Metascore
65

Generally favorable reviews - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 9
  2. Negative: 1 out of 9
Watch On
  1. Reviewed by: Noel Murray
    Nov 9, 2011
    83
    Mostly, though, the pleasure of The Love We Make comes from watching one of the most famous musicians in the world looking totally chill, whether he's rehearsing with his band or casually chatting with Bill Clinton.
  2. Reviewed by: David Rooney
    Nov 10, 2011
    80
    While the documentary stops short of hagiography, it offers a delicate portrait of a man with an extraordinarily youthful energy and enthusiasm for music, people and life.
  3. Reviewed by: Robert Koehler
    Nov 10, 2011
    80
    The former Beatle, a longtime Maysles friend, could have found no better documentarian.
  4. Reviewed by: Kyle Smith
    Nov 11, 2011
    75
    The magical mystery that is Paul McCartney may never be solved, but for fans (the line forms behind me), the new documentary The Love We Make includes some memorable displays of his world-conquering charm.
  5. Reviewed by: Jeannette Catsoulis
    Nov 10, 2011
    70
    Captured mostly in gorgeous black and white, The Love We Make is alternately trite, touching, funny and fascinating.
  6. Reviewed by: Eric Kohn
    Nov 10, 2011
    67
    The Love We Make provides sufficient behind-the-scenes nuggets for diehard fans of McCartney and Maysles alike.
  7. Reviewed by: Chuck Bowen
    Nov 7, 2011
    63
    The Love We Make is mostly about placing viewers in an icon's shoes as he makes a rehabilitative gesture toward a city with which he's grown considerable roots.
  8. Reviewed by: David Fear
    Nov 8, 2011
    60
    What does resonate is how the film captures McCartney in laid-back ambassador mode, walking around in midtown and turning big names into awestruck fanboys.
  9. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Dec 15, 2011
    25
    I know this is heresy on a number of fronts, but much of The Love We Make is boring.

There are no user reviews yet.