Paramount Pictures | Release Date: July 30, 2004
7.9
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 87 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
64
Mixed:
18
Negative:
5
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
Tss5078Jul 21, 2014
The remake of The Manchurian Candidate is one of the few Denzel Washington films I've never seen. To be honest, the story just didn't interest me that much, but it started streaming this month, so I gave it a shot. As expected, it's a someoneThe remake of The Manchurian Candidate is one of the few Denzel Washington films I've never seen. To be honest, the story just didn't interest me that much, but it started streaming this month, so I gave it a shot. As expected, it's a someone complex story, that at times was difficult to understand, however an all-star cast manages to pull it together at the end. The story begins in Iraq during the Gulf War, when a U.S. Army platoon goes missing for three days. Even they were unaware of what happened to them, until one of the men starts having nightmares, and bodies start turning up. Denzel Washington plays the commanding officer, who takes it upon himself to investigate the strange deaths of his men, almost a decade later. As always, Washington is at the top of his game, giving off that infectious intensity, that keeps you on the edge of your seat through every step of the investigation. Washington is paired with Liev Schreiber who is one guy that has always just rubbed me the wrong way. It's not that he's a bad actor, there is just something about him and the characters he plays that is inherently unlikeable. He wasn't bad in this film, but being a similarly intense actor, meant that the chemistry with Washington was almost non-existent. The story is complicated and in the beginning of the film, it's going to be somewhat hard to watch. As the film proceeds and the elements become more clear, the film gets easier to watch, and the ending really pulls everything together. The Manchurian Candidate is one of those films that you think is going to be a bust, some people may even turn it off, but those who stick with it will see that it just gets better and better until a surprise ending brings it all together. If I were the writer of this film, I would have made the beginning of the film more intense and less confusing. The truth is the most important parts of a film are the beginning and the end, and without a strong opening, a lot of people will be turned off to the film and have the wrong attitude throughout. If you manage to stick with it, The Manchurian Candidate is great, but it does take a while to get there. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
IlirC.Jul 30, 2006
great movie with a great ending...highly recommended.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BlowhouseOct 10, 2005
Well-made political thriller. A good adaptation that adds a lot to the franchise.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JimMDec 6, 2005
The reviewers who call this the "worst movie of 2004" must work for the devious Manchurian Global Corp. as portrayed in the film. Overall, Manchurian Candidate is an interesting political thriller and is competently filmed, but lacks the The reviewers who call this the "worst movie of 2004" must work for the devious Manchurian Global Corp. as portrayed in the film. Overall, Manchurian Candidate is an interesting political thriller and is competently filmed, but lacks the emotional connectedness required to call it "memorable." Draws many parallels to actual events and subterfuge in current geopolitics and the enormous power wielded by many corporations (Halliburton, Enron?). Streeps performance is the highlight -- positively chilling! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
PatC.Apr 6, 2006
Tries to replicate the tension of the original, which expressed the paranoia of communist ideology run amuck. Imputing such ideological drive to a corporation is a push. The quest for money by people who lack the motivation created from Tries to replicate the tension of the original, which expressed the paranoia of communist ideology run amuck. Imputing such ideological drive to a corporation is a push. The quest for money by people who lack the motivation created from missing a lot of meals is neither compelling nor accurate. Some good acting, though. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
TomVJul 4, 2009
This movie wasn't very good!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
RegOzApr 5, 2012
Of course it is a good movie! I liked all the performances (Denzel Washington's was my less favourite but still fine), especially Meryl Streep's , but she never disappoints us! This film has flaws, but 98% of the movies do...so enjoy thisOf course it is a good movie! I liked all the performances (Denzel Washington's was my less favourite but still fine), especially Meryl Streep's , but she never disappoints us! This film has flaws, but 98% of the movies do...so enjoy this one...! Entertaining for sure! This is one of the very few times when I agree with most of the critic, for a t this point, I don't care about the critics'views anymore, well.... I never did for they are often too full of themselves, and I find most of them have a cheap taste! So I rather trust in normal users, who rank movies because what they feel, not what they pretend they are ('The harsh critic') to build themselves a good reputation...but this time, I have to say the critics have greatly surprised me! Good on them! Collapse
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
SpangleAug 25, 2016
The Manchurian Candidate is a truly chilling look at the influence that both corporations and money can have in politics. Though this remake is flawed, it has more than its fair share of positives. From its compelling premise that reallyThe Manchurian Candidate is a truly chilling look at the influence that both corporations and money can have in politics. Though this remake is flawed, it has more than its fair share of positives. From its compelling premise that really hooks you in from the very beginning to the absolutely stunningly good performance from Meryl Streep, The Manchurian Candidate has some real high notes. Liev Schrieber also turns in a reliably good performance in this film from director Jonathan Demme that keeps you on your toes and thrills continuously from beginning to end. That said, it does have a few problems. With its compelling premise, things at the end should have would wound up being far messier. Unfortunately, its too neat ending left me more than disappointed. Additionally, the editing can be a bit spotty with some really weird transitions and scenes seemingly lacking flow here and there. That said, The Manchurian Candidate is a solid to pretty good film with a chillingly cold and calculated performance from Streep that more than steals the show. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Compi24Nov 28, 2012
Jonathan Demme's reimagining of the classic political thriller proves to be a harrowing, powerfully acted, and solidly written piece of cinema.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
YorkManMar 23, 2016
The Manchurian Candidate is a weak 'remake' of the classic early 60's Cold War paranoia masterpiece.

It in itself isn't a bad film, but it removes so many of the layers of the original it feels more like a TV movie, than a relatively big
The Manchurian Candidate is a weak 'remake' of the classic early 60's Cold War paranoia masterpiece.

It in itself isn't a bad film, but it removes so many of the layers of the original it feels more like a TV movie, than a relatively big budget Hollywood produced film.

Like the original the narrative is borne out of a conspiracy to place a sleeper agent in the White House, except this time it's not the Communist Chinese government at work, but a large multi-national company seeking to have someone in power who can increase their influence and profit potential.

So, the stakes are massively reduced for a start, and that hurts the movie greatly. We sit and watch events unfold, but the reality is that even if the 'bad guys' succeed, it's not going to be pushing the Government towards a pro-Communist stance etc.!

The acting in the film is good enough, the main leads are doing their best with a weak script. The action scenes are more interesting, as this movie goes more into detail about the 'brainwashing' than the original, and is quite harrowing. The score is by the numbers stuff, which is about all you can say about the direction too.... It's adequately done, but you can't sit there watching and wonder how much better it could have been, because there's nothing in the film that stands out.

Bad points just revolve around the lazy narrative. Updating such a classic to a 'modern' setting wasn't going to be easy, and this film proves that to be the case. However, it's not a lamentable attempt, it's just lazy.

It's a film to watch, if you've never seen it. Not a film to actively avoid. However, if you've never seen the original..... Then watch that, instead of this!
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews