Universal Pictures | Release Date: November 2, 2012
5.6
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 118 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
43
Mixed:
51
Negative:
24
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
3
aznassassinJul 16, 2013
Awesome fight scenes cant make up for a horrible shallow plot with elements that does not make sense, characters and settings that would offend anyone (such as myself) from a Chinese background and overuse of over-the-top violent kills thatAwesome fight scenes cant make up for a horrible shallow plot with elements that does not make sense, characters and settings that would offend anyone (such as myself) from a Chinese background and overuse of over-the-top violent kills that will make anyone, even those who want blood and guts, to flinch. This lack everything that made Tarantino's flick great and tries to be a westernized Wushia movie but ultimately fails on every level except for the at times decent fight scenes (however even these fall flat at times with horrible CG effects e.g arrows. blood, stuff breaking apart). With the exception of Russell Crowe and Lucy Liu, every other actor in this movie just fails on all levels of acting. There's a difference between knowing that its cheesy and bad and going for it vs being cheesy and bad but takes itself way too seriously. This movie is the latter and really, there are so many moments, especially the sexual scenes involving Crowe (dont get excited boys...no nudity here and no sex at all. Just connotations) which felt unecessary and do nothing to the plot. All-in-all, once you overlook these factors, you may enjoy Man with the Iron Fists when the blood starts spilling but overall, its is a horrible, Tarantino-wannabe movie that lacks art and class, and would more then offend anyone with Chinese ancestry or with a good knowledge of Chinese Wushia films. People who find this to be exciting and engrossing seriously need a reality check and are certainly young, ignorant, non-Asian douchebags with a lack of experience with Chinese Wushia films. It's like going to those made-for-White-people Chinese restaurants that only non-Chinese people go to: you know, those mediocre places where you never see any Asians dine there (there's a good restaurant tip right there) and the menu is cliche' as hell (fried rice, sweet&sour pork, spring rolls zzz) with customers ordering the same dish almost everytime as opposed to dining in a high class, popular restaurant known by all the Chinese locals for great authentic dishes. Many people will get tricked by its action and some reviews on metacritic by ignorant people who dont know better. If you are curious, watch it when you're drunk and bored with some mates. Otherwise, unlike you're really an ignorant, non-Asian douchebag who dont know better, go right ahead and buy it. It's made for minorities like you. Enjoy your Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
HedjaJul 8, 2014
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Metacritic really should have a way to delete reviews​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
mazzilliMar 17, 2016
high class ****
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
ppagNov 10, 2012
One of the worst movies I have seen in a long time. I have no idea what Crowe and Liu were thinking when they signed up to "star" in this piece of junk.. The fight scenes were over the top Kill Bill type of fights without any of the "KillOne of the worst movies I have seen in a long time. I have no idea what Crowe and Liu were thinking when they signed up to "star" in this piece of junk.. The fight scenes were over the top Kill Bill type of fights without any of the "Kill Bill" cleverness. This movie reminded me of vintage Kung Fu movies where the sound effects were all wrong. I have no idea what Tarentino's role in this film was other then lending his name to help a friend. Maybe this movie was suppose to be a spoof of Kung Fu movies, if that was its purpose it wasn't even a good spoof. Sae your money, this should have been a straight to DVD movie sold in 7 Elevens Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
0
vpkrajaNov 3, 2012
Chinese made poor quality sold out American brand actors movie. Horrible sound track from beginning to end. Very cheaply made movie .The highest expense would have been the money paid to the couple of main actors . Chinese trying to sellChinese made poor quality sold out American brand actors movie. Horrible sound track from beginning to end. Very cheaply made movie .The highest expense would have been the money paid to the couple of main actors . Chinese trying to sell movies like their products . They just want floating population and initial days to make the money out . It is a shame for the Hollywood(universal studios) . It is cheating the movie viewers.These kind of cheap movie will reduce the regular movie viewers. I really wanted to get out of the theater after few minutes . I have never seen any movie like this. Collapse
0 of 11 users found this helpful011
All this user's reviews
2
RalexOzeinDec 12, 2012
This movie was terrible.. it tried to be Tarantino and failed.. it tried to be a campy Kung-Fu movie and failed... It really just didn't do anything well. Sure, it had action, but it was so poorly directed it made me feel bad for the time andThis movie was terrible.. it tried to be Tarantino and failed.. it tried to be a campy Kung-Fu movie and failed... It really just didn't do anything well. Sure, it had action, but it was so poorly directed it made me feel bad for the time and effort put in to this movie. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
2
movieOverlordDec 28, 2012
I as well went to see this as i thought it was a Quentin Tarantino directed movie ( not produced). RZA did his gangster hood rat narrating. WTF was that, hard to take that seriously. I should have left after the first 10 minutes and demandedI as well went to see this as i thought it was a Quentin Tarantino directed movie ( not produced). RZA did his gangster hood rat narrating. WTF was that, hard to take that seriously. I should have left after the first 10 minutes and demanded a refund. Instead i wasted 90 min of my life that i will never get back. I was with a 7yr old so i was their with good intentions, to show him a cool Kung-Fu action movie. Unfortunately after the horrible taste it left in my mouth after leaving i couldn't help but throw up. Not even the Asian's spoke Asian. If it was not narrated by RZA and had subtitles when the Asians spoke. I could have stomached it a lot more. If your reading this and have not seen it yet, save you $. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
besttuanlongNov 28, 2013
Anyone that dare to give this movie a more than 4 is an idiot. The WORST movie I ever since. The Story, the Action, the Special effect, everything is Nonsense. Can't stand watching this.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews