Metascore
49

Mixed or average reviews - based on 19 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 8 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The Mighty Macs is based on the incredible true story of the 1971-72 Immaculata College team that started in obscurity but became the original Cinderella story in women's basketball. This team of pioneers went from barely making that inaugural tournament to the first dynasty in their game. And Cathy Rush, the woman that was ahead of her time, became immortalized when she was inducted into the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame. (Ocean Avenue Entertainment) Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 19
  2. Negative: 2 out of 19
  1. Reviewed by: Neil Genzlinger
    Oct 20, 2011
    70
    Sometimes a film feels a bit too pat and yet is impossible to resist. The Mighty Macs, based on the national championship run of the 1972 women's basketball team at Immaculata College near Philadelphia, is such a film: lots of button pushing, but in the end you're glad you saw it.
  2. Reviewed by: Steve Persall
    Oct 19, 2011
    67
    It's a nice movie, and can certainly be inspirational for the proper audiences.
  3. Reviewed by: Carrie Rickey
    Oct 20, 2011
    63
    One wishes that Chambers had more gracefully integrated the stories of the individual players into this celebration of Rush.
  4. Reviewed by: Marjorie Baumgarten
    Oct 19, 2011
    50
    Carla Gugino, however, energizes the film with every step of her self-assured stride. She genuinely manages to create a dimensional character who is fulsomely inspirational – and as I said at the outset, that's not too shabby an accomplishment when it comes to the world of women and sports movies.
  5. Reviewed by: Kyle Smith
    Oct 21, 2011
    50
    Everything plays out exactly as you'd expect in a cheerful, well-meaning movie in the style of something made for the Disney channel.
  6. Reviewed by: Ty Burr
    Oct 20, 2011
    50
    The Mighty Macs sticks so closely to the underdog-sports-movie playbook that it's practically generic.
  7. Reviewed by: R. Kurt Osenlund
    Oct 17, 2011
    12
    The Mighty Macs is a film from another planet, where stories are told, obliviously, in cryptic, nonsensical code, and people talk to each other in sugarplum proverbs no earthbound adult would ever inflict on another, not even on the set of a Hallmark Original Movie.

See all 19 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 4
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 4
  3. Negative: 1 out of 4
  1. Oct 21, 2011
    10
    A mesmerising and heartwarming film from start to finish. I thoroughly enjoyed the movie! I was completely captivated by the story.

    Great
    movie. Touching story. Fantastic acting. joy to watch. Must see for movie lovers. Expand
  2. Oct 25, 2011
    10
    This movie was awesome!! i could watch this a thousand times. I never thought that i would be promoting the WNBA but this movie had it all and i would recommend for anyone that want to watch a quality movie. Expand
  3. Oct 23, 2011
    7
    I went into this movie looking forward to just the popcorn and previews alone but left surprised and energized, not because it was the weekend and had a few days off but because the story was inspirational and enjoyable. Although most of the basketball team required some young actresses, the main actors delivered their roles more than adequately and the movie over all came together nicely for it's genre. Collapse
  4. Oct 21, 2011
    1
    Skip-it - I never thought I could recommend watching the WNBA but it truly is more entertaining than this formulaic Cinderella sports story about the 1971-72 Immaculata College women's basketball team. Expand

Trailers