Metascore
57

Mixed or average reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 21
  2. Negative: 2 out of 21
Watch On
  1. Reviewed by: Marc Savlov
    Apr 17, 2013
    67
    I could go on and on about Zombie’s style-over-substance direction, but why bother? The Lords of Salem is so clearly a project that Zombie has had stewing in his blood-and-black-lace heart for, I assume, ever, that the fact that it’s not a masterpiece seems almost moot. It’s a head trip, to be sure, but it’s Zombie’s electric, haunted head, so my advice is just sit back and goggle.
  2. Reviewed by: William Goss
    Apr 22, 2013
    63
    The film’s final shot ranks among its least graphic and yet most puzzling, a slap-in-the-face piece of punctuation that reminds the most accommodating viewers that, even on his good days, Mr. Zombie is really only making movies for an audience of one.
  3. Reviewed by: Eric Kohn
    Apr 14, 2013
    75
    Zombie's witches aren't as scary as the credible psychopaths he has portrayed before, but The Lords of Salem contains enough frenzied imagery in its climactic moments to make the spell linger.
  4. Reviewed by: Mark Olsen
    Apr 18, 2013
    90
    The Lords of Salem is like some queasy-making machine, a chamber piece of possession and madness that exerts a strange, disturbing power.
  5. Reviewed by: V.A. Musetto
    Apr 18, 2013
    75
    Movies by Rob Zombie, the goth rocker turned cult filmmaker, aren’t for everybody. But he couldn’t care less. He makes movies exactly the way he wants to, with no thought of pleasing mainstream audiences. They can like it or lump it. His latest effort, The Lords of Salem, is true to form.
  6. Reviewed by: Simon Abrams
    Jun 11, 2013
    75
    A genuinely nasty and disturbing piece of work, but its cumulative nerve-shredding effect is not just the product of effective direction. Sheri Moon Zombie delivers her best serious dramatic performance yet (before marrying Zombie, she used to be a porn star).
  7. Reviewed by: Nick Schager
    Apr 14, 2013
    100
    Rob Zombie understands horror as an aural-visual experience that should gnaw at the nerves, seep into the subconscious, and beget unshakeable nightmares.
  8. Reviewed by: Noel Murray
    Apr 17, 2013
    75
    For a rock star and old-movie buff like Rob Zombie, The Lords Of Salem offers a chance to riff on the notion of rock ’n’ roll as the devil’s music, while recreating scenes from old Hammer witch pictures. Zombie does both of these things—just not always as expected.
  9. Reviewed by: Frank Scheck
    Apr 18, 2013
    70
    The Lords of Salem is more creepily atmospheric than truly scary and eventually lapses into silliness. But it does provide some evocatively spooky moments along the way.
  10. Reviewed by: Simon Abrams
    Apr 14, 2013
    83
    The Lords of Salem is a product of Zombie’s better creative impulses, so it’s ok that it also features several of his worse indulgences, too.
User Score
5.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 41 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 14
  2. Negative: 4 out of 14
  1. Jan 25, 2015
    4
    The worst movie from Rob Zombie is his shallow remake of Halloween 2, however this one isn't very far off either. It's definitely moreThe worst movie from Rob Zombie is his shallow remake of Halloween 2, however this one isn't very far off either. It's definitely more enjoyable than his remakes but not as entertaining as his older more brutal films. Full Review »
  2. Feb 19, 2014
    2
    What the hell is wrong with Rob Zombie? I get that the guy grew up on Heavy Metal and old black & white Horror movies, but there is twistedWhat the hell is wrong with Rob Zombie? I get that the guy grew up on Heavy Metal and old black & white Horror movies, but there is twisted and then their is **** insane. The things that must be going through this mans head, that encouraged him to write something like this, is the true definition of horrific. The film follows a radio DJ in Salem, Massachusetts, who has been seeing some strange things. One day a weird record shows up at the station and the DJ plays it on the air. The seemingly innocent record becomes the most requested song on the station, but not without consequences, as it posses the local female population. I am a fan of his music, so I know how strange and twisted Rob Zombie can be, but even I have my limits. Following one of the best horror films I've ever seen, The Devil's Rejects, I was really looking forward to Zombie's next project. That film was a good story, with strong characters, and an amazing ending. This film is pure garbage, meant to shock and disturb audiences, and it does a very good job of that. From nude elderly women, spitting blood on babies, and opening gateways to hell to scary psychics and beast like creatures running around in the dark, this movie is full of things you just never want to see. Rob's wife, Sheri Moon Zombie stars and the once beautiful, up and coming star of the Devil's Rejects, is now covered in tattoos and looks like she hasn't eaten in months. Her performance is flat and unbelievable, adding to the mountain of manure that this film is offering. I love Horror movies and I love weird **** but this was just above and beyond freaking weird. I should have turned the film off when nude witches were spitting blood on babies, but I didn't, I stuck with it and I'm sorry I did. I don't know if I'll ever be able to get some of the horrific images out of my head. Full Review »
  3. Oct 13, 2013
    3
    i found it to be boring and not very memorable it hurts me because rob zombie has not failed me before. it had some interesting elements andi found it to be boring and not very memorable it hurts me because rob zombie has not failed me before. it had some interesting elements and twists but not nearly enough to keep me interested at all. Full Review »