The Lovely Bones

Metascore
42

Mixed or average reviews - based on 36 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 216 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: The Lovely Bones centers on a young girl who has been murdered and watches over her family – and her killer – from heaven. She must weigh her desire for vengeance against her desire for her family to heal. (Paramount Pictures)
Watch On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 36
  2. Negative: 10 out of 36
  1. 91
    As someone new to the material, I found Jackson’s film soulful, respectful, masterful, horrifying, rending and emotionally true. It may not be the Lovely Bones that you have in mind, but it’s a fine and powerful one.
  2. Reviewed by: Richard Corliss
    70
    When else has the obscenity of child murder been the cause of such gravity and grace?
  3. Hovers just this side of "Ghost Whisperer" kitsch but remains compulsively watchable thanks to its smart ensemble cast
  4. The Lovely Bones is difficult viewing, a meticulously crafted experiment that, it turns out, wasn't worth it.
  5. As the murderer, Stanley Tucci is intensely creepy but, like almost everybody else in this movie, he’s more gothic figment than flesh and blood.
  6. 38
    A deplorable film with this message: If you're a 14-year-old girl who has been brutally raped and murdered by a serial killer, you have a lot to look forward to.
  7. Peter Jackson siphoned out all the soulfulness that made the author's combination thriller/afterlife fantasy a best-seller. In its place is a gumball-colored potboiler that's more squalid than truly mournful.

See all 36 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 49 out of 80
  2. Negative: 15 out of 80
  1. JohnB
    Jan 5, 2010
    10
    Very beautiful and moving film. Love it lots, especially Saoirse Ronan, who is simply the Best.
  2. Sep 12, 2010
    9
    i think that this film was very emotional it adds a lot of drama especially for the kind of story that it is. the cast performed very well andi think that this film was very emotional it adds a lot of drama especially for the kind of story that it is. the cast performed very well and convincing especially Saoirse Ronan. for those who have read the book it adds suspension knowing what is going to happen and knowing the events that are building up in the movie Expand
  3. May 4, 2014
    8
    Je viens de le voir, le paradis à son charme. Très bien filmer, les personnages sont très attachent, la narration et excellente. On voit queJe viens de le voir, le paradis à son charme. Très bien filmer, les personnages sont très attachent, la narration et excellente. On voit que pour mettre en place le personnage du psychopathe il on dut travailler sur les technique de prédation de ces derniers, tous y est.
    Film touchant. Une prose sur ce qu'est la mort, qui nous rappelle à tous la valeur de vivre, et que nous sommes éphémères.
    Expand
  4. Dec 10, 2010
    7
    Just when you start to feel sad- BOOM THERES A DOUBLE RAINBOW!!! Sorry I couldnt be helped. But yeah, the contrast between grief and giantJust when you start to feel sad- BOOM THERES A DOUBLE RAINBOW!!! Sorry I couldnt be helped. But yeah, the contrast between grief and giant rainbows and butterflies is pretty nicely done. I actually enjoyed this movie. I love Mark W's constantly confused-looking face, it warms my heart. There was too much time spent in rainbowland, I agree with most people here, but one thing i disagree with is: Character development. This was decent enough, for the time spent in the real world. The father goes from obsessive ship builder to crazed obsessive maniac daddy from hell, the sister goes from being an extra to an active character (did she have any lines at all??), and the son, went from almost suffocating to a half mentally challenged cild, hooray. I did not like the mothers character. Waah, im portraying the familys grief, and im gonna go abandon my kids... Its not deep, but when you cut out all the rainbows the movie is rather short, and there wasnt much time for them to develop more than this. Definately worth a watch (or a stream) at leat once. Its great for someone like me, who lacks emotional capacity and is easily distracted by bright shiny rainbows ^^. Expand
  5. Aug 24, 2014
    5
    On one hand, you have a film wasting its opportunity to be a beautiful adaptation of a beloved book--and the other, an Oscar-worthyOn one hand, you have a film wasting its opportunity to be a beautiful adaptation of a beloved book--and the other, an Oscar-worthy performance from Stanley Tucci. Expand
  6. JakeN
    Feb 6, 2010
    4
    Rather boring then thrilling. All the big flowers and pretty colors are neither beautiful nor entertaining. The acting is absolutely Rather boring then thrilling. All the big flowers and pretty colors are neither beautiful nor entertaining. The acting is absolutely horrible. Let's just put it this way. 'The Lovely Bones' is a total mess that fell out of the sky. I am going to have to say that isn't a bad movie. Though it is pretty lame. The storyline isn't good, but it's not terrible. So it's just an-a-okay story. The beginning isn't very bad, but then it just goes to flaw after flaw after flaw after flaw. Mark Wahlberg and Rachel Weisz (who play the parnets of Susie Salmon) are the ones with the worst acting in the movie. Also Stanley Tucci does a poor job with his acting as well. There mostly the whole cast of the movie aren't very good with their acting. Oh and all the girls in the 'In Between World', don't get me started with their acting. With the cast awful acting also makes 'The Lovely Bones' not very thrilling. I don't even understand how a movie with bad acting like that could be called thriller at all. All the pretty stuff in the 'In Between World' does not make you want to go 'Whoa!' with all of the acting and random things happening. I also should bring that random things happen and come out of nowhere. It's almost to painful to watch. Expand
  7. LarryT.
    Jan 25, 2010
    0
    This movie has to be the worst of the decade! Pointless, boring, poor acting and script! You'll feel "taken" after spending the money to This movie has to be the worst of the decade! Pointless, boring, poor acting and script! You'll feel "taken" after spending the money to see such a failure. Hollywood doesn't get it! Movies like this give the industry a bad name. Collapse

See all 80 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Golden Globe Nominations Announced

    Golden Globe Nominations Announced Image
    Published: December 15, 2009
    The HFPA revealed its Golden Globe nominations on Tuesday morning, and "Up in the Air" topped all films with six nominations, while Fox's "Glee" was the big winner in television with four.
  2. This Week in Metacritic: Not So Lovely Bones

    This Week in Metacritic: Not So Lovely Bones Image
    Published: December 10, 2009
    Our quick roundup of the newest releases in movies, music, games and TV found at Metacritic.com for the week of 12/7 - 12/11.