User Score
7.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 50 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 50
  2. Negative: 5 out of 50
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 15, 2013
    7
    Jim Carrey is one of those comedian/actors who's had more than his share of potential overlooked movies. Whether it's his first commercial failure, the underrated The Cable Guy, or his excellent turn as Andy Kaufman in Milos Forman's Man On the Moon, it seems like most of Carrey's best movies (with the exception maybe of The Truman Show) are his least appreciated. But, let's face it ManJim Carrey is one of those comedian/actors who's had more than his share of potential overlooked movies. Whether it's his first commercial failure, the underrated The Cable Guy, or his excellent turn as Andy Kaufman in Milos Forman's Man On the Moon, it seems like most of Carrey's best movies (with the exception maybe of The Truman Show) are his least appreciated. But, let's face it Man on the Moon received lots of critical praise and even some award nominations when it came out, and Cable Guy certainly has its cult of defenders. But perhaps his best-least-appreciated movie is is Frank Darabont's 2001 homage to Frank Capra, The Majestic. Carrey stars as Peter Appleton, a Hollywood screenwriter who is blacklisted during the 1950s communist witch hunt. After an accident gives him a wicked case of amnesia, Peter winds up in the small town of Lawson, where he is mistaken for another man Luke Trimble, a local hero who was believed to have been killed in WWII. And Peter, not knowing any better, assumes he must be Luke, too. Together with his "father" (Martin Landau), Peter/Luke begins restoring The Majestic movie theater that had been closed down for years. won't get into what happens from there, because it would ruin several of the movie's surprises. But I will say that The Majestic has gotten a bad rap. Maybe audiences were expecting something else from director Darabont, who was coming off The Shawshank Redemption and The Green Mile. Maybe the movie lacked a certain cynicism that many people require to distance themselves from having a sincere emotional response to a movie. Maybe it wasn't funny enough (it's not a comedy) or "edgy" enough for Carrey's two audiences. Whatever the reason, the movie never really found an audience. I rather like it, though and I'm not a person who automatically responds to something being called "Capra-esque." Here, I think the description works (clearly, that's what Darabont was going for). But the movie's got more on its mind; it's a tribute to old Hollywood, and a minor history lesson about a pretty scary time in America. Despite his penchant for overselling a moment (a trait especially apparent in his comedies), Carrey makes a likable everyman he's not afraid to be totally sincere and throw his heart into the role. The failure of The Majestic meant that Darabont who is awesome, by the way wouldn't make another movie until 2007. When he did, he went back to adapting Stephen King (The Majestic remains his only non-King-affiliated film) and made damn sure the movie had plenty of cynicism. That movie was The Mist, which was equally overlooked and, in many ways, kind of the anti-Majestic. Audiences rejected that, too. I guess both films were missing the one thing audiences really want: Morgan Freeman narration. Expand
  2. EarlD.
    Jun 19, 2002
    10
    I just loved this film. This film is totally inspiring an uplifting.
  3. EricS.
    Aug 9, 2002
    8
    The beauty of good fiction is that it takes the topics it finds meaningful and creates a world which revolves around them. "The Majestic" is not concerned with logistics, as it's main centerpoints are America, patriotism, and nostalgia. And at no point did I feel manipulated into caring for the characters. Frank Darabont is a great director and screenwriter; the world created in "The The beauty of good fiction is that it takes the topics it finds meaningful and creates a world which revolves around them. "The Majestic" is not concerned with logistics, as it's main centerpoints are America, patriotism, and nostalgia. And at no point did I feel manipulated into caring for the characters. Frank Darabont is a great director and screenwriter; the world created in "The Majestic" never existed, but who cares? It's a movie. And a darn good one. Expand
  4. RobM.
    Jun 2, 2004
    10
    Boo on all the critics. This is an extremely heart touching story and a good way to bond folks at the heart. Hurray for this clean movie.
  5. [Anonymous]
    Jun 2, 2004
    10
    WOW! Really nicely done. Time and setting of this movie could have not been any better. Very authentic. Good job, Jim Carrey!
  6. JesseS.
    Dec 27, 2001
    10
    The critics got this one totally wrong. A pure delight from beginning to end.
  7. ChadS.
    Dec 30, 2001
    5
    This palmprint left indelible on my forehead came about when Carrey's Peter Appleton started quoting from our constitution in a quaint courtroom scene that teeters awfully close towards Capra parody when Darabont's homage gets too cloying.
  8. SethB.
    Jul 8, 2002
    9
    The critics, whom are generally correct collectively, are totally wrong here. Enjoy the movie, there is much to enjoy!
  9. MattA.
    May 20, 2003
    4
    It was a decent premise, but the movie was too in love with itself to play out nicely.
  10. TheDawnOfGilbertMulroneycakes
    Jul 23, 2003
    6
    Not actually as bad as it's been painted, and certainly not deserving of a place in the all-time low scores list, but it is far too - as your actual Matt A pointed out - in love with itself. The whole Really Big ethos of Darabont's looked dangerously like collapsing under its own weight in Green Mile, and it finally does so here. Enjoyable enough; but it does make unnecessarily Not actually as bad as it's been painted, and certainly not deserving of a place in the all-time low scores list, but it is far too - as your actual Matt A pointed out - in love with itself. The whole Really Big ethos of Darabont's looked dangerously like collapsing under its own weight in Green Mile, and it finally does so here. Enjoyable enough; but it does make unnecessarily hard work of a simple premise. Expand
  11. DudeRockstar
    Aug 18, 2003
    0
    Too long. Too cliched. Too predictable. Did I mention, "Too long?" There were so many ways the plot could have been resolved. I turned to my wife at one point and said, "Maybe it would be cool if the REAL Luke was on the train at the end and everyone mistook HIM for Peter Appleton." My wife laughed and said, "It would have been funny if Luke's dying dad had said, 'Luke, I'm Too long. Too cliched. Too predictable. Did I mention, "Too long?" There were so many ways the plot could have been resolved. I turned to my wife at one point and said, "Maybe it would be cool if the REAL Luke was on the train at the end and everyone mistook HIM for Peter Appleton." My wife laughed and said, "It would have been funny if Luke's dying dad had said, 'Luke, I'm NOT your father!'" Uh, this movie was just plain misguided. Expand
  12. PoorK.
    Mar 6, 2007
    8
    This movie definitely falls in the 'Feel Good' category - and as such is a delight to watch multiple times. Sure, it is predictable. But how many movies you watch leave you guessing till the end? And do you always want to? Sometimes it's the journey which is more important. Jim Carrey's performance is likely to change the minds of those who have decided they dislike This movie definitely falls in the 'Feel Good' category - and as such is a delight to watch multiple times. Sure, it is predictable. But how many movies you watch leave you guessing till the end? And do you always want to? Sometimes it's the journey which is more important. Jim Carrey's performance is likely to change the minds of those who have decided they dislike him for his outrageous physical comedy and excesses. In this movie, he shows he can also play toned-down understated roles too. Expand
  13. JalexD.
    Apr 21, 2008
    10
    The people who put this movie down don't appreciate Jim Carrey as a great serious actor and/or aren't open-minded enough to appreciate the characters and setting. This is a great film. A classic. I would recommend it to anyone.
  14. ChrisH.
    Dec 6, 2002
    0
    All I had to say was, "Dude, can I get my money back??"
  15. LaurenceC.
    Jul 21, 2002
    1
    So bad I could hardly believe it.
  16. JeffM.
    Aug 13, 2002
    7
    Corny and old-fashioned, yet in Carrey's hands, it works on its own unambitious level.
  17. ScottN.
    Dec 28, 2001
    10
    The critics are wrong - not for the first time, and certainly not the last. This is a good inspirational film and displays Carrey's ability to work outside of comedy. Too bad that Carrey wasn't a prepubescent wizard, or chasing after a dragon. The critics seem to like that kind of mindless fantasy.
  18. Feb 13, 2013
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I found this movie to be cheesy but nonentheless, still touching. I actually cried at the scene when the "father" passed away I feel that Jim Carrey's face can be a bit too comical sometimes but overall, I liked the show.. I saw it on HBO the other night. Expand
  19. Mar 19, 2015
    7
    I'd never heard of this movie but noticed it on a list of flops; it's actually a very entertaining film. There are nowhere near enough films made about the shameful McCarthy witch hunts (Amerika just can't admit it's wrong, can it?) and while this is no "The Front", it's engaging enough
Metascore
27

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 30
  2. Negative: 17 out of 30
  1. 88
    It tells a full story with three acts, it introduces characters we get to know and care about, and it has something it passionately wants to say.
  2. Maybe this well-loved Luke is who his neighbors want him to be, a good fellow who, with his father, reopens the old movie house in town -- the Majestic -- thus allowing his neighbors to dream in the dark again.
  3. The Majestic isn't. Rather it's "The Film That Wasn't There," a derivative, self-satisfied fable that couldn't be more treacly and simple-minded if it tried. And it tries, oh, how it tries.