Weinstein Company, The | Release Date: September 14, 2012
7.1
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 496 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
335
Mixed:
84
Negative:
77
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
7
jmain504Jul 13, 2016
The Master is not quite a masterpiece, but it is a solid thought provoking film. It isn't enrapturing and it doesn't grab a hold of you and drag you in, but it does raise questions about post-WW2 ptsd, the charismatic nature of cult leaders,The Master is not quite a masterpiece, but it is a solid thought provoking film. It isn't enrapturing and it doesn't grab a hold of you and drag you in, but it does raise questions about post-WW2 ptsd, the charismatic nature of cult leaders, and why they can exist, and self doubt about one's work. It is beautifully shot and it does lift and lower your spirits, with humorous and somber moments. The dialogue is not deep in words, but it feels concise and to the point; there are no wasted words. The chemistry between Hoffman and Phoenix is visceral and beautiful. It made me want Hoffman to succeed as a leader, partly because of his frustration and humanness, but at the same time, I know he is a cult leader with, literally, out of this world beliefs. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
The3AcademySinsJun 7, 2016
Truly one of the best films from this past decade. Amazingly acted and beautifully shot, The Master is the tale of one man who truly becomes his own master, while providing a thoughtful critique on human organizations. One of Paul ThomasTruly one of the best films from this past decade. Amazingly acted and beautifully shot, The Master is the tale of one man who truly becomes his own master, while providing a thoughtful critique on human organizations. One of Paul Thomas Anderson's best works. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
jcasetnlDec 28, 2015
THE MASTER is a very pretty turd of a film. Beautifully shot and acted but it's an incomprehensible mess. I've yet to find a person who can actually explain it, but quite a few who will leap to: "the point is there is no point! It's art!"THE MASTER is a very pretty turd of a film. Beautifully shot and acted but it's an incomprehensible mess. I've yet to find a person who can actually explain it, but quite a few who will leap to: "the point is there is no point! It's art!" Really? In that case, I point you to the episode of the original Batman TV series where The Joker enters a "painting" into an art contest that's just a blank canvas, entitled "The Emptiness of Life". That managed the same trick and didn't take 2.5 hours to get there. There's an ever-present sense while watching THE MASTER that something deep and profound is going on just out of sight, but the film itself can't seem to find it. Maybe that's its point about Scientology, but if so, again, I say "cheap trick". Well, Darren Aronofsky had THE FOUNTAIN and now PT Anderson has his "so incomprehensible the critics are afraid to pan it, but quickly forgotten" film, too. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Rutger-KikkertNov 23, 2015
The Master directed by the masterful director Paul Thomas Anderson starring Joaquin Phoenix, Philip Seymour Hoffman and Amy Adams is again a good movie from Anderson. First of all there's some really good acting, and by good I mean OscarThe Master directed by the masterful director Paul Thomas Anderson starring Joaquin Phoenix, Philip Seymour Hoffman and Amy Adams is again a good movie from Anderson. First of all there's some really good acting, and by good I mean Oscar worthy performances especially by Phoenix and Hoffman. Some excellent writing too. Just only looking at the scenes where Hoffman's character is questioning Phoenix's character. The writing is just very good. The cinematography is also just beautiful. Long takes, a good use of focus and lighting makes this a very beautifully looking picture. At certain scenes I was just smiling, not because there was something humorous, but because it was so well done on every level. But where this movie flaws is where certain scenes felt a bit unnecessary and out of place. This movie is already vague at some moments and these scenes make the movie even more vague and overly convoluted at times. This can really take away the enjoyment of this movie for you. Especially when those scenes keep on going for too long. This leaves the viewer with questions in the end. This is that kind of movie that really needs a second view because the plot is at times too convoluted for its own good.
In the end: this movie is really good. From the acting to the writing to the cinematography. But the flaws lay with the plot as I already have sad. It is for me too close to an art-house picture. But when you're into that kind of stuff I can really recommend this movie.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
MattBrady99Nov 16, 2015
When I first watched The Master I didn't really like it that much. I thought the movie was slow and kind of dull on my first viewing, but after re watching it for a second time, I really liked this movie and the film did grow on me afterWhen I first watched The Master I didn't really like it that much. I thought the movie was slow and kind of dull on my first viewing, but after re watching it for a second time, I really liked this movie and the film did grow on me after awhile.

Joaquin Phoenix, Amy Adams and Philip Seymour Hoffman were absolutely brilliant in this movie, as I think this is the best I've ever seen from them. The cinematography was perfectly shot, the writing was great and Paul Thomas Anderson directing was superb. The Master is a work of art.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Zadaris2021Jul 22, 2015
Superb acting is in this film - for viewers who love to see actors tear themselves apart with a role, here it is. Phoenix and Hoffman are at the pinnacle of their respective abilities. Phoenix, playing Freddie Quell draws you in the minuteSuperb acting is in this film - for viewers who love to see actors tear themselves apart with a role, here it is. Phoenix and Hoffman are at the pinnacle of their respective abilities. Phoenix, playing Freddie Quell draws you in the minute you see his creased up face answering questions from a psychological evaluation post WWII. Hoffman, the deranged but maybe even genius Lancaster Dodd does exactly what he always does - makes you fall dearly in love for twisted and maniacal men. And to give due credit to Paul Thomas Anderson, a director who literally can't have a bad idea; this is one of my favorite directors and this movie is what sparked my interest even more than it ever was in method-acting, the Daniel Day-Lewis-esque idea. With both Philip and Joaquin getting an Academy Award nomination, Amy Adams must also receive due credit and recognition for playing the far-seeing Peggy, whose eye's seem to be peering through people rather than at them. She received a nomination as well. I love this film and these actors. Watch it! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
CameraBounceGodJul 8, 2015
it gets a ten because the thought of amy adams being smarter than hoffman would kill him in real life... not to mention the scene in the prison cell and the fact that modest mouse told me to watch it.......makes it automatic ten...also loveit gets a ten because the thought of amy adams being smarter than hoffman would kill him in real life... not to mention the scene in the prison cell and the fact that modest mouse told me to watch it.......makes it automatic ten...also love cults to death Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
CaesaroctopusMay 2, 2015
If There Will Be Blood is the best movie that Paul Thomas Anderson has ever created, then The Master fills in the 1.b. category on the list of his movies. The Master is as artful and cerebral as its acclaimed predecessor, and one of the bestIf There Will Be Blood is the best movie that Paul Thomas Anderson has ever created, then The Master fills in the 1.b. category on the list of his movies. The Master is as artful and cerebral as its acclaimed predecessor, and one of the best movies of the decade so far. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
PfenderStrat621Apr 13, 2015
I personally consider this film better than There Will Be Blood. The decisions of filmmaking were extremely original and with purpose, the performances are perfect, the directing is top notch, the story is intriguing, complex and engaging. II personally consider this film better than There Will Be Blood. The decisions of filmmaking were extremely original and with purpose, the performances are perfect, the directing is top notch, the story is intriguing, complex and engaging. I am not even sure If i got the whole thing! But the things that i got made me love this movie. The use of music is perfect to set out the tone and the characters are very interesting and well written. Paul Thomas Anderson again brings us a masterful film that is misunderstanded now. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
ScraperMar 30, 2015
The cinematography wraps a quaint, pleasant world around two men navigating a hopeless search for order in the world and themselves. The audience won't immediately identify with the manic behavior or violent mood swings (Rex Reed hatesThe cinematography wraps a quaint, pleasant world around two men navigating a hopeless search for order in the world and themselves. The audience won't immediately identify with the manic behavior or violent mood swings (Rex Reed hates anything that isn't immediately likable like a dessert), but the audience will certainly identify the religious aspects and human behavior surrounding tightly-gripped philosophies and beliefs: certainty, skepticism, narcissism, insanity. It's serious, funny, subtle, just perfect to dissect and enjoy. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
AkashVijayJan 19, 2015
This is a work of art and Paul Thomas Anderson has constantly shown us again and again that he may be the most artistically gifted film-maker working today. Although it's brimming with philosophical ideas about deception, manipulation,This is a work of art and Paul Thomas Anderson has constantly shown us again and again that he may be the most artistically gifted film-maker working today. Although it's brimming with philosophical ideas about deception, manipulation, scientology and psychiatry and pervaded with beautiful visuals, at its essence the Master is a love story. It follows the storyline of a Naval veteran (brilliantly played by Joaquin Phoenix) who arrives home from war unsettled by the traumatic events he's been through and unsure of his place in the world. By the end of the film, we learn that the real question to ask isn't if he's ready to be a part of the world, but, "Is the world ready to know him?". Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
JalemanyJan 10, 2015
Should I watch it again?, I really don't want to ... but I clearly missed something. This film totally flew over my head without touching it. Don't take me wrong, I see and understand what happens, but I just don't care. Pointless?!
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
DCEdmondsNov 13, 2014
"The Master" 10 Scale Rating: 6.0 (Decent) ...

The Good: Phillip Seymour Hoffman carries the film as it loses some of it's power when he is not in it. The subject matter itself is extremely interesting and happens to be a topic that I have
"The Master" 10 Scale Rating: 6.0 (Decent) ...

The Good: Phillip Seymour Hoffman carries the film as it loses some of it's power when he is not in it. The subject matter itself is extremely interesting and happens to be a topic that I have always been fascinated with. While his character is only mildly interesting, Joaquin Phoenix does a solid job.

The Bad: It is two hours and eighteen minutes long, but it feels much longer. It gets very tedious and a little boring at times. Too much filler and too many scenes that seemed to be crammed into the film.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
hillfingerhNov 4, 2014
The Master is not only Paul Thomas Anderson's best work but it is also one of the very best art films in cinema history. It is shot beautifully, acted superbly, written and directed in the best possible way. No, it is not a type of film thatThe Master is not only Paul Thomas Anderson's best work but it is also one of the very best art films in cinema history. It is shot beautifully, acted superbly, written and directed in the best possible way. No, it is not a type of film that can be comprehended just by first viewing; it requires revisiting like 2001: A Space Odyssey. This film divides the audiences into two different reactions; they love it or they hate it. Not just mainstream audiences but also to critics and film lovers (which doesn't happen so often). If you are a serious audience who appreciate pure art-house cinema, this will be a wonderful gift for you. If that's not, this might be a nightmare; a very terrible one. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
nicholasbertSep 5, 2014
When a director has such a fame as PTA has - with people calling him wunderkind, the next blabla and other appalling names - it is inevitable that each new film tends to be seen as a new step in his career, as if his works were all connected.When a director has such a fame as PTA has - with people calling him wunderkind, the next blabla and other appalling names - it is inevitable that each new film tends to be seen as a new step in his career, as if his works were all connected. I don't think this is the case: The Master kind of stands alone amongst PTA's filmography, and I must confess, if I were to rate it comparing it with his previous films, I'd give it a 4.

The performances are good, especially Hoffman's rather than Phoenix's in my opinion, the cinematography was spectacular as always - the real problem is the storytelling. The unusual film choice might have extended in sort of a "total 50s feel" where even the pacing of the film is old-fashioned. Anyway, the story itself is interesting, it just isn't delivered as potently as it could have.

That said, still one of the good movies. My jaw drops when I see "The Avengers" rated more than this by users.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
beingryanjudeSep 1, 2014
Every so often we get a film that challenges us--this is that film for 2012. Joaquin Phoenix, Amy Adams and Philip Seymour Hoffman each give some of their finest work. With such boldness and poetry through the eyes of Paul Thomas Anderson,Every so often we get a film that challenges us--this is that film for 2012. Joaquin Phoenix, Amy Adams and Philip Seymour Hoffman each give some of their finest work. With such boldness and poetry through the eyes of Paul Thomas Anderson, The Master will not be easily forgotten. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
MovieGuysAug 18, 2014
The Master is a well-executed and thought-provoking drama from Paul Thomas Anderson that raises many moral questions, and refuses to accept easy answers. While countless directors have gone down the "dystopian future "road, Anderson creates aThe Master is a well-executed and thought-provoking drama from Paul Thomas Anderson that raises many moral questions, and refuses to accept easy answers. While countless directors have gone down the "dystopian future "road, Anderson creates a very interesting "dystopian past". Now I use this term loosely because this film is based in real society, but the dystopian part shows in the mind of PTSD sufferer Freddie Quell, a disturbed man who is drawn in to the lifestyle of Lancaster Dodd, a cult leader. While the film may overstay its welcome in the final third, it's still a great and important picture. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
NitishAug 14, 2014
It's an extremely slow movie which gives you no conclusion neither during the movie nor at the end. But what special about this movie is it's plot which is so deep and artistic that even you were getting bored with the slow pace but you willIt's an extremely slow movie which gives you no conclusion neither during the movie nor at the end. But what special about this movie is it's plot which is so deep and artistic that even you were getting bored with the slow pace but you will keep wondering what going to happen next. These are certain high moments as well. Joaquin phoenix is great as always. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
SpangleJul 30, 2014
I truly did like this one, though I do not find it to be as deep and sophisticated as many critics and others who have watched this one. At the end of the day, this one has themes like every other film, but for the most part, the question,I truly did like this one, though I do not find it to be as deep and sophisticated as many critics and others who have watched this one. At the end of the day, this one has themes like every other film, but for the most part, the question, "What is this one about?" can be answered by saying that it is a character study of a deeply troubled man and his father-son type relationship with a cult leader. Nothing profound or deep and, to me, many people are looking into this one too closely and looking for something that is simply not there. Now, onto the film itself. Joaquin Phoenix and Philip Seymour Hoffman are fantastic and are a great juxtaposition to one another, as Phoenix is over the top, unhinged, violent, and angry, while Hoffman is calm, cool, collected, and calculating. Amy Adams is also good here, though I do wish her role was larger, but at the end of the day, this one is about Phoenix and Hoffman's relationship. The script here is also very strong and does a fantastic job developing the characters. The cinematography is gorgeous, in particular the repeated shots of the water and then the shots of them in desert. Really well done and beautiful to look at without question. Paul Thomas Anderson's direction is also strong as well. After watching Punch-Drunk Love and not liking it after having loved There Will Be Blood and liking Hard Eight, I was still worried that maybe Anderson's films would be more hit and miss for me. However, this one convinced me that that may not be the case, as his direction and this film were really good. At the end of the day, The Master is not for everyone, but for me, it was right up my alley. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
westauJan 21, 2014
Terrible. This is the kind of movie critics love but I can't find a single person I know who liked it so most of the positive reviews are just trying to be cool like the critics. My wife fell asleep it was so boring.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
tonyGreenJan 10, 2014
A film with two great performances by Phoenix and Hoffman and great character development. Another fantastic uneasy soundtrack gives this a feel similar to There Will Be Blood, although this film seems even darker in tone. Worth more than one viewing
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
0
ZhiemieDec 15, 2013
Wow what a dud. In the 60's when I began looking more critically at movies, character development, production values, etc., nudity, people masturbating, puking was kind of shocking. Now, with the advent of so many minor league producers andWow what a dud. In the 60's when I began looking more critically at movies, character development, production values, etc., nudity, people masturbating, puking was kind of shocking. Now, with the advent of so many minor league producers and directors, it is commonplace. The notable part of this disaster was having such an array of fine actors scrummed in this lightweight, faux masterpiece.
It is sad that movies need explosions, t&a, autoeroticism as subsitutes for good writing and directing. The Master was a total pile of manure.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
Compi24Dec 9, 2013
Paul Thomas Anderson's "The Master" represents everything a challenging movie should be compellingly dissonant performances, intentionally vague thematic ideas, and a virtual plentitude of eye-catching images. It may not be for everybody,Paul Thomas Anderson's "The Master" represents everything a challenging movie should be compellingly dissonant performances, intentionally vague thematic ideas, and a virtual plentitude of eye-catching images. It may not be for everybody, but it's definitely a philosophically engrossing ride. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
JosephMarroquinNov 10, 2013
strong and smart perfomances, this is a movie teach you how can you change, and the most important the script is something than you never forget......
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
pinkpheonixNov 10, 2013
Horrible, boring movie that critics love so that they can feel intellectually superior to the rest of us who just don't 'get" the move. Boring. Pointless. No plot, no resolution. But hey, the acting is good.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
Andys_ReviewsSep 7, 2013
The film is beautifully shot, making full use of the various surroundings they find themselves in. The use of music from the period was quite effective also, not always to my taste, but it seemed to fit pretty well. As to performances, well,The film is beautifully shot, making full use of the various surroundings they find themselves in. The use of music from the period was quite effective also, not always to my taste, but it seemed to fit pretty well. As to performances, well, all the major parts were excellently portrayed with Philip Seymour Hoffman standing out. I found I really paid attention to every scene he was in; without him, meaning no disrespect to the other actors involved, it kind of fell flat. I though Amy Adams was excellent too, although I felt she was underused. There appeared to be an awful lot of improvisation, particularly from Joaquin Phoenix and I found these scenes very hit and miss. I sometimes felt like I was watching an acting class. As far as the narrative goes, well I found it meandering; it was very slow (not that this is always a bad thing) and when we did get to a point it would then go off in a totally different direction. Over all, it didn’t stand out as the particularly outstanding work the critics seem to think it is; but then again, I don’t have to watch all the dross they have to on a day to day basis. Maybe I have to watch a lot of really bad films and then watch this one again, but for now it’s ‘Recommended’, but only just.

SteelMonster’s verdict: RECOMMENDED

My score: 6.1/10.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
pr3d4torAug 7, 2013
This is pretty much the worst movie I've ever seen. Good acting, but what for? There's no plot. They should either say that in the summary or just leave it blank. An absolute waste of time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
MetaVinceAug 1, 2013
This is a public service announcement: Do not waste your money on this flick, we paid $1.00 at Redbox and stopped the movie 30 minutes in due to 'not wanting to waste another 2 hours of my life' on such a morose, insignificant, depressing,This is a public service announcement: Do not waste your money on this flick, we paid $1.00 at Redbox and stopped the movie 30 minutes in due to 'not wanting to waste another 2 hours of my life' on such a morose, insignificant, depressing, weird movie. These actors (who are superb, by the way) tried to save it, but couldn't. Other uses of my $1.00? Would have preferred the dollar menu at McDs or maybe a dime bag to forget I rented this slop. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
farhoodnJul 23, 2013
this movie is not for people whom are not movie lovers. this artwork is a masterpiece and actually PTA is The Master. acts are brilliant. Hoffman is great as always and this is Joaquin's best act ever. along side with The Holy Motors, thethis movie is not for people whom are not movie lovers. this artwork is a masterpiece and actually PTA is The Master. acts are brilliant. Hoffman is great as always and this is Joaquin's best act ever. along side with The Holy Motors, the best movies of 2012... if you know about movies and PTA, this comment is unnecessary and you already ignored the low scored reviews. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
lholzJul 21, 2013
The Master with Joaquin Phoenix and Philip Seymour Hoffman altho the acting was very good the story was repetitive and unfulfilling. My understanding had been it was about an L Ron Hubbard type charlatan and a mentally crippled WW2 soldierThe Master with Joaquin Phoenix and Philip Seymour Hoffman altho the acting was very good the story was repetitive and unfulfilling. My understanding had been it was about an L Ron Hubbard type charlatan and a mentally crippled WW2 soldier looking for something. It sometimes got a hit but more frequently seemed comatose and missed the ball...I expected something more incisive and not obscurantist poetic. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews