Miramax Films | Release Date: December 23, 2005
8.8
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 176 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
157
Mixed:
9
Negative:
10
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
lususgreeneMay 13, 2011
This movie has forgettable all over it, but then you watch it and say, "hey that was good!" This is one of those strange off the beaten path movies that no one expects to be good but it really is. It is funny, interesting, and well actedThis movie has forgettable all over it, but then you watch it and say, "hey that was good!" This is one of those strange off the beaten path movies that no one expects to be good but it really is. It is funny, interesting, and well acted (shocking I know!). Check out this movie for a surprisingly good time. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
VRJan 6, 2006
Outstanding. Pierce Brosnan plays an emotionally disintergrating and dysfunctional hit-man against type so well he seems a natural at it. Greg Kinnear is great as the other partner in what amounts to an off-beat buddy movie. It just may be Outstanding. Pierce Brosnan plays an emotionally disintergrating and dysfunctional hit-man against type so well he seems a natural at it. Greg Kinnear is great as the other partner in what amounts to an off-beat buddy movie. It just may be the best role of Brosan's career. Forget James Bond, this guy's been hiding his talent. Highly recommended. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
richoJan 7, 2006
Highly entertaining movie,pierce brosnan is a class of his own.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
DougR.Apr 14, 2006
This movie was entertaining. Very different but well done. It's just that you can't really like these characters.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoiH.Aug 8, 2006
Excellent movie, writing and direction was great. I thought it was very well done! Highly recommend it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MarlinC.Jan 10, 2006
Fun diversion, but needed more depth.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KennyD.Jan 28, 2006
Incredible!! Brosnan was hilarious! The creativity of the story makes it that much better.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NsaS.Jan 3, 2006
Any movie that has the line: "I look like a Bangkok hooker on a Sunday morning after the Navy has left town" is gold in my books. The ending is a bit wishy-washy, and compared to the rest of the movie could have been a little bit more solid Any movie that has the line: "I look like a Bangkok hooker on a Sunday morning after the Navy has left town" is gold in my books. The ending is a bit wishy-washy, and compared to the rest of the movie could have been a little bit more solid and substantial, but all in all, definetly a keeper. Brosnan is magnificent. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RaulR.Jan 7, 2006
Prolly one of the best movies I have seen this month.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SusanM.Feb 2, 2006
Greg Kinnear and Pierce Brosnan are so funny in this movie, right down to their facial expressions and body language. I really enjoyed it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ToddH.Jul 14, 2006
hovers on the edge,of dark reality and comic suspence,but keeps you guessing all the way through.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
NathanW.Jan 10, 2007
This is a nice little action thriller with a good dose of comedy. The director gets the film moving along nicely and the use of color, and music throughout the film is exceptional. Worth watching just for that. Great cinematography. Brosnan This is a nice little action thriller with a good dose of comedy. The director gets the film moving along nicely and the use of color, and music throughout the film is exceptional. Worth watching just for that. Great cinematography. Brosnan portrayal of a hitman losing it is very funny but also very well done. There is just enough suspense and things left unsaid to keep you interested throughout. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MickW.Mar 10, 2008
Maybe not a 10 but deserves it to round out the inane comments here. It's a smart, witty laugh-fest which perhaps features too much goofy worship from Kinnear's everyman character and generates too much sympathy for Brosnan's Maybe not a 10 but deserves it to round out the inane comments here. It's a smart, witty laugh-fest which perhaps features too much goofy worship from Kinnear's everyman character and generates too much sympathy for Brosnan's hit-man character, if one can even find him savory. Speaking of Brosnan, he is PERFECT for the part, being the hilariously sharp, arrogant, psychopathic and egocentric character that he is. I think the script could have moved in a better moral and sensible direction but, as long as you just take this for cotton candy, you'll laugh your head off. The way this is filmed, it's supposed to be more of an over the top comedy which has both pros and cons. Overall, I thought this was one of the funnier surprises I've seen in a long time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
RichardB.Jan 17, 2006
sexy beast meets the ref. which sounds a little better than it is. good acting, good attitude, but an incompletely thought out story (with an unnecessary nasty plot point involving a child that still befuddles me.) admirable effort, but you sexy beast meets the ref. which sounds a little better than it is. good acting, good attitude, but an incompletely thought out story (with an unnecessary nasty plot point involving a child that still befuddles me.) admirable effort, but you can wait for the dvd. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MatthieuR.Jan 22, 2006
Easily one of the better written and acted films of the year. It appears predictable, but ultimately eschews cliches in favor of a unique, at times zany, at times pathos-laden comedy. Great performance by Pierce, who appears eager to shed Easily one of the better written and acted films of the year. It appears predictable, but ultimately eschews cliches in favor of a unique, at times zany, at times pathos-laden comedy. Great performance by Pierce, who appears eager to shed the shackles of the Bond persona. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
HerschelL.Jan 3, 2006
Pierce Brosnan in an amazing performance. Extremely entertaining.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ChadS.Jan 30, 2006
What a shame that the pair of "Analyze This" films had to exist because this take on a chemically imbalanced psychopath is fresh in spite of the subject's overfamiliarity. When Pierce Brosnan reaches his breaking point, it doesn't What a shame that the pair of "Analyze This" films had to exist because this take on a chemically imbalanced psychopath is fresh in spite of the subject's overfamiliarity. When Pierce Brosnan reaches his breaking point, it doesn't feel like a ham-a-thon because the former-James Bond already has a track record of registering more than one facial expression(if you look at the Robert DeNiro oeuvre, more often than not he's frowning). "The Matador" is a constant surprise because we walk into the theater with the wrong set of criteria, the one reserved for wide release fare. When I saw Hope Davis' name during the opening credits, I said to myself, "Oh, Hope Davis isn't normally a slummer," and she doesn't start here. When Davis uses the "f"-word in "The Weather Man", she's cutting; here, her usage is a comic highlight. Paired with Greg Kinnear(who is good and rightfully bland as a middle-class guy, but imagine the comic heights if Davis was reteamed with her "American Splendor" co-star), they reduce Pierce Brosnan from James Bond to capable ensemble actor. And that's a good thing. The leap forward in the film's timeline feels self-consciously like Tarantino-lite, but what is revealed when the film returns to that juncture actually surprises, actually works. This grade might be a little too high, but the song that graces "The Matador('s)" final scene will leave you with a stupid grin on your face if you're aware of the band's name. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
KevinAFeb 14, 2006
Juan V.: Funny, you mention "there's a weird homosexual tension between Brosnan and Kinnear", yet the "storyline is highly unoriginal and uninteresting". Could it be that you were turned off by that particular interesting storyline, Juan V.: Funny, you mention "there's a weird homosexual tension between Brosnan and Kinnear", yet the "storyline is highly unoriginal and uninteresting". Could it be that you were turned off by that particular interesting storyline, among others? I found it highly original that Kinnear played a real person - heavy faults and all. Kinnear's wife in the movie, Hope Davis, was supremely realistic. I guess she didn't look like Keira Knightly - perhaps that was the problem for Juan. And Pierce Brosnan played a relatively original character. Combined with the music and a somewhat edgy style, it was a joy to watch. I do agree with one of Juan's comments, about "the user ratings on this site are the most misguided references to utilize on the entire interent (sic)". Maybe Juan is putting us on with his review, and I missed the inherent joke. Good job, if that's the case. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
GregorJul 16, 2006
Nice to see a different side of Pierce, and Kinnear was fantastic.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
CharlieM.Aug 12, 2006
Dark enough to keep you wondering what might happen, but great character continuity and consistency. The dialog and interaction between Brosnan and Kinnear has the exact right level of humor, realism and sentimentality.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
Myles#13Sep 6, 2006
A surprisingly good film... Brosnan finally lets us see that he is a real actor, not just the stone face James Bond (who is a static character anyway). Brosnan and Kinnear do fantastic and, considering the plot, this movie is surprisingly A surprisingly good film... Brosnan finally lets us see that he is a real actor, not just the stone face James Bond (who is a static character anyway). Brosnan and Kinnear do fantastic and, considering the plot, this movie is surprisingly thrilling. Very well done. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JamesApr 8, 2008
This film came at me out of the blue. There i was fully expecting it to be awful but wow. Brosnan delivered a great performance and the story of friendship made me watch it a second time straight away. The last scene aswell was just pure This film came at me out of the blue. There i was fully expecting it to be awful but wow. Brosnan delivered a great performance and the story of friendship made me watch it a second time straight away. The last scene aswell was just pure genius and everytime i listen to that killers song it makes me think of this film. A great film with some great twists you don't see happening. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
[Anonymous]Jan 13, 2006
If I hadn't seen the preview I wouldn't have thought Brosnan could do something so offbeat and edgy and fascinating to watch. He was terrific as was the entire segment in Mexico. Ebert's review is spot on so check it out for If I hadn't seen the preview I wouldn't have thought Brosnan could do something so offbeat and edgy and fascinating to watch. He was terrific as was the entire segment in Mexico. Ebert's review is spot on so check it out for more details. Highly recommended. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BenK.Jan 16, 2006
I never noticed how tall Brosnan is until this picture. According to IMDB he stands a robust 6'1". Somehow his height heightens the pathetic nature of his character. Brosnan is an assasin, seedy, naturally amoral, sexually promiscuous, I never noticed how tall Brosnan is until this picture. According to IMDB he stands a robust 6'1". Somehow his height heightens the pathetic nature of his character. Brosnan is an assasin, seedy, naturally amoral, sexually promiscuous, not a people person who spends the whole movie apologizing to Greg Kinnear when he could have easily killed him. (Killing Kinnear is apparently legal in 13 states) The reasons why Brosnan keeps apologizing form the basis of the film. Of course Brosnan gives the best performance of his career, at this rate his next great one comes in what 2059, and Kinnear's annoying nature is put to good effect. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MartineFeb 24, 2006
Loved this film. Pierce was marvelous! A risky character to play... he took a real chance and nailed it! He exhibits some terrific quirky talent here. A questionable character to be sure, but who could take their eyes off him? (Why would Loved this film. Pierce was marvelous! A risky character to play... he took a real chance and nailed it! He exhibits some terrific quirky talent here. A questionable character to be sure, but who could take their eyes off him? (Why would anyone think they were supposed to "love" him?) Found it totally enjoyable. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
Compi24Dec 5, 2014
Richard Shepard's "The Matador" delivers quirky laughs, unexpected heart, and a continuous level of intrigue throughout, along with what might be the greatest Pierce Brosnan performance committed to film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
choomtabi31Feb 23, 2016
A different take on the hitman/assassin genre. A little comedy, action, and a random assortment of events made this movie go by fast and it was definitely enjoyable.

Watch it here for free:
A different take on the hitman/assassin genre. A little comedy, action, and a random assortment of events made this movie go by fast and it was definitely enjoyable.

Watch it here for free: https://www.primewire.ag/watch-7596-The-Matador-online-free
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews