United Artists | Release Date: October 24, 1962
8.4
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 71 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
61
Mixed:
4
Negative:
6
WATCH NOW
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
FrostbiteOct 13, 2010
Not many movies focus on the topic of brainwashing, and that's what makes The Manchurian Candidate such an amazing and unique film. The movie follows a military veteran as he tries to figure out why he doesn't remember his friend performingNot many movies focus on the topic of brainwashing, and that's what makes The Manchurian Candidate such an amazing and unique film. The movie follows a military veteran as he tries to figure out why he doesn't remember his friend performing an amazing act of heroism that saved two soldiers and awarded him the medal of honor. Another man in their squad talks of strange dreams, and soon after that the movie is launched into a story of politics, intrigue, and of course, brainwashing. The story leads to a great ending that wraps up everything nicely. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
lasttimeisawMay 27, 2015
Speaking of THE MANCHURIAN CANDIDATE, contemporary audience may still recall the 2004 remake headlined by Denzel Washington and Meryl Streep, directed by Jonathan Demme (a 6/10), which is a proficient political thriller and grafts theSpeaking of THE MANCHURIAN CANDIDATE, contemporary audience may still recall the 2004 remake headlined by Denzel Washington and Meryl Streep, directed by Jonathan Demme (a 6/10), which is a proficient political thriller and grafts the timeline from Korean War to Gulf War. Now it is time to revisit the original version directed by John Frankenheimer, the only film I have watched among his prolific filmography before this one actually is his final big screen feature, the romance-thriller mixed-bag REINDEER GAMES (2000, 5/10), Frankenheimer passed away in 2002, and this 1962 black-and-white stunner is no doubt above a few notches over its comparatively problematic remake, substantially due to the Harvey-Lansbury pair’s Oscar-worthy performances.

keep reading my review on my blog, google: cinema omnivore, thanks!
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
3
BroyaxJan 6, 2017
Cette histoire de lavage de cervelle juste après la guerre de Corée de bons et fidèles soldats américains par l'Institut Pavlov (sic !) est indéniablement créative et il y a là matière à quelqu'intrigue digne d'intérêt ma foi. Même leCette histoire de lavage de cervelle juste après la guerre de Corée de bons et fidèles soldats américains par l'Institut Pavlov (sic !) est indéniablement créative et il y a là matière à quelqu'intrigue digne d'intérêt ma foi. Même le couineur Sinatra s'en sort avec les honneurs (du moment qu'il ne chante pas, tout va bien) en dépit du fait que le vrai rôle est attribué à cet acteur inconnu au bataillon mais fort convaincant.

Hélas, le film ne se départit pas de son côté vieillot, peu clair et très poussif comme un vieux tacot bringuebalant qui refuse obstinément d'avancer (à moins qu'il ne s'agisse d'un âne), singeant ainsi à l'insu de son plein gré les pires épisodes-somnifères de la série "Mission Impossible". Dans ce Crime à dormir debout comme dans son remake tout aussi abrutissant réalisé dans les années 2000, force est de constater que le développement et la mise en oeuvre d'un tel sujet semblent décidément maudits et voués aux gémonies.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
KyleA.Jul 6, 2004
One of the best films of all time...in my opinion, and in AFI's. Brilliant plotline and superb acting, especially by Angela Lansbury. Certainly the best political thriller ever made.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PeterA.Aug 4, 2004
This movie literally blew my mind when I first saw it years ago. I'm not sure how a movie should be judged by "today's standards" since no movie maker today would be trying to make a movie to live up to future standards by which it This movie literally blew my mind when I first saw it years ago. I'm not sure how a movie should be judged by "today's standards" since no movie maker today would be trying to make a movie to live up to future standards by which it should be judged. My only quibble--isn't it rather coincidental that Rosie comes dressed as the Queen Card? I mean, out of all the possible costumes she could have chosen?? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KevinB.Jul 15, 2005
Forget "Citizen Kane", "Casablanca" or "The Godfather".. this is the best movie ever! Still ahead of its time!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KeirS.Sep 24, 2005
Incredible, timely film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
FrankO.Jan 10, 2006
One of the best all-time political thrillers. Actually own this DVD and my collection is very selective. Plot was so controversial at production that release was delayed for years.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PatC.Apr 6, 2006
One of the Essentials. Both a well constructed film and an insightful articulation of the fears, suspicions and intrigue of the cold war era. Seems a litle over the top today, but hey, we still don't really know what really happened One of the Essentials. Both a well constructed film and an insightful articulation of the fears, suspicions and intrigue of the cold war era. Seems a litle over the top today, but hey, we still don't really know what really happened when Kennedy was shot. And that happened after this movie was made. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
MYOBF.Aug 3, 2004
It's good, but the whole assassination attempt is sooooo weak by today's standards. Maybe I've just read too many Tom Clancy books or seen too many well-done sequences in other movies, but by today's standards, the action It's good, but the whole assassination attempt is sooooo weak by today's standards. Maybe I've just read too many Tom Clancy books or seen too many well-done sequences in other movies, but by today's standards, the action part of the movie is incredibly lame and really submarines the rest of the movie for me. If the assassination attempt had been even remotely plausible (or better yet, not taken up so much screen time), I think the movie would be better overall. By the standards of its time, this is a first-rate movie. But by today's standards, only the political thriller part works. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JasonP.Aug 7, 2004
Frankenheimer's Manchurian Candidate deserves all of the praise it has received over the years. Still razor sharp over a third of a century later.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GregoryAug 9, 2004
The classic. Chilling, especially Angela Lansbury's performance. Taut, with nothing added or omitted. The dream sequences are filmmaking at its best. The additional material on the DVD, specifically the interview with Frankenheimer and The classic. Chilling, especially Angela Lansbury's performance. Taut, with nothing added or omitted. The dream sequences are filmmaking at its best. The additional material on the DVD, specifically the interview with Frankenheimer and Sinatra, is interesting and provides the kind of context one longs for in the additional materials found on DVDs today. Films this good are rarely made today, and it is a sin, if not a crime, that the 2004 trash remake was ever green-lighted. Remaking films like "The Manchurian Candidate" reveals how bereft of creativity Hollywood has become. What's next? A remake of "Citizen Kane?" Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ThomasW.Jan 28, 2007
Excellent! Spell binding!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
EpicLadySpongeApr 22, 2016
The Manchurian Candidate never fails to leave any of its people behind and that's not all, there's still more coming up after you see this movie available wherever its still sold at.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews