User Score
5.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 38 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 38
  2. Negative: 8 out of 38
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. MauricioR.
    Apr 20, 2004
    4
    I've seen it in Uruguay, i'm from there and i didn't like it, it was a very boring movie, sorry for TMJ ann Kate, i thought that something in the movie was missing...ZZZZZ.
  2. JessicaW.
    Mar 11, 2004
    3
    Totally BORING...! the movie had a good intentions on being great, i just think the movie needed some major EDITING!
  3. MauricioR.
    Apr 20, 2004
    4
    I've seen it in Uruguay, i'm from there and i didn't like it, it was a very boring movie, sorry for TMJ ann Kate, i thought that something in the movie was missing...ZZZZZ.
  4. Rich
    Nov 27, 2003
    2
    Achingly, crushingly dull. Beautiful landscapes and great cinematography can't save this film from being really, really boring.
  5. Jimbob
    Feb 24, 2004
    0
    probably the worst movie i've seen this year....if you enjoy drawn out moments of .....nothing, this is the movie for you.
  6. DouglasH.
    Apr 2, 2004
    4
    Very disappointed... Ron Howard's worst movie.
  7. PatC.
    Apr 23, 2004
    2
    Blanchett once again proves she can play any character, and Tommy Lee's always fun to watch. As for the plot, it depends on one inept action after another, so the continuity is increasingly dumbed down. The politically correct banter about the responsibilities of fatherhood is promising but doesn't go anywhere. The disposable boyfriend Blanchett's character is initially Blanchett once again proves she can play any character, and Tommy Lee's always fun to watch. As for the plot, it depends on one inept action after another, so the continuity is increasingly dumbed down. The politically correct banter about the responsibilities of fatherhood is promising but doesn't go anywhere. The disposable boyfriend Blanchett's character is initially shacked up with is more reminiscent of Woody Allen-style domestic insecurity than frontier life. And the shaman slave trader is a cross between Castenada's Don Juan and Chucky. But it's told in Howard's engaging style, so one must wait till the very end before concluding this photoplay is a bossload of b.s. Expand
  8. M.Bean
    Nov 27, 2003
    0
    A trash. Like other typical American films, "Missing" makes a clear distinction good and bad Indians. Not surprisingly, bad Indians got an ugly face. Like usual, bad Indians brutally kill and torture White Americans....
  9. INFERNOW.
    Mar 11, 2004
    0
    PURE JUNK. every character is stupid and poorly drawn. Great acting but a bad scipt can't be saved. the kidnapped girls screamed everytime someone tried to escape. I hate movies with stupid girls who just scream when in danger.
  10. KariAnnT.
    Mar 27, 2004
    1
    Oh dear. What a complete waste of the talent of Cate and Tommy Lee. During the movie, I thought the film had caught on something....not so..I looked over and a fellow movie goer was snoring... this was dreadful. No plot, no character development, poor cinematogrophy, just a big ICK all over. What a shame. What a waste of talent. What a long, drawn out, poorly developed, boring and really, Oh dear. What a complete waste of the talent of Cate and Tommy Lee. During the movie, I thought the film had caught on something....not so..I looked over and a fellow movie goer was snoring... this was dreadful. No plot, no character development, poor cinematogrophy, just a big ICK all over. What a shame. What a waste of talent. What a long, drawn out, poorly developed, boring and really, to be honest, stupid movie. Expand
  11. Oct 4, 2012
    4
    It is an interesting film. The film is definitely well made. Some of the shots and scenery is very beautiful and the acting is up to par with the rest of the movie. I cannot say that I regretted having watched it. It is however, not really a movie in my taste. It
Metascore
55

Mixed or average reviews - based on 40 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 40
  2. Negative: 3 out of 40
  1. This murky, thriller-tinged Western has the terrain down cold -- from the wide-open spaces to the rocky vistas -- but beneath all the requisite genre trappings there's a vast, empty gulch where the affecting dramatic element should have been found.
  2. Reviewed by: Richard Schickel
    80
    As for Blanchett, she's simply wonderful. She has played her share of queenly figures, but her acting essence is, emotionally speaking, plain-Jane. She's a straight shooter, with an uncanny ability to find a character's spine and communicate it without fuss or feathers.
  3. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    70
    Ron Howard has never before made a picture this raw and alive. At the same time, this tale of the desperate pursuit of the kidnappers of young women makes for a fundamentally grim and unpleasant experience.