. As with the first film,Just marvelous. It is hard for me to separate this one and the first film as it is just as magical and entrancing as its predecessors and while it does struggle from being a middle film, it never shows that struggle. As with the first film, the acting is beyond impressive, the script is great, the cinematography is great, and the action beautifully done. However, first and foremost worthy of praise is the special effects. How they do what they do is mesmerizing to me. In addition, the characters are completely engrossing and brilliant to watch as they transverse this immaculately designed and imagined world they live in. As with the first film, this film is the definition of an epic and is a stunningly great sequel to what was a great first film. I did not believe the first film could be improved upon (I do think this one is ever so slightly better), but dammit, it was. This one leaves you drooling waiting for the third film and the conclusion to this storyline. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
HadrianusNov 7, 2012
The movie it's a little worst than the last one.I asked myself:Why the movie was nominated to the Academy Award for best picture?I discovered that it wasn't nominated to Best Director or for Best Adapted Screenplay.I think in the voting itThe movie it's a little worst than the last one.I asked myself:Why the movie was nominated to the Academy Award for best picture?I discovered that it wasn't nominated to Best Director or for Best Adapted Screenplay.I think in the voting it ranked at the lowest place(5th place).Two movies nominated for Best Picture the same year of that movie[2003(The three were released at 2002)]are:The Pianist and Chicago.There are two movies also nominated too. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
NecromusDec 4, 2012
This movie was true to the books. Everything in the movie looked the way I imagined it looking when I read the book long ago when I was a boy. Although, I usually don't like CGI, the CGI in this trilogy is absolutely great. As are theThis movie was true to the books. Everything in the movie looked the way I imagined it looking when I read the book long ago when I was a boy. Although, I usually don't like CGI, the CGI in this trilogy is absolutely great. As are the costumes and sets. Gollum is the first CGI character from a serious film that I have liked. It is probably because he was basically a virtual puppet that an actual puppeteer,controlled and they recorded the data points in a computer and then drew the CGI around his movements. Way better than Jar Jar Binks in Start Wars lol! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MouthofSauronDec 5, 2012
"The Two Towers" is a darker film than its predecessor, and a prelude to the events of "The Return of the King". A sense of foreboding pervades the film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Compi24Jan 3, 2013
Thickening upon everything that made its predecessor great, Peter Jackson's second installment of his "Lord Of The Rings" trilogy makes for a wholly immersive and breathtaking narrative piece with continuously developing characters and anThickening upon everything that made its predecessor great, Peter Jackson's second installment of his "Lord Of The Rings" trilogy makes for a wholly immersive and breathtaking narrative piece with continuously developing characters and an always-sensational bundle of set pieces. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
WhiteTalpaDec 27, 2012
Another great film however i did prefer the fellowship of the ring but it was still good, carrying on the amazing story line and developing the characters even more and of course introducing fully one of the most iconic characters Gollum.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
SwatiDec 4, 2013
This is where the story gets interesting. While Frodo and Sam continue on their separate journey to destroy the ring, Aragorn and the rest are caught in the battle to defend Rohan against Saruman's orcs. They choose to stay and help them. InThis is where the story gets interesting. While Frodo and Sam continue on their separate journey to destroy the ring, Aragorn and the rest are caught in the battle to defend Rohan against Saruman's orcs. They choose to stay and help them. In other places we are introduced to talking trees called Ents.

The first two hours has more travelling as the characters struggle to reach places they need to be, often confronted by orcs or other men, and even the land itself. The people and culture of Rohan are introduced. Some new characters are introduced, the most interesting among them Eowyn, her brother Eomer, and Faramir. They are woven into the main story seamlessly. In fact I would have loved to watch Eowyn given a bigger role, seeing that there are no female major characters in the story.

This is also the instalment where we get the full dosage of the creature called Gollum. As interesting as he is when interacting with other characters in his queer manner, he is more intriguing in his monologues where he converses with himself, in a split-personality, between his two identities of his former somewhat sane self Smeagol and the villain Gollum. Andy Serkis is one hell of an actor. All his movements and expressions bring to life a character unprecedented in the history of cinema. The CGI used to create him does an incredible job in making him seem like a real creature roaming around the human-like characters, and it makes for a fun yet a piteous sight.

Gandalf comes back stronger than ever. He was my favourite character from the first movie, but is outshined this time around by Aragorn, against whom everyone is a minion in stage presence. The latter becomes quite a legend in the extended version when a bit of his past is discussed.

The main battle sequences are much more satisfying as Aragorn, Legolas and Gimli take a leading part in the fighting. Rohan defends itself by sheltering inside their fortress, Helm's Deep, while the orcs lay siege and charge repeatedly. All the rest shall have to be seen to evoke the full emotional impact. In the tradition of most epic films, Saruman the second-in-command is the main villain for this instalment. Sauron is the one behind pulling the strings.

People who may have had problems with Fellowship regarding the character development of characters such as Legolas and Gimli need not worry, because while they only come onscreen after an hour and a half in Fellowship (there was a lot of other stuff going on with the Hobbits, Gandalf, Aragorn and the Ringwraithes for us to even begin to think about anything else), they were there from the start in The Two Towers. They have larger roles and kill more orcs.

Despite everything, this movie felt as a continuation of an on-going tale and set up the next instalment when it ended. I would have held it against it if Peter Jackson hadn't done such a wonderful job bringing such magic to his version of Middle Earth. I believe that with minor tweaks, if it hadn't been the requirement of the story and this movie had been separate from the trilogy, it would be hailed as among the finest pieces of cinema in the genre of fantasy. But when discussing the greatest movies, I believe a film should qualify on its own merits. I must hold it in comparison against a great film from another franchise, The Empire Strikes Back (though it cost The Return of the Jedi in story), and come to the conclusion that it just missed the mark of greatness. Having said that, there were some sequences that were more memorable that any in the other instalments. One of course is the defence of Helm's Deep, for its ingenuity in the field of battle and tactics in general; the other are the scenes with the Gollum, who had a longer screen time than he had in The Return of the King.

It was well acted all around. The cinematography was up to the highest standards held by Jackson. The special effects as always couldn't have been better without ruining the effect and look. The score sounded better than ever.

This had to be the lesser of the three films, because as most trilogies go, the middle instalment is more often than not a chance to develop the characters and introduce new conflicts, and cannot function independently as the first instalment can, which is why the latter are often more liked than the sequels. In one regard in which it did a better job than the first movie, is it gave the orcs some semblance of dialogue, so while the illusion of their just being war-mongering brutes is not shattered completely, it still presented them as beings capable of thought and some reason.

I had a lower regard for The Two Towers, which was a disappointment to a certain degree, until I watched the extended edition which includes some light hearted moments and develops some secondary characters like Eowyn and Faramir significantly. This, among other things, turned my score from a generous 9 into a well-deserved 10; and tilted my preference in favour of The Two Towers over The Return.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
sanyrubDec 8, 2013
Great follow up. Like most people are saying this one is more action packed. But that makes it slightly worse than the first one, which had more heart and introduced us to this magical world. Battles get too long at times. Overall it´s veryGreat follow up. Like most people are saying this one is more action packed. But that makes it slightly worse than the first one, which had more heart and introduced us to this magical world. Battles get too long at times. Overall it´s very good. We get to really discover Gollum (one of the biggest stars of the show obviously) and Frodo and Sam´s scenes keep being great and heart warming. One of the battle scenes is truly epic and beautiful. Still, the last chapter is the best. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
shpreaJul 14, 2014
The second movie of the trilogy doesn't necessarily do anything different. It just continues the story of the first. But hot damn is it good. Just like the Fellowship of the Ring, The Two Towers is amazing in most every facet. Acting,The second movie of the trilogy doesn't necessarily do anything different. It just continues the story of the first. But hot damn is it good. Just like the Fellowship of the Ring, The Two Towers is amazing in most every facet. Acting, cinematography, and storytelling are all on point.
If you see the first, you would be doing yourself a disservice not to see the second.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
mds03Apr 14, 2013
I really did like this movie and the 3 hour runtime wasn't a big problem in this one because it kept you entertained the whole time. The absolute best part about The Two Towers is the special effects and the combat sequences. I was obsessedI really did like this movie and the 3 hour runtime wasn't a big problem in this one because it kept you entertained the whole time. The absolute best part about The Two Towers is the special effects and the combat sequences. I was obsessed with this series for quite a while because it naturally draws people to it that like movies that are about adventures and trust me, it's quite an adventure. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Billakoz16Mar 7, 2013
It's the exact opposite of overvalued .It has VERY low rate -compared with the others- and it is the best of the 3. I'm really disappointed with the 3rd. And bored with it's style.
Of course the Extended Editions were way better
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
ScorpionMay 19, 2013
The two towers is in my opinion the weakest film of the trilogy, as it does not correct the error of the first film, which was a small inconsistency, it increases this problem, it is very frustrating to be accompanied by an epic battle andThe two towers is in my opinion the weakest film of the trilogy, as it does not correct the error of the first film, which was a small inconsistency, it increases this problem, it is very frustrating to be accompanied by an epic battle and suddenly the director cuts, and switches to a scene very quiet, but despite these errors the film behind a good story and that makes us more anxious for the end of the trilogy. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
JmsbppJul 22, 2013
de la charla salio la accion demostrando ademas los excelentes paisajes y originalidad medieval de algo que se aprovecho al maximo, gracios al gran trabajo de estas personas en este film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
genericusenameJun 7, 2013
Acting and scenery was just as fantastic as in the first movie. And while Sean Bean was done, Andy Serkis took a larger role as Gollum. This, along with the increased action, separated The Two Towers from Fellowship. Yes, it was a threeActing and scenery was just as fantastic as in the first movie. And while Sean Bean was done, Andy Serkis took a larger role as Gollum. This, along with the increased action, separated The Two Towers from Fellowship. Yes, it was a three hour movie, but the plot moved along seamlessly and included a great deal of drama with some humor mixed in. All and all, this is as close to a perfect movie as one can possibly get. I loved it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
SupaAwesomeMar 12, 2017
A truly epic cinematic experience. Even though it's the middle movie, having no proper beginning or end, The Two Towers stand out as one of the greatest movies ever made. With outstanding characters and the perfect blend of practical effectsA truly epic cinematic experience. Even though it's the middle movie, having no proper beginning or end, The Two Towers stand out as one of the greatest movies ever made. With outstanding characters and the perfect blend of practical effects and CGI this movie outperform other fantasy movies. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
AReviewsJun 24, 2013
This movie is outstanding and unforgettable, with good visuals and impressive, bigger and better battles, it is equally good as the fellowship of the ring, it picks up were the first one end, for most sequels it is hard to do, easy to ruin,This movie is outstanding and unforgettable, with good visuals and impressive, bigger and better battles, it is equally good as the fellowship of the ring, it picks up were the first one end, for most sequels it is hard to do, easy to ruin, but here it is epic. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
JohnnyStephensAug 31, 2013
The second chapter of the trilogy is better than the first one but worse than the third one. The action is more this time and it's not as boring as the first chapter.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
DibbHansenJul 14, 2013
Not as good as the first film, this film may feel long in some parts but it still boasts of what the first film contained: great action, adventure, fantasy, good acting, great music and stunning cinematography. I think this is the worst ofNot as good as the first film, this film may feel long in some parts but it still boasts of what the first film contained: great action, adventure, fantasy, good acting, great music and stunning cinematography. I think this is the worst of the trilogy, but it still is a great film nonetheless. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
kubathereviewerJul 24, 2013
This movie is a great follow-up to the Fellowship of the Ring and equally good. The battle of Helm's Deep is sensational. There are some boring parts, especially the Ents but overall it is a masterpiece.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
TheApplegnomeDec 9, 2014
This is a spectacular film.

Just as The Fellowship of the Ring: the opening scene is just as cool and deep as it is stunning. It's also an exiting and very well made film, and combined with awesome music from Howard Shore, couldn’t the
This is a spectacular film.

Just as The Fellowship of the Ring: the opening scene is just as cool and deep as it is stunning. It's also an exiting and very well made film, and combined with awesome music from Howard Shore, couldn’t the film be better. The action in this movie is incredible to watch, and the story is spectacular! There are nothing negative with this movie except the vague CGI, but the reason why I didn’t give this film a 10 is that I want more, especially action!

This is both a stunning, massive and deep movie.

The Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers gets a 9/10.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
MovieGuysFeb 2, 2014
Still fresh, The Lord of the Rings series' second installment is almost as good as the first, with slight imperfections that are easily overlooked. Overall, the movie is still a great epic.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
cag11Nov 29, 2013
This movie is a perfect sequel to Fellowship of the Ring. It doesn't have the absolute perfect thing, but it's almost flawless. The acting is overall just as good as the first one,, with a bit better graphics.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
joao1198pedroOct 27, 2013
between the three movies of the series this is the worst(the less great),but still is another epical movie that deserves great scores,this is just the middle of the story.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
DrewtheDude85May 28, 2015
While it's probably my least favorite film in The Lord the Rings trilogy (even though all three TLOTR films are almost equally amazing), The Two Tower is still another masterpiece that should not be overlooked. If you felt that The FellowshipWhile it's probably my least favorite film in The Lord the Rings trilogy (even though all three TLOTR films are almost equally amazing), The Two Tower is still another masterpiece that should not be overlooked. If you felt that The Fellowship of the Ring was rather light on action, then SEE THIS MOVIE because it has action and excitement in it that definitely feels like an improvement over it's predecessor. This film also introduces Golem (even though he did have a few minor appearances in TFOTR) and Andy Serkis did a fantastic job portraying this corrupted and messed up character. This film does just about everything right, you will be captivated the whole way through despite the film being around 3 hours long. The only thing that makes this film probably the one I love the least of the three (even though I still adore this film) is the fact that it still feels like a middle chapter making you feel a little annoyed that not all will end here. Luckily, we have The Return of the King to fix that all up. See TTT, it's a fantastic action-adventure fantasy film that you don't want to miss. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
AaronWasserman2May 5, 2014
A sequel on par with its predacessor. Still and insanely fun movie, on the long side, yes, but like the first film it never lets you get bored and it introduces you to one of the best villains....Gollum
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
SkyrimGuy935Jan 26, 2015
The Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers continues the trilogy with more fleshed out characters, the same level of emotional depth as the first, masterful, captivating storytelling, and truly epic battle sequences. I feel compelled to point outThe Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers continues the trilogy with more fleshed out characters, the same level of emotional depth as the first, masterful, captivating storytelling, and truly epic battle sequences. I feel compelled to point out the Battle of Helm's Deep, as it particularly stood out. I would even put this a slight, although minuscule notch above The Fellowship of the Ring, which is already an incredible film. However, the run time is just one measly minute shy of three hours, which may put off some viewers. If you thought Fellowship was too long, you'll likely feel the same way about this one. Needless to say though, it is still an incredible fantasy film.

Overall - 9.7/10
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
johnbobs1Jan 20, 2015
The second part of Peter Jackson's Rings trilogy is for me, possibly the best film of the series.
Like the others, it is truly epic in its design and in bringing Tolkien's fantastic legend to life, but this film contains a kind of
The second part of Peter Jackson's Rings trilogy is for me, possibly the best film of the series.
Like the others, it is truly epic in its design and in bringing Tolkien's fantastic legend to life, but this film contains a kind of atmospheric tension (best seen In Sam and Frodo's story) and gritty brutality (in the battle at Helm's Deep) that the other films did not quite possess in such measure.
As in the other films, the settings and scenery of the film are outstanding: from the eerie bleakness of the dead marshes to the wild and windswept hills of the plains of Rohan, this is beautifully filmed stuff.
Much of the acting is also of a very high standard. Ian Mckellen and Christopher Lee fit their roles as wise and mighty wizard (Gandalf) vs evil and corrupted wizard (Saruman) perfectly and Elijah Wood (Frodo) and Sean Astin (Sam) really take their performances to even higher standards in this installment.
I apologise if the following actors escape me here (!) - there are also several fine additions to the cast in this movie and the characters of Theoden, Eowyn and Grima Wormtongue also shine. But perhaps the finest performance comes from Andy Serkis, who plays Gollum. Gollum is of course 100% computer animated, but such is the strength of Serkis' performance and the realism of the animation, that this is definitely the performance of the film.
The battle of Helms Deep is also truly memorable, and the finest battle in the trilogy of films. We see lots of bloody fighting, hear swords clanging, arrows twanging from bows, see ladders assailing the fortress wall and even a huge explosion shake the foundations of the wall apart. Brilliantly done. The only that perhaps betters it are the prodeeding scenes - Saruman addressing his huge army at Isengard, the bleakness of the mood inside Helms Deep, the arrival of the elves and finally the tense wait just before the start of the battle, when we see and hear the huge army of the enemy slowly making it's way towards the gates under darkened skies.
It may be a superb film, but it is not totally without fault. Some characters will tend to irritate Tolkien enthuiasts, particularly Gimli and Legolas, who seem to have been given more trivial roles in this film, especially in the battle scenes. A large chunk of the plot has also changed, or at least been moved in this film as well, and some viewers may find themselves that Sam and Frodo do not get to face Shelob until the final film of the series, rather than in the Two Towers (as they did in the book). But the gripes do not amount to nearly enough to discredit what is an immense achievement and one of the finest fantasy films made in recent years.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
launchpad2132Jan 6, 2015
Undoubtedly the worst of the Lord of the RIngs movies. Certainly for me at least. And it still warrants a 10. Just increadible how Peter Jackson is able to take source materiel that is already amazing and turn it into something even better.Undoubtedly the worst of the Lord of the RIngs movies. Certainly for me at least. And it still warrants a 10. Just increadible how Peter Jackson is able to take source materiel that is already amazing and turn it into something even better. The plot is the thinnest in this one but the action more than makes up for it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
SythusRATINGSOct 18, 2014
In the second chapter in J.R.R Tolkien's epic trilogy, the Fellowship faces unimaginable armies and deception while also witnessing ancient wonders and the untapped strength of their people.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
JohnMasterLJul 20, 2015
The two towers conserva los mismos aspectos mágicos y épicos de su antecesora, pero es mas emocionante y grande a la vez. Mas personajes, mas historias, mas situaciones, cada una de ellas con un estilo distinto, manejado de una maneraThe two towers conserva los mismos aspectos mágicos y épicos de su antecesora, pero es mas emocionante y grande a la vez. Mas personajes, mas historias, mas situaciones, cada una de ellas con un estilo distinto, manejado de una manera increíble. Peter Jackson juega muy bien con las historias y crea una trama perfectamente entendible que conecta a un punto: El retorno del rey. Una excelente secuela que nos prepara para el gran final. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
SuperkidNov 9, 2014
This movie is awesome. Though I admit there is walking which every body seems to hate in the first half with small battles all off a sudden BOOM! there is like a mini war. then it goes to the next battle which is enormous with epic deaths andThis movie is awesome. Though I admit there is walking which every body seems to hate in the first half with small battles all off a sudden BOOM! there is like a mini war. then it goes to the next battle which is enormous with epic deaths and hand-to-hand combat that is magnificent but the walking I admit could've been more interesting but it's still a really good movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
thomasljoguesNov 13, 2014
A slight hair below Fellowship's quality, Two Towers is still a masterpiece. Although it does seem to slow down at times and differ from the source material in an occasional cliché way, it has the big plus of adding a theme of end and despair.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
starwooowMar 8, 2015
long? YES . Boring? ABSOLUTELY NO. this movie are long ( all three) because there is about character development. every LOTR films has a new character especially The Two Towers. your will saying awesome when you see the battle of Helm's Deep.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
moviemaniaMar 10, 2015
This movie is so awesometacular. The battle are bigger, breathaking and thrilling. I think no word to describe this movie just my experience. Must see!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews