Paramount Classics | Release Date: October 22, 2004
8.8
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 344 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
309
Mixed:
31
Negative:
4
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
grandpajoe6191Oct 1, 2011
Director Brad Anderson's "The Machinist" provides a great script with precise dialogue. However the film mostly succeeds in shocking the audience by the amazing performance of Christian Bale.
8 of 8 users found this helpful80
All this user's reviews
9
MovieGuysAug 20, 2014
The Machinist is absolutely riveting. Anderson has create the type of movie where the viewer never knows what's real and what's not, and there is a reasonable doubt to everything. Once it is revealed why the situation is like it is,The Machinist is absolutely riveting. Anderson has create the type of movie where the viewer never knows what's real and what's not, and there is a reasonable doubt to everything. Once it is revealed why the situation is like it is, everything makes sense. Aside from that, Christian acts wonderfully and is obviously committed to the role with how much weight he had to lose. There are subliminal messages, red herrings, and many hints expertly scattered throughout, as well as some meaningful themes and values. For those who like this genre, it's a must-see. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
8
AlexSSep 5, 2011
Christian Bale is scarily good in this.Amazing dedication to his craft.He just completely inhibits the role.Suspenseful and intriguing.Top notch psychological thriller.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
psicolicoAug 22, 2011
Sometimes a little slow but brilliantly asphyxiating, stressful and intriguing. You can't stop feeling bad for Trevor's behaviour and even though you know he's completely paranoid, a part of you still wants him to be right.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
StevenFSep 20, 2013
What we have here is a disturbing, distracting but important thriller which explores the boundaries and broken states of not only the human body, but the mind as well, powerful as it is, it can also deceive to the point of self-destructionWhat we have here is a disturbing, distracting but important thriller which explores the boundaries and broken states of not only the human body, but the mind as well, powerful as it is, it can also deceive to the point of self-destruction and doubt of oneself. Christian Bale is the almost unrecognisable lead in this sombre and dark piece, he plays a machine worker in a factory by day, and sits in an empty airport cafe by night, trying to overcome his year long insomnia. When we meet him, he seems to be in an unhealthy yet manageable state, going about his life, but Bale cuts a gaunt and sunken figure, losing extreme amounts of weight to play the part if routine worker Trevor Reznik, a man who alienates his co-workers and does the exact same thing day in and day out, until something shakes his routine and he begins to experience horrific events that he cannot explain nor can he piece together. He turns to a call girl called Stevie (Jennifer Jason Leigh), the only real friend he has, to get a second opinion on his dilemma.
The Machinist studies the effects of traumatic events and how one can choose to repress and forget, Reznik is an emaciated yet focused individual, living a life by black and white rules while also trying to keep on top of everything through sticky notes and cleanliness. While the film studies the emotional impact and aftermath of life-changing events, it often tries to hard to hide its predictable plot which begins to unfold, this definitely distracts what could have been a near flawless thriller, but the deliberate attempts to mask the unwinding story and the distracting appearance of Bale at a mere 121 pounds stop this from happening. But there is still a thrilling story and an excellent performance from Bale, who clearly throws himself into his work and commits to the experience, there are of course arguments about how much actors and actresses get paid, but this is a prime example of money well spent, while harmful to himself, Bale proves his loyalty and willingness to his work, the performance outweighs the sombre and often slow paced film, it has an overall decent approach, but inconsistencies and deliberate out of focus points towards the audience, stop it from being truly great.
Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
2
HalifaxR.Feb 28, 2006
This is Memento for half-wits. It's mostly shots of Christian Bale looking at his emaciated body in the mirror. The film is a slow and painful plodding toward a twist ending. And sure, there's a twist, but it comes perfectly gift This is Memento for half-wits. It's mostly shots of Christian Bale looking at his emaciated body in the mirror. The film is a slow and painful plodding toward a twist ending. And sure, there's a twist, but it comes perfectly gift wrapped in in slow-motion after-school special cheese that in no way justifies the preceding hours of over-serious, over-stylized boredom. Everyone's impressed that Christian Bale lost one third of his body weight for a role but this movie is so hollow and poorly written it comes off as a depressing publicity stunt. Collapse
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
AlvaradoKTAJun 7, 2012
Christian Bale seems to be the reason for most The Machinist hype, and their's a good reason for that. Bale's portrayal of , insomnious, Trevor Reznik is something he really devoted to doing. Still with Bale's great acting, as well as theChristian Bale seems to be the reason for most The Machinist hype, and their's a good reason for that. Bale's portrayal of , insomnious, Trevor Reznik is something he really devoted to doing. Still with Bale's great acting, as well as the supporting cast's, are not the delivering factor. The cake goes to Scott Kosar for this amazing script. The Machinist delivers all the suspense and thrills a great movie in this genre need. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
moonman1994Nov 24, 2013
Interesting and extremely entertaining. The Machinist has you watching the entire movie in a way that you can't wait to see what happens next. Christian Bale does an excellent job in this part and his dedication to the role is amazing.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
StaticSpineAug 29, 2013
When I watched this movie I actually realized that this is my first time I see Bale playing the role. I mean it was not just a guy with Bale's face (like in Batman or Terminator), he actually played that skinny insomniac Trevor Reznik, and heWhen I watched this movie I actually realized that this is my first time I see Bale playing the role. I mean it was not just a guy with Bale's face (like in Batman or Terminator), he actually played that skinny insomniac Trevor Reznik, and he did it just great. The movie has a lot of catchy features, good atmosphere, nice picture with all that pale colors. Pretty decent and original thriller to me. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
DusksparkMay 11, 2013
Both emotionally and physically, Bale nails the character he portrays: Trever Reznik, an man that hasn't slept due to unknown events. As the movie progresses, you get dragged into it, realising what is what, how everything is starting to makeBoth emotionally and physically, Bale nails the character he portrays: Trever Reznik, an man that hasn't slept due to unknown events. As the movie progresses, you get dragged into it, realising what is what, how everything is starting to make sense, and a satisfying conclusion to leave you with. The most interresting thing, however, is Bale's appearence. As he is most known in recent days as the muscled Bruce Wayne/Batman, his skinny and rather surprislingly slender body makes you frown from compassion, feeling not only sorry for Reznik, but also admiring Bale's acting. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
ypomoniJul 5, 2013
This film makes you feel uncomfortable, but that's the point. Christian Bale is, once again, outstanding. You are with him throughout the film, believing his plight, asking the same questions his character does. The ending did, and at theThis film makes you feel uncomfortable, but that's the point. Christian Bale is, once again, outstanding. You are with him throughout the film, believing his plight, asking the same questions his character does. The ending did, and at the same time didn't shock me by the end of it you get the feeling that you should have seen it coming! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
4
TimHJun 29, 2009
If you've seen any episode of Serling's Twilight Zone, you've already seen The Machinist.
1 of 3 users found this helpful
10
CraigA.Apr 26, 2007
Hmmm... critics divided. General public not. This is an awesome film. Fight club meets Memento directed by Alfred Hitchcock. Watch it immediately.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
10
DejanD.Nov 2, 2005
Just Brilliant!!!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
JohnB.Oct 8, 2005
Think of fight club, take away the sardonicism, and make it more realistic and you've got the machinist ... kind of ... one of few films that makes you think but doesn't completely not make sense. Like fight club, the cool twist Think of fight club, take away the sardonicism, and make it more realistic and you've got the machinist ... kind of ... one of few films that makes you think but doesn't completely not make sense. Like fight club, the cool twist doesn't really hit until you watch it a second time. Good film go see it Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
FredRNov 16, 2005
This is a visually beautiful movie and I'm sure I will watch it a few times, and I'm someone who usually only watches a movie once. I still can't figure it out but I'll have fun trying. Don't compare this to any This is a visually beautiful movie and I'm sure I will watch it a few times, and I'm someone who usually only watches a movie once. I still can't figure it out but I'll have fun trying. Don't compare this to any other movies, it's truly one-of-a-kind. If Christian Bale and Jennifer Jason Leigh don't get nominated for academy awards then I don't know what the academy is looking for. I love jb young's review here, I can't really add much to that one. Bale and Leigh and the entire supporting cast should expect great things from the reception from this movie, it will grow in popularity for years to come. Congratulations to director Brad Anderson and writer Scott Kosar. It's a masterpiece. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
7
SpangleJul 8, 2013
The Machinist is most certainly one of the weirder movies I have seen. Christian Bale is great as usual and the surprise twist will really screw with your head. Good film, certainly keeps you interested.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
ianandsafinaMay 19, 2013
Brad Anderson's "The Machinist" had a lot of hype but ultimately left us feeling underwhelmed. From the first twenty minutes, the film continued in a predictable manner. With a main character who was frankly clueless and showed absolutely noBrad Anderson's "The Machinist" had a lot of hype but ultimately left us feeling underwhelmed. From the first twenty minutes, the film continued in a predictable manner. With a main character who was frankly clueless and showed absolutely no prior thought behind his actions, it made me feel uncomfortable to watch him try to figure out the mystery that unfolded. Although the end of the movie wasn't necessarily unexpected, it wasn't surprising, and almost came out of the blue. This film wound up being a desperate attempt at the avant-garde, and didn't really work as well as it could have. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
10
AndrewMay 18, 2006
Ignore the haters. The Memento comparisons are warranted, but this is a far superior film. Memento was more of a whodunit disguised as a psychological thriller. This IS a psychological thriller. In Memento (a film I thought was alright, but Ignore the haters. The Memento comparisons are warranted, but this is a far superior film. Memento was more of a whodunit disguised as a psychological thriller. This IS a psychological thriller. In Memento (a film I thought was alright, but terribly overrated) you are one step ahead of the protagonist through much of the film and the ending was fairly ho-hum. The Machinist, on the other hand, really delivers the goods. You are just as lost, confused, and helpless as Christian Bale (doing his best work since American Psycho.) Throughout the movie, I found myself asking the same questions he was asking himself. Why can't this guy sleep? What's the deal with his mysterious co-worker Ivan? Is he a hallucination? Is this whole thing a hallucination? Why is it always 1:30? Are his co-workers really messing with him or is he just paranoid? How do the hooker and the waitress fit into all of this? The ending is both satisfying and surprising. You won't see it coming (not entirely, at least) but it fits the plot in a logical way. None of that non-sensical surprise ending crap. This could have become a trainwreck of a movie but Brad Anderson handled it deftly. Unless you're one of those people who can't take movies where you won't know what the hell is going on most of the time, definatley check this one out. One of the best movies I've seen in a long time. If you enjoy this one, check out Session 9 as well. Keep the hits coming Mr. Anderson. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
PrintninjaDec 1, 2005
I picked The Machinist up out of curiosity, after hearing the hoopla concerning Bale's dramatic weight loss to get the part, and seeing the positive reviews. After Batman Begins it thought it would be intriguing to see what a "skeletal" I picked The Machinist up out of curiosity, after hearing the hoopla concerning Bale's dramatic weight loss to get the part, and seeing the positive reviews. After Batman Begins it thought it would be intriguing to see what a "skeletal" Bale looked like, but it turned out to be about the same as seeing one of those poor starving dogs on a change can at the checkout counter in a convenience store. You look, you feel sorry for the dog, but you really don't care to know much more. Feed it, or put it out of it's misery. That's what I wanted to do to Bale's character in this movie. Instead, I had to sit through a plodding telling of a pretty boring tale. As provocative as the hallucinatory/psychotic effects from a year of sleep deprivation were, they just didn't make up for the flat, tedious story. Yeah, we knew SOMETHING big happened to make this guy so screwed up, and if the ending delivered that something big, I could have forgiven the rest of the movie for being so lifeless. Unfortunately, the satisfying ending I was expecting didn't happen. Nope. All in all, the Machinist left me hungry for something more... like a good story. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LindaL.Jan 3, 2006
The negative remarks by critics puzzle me: If this had been a Sean Penn movie they'd all be talking "Oscar." This film is intense, disturbing, moving; Christian Bale's performance is profound. it's one of those movies whose The negative remarks by critics puzzle me: If this had been a Sean Penn movie they'd all be talking "Oscar." This film is intense, disturbing, moving; Christian Bale's performance is profound. it's one of those movies whose puzzles and upsetting questions (sort of like "Memento," but less gimmicky) have you worried that it'll end before you figure it out. Yet the resolution is satisfying (dramatically, at least). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CalebB.Aug 26, 2005
I loved this movie. The acting is top-notch. The ending completely surprised me.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JeffreyL.Jun 12, 2006
I have a simple requirement for a movie to earn high marks: that the story be sufficiently interesting, the writing and acting sufficiently honest and convincing that they keep me thorougly immersed in the film. Few movies accomplish this. A I have a simple requirement for a movie to earn high marks: that the story be sufficiently interesting, the writing and acting sufficiently honest and convincing that they keep me thorougly immersed in the film. Few movies accomplish this. A single manipulative plot twist, or unconvincing characterization--as are abundant, for example, in Woody Allen's monumentally insipid recent hit "Match Point"--will catapult me pellmell out of the movie and back into the room where I happen to be watching. The Machinist lacked any of these shortcomings, and made for thoroughly engrossing, albeit intensely disturbing movie. I'm taking the time to write these comments because I feel so badly for filmmakers who do such a great job, then fail to receive the recognition they deserve, while pretentious, shallow drivel such as Match Point receives undeserved praise. More disturbing to me than the film were the off-the-mark critical reviews. The people who have rated this movie highly got it right. Therefore, I'll give it one bonus point, for a 9, rather than an 8. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ChadS.Feb 16, 2006
"The Machinist" is like a malevolent "Hulk". This film hides its secrets better than most films with twist endings. You may guess who Trevor's assailant is, but not necessarily the reason as to why he's on his tail. Although "The "The Machinist" is like a malevolent "Hulk". This film hides its secrets better than most films with twist endings. You may guess who Trevor's assailant is, but not necessarily the reason as to why he's on his tail. Although "The Machinist" isn't billed as a horror film, it comes pretty close to being one. With a little tweaking, it could've been a superior example of the genre, certainly better than "Hide and Seek". Trevor Reznik is Travis Bickle with a different psychological disorder, and is decidedly not Jake LaMotta. Christian Bale gives a winning performance, but so would any capable malnourished actor, or for that matter, an Auschwitz Jew. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
Nesbitt10Dec 14, 2012
Machine shop worker Bale is deeply troubled; he hasn't slept in a year, rapidly losing weight and looks like a walking skeleton. Mysterious notes begin to appear on his fridge and he's talking to a co-worker who doesn't appear to exist.Machine shop worker Bale is deeply troubled; he hasn't slept in a year, rapidly losing weight and looks like a walking skeleton. Mysterious notes begin to appear on his fridge and he's talking to a co-worker who doesn't appear to exist. Sinister, disturbing yet a strangely compelling psychological thriller divinely constructed by director Brad Anderson. Christian Bale's physical transformation for the role is unreal as well as his marvelous performance as tortured individual on the brink of insanity. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
inaneswineNov 14, 2017
Bale's disturbingly gaunt appearance occasionally threatens to overshadow his brilliant performance; and while this story of a man's psychotic breakdown is well told, it is a thoroughly depressing affair, and strays a little on the dull side.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
ydnar4Nov 21, 2014
This film is solid. A very brilliant and thin Christian Bale is on display in this film. A mystery film at its best. The Machinist is going to keep you guessing, and it going to make you want to see it again.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
RalfbergsJun 7, 2015
A really good movie with a great script and good actors.Christian Bale is really good in this, not only for his weight loss but also for his acting. While at first you will feel a bit awkward and maybe even disgusted seeing him like that,A really good movie with a great script and good actors.Christian Bale is really good in this, not only for his weight loss but also for his acting. While at first you will feel a bit awkward and maybe even disgusted seeing him like that, after a while movie sucks you in and you want to know what will happen next, which, I'll say won't be always that predictable, especially the ending. Also I think movie makes you think, especially after you know what happens at the end. Definitely worth a watch and I'm sad that I didn't watch it earlier and put it off all the time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
TheSimpleOneDec 3, 2015
One of the essential Bale movies for someone to understand what length this man goes to be an actor. Classic performance that only Bale can produce. Well done and a must see movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
moviescriticnetDec 20, 2015
The Machinist, directed by Brad Anderson (Session 9) is the story of an industrial worker who hasn't slept in a year and begins to doubt his own sanity.
Christian Bale's transformation is impressive as he lost 63 pounds for this film and
The Machinist, directed by Brad Anderson (Session 9) is the story of an industrial worker who hasn't slept in a year and begins to doubt his own sanity.
Christian Bale's transformation is impressive as he lost 63 pounds for this film and literally became skin and bones. Up to that film Bale's screen persona was largely defined by athleticism and physicality. In the machinist he becomes a shadow of insomnia. The film is an alternative psychological thriller of great artistic value. It's end may be considered predictable but still it's cleverly given. Despite the efforts of Brad Anderson to impress through his direction, the film ends up being an absolute one man show by Christian Bale.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
MovieMasterEddyApr 3, 2016
Dark 'Machinist' Carries Weight.

Something appears to be eating away at Trevor Reznik -- literally. As embodied by Christian Bale, who lost an astonishing 60-plus pounds in preparation for the title role in "The Machinist," Trevor isn't so
Dark 'Machinist' Carries Weight.

Something appears to be eating away at Trevor Reznik -- literally. As embodied by Christian Bale, who lost an astonishing 60-plus pounds in preparation for the title role in "The Machinist," Trevor isn't so much flesh and blood as a walking ghost, a chronically sleepless, gaunt-to-the-point-of-pain (ours, mind you, not his) wraith of a man. As it turns out, he's a character so haunted by himself that he is turning into his own ghost.

Much has been written about Bale's physical transformation for this film, a remarkable display of starving for one's art that should go into the moviemaking record books on the page opposite Robert De Niro and Vincent D'Onofrio's legendary weight gains for "Raging Bull" and "Full Metal Jacket." While the results of Bale's shocking, special-effect-free emaciation occasionally threaten to become a distraction for the audience, especially when the previously healthy-looking actor has his shirt off, they are an essential visual metaphor for the film's message, which comes into full, dark flower only in a clever twist at the end.

Despite containing an implicit lesson about sin, "The Machinist" is structured less like a morality play than a straightforward mystery thriller. As it opens, Trevor, an employee of a soul-deadening machine shop, hasn't slept in a year, and he would like to know why. He'd also like to know why several other strange things keep happening to him lately, such as the appearance of several cryptic Post-it notes in his dingy apartment, and the arrival of a creepy new employee at work (John Sharian), whom it appears only Trevor can see.

Then there's the accident.

After inadvertently causing a co-worker (Michael Ironside) to lose an arm in an industrial mishap due to his own inattention, Trevor's insomnia and paranoia (with possible hallucinations) get worse. Soon, he comes to believe that not only are his co-workers out to punish him for the incident, but that his up-to-now understanding hooker-girlfriend (Jennifer Jason Leigh) may be in collusion with one or more of his tormentors. Trevor's only solace? The graveyard-shift waitress at the local airport (Aitana Sanchez-Gijon), an angelic, almost maternal presence whose nightly pie, companionship and coffee -- as if this man needs more caffeine! -- are the few things that keep Trevor sane.

Or are they?

Tautly scripted by Scott Kosar, and directed with quiet, nightmarish intensity by Brad Anderson (see Film Notes on Page 39), "The Machinist" is psychological suspense at its finest. Shot with a cold blue pallor and edited with a somnambulistic lethargy that belies the urgency of its subject matter -- the nature of guilt and innocence -- the film feels at times like you're dreaming it, rather than watching it. Taking its stylistic cues not from today's crop of horror films, but from such masterpieces as Roman Polanski's "Repulsion" (1965) and Ingmar Bergman's "Hour of the Wolf" (1968), it makes even scarier that most scary of bogeymen: the human mind.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
BroyaxJan 9, 2017
Ouvrier insomniaque qui perd la boule ou complot machiavélique ?... Le film laisse planer et entretient le doute tout du long et jusqu'à la fin, jusqu'à la révélation finale à la manière d'un Memento mais dans l'ordre cette fois-ci. LaOuvrier insomniaque qui perd la boule ou complot machiavélique ?... Le film laisse planer et entretient le doute tout du long et jusqu'à la fin, jusqu'à la révélation finale à la manière d'un Memento mais dans l'ordre cette fois-ci. La paranoïa grandissante du personnage se reflète dans son environnement glauque, sa banlieue industrielle, son boulot de forçat, ses questions sans réponse, ses post-it énigmatiques sur le frigo...

Le réalisateur qui livre une mise en scène très appliquée se laisse même aller à désaturer les couleurs de façon exagérée : tout y est terne et presque gris, sauf cette voiture rouge vif... Hélas, cette fin est finalement... très convenue et se regarde le nombril dans une leçon moralisatrice à la fois facile et simpliste.

Chapeau bas à Christian Bale qui ressemble à un rescapé d'un camp de la mort : une approche du rôle inutile et déraisonnable mais certainement très impressionnante, effrayante même. Il n'avait pas besoin de ça pour se donner une crédibilité puisqu'il l'a naturellement, le talent !

The Machinist est comme trop souvent dans ce genre de film à révélation et ambiance, très lent, ce qui accroît encore davantage l'attente du spectateur quant au dénouement : un couteau à double tranchant dans le cas qui nous occupe mais bien que sans éclat, il faut reconnaître que le scénario tient globalement bien la route, au moins logiquement.

Un concept donc intéressant, un Christian Bale habité mais qui ne suffisent pas à nous sortir de notre léthargie : nous aussi, on a envie de dormir, en fait.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews