The Machine

Metascore
52

Mixed or average reviews - based on 8 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: Kim Newman
    Mar 18, 2014
    60
    Brimming with ideas and laudable ambition, it's well worth a look.
  2. Reviewed by: Anna Smith
    Mar 18, 2014
    60
    The characters could use more depth – Vincent’s backstory is told too swiftly, and his bonding with Ava is brief. But it’s still a smart, thought-provoking little thriller with strong central performances.
  3. Reviewed by: Matt Glasby
    Mar 18, 2014
    60
    Despite some striking imagery and sterling FX work, Welsh writer/director Caradog W James’ expert use of limited resources doesn’t stretch as far as the subtlety-averse script.
  4. Reviewed by: Gabe Toro
    Mar 18, 2014
    58
    When Lotz is not onscreen, Stephens is miserable company. But James does reveal a deep fascination with the robotics that suggests the threadbare story was a chance for him to explore the very real advances in artificial intelligence.
  5. Reviewed by: Dennis Harvey
    Apr 23, 2014
    50
    Closer to “Her” in its musing on human/machine connectivity, while also incorporating the dystopian and action-thriller aspects of “Blade Runner” and its ilk, albeit on a much smaller scale, the pic will divide fantasy fans, some of whom will give it props for breaking somewhat from genre formula, while others will be disappointed by the largely budgetary limits of its imagination.
  6. Reviewed by: Nick Schager
    Apr 22, 2014
    50
    If the proceedings prove far too familiar, director Caradog W. James delivers a few striking images... as well as a sinister cautionary-tale finale made all the more unsettling by its use of a sterling John Carpenter-style synthesizer score.
  7. Reviewed by: Andrew Lapin
    Apr 23, 2014
    40
    The Machine is small science fiction. In a genre that openly invites invention, it barely bothers.
User Score
7.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 40 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 10
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 10
  3. Negative: 2 out of 10
  1. Apr 27, 2014
    7
    Although not perfect, worth a look! This movie kept me captivated the entire way through with all its twist and turns. I would have given thisAlthough not perfect, worth a look! This movie kept me captivated the entire way through with all its twist and turns. I would have given this film a high score if it had given just a little more. It felt it should have longer, the story/plot has a lot of potential but makes due within its budget. Full Review »
  2. Sep 16, 2014
    9
    I am not much into sci-fi and so bought this movie cheap on DVD and didn't bother getting the Blu Ray, but now I really regret this as it hasI am not much into sci-fi and so bought this movie cheap on DVD and didn't bother getting the Blu Ray, but now I really regret this as it has become one of my favourite movies. The film kept my attention through out. It deserved a bigger budget, but did very well with what it had. Full Review »
  3. Aug 15, 2014
    8
    I liked this movie and I'm very critical of movies, esp. Sci-Fi. Was it Blade Runner or Matrix? No, but it was enjoyable and had a goodI liked this movie and I'm very critical of movies, esp. Sci-Fi. Was it Blade Runner or Matrix? No, but it was enjoyable and had a good ending. It's worth a watch even though the critics didn't like it. Full Review »