User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 37 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 37
  2. Negative: 10 out of 37

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 25, 2013
    4
    A DJ plays a record that casts a musical spell. It unleashes dark powers of witchcraft and Satanism. Director Rob Zombie is like an eager film student, flexing his stylistic muscle: one minute it's arty, then macabre, then trippy, then just silly. There's an intense soundtrack and a cast of non-Hollywood types, which amplifies the ominous vibe. While there are effective moments, this mashup of approaches lacks any frights or tension…just a collage of creepy. Expand
  2. Jun 4, 2013
    8
    Visually grand, disturbing and intensely creepy; The Lords of Salem provides all these along with plenty of nightmarish imagery and great sound design, but unfortunately isn't really that scary and it can feel a little campy sometimes due to silly dialogue and overacted (and underacted) performances.
  3. Feb 19, 2014
    2
    What the hell is wrong with Rob Zombie? I get that the guy grew up on Heavy Metal and old black & white Horror movies, but there is twisted and then their is **** insane. The things that must be going through this mans head, that encouraged him to write something like this, is the true definition of horrific. The film follows a radio DJ in Salem, Massachusetts, who has been seeing some strange things. One day a weird record shows up at the station and the DJ plays it on the air. The seemingly innocent record becomes the most requested song on the station, but not without consequences, as it posses the local female population. I am a fan of his music, so I know how strange and twisted Rob Zombie can be, but even I have my limits. Following one of the best horror films I've ever seen, The Devil's Rejects, I was really looking forward to Zombie's next project. That film was a good story, with strong characters, and an amazing ending. This film is pure garbage, meant to shock and disturb audiences, and it does a very good job of that. From nude elderly women, spitting blood on babies, and opening gateways to hell to scary psychics and beast like creatures running around in the dark, this movie is full of things you just never want to see. Rob's wife, Sheri Moon Zombie stars and the once beautiful, up and coming star of the Devil's Rejects, is now covered in tattoos and looks like she hasn't eaten in months. Her performance is flat and unbelievable, adding to the mountain of manure that this film is offering. I love Horror movies and I love weird **** but this was just above and beyond freaking weird. I should have turned the film off when nude witches were spitting blood on babies, but I didn't, I stuck with it and I'm sorry I did. I don't know if I'll ever be able to get some of the horrific images out of my head. Expand
  4. May 6, 2013
    1
    Wow this was bad. I expected that sort of cliche/70's horror style, but this was just dumb. Rob Zombie really needs some Catholic recovery therapy. I'm not religious and I don't like Catholicism, but this movie was just beating a dead horse with the repeated religion bashing. Maybe I'm old and jaded, but devil stuff isn't scary anymore. This movie did provide a lot of laughs, which seemed to be part of the whole idea. Collapse
  5. Apr 21, 2013
    5
    I wanted to enjoy it much more than I did. I still feel that Zombie is an excellent director but I am doubting his ability as a writer, at least with this film. I couldn't help but pick out the similarities in plot to an excellent film the House of the Devil only with the addition of witches and the Salem location. I still believe that Rob has his horror masterpiece still to come but this was most certainly not it. Expand
  6. May 5, 2013
    6
    The Lords of Salem is the new twisted horror movie by a well known horror master Rob Zombie, this director has a unique style of directing a horror movie, he understands horror movie as a new type of adrenaline that should run fear inside your heart and brain and shock with disturbance and gruesome scenes, like his new movie about witches which is extremely disturbing and scary, and definitely not for kids, it gets more scarier throughout and terrifying, it may gives you shock, disturbing scenes, blood, and it may lead you to shouting from being scared, as I was. Expand
  7. Apr 20, 2013
    7
    Rob Zombie is back with his horror thriller- The Lords Of Salem. Now, its a good movie period. You remember when Zombie made great horror films? Well The Lords Of Salem is just that and more, the film is Rob's gory story with a god and Christian twist and religion with the Salems is just Rob Zombie's thing. You will get scared, you will laugh not really), and you will understand this horror movie. It's not like The Ring where you have to put a brainy nerd to understand it for you. Well in the end for a good ticket price, I had my money's worth. Expand
  8. Jun 8, 2013
    5
    Not my favorite Rob Zombie movie, but if your a fan of his it is definitely worth a watch. The movie has points where it drags and to be honest there are some scenes I don't know what's going on. Visually it is his best work and know doubt about it there is some insane things going on here.
  9. Apr 19, 2013
    9
    The Lords of Salem by Rob Zombie: A really awesome movie, I was surprised, Rob Zombie puts passion for this film is seen in the care that has to make it happen, wonderful.
  10. Jun 17, 2013
    6
    The Lords of Salem captivates you in its world of terror and gruesome horror, it is the true face of horror, it is extremely scary and chilling, with those witches, it plays with your mind psychologically, but as a horror movie, it gets complicated, and really disturbing, with anti-religious scenes, the whole movie is anti-religious, scary and disturbing, definitely not for kids or sensitive people. Expand
  11. Sep 6, 2013
    6
    I've never cared for Rob Zombie's films. As a writer, I think he's terrible as all his movies look like he just stole plot points, themes and ideas from other films (there IS a point where paying homage becomes outright stealing) but, as a director, I think the man has an amazing eye and, as long as he didn't write it, he COULD make decent horror films.

    I was actually really surprised
    at how good "The Lords of Salem" was as it is nothing like his other movies. The film, for the most part, is grounded and doesn't play out like a demented cartoon like his other works. The film has substance, tone and actual scares playing in it. Zombie really showed an evolution and a newly discovered maturity with this film.

    Just as surprising as Rob's sudden turn is the fact his wife Sheri Moon Zombie (playing the lead) goes from being an annoying scenery chewer in his other movies to someone with some skills. She really surprised me at how amazing her performance was in this one.

    That being said, "The Lords of Salem" still isn't that great of a film. All the hard work at establishing a solid scary movie starts to unravel in the middle of the film and it starts to turn into the silliness we've seen from him before. However, the movie does seem like a step in the right direction for Rob Zombie as a film maker.
    Expand
  12. Oct 12, 2013
    0
    This movie was horrible. The plot was lame. He used his wife (again) as a star role, which is getting really old. The end was really bad. He had a bunch of pictures flash with cheesy Photoshop effects that a grade school kid could do and the movie just never took off. Find a new hobby Z man.
  13. Oct 13, 2013
    3
    i found it to be boring and not very memorable it hurts me because rob zombie has not failed me before. it had some interesting elements and twists but not nearly enough to keep me interested at all.
Metascore
57

Mixed or average reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 21
  2. Negative: 2 out of 21
  1. Reviewed by: Simon Abrams
    Jun 11, 2013
    75
    A genuinely nasty and disturbing piece of work, but its cumulative nerve-shredding effect is not just the product of effective direction. Sheri Moon Zombie delivers her best serious dramatic performance yet (before marrying Zombie, she used to be a porn star).
  2. Reviewed by: William Goss
    Apr 22, 2013
    63
    The film’s final shot ranks among its least graphic and yet most puzzling, a slap-in-the-face piece of punctuation that reminds the most accommodating viewers that, even on his good days, Mr. Zombie is really only making movies for an audience of one.
  3. 40
    The Lords of Salem is gloomy, lacks variety, and is not without its flat patches. Heidi is an increasingly dullish heroine, and in the first 15 minutes you’ll know what’s going to happen in the next 80.