Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: November 5, 2003
4.6
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 598 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
229
Mixed:
125
Negative:
244
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
ManfredP.May 1, 2006
An incredible excercise in experimental, post-modern cinema. This kind of big-budget risk-taking is what classics are all about. Like 'Blade Runner' and '2001: A Space Odyssey' before it, 'The Matrix An incredible excercise in experimental, post-modern cinema. This kind of big-budget risk-taking is what classics are all about. Like 'Blade Runner' and '2001: A Space Odyssey' before it, 'The Matrix Revolutions' manages to say the things that are so difficult to say. Yes, there is action. Yes, there is spectacle. But beneath the jaw-dropping action sequences and the beautifully surreal art direction is a movie that questions the foundations of life, love and reality to a fundamental core that the more superficial first movie could never even touch. A masterwork to be rediscovered in generations to come. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
3
randomdudeJun 6, 2011
Should never have been made.

The original was really fun, but all that cam after are crap... just plain crap.

What else can you say.... watch The Matrix, forget the rest!
8 of 11 users found this helpful83
All this user's reviews
4
HalfwelshmanJul 4, 2012
What really stands out in The Matrix Revolutions? The lavish and complex Zion dock fight, where a small group of human-controlled heavily armed mech suits desperately attempt to defend the last human city from a seemingly endless horde ofWhat really stands out in The Matrix Revolutions? The lavish and complex Zion dock fight, where a small group of human-controlled heavily armed mech suits desperately attempt to defend the last human city from a seemingly endless horde of merciless "squiddy" machine sentinels. That's really about it. The beginning of the film is OK, but the vast majority of it is so annoyingly mediocre, and some moments are so embarrassingly awful that Revolutions makes for a disappointing final chapter in the Wachowski's sci-fi blockbuster trilogy. All the cast's performances underwhelm, apart from Hugo Weaving whose performance as the increasingly power-mad Agent Smith becomes so gloriously camp and over-the-top that it's kind of funny to watch. He also has the only memorable line in the film - once Neo (Keanu Reeves) returns to an apocalyptic, stormy Matrix for his final showdown with his adversary, Smith asks him sardonically "Like what I've done with the place?". This final battle is, disappointingly a bit silly and repetitive, resembling a knockoff fight from Dragonball Z rather than the epic clash of titans the series has been building towards. About the only thing this final, underwhelming set-piece offers apart from intense tedium is some pretty slow-motion water effects. None of the film's characters really develop any further in this film, and most of the cast have very little to do apart from Reeves, who is basically playing Jesus in a big flappy coat. And don't even get me started on the clunky bit of exposition the Wachowskis crowbar in to explain why The Oracle is now played by someone else (Gloria Foster died between the second and third films). The final part of this formidable franchise is incredibly sub-par, and apart from providing the viewer with a couple of good thrills and some form of closure to the story it offers very little except disappointment. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
Tss5078Jun 29, 2014
The conclusion to the epic Matrix trilogy should have been the best of the three films. Everything was set up perfectly leading into a potentially exciting conclusion, and most of the film went as expected. There was terrific action andThe conclusion to the epic Matrix trilogy should have been the best of the three films. Everything was set up perfectly leading into a potentially exciting conclusion, and most of the film went as expected. There was terrific action and science fiction drama, some amazing special effects, and the legend of Neo continued to grow, right up until the conclusion. The end of the film went from extremely predictable to ridiculously strange and confusing. While I'm sure the ending made perfect sense to the Wachowski's, it made no sense to me, an avid science fiction fan and movie critic. This being a review, means I can't go into specifics, but the ending was absolutely horrible and puts the whole series in a different light. The most disheartening part of this whole thing is that until that point, the Matrix has been done to near perfection. The story was solid, the action was out of this world, the special effects were amazing, the casting was flawless, and just when the trilogy should have reached it's apex, it all comes crashing down. Once again the cast is terrific and the story is great, which is why I don't understand how they could give us an ending like that. I thoroughly enjoyed the Matrix trilogy and it will certainly hold it's place in cinematic history, but as a fan I was horribly disappointed by an ending that came out of nowhere and left the audience scratching it's head. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
3
MarickApr 20, 2015
The Matrix Revolutions is in my opinion the most boring. Never does not manage to keep me attention to all details. .
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
0
Duke_NukemOct 15, 2015
The third movie in the Matrix series has become a CGI show, a lengthy cut scene of a video game.

Everything feels so over the top! The first Matrix movie was brilliant, the second one became bigger in size and had some great action but got
The third movie in the Matrix series has become a CGI show, a lengthy cut scene of a video game.

Everything feels so over the top! The first Matrix movie was brilliant, the second one became bigger in size and had some great action but got lost in too much add-ons to the story and pseudo philosofical mumbo jumbo. This third Matrix movie just buries the whole franchise and I lost interest in the whole series.

"Can Zion be saved?".................. who cares?
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
4
EpicLadySpongeJan 20, 2016
Revolutions felt rushed because it's been in production with Reloaded and that isn't a good thing. Maybe release this later in possibly 2005 or later would be better.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
LorioyamaMar 28, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This movie was so incredible amazing. Doesn't matter if we're hapless within the history for long time of the movies and movies, it's the best final of a trilogy Expand
4 of 10 users found this helpful46
All this user's reviews
10
danielealbertiDec 20, 2010
The matrix is the best movie that I have never seen. I like a lot! The actors and the story are great!Definitely a great movie!!! I cried through the whole thing.
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
6
Rox22Jan 30, 2013
An improvement on Reloaded at the very least, but it just carries on far too long and has a rather pathetic ending. Honestly, it should have ended after Agent Smith's defeat and left off on an epic note. Unfortunately it goes on trying toAn improvement on Reloaded at the very least, but it just carries on far too long and has a rather pathetic ending. Honestly, it should have ended after Agent Smith's defeat and left off on an epic note. Unfortunately it goes on trying to portray Neo as a new age Messiah with a rather convenient a "all-things-wrapped-up-in-a-neat-bow" expositional ending. Overall: An OK movie with a bit of a let down of an ending. Some grade A fight scenes however. Anyone else think the final battle between Neo & Smith looked like it came straight out of Dragon Ball Z? Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
10
AkhilK.Apr 5, 2004
No doubt, the best trilogy...ever. And i mean..ever. Not even Lord of the Rings with its action scenes and what have you can compete with the intensity and excitement the Matrix Revolutions has delivered.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
5
DenonL.Nov 21, 2005
The first two movies where much better.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
3
ArkonBladeSep 2, 2010
the movie that killed the trilogy i can never wach any of the matrix films after seeing this crap. like the second film i felt like i was getting beatin over the head with the whole choices crap that they just go on and freekin on about.it.the movie that killed the trilogy i can never wach any of the matrix films after seeing this crap. like the second film i felt like i was getting beatin over the head with the whole choices crap that they just go on and freekin on about.it. yes we get it we got more then we wanted in the second film. nothing really felt right in this film at all . the final battle was anti climatic and the ending just sucked . if you only saw the first one or just the first 2 do not ever see the third one i can almost gaurantee you you'll never want to see any of them ever again. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
10
Falling_HammerJul 10, 2011
It's not as good as first two films (considering the depth, story, plot altogether) because it focuses more on action rather than story. In this film there are more fighting scenes, massive battles, etc. If you like bullets flying,It's not as good as first two films (considering the depth, story, plot altogether) because it focuses more on action rather than story. In this film there are more fighting scenes, massive battles, etc. If you like bullets flying, explosions, BOOM, CRASH, TRATa Ta Ta Ta Ta.... etc. then you'll definitively like it. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
5
gm101May 31, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. While slightly better than Matrix Reloaded, the movie still had too many of the issues. The ending wasn't satisfying at all, and what was the point of the girl who was with the Oracle? Expand
0 of 5 users found this helpful05
All this user's reviews
8
tbagurdrumset94Feb 10, 2012
Definitely the worst of the series. But that isn't necessarily a bad thing. I've seen all of the movies several times now, and I can safely say that the ending, although it didn't answer every question, was satisfying in its own way. I'veDefinitely the worst of the series. But that isn't necessarily a bad thing. I've seen all of the movies several times now, and I can safely say that the ending, although it didn't answer every question, was satisfying in its own way. I've done a little bit of research, and I almost understand the way that the Matrix works. I also like to the view the three films as one big chronicle. The first one gives you a shocking concept, the second one shows you what can be done with this concept and gets you thinking even more (the Architect scene, for example), and the third one displays every technical ability that the Wachowskis and the cast members have learned, and mastered. The series as a whole is a stunning achievement. Expand
0 of 4 users found this helpful04
All this user's reviews
5
StevenFAug 21, 2013
Perhaps the best course of action after 'Reloaded' was to sit back and enjoy Revolutions, we knew it wouldn't match the unprecedented heights of the first Matrix film, but that didn't matter, we had enough action and entertaining moments inPerhaps the best course of action after 'Reloaded' was to sit back and enjoy Revolutions, we knew it wouldn't match the unprecedented heights of the first Matrix film, but that didn't matter, we had enough action and entertaining moments in the second to lead us into what should have been an explosive final bow, but sadly it wasn't meant to be, what we were given was an unexplainable, anti-climatical and emotionless mess of a finale, it has a handful of decent scenes, but the plot is irrelevant and simply doesn't make sense, too much time is taken away from pivotal characters, one of the redeeming moments of the film feels rushed and I was certainly left wandering what the point of it all was when the credits began to roll, the franchise has come a long way since Neo first realised his potential, but this is most certainly a case of going too far down the rabbit role, and forgetting where you should go afterwards.
We find Neo (Keanu Reeves) attempting to return to the real world as he is stuck in between, he manages to convince the rest of the do-gooders that he must go to the Machine City (which was a massive disappointment, by the way) where he will end the war, the problem here is that not very many of the main characters take part in the big Zion battle at all, the most prolific being Commander Lock (Harry Lennix) who appeared in 'Reloaded'. Morpheus (Laurence Fishburne) is busy speeding towards the city while Trinity (Carrie-Anne Moss) and Neo are en route to Machine City. But perhaps the biggest letdown is the underuse of Smith (Hugo Weaving), who is mentioned when Neo is speaking to the Oracle (Mary Alice) as an afterthought but yet he is pivotal to the whole thing, yet his existence is still very much questionable as is the whole point of what we are watching, is it even real? Or is this some other Matrix style dream. While the set pieces are as visually marvellous as they have ever been, especially the battle of Zion, the plot uses all the same devices from other films to try and salvage what is left, a broken love story, a kid who plays hero and sunrise finale which was just overblown for the simple point that it didn't make sense and wasn't approached in the right manner, leaving us alienated to care as little for these characters as possible, Neo was interesting in the first two but takes a back seat to speak vaguely in this one and without much input.
Perhaps it may have been better had it not been filmed back to back with 'Reloaded'. While a fluid and continuing style can be maintained, a complex plot with little sense may have been avoided, instead we have got a satisfying ending, but not this time around.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
3
pauljohnsonDec 23, 2011
To the reviewer who said "Admit it! Those who hate this movie do not understand it. The rabbit hole is just too deep for them." This person shall now be referred to as the smug dumbass. I expect this comment from hardcore 2001 fans, accusingTo the reviewer who said "Admit it! Those who hate this movie do not understand it. The rabbit hole is just too deep for them." This person shall now be referred to as the smug dumbass. I expect this comment from hardcore 2001 fans, accusing people who don't share their lopsided opinions as just being too unsophisticated to grasp the film. This movie was not terrible because it was too sophisticated. Quite the opposite actually. Reloaded and Revolutions are filled with pseudo post-modernist rhetorical nonsense in disguise as philosophy, that is, over-complicating the most simple of concepts and passing that off as philosophy, expecting people to see big words and go "oh wow, that must be true then!"

Not only is the ending anticlimatic, it ignores the very thing we were told was the goal of the Humans in the first matrix. We're told at the end that it was the goal of the Humans and the characters to stop the war against the machines, while in the first film we were told it was to liberate Humans in The Matrix. So, not only do the Wachowskis not know what they are doing, we are forced to suffer because of it. The battle in Zion, which is about 40% of the movie, has nothing to do with the final resolution, that is Neo and Trinity's journey to the machine city, and Neo's final battle with Smith. So we're forced to sit through a long, dull and uninteresting battle that has nothing to do with the film's climax, with a defence strategy which seems to have been designed by a 6 year old. Neo's final battle with Smith is one of the most uninteresting fight scenes I've seen in any film, and has nothing on the final fight scene between the two in the first movie. The movie is filled with rhetorical nonsense, stupid dialogue and wooden acting (no fault of the actors, just the fault of the terrible script). It was said in Reloaded that Neo was making decisions before he understood why. It seems the Wachowskis also did this before making Reloaded and Revolutions. In their mind, they already made them, now everyone else is trying to understand why they made them. A complete dud. Don't waste your time with this piece of ****
Expand
0 of 4 users found this helpful04
All this user's reviews
10
wesker2012Jun 1, 2012
Amazing visual feast for the eyes. Action at its best.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
rishab_babjiApr 20, 2013
By far the worst of the futuristic trilogy by the Wachowski Brothers. Matrix Revolutions focuses too much on the special-effects of the movie and in turn, results in a sloppy script, mediocre storyline and a disappointing conclusion to TheBy far the worst of the futuristic trilogy by the Wachowski Brothers. Matrix Revolutions focuses too much on the special-effects of the movie and in turn, results in a sloppy script, mediocre storyline and a disappointing conclusion to The Matrix Trilogy. The atrocious film detaches from the other two movies of the trilogy (The Matrix, The Matrix Reloaded) and leaves a bad taste for the viewers, expecting a decent conclusion to a series that could be made into something that will be remembered for the generations for come. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
4
ninja_dolphinMay 12, 2013
A massive letdown, the movie was nothing which made the original such an amazing experience. The final showdown between smith and neo was probably the best part, and it still didn't live up to the originals great fight scenes.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
6
ThatCooperGuyJun 25, 2015
You know what? The first hour of this movie isn't too bad. But then, it gets really really really really really stupid... That's the best way I could describe this movie. Not bad, just really stupid.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
5
S2G047Dec 6, 2013
The rule to enjoy a Matrix movie is to not to ask How? Just enjoy the action and this somehow worked for the first two movies but this time no matter how hard I tried, it was still pain to watch.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
8
ainaznieksJun 22, 2014
Priceless movie. It finish story line perfectly. Deep meaning of this movie forced to watch it 3 times in a row to fully understand it.
Action scenes? - A little bit boring in my opinion - i don*t understand how movie producers with such
Priceless movie. It finish story line perfectly. Deep meaning of this movie forced to watch it 3 times in a row to fully understand it.
Action scenes? - A little bit boring in my opinion - i don*t understand how movie producers with such budget managed to make so boring result.
So in general - 10 for true movie meaning and 6 for action/acting so 8.0
Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
6
REDWOUNov 22, 2014
The Matrix Revolutions made the whole trilogy even worse than it already had been after The Matrix Reloaded. By the end, I felt like I had not watched the movie yet, since it's incredibly pointless.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
TheMulroneycakesRevelationsJan 26, 2006
Awwwww nuts. It's all auld ballcocks after all. Lots of minor characters and half-communicated philosophy and stuff you'd understand if you remembered all continuity ever. It's not a bad movie, but it's nothing like what Awwwww nuts. It's all auld ballcocks after all. Lots of minor characters and half-communicated philosophy and stuff you'd understand if you remembered all continuity ever. It's not a bad movie, but it's nothing like what the capper to a trilogy needs to be. I admire its nihilstic stance, and you'll know what I mean when you see the film. I can't help thinking in the end that this would have worked so much better as a comic book series, as it was originally concieved. Comics just allow for more...breadth, I suppose, than movies do. Stick with the first one, that works great on its own, and watch the other two out of curiosity. The really annoying thing is that this makes Reloaded worse by proxy. I gave it 8 for being a solid middle-episode, but a solid middle-episode depends on a good final episode, and it didn't get it. Nuts to everything anyway. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
NoelT.Nov 10, 2003
[*** Major SPOILERS***] Only read this is you have already seen Matrix Revolutions. I would like to bring back a trend, if a movie sucks at the end when the credits are rolling, don't just sit there in silence, open your mouth and say, [*** Major SPOILERS***] Only read this is you have already seen Matrix Revolutions. I would like to bring back a trend, if a movie sucks at the end when the credits are rolling, don't just sit there in silence, open your mouth and say, "Boo!" Then everyone who walks past "The Matrix Revolutions" will say, "oh my god they are booing it, that movie must suck!" I should have been hesitant about the quality of the film when I saw a crowd of people dressed as neo walking out of the theater looking at the ground, with faces of dismay. Why did MR suck? One...There was nothing more to tell the audience, expect "the war is over" Since that was the only thing that needed to be told the movie was filled to the brim with filler, so the audience would not feel ripped off. How many times do we need to see the Capt. of the ship Naomi was piloting say something like ?dam woman? or ?how did she do that? Two?Neo was not even in half the movie, it just showed how Zion was getting ready for their final battle. The battle for zion was good perhaps the only part of the movie I liked. Three?Why did Neo have to go blind? Was it to help strengthen his new powers? Nope. He could already see agent smith in his true form in the real world and he could already see the squids in the 2nd movie Four?Trinity takes forever to die, the row of people behind me could not stop laughing about how long this death seen was taking. At first you felt bad for her, then after a while you start to check your watch. Five?What was the point of the Trainman, the only thing we could take out of the train station was that the machines wanted peace just as much as the humans, then he waited around till Trinity showed up. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
ErwinK.May 4, 2006
Vomit. That's all I can say. The story and dialog in this movie is absolutely horrendous, and puts it on par with Battlefield Earth. The lines in this movie are some of the worst I have ever heard "why are you using your hands mommy?" Vomit. That's all I can say. The story and dialog in this movie is absolutely horrendous, and puts it on par with Battlefield Earth. The lines in this movie are some of the worst I have ever heard "why are you using your hands mommy?" "Because cookies need love too". My head wanted to explode. The movie is then audacious enough to add to the pathetic script pseudo-intellectual mumbo-jumbo, the wise old Oracle, black and white, good versus evil. I hated all the matrix movies, because they take a good idea, and then turn it into computer game gunk like an Uwe Boll movie, but this third film takes the cake. My head really wanted to implode from the innanity of this film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
JBAug 12, 2006
It's sad when so many films with actual plots are relegated to the netherland of metacritic's red zone while this film is allowed to float free of the critical panning it deserved. This film is nothing more than an attempt to cover It's sad when so many films with actual plots are relegated to the netherland of metacritic's red zone while this film is allowed to float free of the critical panning it deserved. This film is nothing more than an attempt to cover a lack of meaning with the trappings of a search for esoteric knowledge, all the while hoping to deaden its audience to the truth of its vapidity by inundating the senses with impressive special effects. The acting is bad too (primarily because they actors, unsure of what the hell they're saying, have no frame of reference for their lines). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
JoeyK.Mar 19, 2007
Horrible. Every question that had you excited at the end of the second movie is answered with a much stupider and entirely nonsensical question in this movie. The action in this movie was far, FAR worse than the previous films. It made no Horrible. Every question that had you excited at the end of the second movie is answered with a much stupider and entirely nonsensical question in this movie. The action in this movie was far, FAR worse than the previous films. It made no sense. The acting was lame. This movie actually made me hate the second one. Yes, it is so bad, that it made me like a different movie less. Because it took all the potential that Reloaded created, and muddled it all horribly in the hopes that the audience would be too distracted and confused to realize that the Wachowski brothers had absolutely no idea what to do after reloaded. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
StarfoxNov 10, 2003
About halfway through "Revolutions," I realized that there is a clear distinction between a "good" movie and one that is purely exciting on a visceral level. Having such low expectations for the film (after the abysmal "Reloaded"), I found About halfway through "Revolutions," I realized that there is a clear distinction between a "good" movie and one that is purely exciting on a visceral level. Having such low expectations for the film (after the abysmal "Reloaded"), I found myself very much enjoying the third entry. It was then that I realized, that the truth was is that it is purely entertaining, but that it really didn't make any sense and has numerous gaps in logic and plot holes. I also realized that somewhere inside of "Reloaded" and "Revolutions" lies a single good film. After this film, it is clear that the second part could be edited down to a mere twenty minutes and tacked on in place of the opening twenty minutes of "Revolutions," which has absolutely no bearing on the rest of the story. The entire Merovingian subplot in both films is superfluous and only serves to add confusion, not important plot elements. And the ending, well, it doesn't make a lot of sense either, since (***SPOILERS***) the purpose has shifted. In the first film the purpose was to free humanity from slavery, but this ending suggests peace between the machines and man, though the machines rely on humans for an energy source. So in the end, the machines won't attack Zion anymore, but what of the millions of people trapped as machine batteries. There can be no peace, unless the goal is no longer to free humanity, but rather to repopulate the charred planet with the inhabitants of Zion. No explanation, I guess. What it comes down to, is the film is a fun ride, exciting to watch but anytime it tries for an intelligent idea or explanation it fails on every level. Which is a shame, because the balance is exactly what the first film established so brilliantly. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JohnY.Nov 5, 2003
Let's get the obvious out of the way: "Revolutions" is an action film, a war film. We've been given all the ideas the Wachowskis wanted us to have, and this movie is solely about showing this final battle and the fate of Neo, the Let's get the obvious out of the way: "Revolutions" is an action film, a war film. We've been given all the ideas the Wachowskis wanted us to have, and this movie is solely about showing this final battle and the fate of Neo, the Matrix, and Zion. Don't expect something as innovative as the first "Matrix" ... it'll be awhile before something bends the action genre as much as that movie did. But "Revolutions," itself, is a remarkable action movie. What amazing visions it gives us; what a world this film has created for the mind and imagination. You do not criticize a war film for straight action, and you cannot criticize this movie either for that reason. Sure, it's gotten a little silly by now, and we could care less about Neo and Trinity's romance, but I doubt we'll see another movie this visionary for quite some time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MickOct 14, 2005
Best of the Three, and M.K. smith is deleted because Neo is connected to the source when Smith takes control of him, and therefore the machines can delete him it's nothing more complicated than that. Also I can see why people Best of the Three, and M.K. smith is deleted because Neo is connected to the source when Smith takes control of him, and therefore the machines can delete him it's nothing more complicated than that. Also I can see why people didn't like it because it doesn't end how they thought it would, and people don't like not getting closure. This trilogy is a grower and it time will be remembered as a masterpiece. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JamesMDec 13, 2005
It's The Matrix, but B-grade. And I like it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
BonbonA.Sep 21, 2005
Ehm... No... The first movie was "just" good enough. They didn't have to make another sequel.. Matrix Reloaded was good, but not good enough. N Matrix Revolution make the story even "worse" that you can imagine. The first Matrix was Ehm... No... The first movie was "just" good enough. They didn't have to make another sequel.. Matrix Reloaded was good, but not good enough. N Matrix Revolution make the story even "worse" that you can imagine. The first Matrix was some kind of real n pretty good action movie, well it had some non-real part, but they arrange it in the right way. Too bad, the sequels made it to change into a too-fictional-fantasy-imaginative movie. The storyline progress increadibly dissapointing, even until the ending. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ManveerR.Feb 18, 2006
I didnt think the matrix Revolutions gave justice to the series but the visuals were good but tooo much oof the movie concentrated on the war of Zion.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
EricF.May 1, 2006
Anyone who dislikes the special effects and final muscal score, what are you people smoking?!?! The dialogue was bad, and the plot was lacking, and Kennus Reeves, well, he's no Pacino, but it was very entertaining, if it dind't try Anyone who dislikes the special effects and final muscal score, what are you people smoking?!?! The dialogue was bad, and the plot was lacking, and Kennus Reeves, well, he's no Pacino, but it was very entertaining, if it dind't try to be mythic and profound, than it would've been perfect. As an action film, I would say it's great. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SyedR.Jul 27, 2006
this is the best movie i have ever seen and i dont know why it is underappreciated. dodging bullets martial arts bullet stoping.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
TyrisS.Sep 11, 2006
The film leaves one important question unanswered. That question is "what the bloody hell just happened?" It's still enjoyable, though.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
MichaelR.Oct 24, 2007
I was lost in this movie it hardly made any sense at all.There was a lot less action in this movie then the previous two.It was a terrible ending to what should have been one of the greatest trilogy movies of all time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
JesnR.Feb 25, 2007
They lost it! They had something so good to work with, and they give us this? After all the hype? Cool action though. That prevents it from getting 0. Darn you, Wachowski Brothers!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RimogardB.Jun 9, 2007
Very good movie. Solves a lot of questions from Reloaded, and makes you think. Action scenes are incredible and movie's rhythm is spectacular. The only problem is that people probably wanted more action in ''Matrix'' Very good movie. Solves a lot of questions from Reloaded, and makes you think. Action scenes are incredible and movie's rhythm is spectacular. The only problem is that people probably wanted more action in ''Matrix'' and less in the real world. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JavierRuizdeA.Nov 22, 2003
The first half of the movie is sometimes boring and it mixes some topics like love, metaphysics and other things. The second half of the movie is absolutely great and awesome, the best actions scenes of the saga. But the final scene is realy The first half of the movie is sometimes boring and it mixes some topics like love, metaphysics and other things. The second half of the movie is absolutely great and awesome, the best actions scenes of the saga. But the final scene is realy absurd and the movie don't answer the questions made on the film before. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
JudeT.Nov 26, 2003
This movie is grand evidence of the finiteness of human ideas -- at least the intellectually bankrupt ideas of the W Brothers -- and how no amount of computer wizardry can save them from their cliched outcomes. Same old Christian ideas, same This movie is grand evidence of the finiteness of human ideas -- at least the intellectually bankrupt ideas of the W Brothers -- and how no amount of computer wizardry can save them from their cliched outcomes. Same old Christian ideas, same old pseudo-Buddhist pap, except made worse due to the most stilted dialogue and stinky acting ever imaginable. Did the Wach. Brothers take dumbass pills after Matrix 1? Or were they kidnapped by a cult and replaced by clones? The "1" rating here is because it's the holiday season, and we're supposed to be in a giving mood. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PaulM.Nov 6, 2003
The Matrix Revolutions was a very intense movie. The only reason I didn't give it a ten is because it was too much like a love story in the beginning. I did not expect to see this film end the way it did and would love to see the fourth The Matrix Revolutions was a very intense movie. The only reason I didn't give it a ten is because it was too much like a love story in the beginning. I did not expect to see this film end the way it did and would love to see the fourth if there will be another as I hope there is. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
EricR.Mar 17, 2006
No, it doesn't touch the classic original, but this movie is very underatted. the final fight scene, yes it was a Dragonball Z rip-oof, but it was so brilliantly captured and shot, I could't care. And the score was brilliant. The No, it doesn't touch the classic original, but this movie is very underatted. the final fight scene, yes it was a Dragonball Z rip-oof, but it was so brilliantly captured and shot, I could't care. And the score was brilliant. The dialogue was stilted, yes, but the story has some good thought behind it (besides the annoying Neo=Jesus symbolism) and the effects and sound quality were quite good. Although I do agree it could've spent much less time in Zion and more in the Matrix. Overall, it doesn't touch the original, but one can't help but feel this suffered due to high expectations of the first, like Godfather 3. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
SamMay 13, 2006
It reminds me of "The return of the Jedi." Rather than sticking to the roots of the original two in the trilogy that we oh-so-love, it tried something different. And (out of misfortune) the thing that they tried different happened to be the It reminds me of "The return of the Jedi." Rather than sticking to the roots of the original two in the trilogy that we oh-so-love, it tried something different. And (out of misfortune) the thing that they tried different happened to be the thing the producers, directors, and writers suck most at. The dialouge is dissapointing, the action scenes would be better fit for the Transformers movie (with the exception of the first and the last), and it doesn't leave me feeling like The Matrix trilogy left with the bang it started with. With all my complaints, however, The Matrix Revoloutions is still a fun movie, but will no doubt leave you yearning for something more. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
ChadS.Nov 12, 2003
When Neo calls Trinity, "Trin"; that's when I whispered to myself, "The Wachowski Brothers is a psuedonym for George Lucas." Anakin, "Annie"? This time around, the special effects and action sequences don't offset the weak story, When Neo calls Trinity, "Trin"; that's when I whispered to myself, "The Wachowski Brothers is a psuedonym for George Lucas." Anakin, "Annie"? This time around, the special effects and action sequences don't offset the weak story, because there is no story. Weren't those mechanical octopuses the least interesting aspect of the original "Matrix"? If you want to see a fun sci-fi movie, look for South Korea's "Save the Green Planet". You want to see "The Matrix: Revolutions" because you've seen the ad campaign and it's the number one movie; but popular doesn't mean good, and this is not a good movie. At all. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
DavidS.Nov 22, 2003
Wow! I can't believe this movie. Wow is the word really. How can you go from something as truly extraordinary as the Matrix 1 and make this piece of sh.t? The Matrix 1 was full of ground-breaking special effects, had a deep plot, and Wow! I can't believe this movie. Wow is the word really. How can you go from something as truly extraordinary as the Matrix 1 and make this piece of sh.t? The Matrix 1 was full of ground-breaking special effects, had a deep plot, and had many religious (it seems mostly Buddhist to me) overtones. Matrix fans prepare to be disappointed. Uninspired acting and script, lame and cliched "emotional" sequences (i.e. end of the movie sunset *puke*), and an incredibly shallow plot. Be prepared for a hopelessly predictable ending to what started out as a really legendary series. What is really sad is how they left the movie open to another sequel. ("Safe.......but for how long!?!?!?!" *oh brother*). They should have ended the series and had it DONE with. Its just another example of a hollywood cash cow mooing it up for more money. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
rotkuJun 17, 2011
Still not as good as the original but better than Reloaded, in itself it would have held up as a good movie but given the standard set by the first movie it doesn't get any better than average. It does round the trilogy off well and closesStill not as good as the original but better than Reloaded, in itself it would have held up as a good movie but given the standard set by the first movie it doesn't get any better than average. It does round the trilogy off well and closes the storyline as it should. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
julian_zizzleAug 29, 2011
Fight scenes were awesome as expected. The action was good, tension was all right but this was a horrible movie to conclude such a movie series. The matrix trilogy really needs an extra 4th movie to end everything.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
joelschnickAug 24, 2011
Why was this finale released so soon after the second film. Nice money grab. What a shame the sequels sputtered out or this Trilogy could have been the most epic in the history of film making. Could have been our generation's STAR WARS.Why was this finale released so soon after the second film. Nice money grab. What a shame the sequels sputtered out or this Trilogy could have been the most epic in the history of film making. Could have been our generation's STAR WARS. Woulda, Coulda, Shoulda. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
TAMPjackoonOct 19, 2011
This didn't disappoint me as much as the second one, but was still not nearly as good as the original. It's just not as good, I'd say watching it once would be enough, no more.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
oxanaMay 20, 2014
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Final part of the trilogy.

In many ways, this is the most massive of the three - a massiveness which bothered me at times. Great armies clashing together in two worlds, "gods" fighting in the sky...

The visuals are as amazing as usual. The fights, the special effects, and the sounds go well together.

Most bothersome aspect of the movie is the complex final collision of Neo and Smith, though. There is ideology, but even after multiple watches some of the fine reasons fly by my head, still. So many people scheming and planning, truths that are revealed, and some of them are less important than others, contributing to build a world we want to know but can't fully grasp.

But what rates this movie higher in my book is the ending; finally a movie where heroes, too, can die! Though the evil is beaten (for now), this is still nice and different.

In my opinion, 'Matrix' is one of the best trilogies/series ever made, because all three parts are almost equally good. You don't find that just anywhere these days.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
ZegilgameshDec 28, 2012
This bloated and insufferable waste lacks the timing, tension, acting or the epic sweep that made the original such a good movie. If you want to make a bad action movie, don't go for silly or unintelligent, go for boring.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
OfficialMar 8, 2014
Surely cannot beat the original, but this final installment in the trilogy is a spectacular action achievement with explosive CGI and visuals. Yes, we don't have a sophisticated plot, but a trilogy has to finish off with a bang.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Apemonkey666Jan 12, 2013
Although it didn't turn out to be the film I wanted it to be it still is an epic and very spectacular movie. The Battles are visually very rich and the VFX still hold up very well for an almost 10 year old film. The Messiah story is filledAlthough it didn't turn out to be the film I wanted it to be it still is an epic and very spectacular movie. The Battles are visually very rich and the VFX still hold up very well for an almost 10 year old film. The Messiah story is filled with philosofical content with which you might not always agree but it does provide food for thought and the films tend to stick in your mind much more than the modern day action fodder tends to do. This makes seeing these gems on Blu-ray again as much a joy as they first times I saw them at the cinemas! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
NecromusDec 6, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Alright, after being left with mixed feelings about the second movie I was hoping to have the question of how Neo managed to stop the machines answered adequately in this movie, but it was not. Also, this movie adds even more questions along the same lines: how does Neo manage to see in the real after he is physically blinded? (BTW: The same thing happened in the Dune saga which is probably not just coincidence, there's some deep philosophical meaning to these in both I'm just not entirely sure what it is). How does Neo absorb the sentinel into himself in the end? Three possible theories I have are: 1) Zion and the outside world are just another layer of reality inside the matrix created to fool the people who escape the inner layer of the Matrix that they are free. 2) Neo is actually a machine himself (or possibly the cookie the oracle gave him lets him carry a machine program somehow, after all in computer lingo a "cookie" is a small piece of data you give to a user visiting your website so you can track them), 3) Neo has achieved enlightenment inside the matrix but a side-effect is that he's also achieved enlightenment in the real world, in Buddhism for example it is said there are high-level monks that can bend reality melting snow with their minds and/or make thing materialize out of thin air, etc.. It's possibly Neo's enlightenment lets him do something similar in the real world. Any of these explanations work but we never really know what the creators of these movies really intended since they have stated they would rather let us figure out things for ourselves. The other confusing part of the movie is the manner in which Neo defeats Smith when he realizes he has to stop fighting Smith and just give in to win. I think it has something to do with him realizing he is only fighting himself or duality is an illusion, since a lot of spiritual paths say this. But once again we'll never really know. After watching the trilogy once or twice I suggest you view the versions where they have the audio by two philosophers watching the film over the film, you will understand the film a lot better after seeing that. Overall I love the trilogy. The one thing about this last movie is the beginning is really lame. The first and second movies had epic scenes to start them off, this one just starts up with the characters on the hover-ship having a conversation with each other, how lame is that? I docked a point from this final one for that. They should have started with the scene in "Mobil Ave" (ie: Limbo) that would have been more exciting to start with. But other than that a great movie, albeit still confusing the first time you see it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
mds03Mar 4, 2013
This was sooooooooooooooooooo disappointing! The ending stunk and the whole thing was really boring. You would think they would try to at least make the final chapter decent enough to pass off as mediocre. But they failed miserably.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
MichaelBagamerySep 5, 2014
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Hmm...not the worst movie ever, but still not great. (Before I do anything else with this review, I have to say the user who complained about the contradiction between the original and the sequels is wrong: the Machines were manipulating the One so that he had to reboot the system periodically to keep it running.) This movie does have its moments--Sati is cute, in particular, and the assault on Zion shows remarkably subdued mindless action--but they're counterbalanced by the mediocre and outright bad. As an example, the scene near the end where Trinity flies above the clouds and sees the sun is simply beautiful--or it would be if the craft hadn't lost power as a consequence and crashed. Not only was it sad for me to see Trinity, my personal favourite character, die, it also struck me as unnecessarily cruel and a devaluation of her character. What happened to how capable she was in the first two films? Also, the final battle between Neo and Smith did take a bit too long to end. But I did actually understand pretty much all of it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
sparkiegizmoDec 3, 2013
Although the film can get quite spotty and in many ways....droll, the action scenes coupled with the still top rate acting of it's major characters propels this movie to a solid an average 7. This movie could have been so much more than anAlthough the film can get quite spotty and in many ways....droll, the action scenes coupled with the still top rate acting of it's major characters propels this movie to a solid an average 7. This movie could have been so much more than an action film in so many ways and at least a solid 20 minutes could have been trimmed from this film alone. The B-rate extras fudging up some of the easiest lines in Hollywood history. The Matrix Revolutions answers many questions in this final installment in better ways than many other sci-fi films Terminator 3), but it fails to grip you the way the philosophy of the first Matrix did. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
diogomendesAug 23, 2015
Disappointing film, to be honest. The special effects are spectacular as ever and the performances from the main cast remain stable, but the lack of new ideas and a much interesting plot make it more so-so than satisfying.

Final Score: 5/10
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
SkyrimGuy935Dec 10, 2014
Much of the philosophical ambiguity of the first two is absent in this film, and a number of the characters needed more development. The dialog is even more wooden than in the first two, also. However, the action and soundtrack are bothMuch of the philosophical ambiguity of the first two is absent in this film, and a number of the characters needed more development. The dialog is even more wooden than in the first two, also. However, the action and soundtrack are both superb. However, much like the second installment, the action scenes have a habit of overstaying their welcome. The third act is what saved this movie though, with a LEGENDARY final fight sequence, and some good screen time with Neo and Trinity leading up to it. In the end, The Matrix Revolutions is a mostly unworthy but still enjoyable concluding chapter to an exceptional trilogy. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
Le__XenomorphJan 23, 2015
Ugh, what a terrible Wachowski misfire. As a fan of the first two Matrix, this entry was a colossal step down from the Matrix: Reloaded and has 0 story. Just fighting, fighting, and fighting. The ending battle scene between Smith and Neo isUgh, what a terrible Wachowski misfire. As a fan of the first two Matrix, this entry was a colossal step down from the Matrix: Reloaded and has 0 story. Just fighting, fighting, and fighting. The ending battle scene between Smith and Neo is cool, though. 3/10 (poor) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
MrMovieBuffOct 22, 2016
The anticipated third and final installment, 'The Matrix Revolutions' is a bust... there is no excitement, and the film stands still for a whole nearly two hours to the point where my interest in the plot and the characters ave faded awayThe anticipated third and final installment, 'The Matrix Revolutions' is a bust... there is no excitement, and the film stands still for a whole nearly two hours to the point where my interest in the plot and the characters ave faded away before the third act.

Neo (Keanu Reeves) has awoken from his coma, and starts having visions of the machine world, as in that's his destiny and that's where he must go, assuming it could end the war between man and machine. He ends up stuck in the middle of a train station and cannot find a way out. Meanwhile, Morpheus (Laurence Fishburne) and Trinity (Carrie-Anne Moss) run into the Merovingian (Lambert Wilson) who wants something that they are reluctant to give to him in return for Neo's safety.

After he is rescued, Neo turns to the Oracle (Mary Alice), who informs him that there will be a war, and that the fate of the humans in Zion rests in his hands. He must fight Agent Smith (Hugo Weaving) no matter how difficult it might be.

I could go on talking about other characters and what they're doing, but it's just not interesting enough, all you need to know is; Neo finds out something, he must go to it, and the war has to be fought to protect the people of Zion.

Once again, directed by the Wachowskis, the still prove to showcase some innovative and perfectly timed action scenes. But it's hard to get emotionally involved in this emotionally draining movie... your interest will fade because it just paces from scene to scene until we get to the exciting third act. Once all the action is done, it doesn't feel worth it. The pacing is uneven, and the plot just doesn't move fast enough to keep us caught up with the characters and the premise.

'The Matrix Reloaded' (2003) at least had some exciting scenes all the way through... but this installment is bland and pale.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
MovieManiac83Apr 24, 2015
In 1999, the writing-and-directing brother act of Andy and Larry Wachowski set a new gold standard for blockbuster-sized entertainment with The Matrix, which packed all the expected thrills of an action film into a mind-bending,In 1999, the writing-and-directing brother act of Andy and Larry Wachowski set a new gold standard for blockbuster-sized entertainment with The Matrix, which packed all the expected thrills of an action film into a mind-bending, philosophically and politically loaded science-fiction pocket universe. The Wachowskis seemed so in control of their ideas, and the means to convey them, that for once, sequels seemed like something to look forward to rather than dread. So what happened? The law of diminishing creative returns demands that most sequels land with a disappointing "pffft," but with The Matrix Reloaded, the sound was more like a deadening thud. The movie's ideas seemed ambitious but muddled, the action sequences were impressive but overbearing, and the story felt like a science-fiction novel with every other chapter removed. Still, fans of the Indiana Jones and Star Wars trilogies know that two out of three is usually good enough, which left reason to hope that The Matrix Revolutions, the third and presumably final installment, would redeem the series. It's an initial bad sign that Revolutions opens exactly where Reloaded left off: in the middle of a bunch of talky **** From there, watching Revolutions becomes a process of hoping it will be better than Reloaded, then hoping it will at least make more sense than Reloaded, then hoping it will at least have a sequence as cool as the car chase in Reloaded. Revolutions fails on all counts, but comes closest to meeting the last one. As mere spectacle, the Matrix series is still one of the coolest shows in town, and the CGI highlights–a swarm of robots, a superhero-style fight high above a stormy city, a gravity-defying gunfight–will no doubt inspire a whole new generation of rip-offs. Filled with talk of love and other fine human qualities, Revolutions seems to aspire to more than mechanical confusion. But for all their skill at wrangling effects, the Wachowskis no longer seem to know how to handle anything more. Laurence Fishburne, Carrie-Anne Moss, and Keanu Reeves disappear for long stretches, and though the action moves fast, the plot never builds momentum. Logic must have gotten discarded between sequels, too. When Reeves' messianic protagonist fights evil Hugo Weaving (whose sneering delivery steals all the best moments) in a climactic showdown, it's never clear if the game has rules, or whether whoever stirs up the most dirt wins. Once the dust clears, it's hard to think of a film saga that's wound down with such a profound anticlimax. It's a whimper in bang's clothing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Jollyjoe1000Jun 4, 2016
What if I told you that this movie is just as good as the other 2 Matrix movies and that it is very underapricated when to its review. Neo kill all the hater agent smiths.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
aadityamudharApr 17, 2016
About halfway through "Revolutions," I realized that there is a clear distinction between a "good" movie and one that is purely exciting on a visceral level. Having such low expectations for the film (after the abysmal "Reloaded"), I foundAbout halfway through "Revolutions," I realized that there is a clear distinction between a "good" movie and one that is purely exciting on a visceral level. Having such low expectations for the film (after the abysmal "Reloaded"), I found myself very much enjoying the third entry. It was then that I realized, that the truth was is that it is purely entertaining, but that it really didn't make any sense and has numerous gaps in logic and plot holes. I also realized that somewhere inside of "Reloaded" and "Revolutions" lies a single good film. After this film, it is clear that the second part could be edited down to a mere twenty minutes and tacked on in place of the opening twenty minutes of "Revolutions," which has absolutely no bearing on the rest of the story. The entire Merovingian subplot in both films is superfluous and only serves to add confusion, not important plot elements. And the ending, well, it doesn't make a lot of sense either, since (***SPOILERS***) the purpose has shifted. In the first film the purpose was to free humanity from slavery, but this ending suggests peace between the machines and man, though the machines rely on humans for an energy source. So in the end, the machines won't attack Zion anymore, but what of the millions of people trapped as machine batteries. There can be no peace, unless the goal is no longer to free humanity, but rather to repopulate the charred planet with the inhabitants of Zion. No explanation, I guess. What it comes down to, is the film is a fun ride, exciting to watch but anytime it tries for an intelligent idea or explanation it fails on every level. Which is a shame, because the balance is exactly what the first film established so brilliantly. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
SeeRossRunJul 19, 2016
This whole trilogy was/is too smart for the room. The reason many modern audiences don't get the richness of this movie is a basic lack in understanding of philosophy and multiple theologies. The matrix, in and of its self, is a modernThis whole trilogy was/is too smart for the room. The reason many modern audiences don't get the richness of this movie is a basic lack in understanding of philosophy and multiple theologies. The matrix, in and of its self, is a modern telling of "The Cave" by Socrates, or Plato (if you're in the camp that believes Socrates was a literary creation of Plato). The rest is a mixture of multiple religious ideologies both eastern and western. It's not that the story was convoluted or unexplainable, it's that the wachowski's forgot the audience they were making this for. A generation woefully ignorant of basic philosophical teachings, on the whole; and religiously ignorant (as most cling to one religion without ever studying the others). Which is why many got the Christ symbolism but miss the other religious ideologies discussed throughout the trilogy. So I give it a 9 because as authors, they forgot their audience and lost them. They should have used "standardized" ideologies since our society is socialized to be that way. Thank you modern education. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
MasterRileyOct 12, 2016
The Matrix Revolutions falls far below the quality of the original, as well as Reloaded. The movie tries to stuff too much cgi and over the top action in your face rather than focusing on more intimate conflicts with the main characters. IThe Matrix Revolutions falls far below the quality of the original, as well as Reloaded. The movie tries to stuff too much cgi and over the top action in your face rather than focusing on more intimate conflicts with the main characters. I found myself bored when the movie spent too much time on the robots attacking instead of progressing Neo and Trinity's plot line. The characters spend very little time in the actual Matrix itself, which is what I was excited for most. I was waiting for the ultimate showdown between Neo and Smith, but unfortunately the movie is almost over before it happens. Its still a decent movie, don't get me wrong, but it just doesn't hold my interest in the same way the original does. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
SimpsonFansJan 8, 2017
No, it doesn't exactly re-create the magic that made the original such an instant classic, but it's faster and more involving than "Reloaded" and it rounds off the premise and themes of the trilogy in a surprisingly satisfying way.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
HatersWannaHateOct 3, 2016
It was okay--just okay. The action inside the matrix sucked and went on like Obi-Wan vs Anakin. Jada Pinkett was best part of this movie.

Also, the fate of Trinity and Neo diminished the prior two films. It made me feel like the prior
It was okay--just okay. The action inside the matrix sucked and went on like Obi-Wan vs Anakin. Jada Pinkett was best part of this movie.

Also, the fate of Trinity and Neo diminished the prior two films. It made me feel like the prior two films were pointless. Honestly, if you haven't seen this film, you are better off just watching the first two and creating your own story for the end.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
Cameronius_113Jan 15, 2017
WARNING: Spoilers will be necessary in the main review for me to talk about this movie in the amount of detail I want to. Final verdict will have spoiler-free conclusion
The Matrix Revolutions was released in 2003 and was directed by The
WARNING: Spoilers will be necessary in the main review for me to talk about this movie in the amount of detail I want to. Final verdict will have spoiler-free conclusion
The Matrix Revolutions was released in 2003 and was directed by The Wachowskis. This movie concludes the story arc began in the previous film, Reloaded and the entire trilogy as a whole.
This movie feels like it was a chunk cut out of another film; barely anything happens- resolve the cliffhanger at the end of the previous film, main protagonists split up- some fight robots, others participate in the final fight, the end. This also seems to have a similar story pattern to Return of the Jedi.
Some plot points in the movie seem useless like the bit at the start resolving the cliffhanger of Reloaded. It has no effect on the rest of the story and seems so slapped in and out of place. The new characters introduced in that part are never seen again afterwards and serve no purpose to the story.
Also, many plot points seem rushed: Trinity dies (yes, I did say spoilers) and as she is a major character you would expect it to have more of an effect than what was given; after the scene it never appears to be brought up again.
Some of the action seems off too- the first fight scene between Neo and Smith isn't good. There are loads of flashing lights so you can barely tell what is going on and the camera is really shaky too. Compare it to all of their other fight scenes in the trilogy and you just start to wonder what on earth went wrong there. At least their final fight was alright.
Many people don't like the ending but I personally thought it was fine and probably the best way to end it; Neo's sacrifice seemed fitting and kind of gave him a new reason of being 'The One' for me which I liked.
You can only really watch this movie if you've seen the other two as it is just a conclusion. There also isn't really much point of rewatching it as the point of watching it for me is to just find out the ending and not for the overall experience like the other two.
Overall, this movie isn't that good. If you want to see the conclusion to the Matrix trilogy or that cliffhanger from Reloaded is really bugging you then I'd probably recommend this just to find out what happens and not for the overall experience. However, if you're just wanting to watch any movie at all then this one doesn't have the amount of fun the first two had and I'd probably give it a miss.
5.8/10
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
JPKMay 13, 2017
Talk about anti-climatic
The Matrix Revolutions is a very disappointing movie for many reasons. The first problem lies with the script, The next issue action is kinda boring because there's no memorable fights like the bank scene in the first
Talk about anti-climatic
The Matrix Revolutions is a very disappointing movie for many reasons. The first problem lies with the script, The next issue action is kinda boring because there's no memorable fights like the bank scene in the first movie, The Chateau Sword Fight in Reloaded. The last problem is the ending. In conclusion, The Matrix Revolutions is sadly a massively disappointing ending to a pretty good franchise.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews