User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 103 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 57 out of 103
  2. Negative: 22 out of 103

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 12, 2012
    2
    This movie was terrible.. it tried to be Tarantino and failed.. it tried to be a campy Kung-Fu movie and failed... It really just didn't do anything well. Sure, it had action, but it was so poorly directed it made me feel bad for the time and effort put in to this movie.
  2. Nov 10, 2012
    1
    One of the worst movies I have seen in a long time. I have no idea what Crowe and Liu were thinking when they signed up to "star" in this piece of junk.. The fight scenes were over the top Kill Bill type of fights without any of the "Kill Bill" cleverness. This movie reminded me of vintage Kung Fu movies where the sound effects were all wrong. I have no idea what Tarentino's role in this film was other then lending his name to help a friend. Maybe this movie was suppose to be a spoof of Kung Fu movies, if that was its purpose it wasn't even a good spoof. Sae your money, this should have been a straight to DVD movie sold in 7 Elevens Expand
  3. Jul 8, 2014
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Metacritic really should have a way to delete reviews​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​. Expand
  4. Jul 16, 2013
    3
    Awesome fight scenes cant make up for a horrible shallow plot with elements that does not make sense, characters and settings that would offend anyone (such as myself) from a Chinese background and overuse of over-the-top violent kills that will make anyone, even those who want blood and guts, to flinch. This lack everything that made Tarantino's flick great and tries to be a westernized Wushia movie but ultimately fails on every level except for the at times decent fight scenes (however even these fall flat at times with horrible CG effects e.g arrows. blood, stuff breaking apart). With the exception of Russell Crowe and Lucy Liu, every other actor in this movie just fails on all levels of acting. There's a difference between knowing that its cheesy and bad and going for it vs being cheesy and bad but takes itself way too seriously. This movie is the latter and really, there are so many moments, especially the sexual scenes involving Crowe (dont get excited boys...no nudity here and no sex at all. Just connotations) which felt unecessary and do nothing to the plot. All-in-all, once you overlook these factors, you may enjoy Man with the Iron Fists when the blood starts spilling but overall, its is a horrible, Tarantino-wannabe movie that lacks art and class, and would more then offend anyone with Chinese ancestry or with a good knowledge of Chinese Wushia films. People who find this to be exciting and engrossing seriously need a reality check and are certainly young, ignorant, non-Asian douchebags with a lack of experience with Chinese Wushia films. It's like going to those made-for-White-people Chinese restaurants that only non-Chinese people go to: you know, those mediocre places where you never see any Asians dine there (there's a good restaurant tip right there) and the menu is cliche' as hell (fried rice, sweet&sour pork, spring rolls zzz) with customers ordering the same dish almost everytime as opposed to dining in a high class, popular restaurant known by all the Chinese locals for great authentic dishes. Many people will get tricked by its action and some reviews on metacritic by ignorant people who dont know better. If you are curious, watch it when you're drunk and bored with some mates. Otherwise, unlike you're really an ignorant, non-Asian douchebag who dont know better, go right ahead and buy it. It's made for minorities like you. Enjoy your Expand
  5. Nov 6, 2012
    4
    I like the old school martial arts movies and you can tell that RZA is a huge fan of them. The good are the visuals, the fight scenes and (some of) the music. I was a little perplexed with a "reggaesque" track during one fight sequence...not sure it worked. What's bad are the writing, the acting and did I say writing. There was too much RZA in the movie. Bad move.
  6. Nov 3, 2012
    0
    Chinese made poor quality sold out American brand actors movie. Horrible sound track from beginning to end. Very cheaply made movie .The highest expense would have been the money paid to the couple of main actors . Chinese trying to sell movies like their products . They just want floating population and initial days to make the money out . It is a shame for the Hollywood(universal studios) . It is cheating the movie viewers.These kind of cheap movie will reduce the regular movie viewers. I really wanted to get out of the theater after few minutes . I have never seen any movie like this. Collapse
  7. Nov 9, 2012
    4
    I like QT, RZA, Kill Bill Etc... but this movie was HORRIBLE. I literally walked out after wasting an hour... my popcorn was the best part. The movie had a great trailer... fooled again!
  8. Dec 28, 2012
    2
    I as well went to see this as i thought it was a Quentin Tarantino directed movie ( not produced). RZA did his gangster hood rat narrating. WTF was that, hard to take that seriously. I should have left after the first 10 minutes and demanded a refund. Instead i wasted 90 min of my life that i will never get back. I was with a 7yr old so i was their with good intentions, to show him a cool Kung-Fu action movie. Unfortunately after the horrible taste it left in my mouth after leaving i couldn't help but throw up. Not even the Asian's spoke Asian. If it was not narrated by RZA and had subtitles when the Asians spoke. I could have stomached it a lot more. If your reading this and have not seen it yet, save you $. Expand
  9. Feb 17, 2013
    4
    The Man With The Iron Fists, is just not that good. It's sleek but really gory. The RZA sucks at making movies. Don't let the Queten Tarantino Presents logo fool you. 4/10 because of some cool scenes. Worse than A good day to die hard.
  10. Nov 28, 2013
    1
    Anyone that dare to give this movie a more than 4 is an idiot. The WORST movie I ever since. The Story, the Action, the Special effect, everything is Nonsense. Can't stand watching this.
Metascore
51

Mixed or average reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 18
  2. Negative: 4 out of 18
  1. Reviewed by: Peter Bradshaw
    Dec 11, 2012
    20
    It's leaden, boorish and dull.
  2. Reviewed by: Owen Williams
    Dec 3, 2012
    60
    Don't let the 'Quentin Tarantino Presents' tag deceive you, this is a mixed bag of lumpen dialogue and martial-arts magic that never quite coalesces into the delirious mayhem we'd hoped for.
  3. Reviewed by: Ken McIntyre
    Nov 25, 2012
    60
    Grisly and goofy, this ode to the Shaw Brothers' '70s-era kung fu epics serves up 96 minutes of murder and mutilation and not a lot else. Sweet soundtrack, though.