Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: December 21, 2001
7.4
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 49 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
33
Mixed:
13
Negative:
3
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
6
sooper_walrusAug 29, 2017
The Majestic is a heart-warming little story with an underlying, big-picture message. Jim Carrey's performance is fantastic as always, but the movie can't help but feel predictable and a little cliche. I also feel that it struggles withThe Majestic is a heart-warming little story with an underlying, big-picture message. Jim Carrey's performance is fantastic as always, but the movie can't help but feel predictable and a little cliche. I also feel that it struggles with having a central identity, constantly switching between being a drama, comedy, and romance. It's a nice film, but it doesn't break any ground, and to be honest I wouldn't watch it again. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Meth-dudeJan 21, 2017
It was a pretty well made movie. The story was interesting, the acting was good and the movie was entertaining, for the most part. Even though it might have been a little too long and it was predictable at times, it wasn't a bad movie at all.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
hamidnaderiOct 9, 2016
despite of some cliches,i loved it.this movie show that a simple accident(a little animal on your way)can change and even more can mean your life,if you forgot your past and some cheap goals like being a writer of a B movie.by floating indespite of some cliches,i loved it.this movie show that a simple accident(a little animal on your way)can change and even more can mean your life,if you forgot your past and some cheap goals like being a writer of a B movie.by floating in river we can experience a new life and new goals... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
royphishoohMar 19, 2015
I'd never heard of this movie but noticed it on a list of flops; it's actually a very entertaining film. There are nowhere near enough films made about the shameful McCarthy witch hunts (Amerika just can't admit it's wrong, can it?) and whileI'd never heard of this movie but noticed it on a list of flops; it's actually a very entertaining film. There are nowhere near enough films made about the shameful McCarthy witch hunts (Amerika just can't admit it's wrong, can it?) and while this is no "The Front", it's engaging enough Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
ThegodfathersonJun 15, 2013
Jim Carrey is one of those comedian/actors who's had more than his share of potential overlooked movies. Whether it's his first commercial failure, the underrated The Cable Guy, or his excellent turn as Andy Kaufman in Milos Forman's Man OnJim Carrey is one of those comedian/actors who's had more than his share of potential overlooked movies. Whether it's his first commercial failure, the underrated The Cable Guy, or his excellent turn as Andy Kaufman in Milos Forman's Man On the Moon, it seems like most of Carrey's best movies (with the exception maybe of The Truman Show) are his least appreciated. But, let's face it Man on the Moon received lots of critical praise and even some award nominations when it came out, and Cable Guy certainly has its cult of defenders. But perhaps his best-least-appreciated movie is is Frank Darabont's 2001 homage to Frank Capra, The Majestic. Carrey stars as Peter Appleton, a Hollywood screenwriter who is blacklisted during the 1950s communist witch hunt. After an accident gives him a wicked case of amnesia, Peter winds up in the small town of Lawson, where he is mistaken for another man Luke Trimble, a local hero who was believed to have been killed in WWII. And Peter, not knowing any better, assumes he must be Luke, too. Together with his "father" (Martin Landau), Peter/Luke begins restoring The Majestic movie theater that had been closed down for years. won't get into what happens from there, because it would ruin several of the movie's surprises. But I will say that The Majestic has gotten a bad rap. Maybe audiences were expecting something else from director Darabont, who was coming off The Shawshank Redemption and The Green Mile. Maybe the movie lacked a certain cynicism that many people require to distance themselves from having a sincere emotional response to a movie. Maybe it wasn't funny enough (it's not a comedy) or "edgy" enough for Carrey's two audiences. Whatever the reason, the movie never really found an audience. I rather like it, though and I'm not a person who automatically responds to something being called "Capra-esque." Here, I think the description works (clearly, that's what Darabont was going for). But the movie's got more on its mind; it's a tribute to old Hollywood, and a minor history lesson about a pretty scary time in America. Despite his penchant for overselling a moment (a trait especially apparent in his comedies), Carrey makes a likable everyman he's not afraid to be totally sincere and throw his heart into the role. The failure of The Majestic meant that Darabont who is awesome, by the way wouldn't make another movie until 2007. When he did, he went back to adapting Stephen King (The Majestic remains his only non-King-affiliated film) and made damn sure the movie had plenty of cynicism. That movie was The Mist, which was equally overlooked and, in many ways, kind of the anti-Majestic. Audiences rejected that, too. I guess both films were missing the one thing audiences really want: Morgan Freeman narration. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
choccobirdFeb 13, 2013
This review contains spoilers. I found this movie to be cheesy but nonentheless, still touching. I actually cried at the scene when the "father" passed away I feel that Jim Carrey's face can be a bit too comical sometimes but overall, I liked the show.. I saw it on HBO the other night. Collapse
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
JalexD.Apr 21, 2008
The people who put this movie down don't appreciate Jim Carrey as a great serious actor and/or aren't open-minded enough to appreciate the characters and setting. This is a great film. A classic. I would recommend it to anyone.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
PoorK.Mar 6, 2007
This movie definitely falls in the 'Feel Good' category - and as such is a delight to watch multiple times. Sure, it is predictable. But how many movies you watch leave you guessing till the end? And do you always want to? This movie definitely falls in the 'Feel Good' category - and as such is a delight to watch multiple times. Sure, it is predictable. But how many movies you watch leave you guessing till the end? And do you always want to? Sometimes it's the journey which is more important. Jim Carrey's performance is likely to change the minds of those who have decided they dislike him for his outrageous physical comedy and excesses. In this movie, he shows he can also play toned-down understated roles too. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful