The Love Guru

The Love Guru Image
Metascore
24

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 33 Critics What's this?

User Score
3.8

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 103 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: In the comedy The Love Guru, Pitka is an American who was left at the gates of an ashram in India as a child and raised by gurus. He moves back to the U.S. to seek fame and fortune in the world of self-help and spirituality. His unorthodox methods are put to the test when he must settle aIn the comedy The Love Guru, Pitka is an American who was left at the gates of an ashram in India as a child and raised by gurus. He moves back to the U.S. to seek fame and fortune in the world of self-help and spirituality. His unorthodox methods are put to the test when he must settle a rift between Toronto Maple Leafs star hockey player Darren Roanoke and his estranged wife. After the split, Roanoke’s wife starts dating L.A. Kings star Jacques Grande out of revenge, sending her husband into a major professional skid – to the horror of the teams’ owner Jane Bullard and Coach Cherkov. Pitka must return the couple to marital nirvana and get Roanoke back on his game so the team can break the 40-year-old “Bullard Curse” and win the Stanley Cup. (Paramount Pictures) Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 33
  2. Negative: 21 out of 33
  1. What links all these characters is Myers's gift for antic, elfin burlesque. He's like a second-best Peter Sellers.
  2. Piles dumb gag upon dumb gag - it's like benign pummeling. Occasionally, you just have to laugh.
  3. If you're a Toronto native or a big-time hockey geek, there are enough little in jokes to probably carry you through the leaden pacing and barrel-scraping gross-out humor, but it's an awfully dull ride for the rest of us.
  4. 30
    Now and again some pungent writing leaks through to poke fun at the excruciating banality of guru wisdom. But mostly it’s dreary dick jokes and elephant poop, slack directing by Marco Schnabel, and, of all fatal errors, Mike Myers, shooting for cuddly.
  5. 25
    Adam Sandler can breathe a sigh of relief: Thanks to this crude, bafflingly unfunny comedy from fellow SNL alum Mike Myers, Sandler can rest assured that his "You Don't Mess With The Zohan" won't go down as the worst movie of 2008.
  6. 25
    This is the first time we've seen Myers in the flesh since he committed assault and battery on Dr. Seuss, and I wish the cat had stayed in the hat.
  7. Reviewed by: Dana Stevens
    0
    This tale of a guru who brings joy to all who meet him is the most joy-draining 88 minutes I've ever spent outside a hospital waiting room.

See all 33 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 42
  2. Negative: 23 out of 42
  1. HarryN
    Jun 29, 2008
    10
    First time I laughed at a movie in a loooooooong time. Then again, what else funny has come out... MEET THE SPARTANS, I think not!
  2. Feb 19, 2011
    9
    This is a movie that will keep you laughing from beginning to end, this may be a movie that will appeal to teenagers more than most adults,This is a movie that will keep you laughing from beginning to end, this may be a movie that will appeal to teenagers more than most adults, all in all this is a great comedy, one I would highly recommend. Expand
  3. RobB
    Sep 26, 2008
    8
    For sure it wasn't the best movie he has done. but I laughed my ass off. but maybe I find those stupid comedies funny. my finace laughed For sure it wasn't the best movie he has done. but I laughed my ass off. but maybe I find those stupid comedies funny. my finace laughed all the way through it also and she doesn't like those kinds usually. so i think alot of you are just bing too harsh on this movie. Expand
  4. ChadS.
    Jun 20, 2008
    2
    It hardly mattered that a lot of Americans were clueless as to what Mike Myers was satirizing when the titular character from "Austin Powers: It hardly mattered that a lot of Americans were clueless as to what Mike Myers was satirizing when the titular character from "Austin Powers: International Man of Mystery" became something of a comic zeitgeist in the late-nineties and early 21st century. That voice alone, an instrument in which Myers played all the right mercurical and randy notes, transcended the typical American moviegoer's limited grasp of film history. Myers brought swinging London across the Atlantic, and for a brief period, he was the only comic actor that mattered. But subsequent sequels, were less funny, less swinging, as Myers' penchance for gross-out humor started to grow tiresome. Fat Bastard was his nadir. The trend continues here. Jokes about masturbation, flatulence, male genitalia, urine, and "midgets" inspires silence, not laughter. And worst of all, the voice isn't funny. The Guru Pitka sounds like a child molester. And hockey? A comedy about hockey and Deepak Chopra? Myers, whose last notable appearance was playing straight-man to Kanye West as the rapper told a post-Katrina audience on live television that George W. Bush didn't like black people, gets his revenge for playing the unwilling stooge. In "The Love Guru", there's the temptation to look at Darren Roanoke(Romany Malco), a black hockey player for the Toronto Maple Leafs, as a stand-in for West. For the record, Roanoke has a smaller penis than Jacques Grande(Justin Timberlake), and is scared of his mother. Think about it. What could be more emasculating to a rap artist? And finally, "The Love Guru" makes reference not just once(Coach Punch Cherkov's office is just like the seven-and-a-half floor in Charlie Kaufman's Martin Flemmer building), but twice, to Spike Jonze's "Being John Malkovich". The Los Angeles Times headline that proclaims Deepak Chopra's dominance over the Guru Pitka is an obscure reference to the John Cusack character bitching about living in the shadow of Derek Mantini(Ned Bellamy), who Craig Schwartz(Cusack) watches from his couch, as the populist puppeteer mounts a giant Emily Dickinson presentation("The Belle of Amherst") on live television. The Jonze film establishes a skewered world where puppeteers matter, as does "The Love Guru", which overstates the importance of spiritualists like Deepak Chopra in the popular culture. That's the only cerebral component in this puerile, mean-spirited, and above all else, cynical, film, that's purported to be a comedy, but is more like an object of performance art that deconstructs comedy and the human heart. Collapse
  5. Feb 14, 2016
    2
    To celebrate Valentine's Day on my profile on Metacritic, I'm forced to do a review on this because it said 'Love' on the title, right? MikeTo celebrate Valentine's Day on my profile on Metacritic, I'm forced to do a review on this because it said 'Love' on the title, right? Mike Myers brings us a huge mess that could've been better... a lot better. How bad was it? It was 'Cat in the Hat' bad. Expand
  6. RobF
    Jun 21, 2008
    0
    I went to this movie with a friend hoping for a movie so bad it was funny. What we got was a movie so bad we both walked out as the credits I went to this movie with a friend hoping for a movie so bad it was funny. What we got was a movie so bad we both walked out as the credits and gag reel rolled, our spirits broken, our stomachs turned in knots begging for us to to regurgitate the experience. If the CIA uses this film as a torture technique, I assure you it would be more effective than waterboarding. Expand
  7. Jun 8, 2013
    0
    My family and I are fans of Myers so we figure we'd at least get a good laugh out of it. Ended up being one of the worst films that I haveMy family and I are fans of Myers so we figure we'd at least get a good laugh out of it. Ended up being one of the worst films that I have ever seen. Just one god awful movie. Expand

See all 42 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Film Friday (9/30): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (9/30): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: September 30, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them and new films from Denzel Washington, Jim Jarmusch, Mike Mills, Warren Beatty, Olivier Assayas, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.
  2. DVD/Blu-ray Release Calendar: October 2016

    DVD/Blu-ray Release Calendar: October 2016 Image
    Published: September 29, 2016
    Find a complete guide to TV and movie titles heading to Blu-ray and DVD throughout the month of October, including The Night Of, Ghostbusters, X-Men: Apocalypse, and more.
  3. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: September 28, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Deepwater Horizon, Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children, Masterminds, Queen of Katwe, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.
  4. What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video

    What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video Image
    Published: September 23, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Amazon Instant Video and Prime Instant Video, updated frequently.