The Man Who Cried

User Score
7.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 23 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 23
  2. Negative: 3 out of 23

Where To Watch

Buy On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. BaharP.
    Apr 9, 2003
    8
    i liked the film,the soundtrack(absolutely!!) but i didn't like the title of this film..i think it is not suitable for it..ricci was great..
  2. HazelC.
    Apr 11, 2004
    10
    This movie makes people more sensitive, and i think christina ricci has an impressive performance.
  3. Gilbert
    Nov 19, 2002
    8
    Buh? "Mostly Unfavourable"? Sna? This was a GREAT movie, if slightly too bleak for some people (who really shouldn't be blaming the film). But 39%? Are you MAD? Gah!
  4. Sashathered
    Jul 19, 2002
    7
    It's a film that permit to the spectator the possibility to ast to himself what is more important in to the life, Money, power and success, or honesty pureness and love.
  5. Gokmenbalat
    Aug 25, 2003
    10
    This is perfect movie... Very romantic...
  6. HiroS.
    Jan 17, 2004
    9
    The conbination of Jonny Depp and Christina Ricci makes a special atmosphare which is express deep saddness with attachment for tribes, family and profound culture. People who experienced any king subtle discrimination from others would understand the theme of the movie. No matter jew, Indian, Orientals, people bearing a kind of woe of discrimination.
  7. NicoleJ.
    Jul 13, 2002
    8
    I believed this was a very moving, wonderful, sensual film. What the film lacked the soundtrack and score made up for it. I have never heard any kinda of soundtrack that was absolutely in sync with a movie. I agree Cate Blanchett and John Turturro ...ick..but Jonny Depp was a convincing gypsy as was Christina Ricci as a young Jewish girl. Overall if you have a brain that's past a 15 I believed this was a very moving, wonderful, sensual film. What the film lacked the soundtrack and score made up for it. I have never heard any kinda of soundtrack that was absolutely in sync with a movie. I agree Cate Blanchett and John Turturro ...ick..but Jonny Depp was a convincing gypsy as was Christina Ricci as a young Jewish girl. Overall if you have a brain that's past a 15 year olds point of view. Rent it. If not, Dude Where's my Car is always available. Expand
  8. RachelK.
    Dec 2, 2003
    9
    [***SPOILERS***] I really liked this movie. johnny depp was awesome, but i think that no matter what. i do agree that his character was rather underdeveloped, but oh well. i think the title could have been better, he cries in one little scene. i didn't like that depp screwed ricci before he'd even kissed her, and my friend spent a lot of time wondering how the sex on the chair[***SPOILERS***] I really liked this movie. johnny depp was awesome, but i think that no matter what. i do agree that his character was rather underdeveloped, but oh well. i think the title could have been better, he cries in one little scene. i didn't like that depp screwed ricci before he'd even kissed her, and my friend spent a lot of time wondering how the sex on the chair would work. i personally think that she should have stayed with depp, when she went to america and met her father, he had a new life completely without her. i don't think his wife and children would have welcomed her into the family, but i think depp's family would have. anyway, i liked the movie, but there were things that could have been better. Expand
  9. Maryann
    Dec 26, 2003
    10
    Was this movie played in the USA at all? Loved it got it for christmas.
  10. Kay
    Aug 13, 2003
    9
    I thought that this was a beautiful and emotionally deep film. the comparison of money and fame but unhappiness to true love but poverty was unbelievable. the best part of the story (in my opinion) is following the the love intrest part of the movie. the characters of johnny depp and christina ricci go through an amazing bond of love and fight through discrimination and war. this film leftI thought that this was a beautiful and emotionally deep film. the comparison of money and fame but unhappiness to true love but poverty was unbelievable. the best part of the story (in my opinion) is following the the love intrest part of the movie. the characters of johnny depp and christina ricci go through an amazing bond of love and fight through discrimination and war. this film left me sobbing in tears by the end and im sure it will for any other hopeless romantic. Expand
Metascore
40

Mixed or average reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 22
  2. Negative: 7 out of 22
  1. Mr. Showbiz
    Reviewed by: Kevin Maynard
    20
    The film's a vacuous bore.
  2. 75
    This is an amazingly ambitious movie, not so much because of the time and space it covers (a lot), but because Potter trusts us to follow her heroine through one damn thing after another.
  3. Ricci brings her trademark gravity to the wary Suzie, but Blanchett's role is the dazzler.