The Lords of Salem

User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 46 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 46
  2. Negative: 13 out of 46

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Apr 25, 2013
    4
    A DJ plays a record that casts a musical spell. It unleashes dark powers of witchcraft and Satanism. Director Rob Zombie is like an eager film student, flexing his stylistic muscle: one minute it's arty, then macabre, then trippy, then just silly. There's an intense soundtrack and a cast of non-Hollywood types, which amplifies the ominous vibe. While there are effective moments, thisA DJ plays a record that casts a musical spell. It unleashes dark powers of witchcraft and Satanism. Director Rob Zombie is like an eager film student, flexing his stylistic muscle: one minute it's arty, then macabre, then trippy, then just silly. There's an intense soundtrack and a cast of non-Hollywood types, which amplifies the ominous vibe. While there are effective moments, this mashup of approaches lacks any frights or tension…just a collage of creepy. Expand
  2. Apr 21, 2013
    5
    I wanted to enjoy it much more than I did. I still feel that Zombie is an excellent director but I am doubting his ability as a writer, at least with this film. I couldn't help but pick out the similarities in plot to an excellent film the House of the Devil only with the addition of witches and the Salem location. I still believe that Rob has his horror masterpiece still to come butI wanted to enjoy it much more than I did. I still feel that Zombie is an excellent director but I am doubting his ability as a writer, at least with this film. I couldn't help but pick out the similarities in plot to an excellent film the House of the Devil only with the addition of witches and the Salem location. I still believe that Rob has his horror masterpiece still to come but this was most certainly not it. Collapse
  3. May 5, 2013
    6
    The Lords of Salem is the new twisted horror movie by a well known horror master Rob Zombie, this director has a unique style of directing a horror movie, he understands horror movie as a new type of adrenaline that should run fear inside your heart and brain and shock with disturbance and gruesome scenes, like his new movie about witches which is extremely disturbing and scary, andThe Lords of Salem is the new twisted horror movie by a well known horror master Rob Zombie, this director has a unique style of directing a horror movie, he understands horror movie as a new type of adrenaline that should run fear inside your heart and brain and shock with disturbance and gruesome scenes, like his new movie about witches which is extremely disturbing and scary, and definitely not for kids, it gets more scarier throughout and terrifying, it may gives you shock, disturbing scenes, blood, and it may lead you to shouting from being scared, as I was. Expand
  4. Jun 8, 2013
    5
    Not my favorite Rob Zombie movie, but if your a fan of his it is definitely worth a watch. The movie has points where it drags and to be honest there are some scenes I don't know what's going on. Visually it is his best work and know doubt about it there is some insane things going on here.
  5. Jun 17, 2013
    6
    The Lords of Salem captivates you in its world of terror and gruesome horror, it is the true face of horror, it is extremely scary and chilling, with those witches, it plays with your mind psychologically, but as a horror movie, it gets complicated, and really disturbing, with anti-religious scenes, the whole movie is anti-religious, scary and disturbing, definitely not for kids orThe Lords of Salem captivates you in its world of terror and gruesome horror, it is the true face of horror, it is extremely scary and chilling, with those witches, it plays with your mind psychologically, but as a horror movie, it gets complicated, and really disturbing, with anti-religious scenes, the whole movie is anti-religious, scary and disturbing, definitely not for kids or sensitive people. Expand
  6. Sep 6, 2013
    6
    I've never cared for Rob Zombie's films. As a writer, I think he's terrible as all his movies look like he just stole plot points, themes and ideas from other films (there IS a point where paying homage becomes outright stealing) but, as a director, I think the man has an amazing eye and, as long as he didn't write it, he COULD make decent horror films.

    I was actually really surprised
    I've never cared for Rob Zombie's films. As a writer, I think he's terrible as all his movies look like he just stole plot points, themes and ideas from other films (there IS a point where paying homage becomes outright stealing) but, as a director, I think the man has an amazing eye and, as long as he didn't write it, he COULD make decent horror films.

    I was actually really surprised at how good "The Lords of Salem" was as it is nothing like his other movies. The film, for the most part, is grounded and doesn't play out like a demented cartoon like his other works. The film has substance, tone and actual scares playing in it. Zombie really showed an evolution and a newly discovered maturity with this film.

    Just as surprising as Rob's sudden turn is the fact his wife Sheri Moon Zombie (playing the lead) goes from being an annoying scenery chewer in his other movies to someone with some skills. She really surprised me at how amazing her performance was in this one.

    That being said, "The Lords of Salem" still isn't that great of a film. All the hard work at establishing a solid scary movie starts to unravel in the middle of the film and it starts to turn into the silliness we've seen from him before. However, the movie does seem like a step in the right direction for Rob Zombie as a film maker.
    Expand
  7. Jan 25, 2015
    4
    The worst movie from Rob Zombie is his shallow remake of Halloween 2, however this one isn't very far off either. It's definitely more enjoyable than his remakes but not as entertaining as his older more brutal films.
  8. Aug 3, 2015
    5
    First off The Lords of Salem is yet another film by the brilliant artist-musician-film director Rob Zombie. This movie was released in 2012 and is a story about basically The American Witch. Unlike Rob Zombie's other films The Lords of Salem is a bit of slow starter very heavily detailed. We purchased The Lords of Salem because we are hardcore Rob Zombie fans, we love his music, art, andFirst off The Lords of Salem is yet another film by the brilliant artist-musician-film director Rob Zombie. This movie was released in 2012 and is a story about basically The American Witch. Unlike Rob Zombie's other films The Lords of Salem is a bit of slow starter very heavily detailed. We purchased The Lords of Salem because we are hardcore Rob Zombie fans, we love his music, art, and films. We consider The House of 1000 Corpses to be a complete work of art, "The Devil's Rejects" to be a very great somewhat extension to the first film. Rob Zombie is an artist, his work is more enjoyable to those that truly see him as an artist. Former films directed by Rob Zombies such as his versions of Halloween and Halloween 2 we feel were better than the originals, yet they still held true to the original stories. This all being said, "The Lords of Salem" was more artistry based of a film, slow moving, detailed, but is a hard film to get in to.

    Now we watched "The Lords of Salem" a few times now, following Heidi (Sheri Moon Zombie) through the story as it slowly exposes that she had a lot to do with a specific coven of witches known as "The Lords of Salem". I can't stress the length of time in this build up enough, maybe too much detail leading up to this was displayed. Of course Rob Zombies' movies are all about the detail which has made them all amazing, this film specifically is just slower based. The film style used in The Lords of Salem is awesome, the characters were played very well, and we also liked the little kick backs here and their noting other movies. Things like Sheri Moon Zombie being referred to as "Baby" for a quick spot in the story, just to name one of these. But yes the cast was perfect, the graphics were very good, and we cannot leave out John 5 for his music contribution and acting.
    Expand
Metascore
57

Mixed or average reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 21
  2. Negative: 2 out of 21
  1. Reviewed by: Simon Abrams
    Jun 11, 2013
    75
    A genuinely nasty and disturbing piece of work, but its cumulative nerve-shredding effect is not just the product of effective direction. Sheri Moon Zombie delivers her best serious dramatic performance yet (before marrying Zombie, she used to be a porn star).
  2. Reviewed by: William Goss
    Apr 22, 2013
    63
    The film’s final shot ranks among its least graphic and yet most puzzling, a slap-in-the-face piece of punctuation that reminds the most accommodating viewers that, even on his good days, Mr. Zombie is really only making movies for an audience of one.
  3. 40
    The Lords of Salem is gloomy, lacks variety, and is not without its flat patches. Heidi is an increasingly dullish heroine, and in the first 15 minutes you’ll know what’s going to happen in the next 80.