User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 11 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 11
  2. Negative: 1 out of 11
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. CameronS.
    Apr 2, 2004
    4
    Several friends of mine made an exceptionally campy film called "What Man Becomes." It is about humanoid aliens (or is it?) who are trying to kill the dumb people of today in order to make a better future in a world less overpopulated. They created a highly entertaining, campy delight. However, they did not want to make a campy B-movie, but were instead interest in making a witty popcorn Several friends of mine made an exceptionally campy film called "What Man Becomes." It is about humanoid aliens (or is it?) who are trying to kill the dumb people of today in order to make a better future in a world less overpopulated. They created a highly entertaining, campy delight. However, they did not want to make a campy B-movie, but were instead interest in making a witty popcorn movie. They achieved that goal, and if I had to choose between paying $8 to see their 30-minute film on the big screen or The Lost Skeleton of Cadavra, I?d definitely see What Man Becomes. The ?Lost Skeleton of Cadavra? is like the TV show, Mystery Science Theatre 3000, except instead of being an audience watching an audience make fun of a bad movie, we become the middle men while there is no one watching us laugh at a bad movie, which is like watching the MST3K movies without the guys ? how dull. The movie was filmed in Skeletorama, which apparently makes all present-day things look like digitized versions of Ed Wood movies. The plot is about a good scientist and his wife, a cockeyed, dumb evil scientist, and a shipwrecked alien couple are in search of atmosphereum, which with a tablespoons-worth could take us from Earth to the Moon six times, roundtrip. I kept track at the amount of times I laughed, and it is a number that can be counted amongst your hands and feet. One of these laughs worth ruining is when Dr. Fleming asks Ranger Brad about the Cadavra cave. Ranger Brad asks ?You don?t believe in those silly stories, do you?? Dr. Fleming replies, ?Of course not I?m a scientist, I don?t believe in anything.? When the films routine started to get very tiring and wearisome, I was reminded of a far superior and more focused skit on Saturday Night Live that involved the funny black guy playing a serial-type adventurer of space who meets big breasted alien girls and speaks his mind about what he would want to do to them. That skit could be tiring if it were a 90-minute film, but at a brisk four minutes, it produces plenty of laughs and fun, which is what Lost Skeleton of Cadavra should be, a four minute skit. The Lost Skeleton of Cadavra?s goal was to be an authentically campy 50?s movie. It has achieved its goal to the extent that it is an unentertaining snooze-fest of sloppy filmmaking where everybody is working below their talents. The filmmakers may have achieved their goal, but I can still despise it for having such a low standard of entertainment. Note: There is an animated short that plays before the movie that is more efficiently a replica of old Disney musical shorts of the 1930?s. In its infinitesimal running time, it produces as many laughs as The Lost Skeleton of Cadavra. Expand
  2. RobertD.
    Mar 1, 2004
    9
    Yes, I have a role in this film, so maybe I'm prejudiced. But I've also watched it at least a dozen times, and it still makes me laugh out loud.
  3. LillyM.
    Mar 8, 2004
    10
    I have never laughed so hard in my life if it wasnt for the fact that all the other people in the theater were also on the verge of wetting them selfs with hystarical and continuouse out bursts i think people would have punched me for laughing so hard. i have never been fanatical about any movies but after seeing this one. i have visited the website every night already put it on my netflixI have never laughed so hard in my life if it wasnt for the fact that all the other people in the theater were also on the verge of wetting them selfs with hystarical and continuouse out bursts i think people would have punched me for laughing so hard. i have never been fanatical about any movies but after seeing this one. i have visited the website every night already put it on my netflix list. ordered all my friends and some enemys to see it and quoted it once an hour. i cant wait for the day its on video. this is a must see with out a doubt. Expand
  4. JonathanMcA.
    Jun 30, 2004
    9
    It's hard to make a good movie when you are paying homage to bad movies and many have failed trying. But Lost Skeleton succeeds! A wonderful movie that gets a little funnier each time I watch it and is definitely better when you watch it with others.
  5. JoshM.
    Feb 17, 2004
    8
    Do NOT listen to the critics on this one! This is hilarious! We laughed all the way through! Perfect for anyone who has ever enjoyed MST3K or Ed Wood, or ever laughed their way through a bad movie!
  6. DavidM.
    Jun 30, 2004
    9
    As someone who agrees with many of the critics ratings for other movies on this site, I absolutely disagree with them here. This parody is hilarious. Maybe it helps to be familiar with the movies (of the '50s) being parodied (I am), but I laughed out loud through most of this movie.
  7. susanc.
    Jun 29, 2005
    10
    We enjoyed this move very much. Our kids enjoyed this movie and our grandkids laughed all the way through. ROWER!
  8. JeffL.
    Jul 12, 2004
    10
    Larry Blamire's loopy, dead-on spoof (or, more accurately, recreation) of all those cheesy Plan 9/Robot Monster/Brain From Planet Arous-type grade-Z drive-in horror flicks from the 50s and 60s is simply one of the sweetest, funniest, most absolutely perfect comedies I've ever seen. From the endlessly quotable dialogue to the wonderfully awful special effects to the pitch-perfect Larry Blamire's loopy, dead-on spoof (or, more accurately, recreation) of all those cheesy Plan 9/Robot Monster/Brain From Planet Arous-type grade-Z drive-in horror flicks from the 50s and 60s is simply one of the sweetest, funniest, most absolutely perfect comedies I've ever seen. From the endlessly quotable dialogue to the wonderfully awful special effects to the pitch-perfect cast (sexy Jennifer Blaire deserves an Oscar nomination - I'm not kidding! - as Animala), this film has more wit and invention than any Hollywood film I've seen since maybe Finding Nemo. Writer/director/star Blamire scores extra points for truly being a fan of his source material and treating it with affection rather than mean-spirited derision. With a little more distribution and promotion, this could become a major cult classic, and really should be seen with an audience in a movie theatre if at all possible. Having said that, definitely check out the DVD as well - the commentaries, bloopers, and other extras are priceless. Expand
Metascore
45

Mixed or average reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 23
  2. Negative: 6 out of 23
  1. Reviewed by: Don R. Lewis
    40
    A spot-on homage/parody of bad 1950's sci-fi movies.
  2. Reviewed by: Dennis Harvey
    70
    Affectionate spoof merits appreciation as a not-so-dumb salute to another era's ultra-dumb genre conventions.
  3. 40
    It’s amusing, but it also eventually becomes tedious, like a comedy sketch that milks a good joke just a little too long.