User Score
6.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 325 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 73 out of 325
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. halb
    Apr 3, 2008
    6
    Overall, very disappointing film.... probably because I had such high expectations for it. It's primary 'saving grace' is the ending. Unexpected and bleak and powerful. Those who hate the ending should just stay in their own sugar-coated disneyland of typical hollywood outcomes.
  2. DrewL.
    Nov 22, 2007
    5
    The first half was terrific! One of the most tense movies to come along in years! The, the more we saw of the creatures, the less scary and more stupid the movie became. I wish Darabont continued with the tone he established in the first half, instead of going effects crazy. 'Dreamcatcher' was better than this, because that movie didn't take itself seriously...it knew it The first half was terrific! One of the most tense movies to come along in years! The, the more we saw of the creatures, the less scary and more stupid the movie became. I wish Darabont continued with the tone he established in the first half, instead of going effects crazy. 'Dreamcatcher' was better than this, because that movie didn't take itself seriously...it knew it was a B grade monster movie. 'The Mist' tries to have its cake and eat it too. Now I haven't seen all adaptations, but this is the worst adaptation of a King novel yet. The biggest disappointment of 2007. Expand
  3. TerrinB.
    Dec 2, 2007
    5
    Solid story line (believable as far as monster movies go)Silly ending based on the character of the father of the kid.His survival instinct would not allow him to do what he did prematurely.
  4. SébastienC.
    Dec 2, 2007
    5
    Really bad. The director tried to instillate some social psychology (how humans behave in a life or death situation) into a fantastic/horror movie. The idea was good, but was very poorly implemented. Unsubtle close-ups and would-be realistic shaky camera, stereotyped characters, laughable lines, predictable events (apart for the end), and the usual overflow of disgusting scenes Really bad. The director tried to instillate some social psychology (how humans behave in a life or death situation) into a fantastic/horror movie. The idea was good, but was very poorly implemented. Unsubtle close-ups and would-be realistic shaky camera, stereotyped characters, laughable lines, predictable events (apart for the end), and the usual overflow of disgusting scenes traditionally seen in mediocre horror movies. Even a non-hollywoodian and original end cannot make a poor movie better. Stay away from it. Expand
  5. JohnO
    Mar 17, 2008
    5
    I wonder if this would have seen the inside of a cinema were it not for Darabont's success with Green Mile and Shawshank. From the cheap production and second rate cast to the poor CGI, this film feels 'made for TV' right the way through. Good TV, (like watching a sci-fi/horror two hour special) but tv nonetheless.
  6. ArielG
    Mar 8, 2008
    4
    It started off quite well, and built up a great chilling atmosphere. A feeling of dread and horror. Then it all went downhill from there. Bad special effects aside, the acting was atrocious - at the end the way the main character is shouting is just plain unbelievable and silly. But the most frustrating thing to watch was the bad decisions the characters kept making over and over again. I It started off quite well, and built up a great chilling atmosphere. A feeling of dread and horror. Then it all went downhill from there. Bad special effects aside, the acting was atrocious - at the end the way the main character is shouting is just plain unbelievable and silly. But the most frustrating thing to watch was the bad decisions the characters kept making over and over again. I know with movies like this, you have to suspend beliefs for a while, but the things they did was just unrealistic. The idea and the theme of the movie was good, but I just don't think it was executed the right way. A shame though, it could've been a great movie. Expand
  7. JonathanF.
    Nov 24, 2007
    5
    Charmingly ridiculous. Sometimes just plain ridiculous. And the rest of the time outright terrible.
  8. Cables
    Nov 28, 2007
    5
    Marcia Gay Harden's character is one of the most annoying characters i've ever seen in a movie and she needed to take an exit MUCH earlier. Some parts of this movie were laugh out loud terrible. Some parts were just creepy. The special effects were also laugh out loud bad. It's a rare case of a completely average movie with a pretty good ending (even if it was terribly depressing).
  9. JohnM
    Nov 26, 2007
    4
    The movie was good for a while but it grew increasingly ridiculous and the ending was so far from what any real person with sense would do. If you are a fan of quitters watch this awful movie.
  10. NK
    Mar 29, 2008
    5
    Not weighty enough to be the intellectual film Darabont wants it to be, not scary enough to be the horror film it should be. (And as ever, the monsters just aren't scary...)
  11. JohnD.
    Feb 9, 2010
    4
    Do yourself a favour: skip to the end. The Mist features one-dimensional characterisations, hammy effects and dialogue unrealistic enough to be laughable. The final 15 minutes are maaaybe work watching. Its just a shame the same can't be said for the 111 dirge-like minutes that preceed it.
  12. ClifC.
    Mar 9, 2009
    5
    Ridiculous acting, Thomas Jane can't act. Only the biggest monster was well done, the others were quite ridiculous. The other bizarre thing was the plot trying to separate minds and opinions with religious, scientifics and rationalists beliefs. I'm not a religious at all and I'm a rationalist, but I was quite shocked by the semi-hidden insults made to both opinions and Ridiculous acting, Thomas Jane can't act. Only the biggest monster was well done, the others were quite ridiculous. The other bizarre thing was the plot trying to separate minds and opinions with religious, scientifics and rationalists beliefs. I'm not a religious at all and I'm a rationalist, but I was quite shocked by the semi-hidden insults made to both opinions and beliefs. The good points: it was entertaining and despite the hidden insults towards both "camps" it was really interesting to see how human race reacts in front of an event like this. The worst is that it would be very probable. Expand
  13. CaseyD
    Oct 27, 2009
    5
    It would have been a 7 or 8 but that ending pissed me off.it was not original at all, i think I've seen and read that ending about a million times and it just makes people angry at this movie after watching it(it really was not needed, it was just plain horrible and disturbing and it made me mad at the "writer" of that ending). other than that, it was ok.
  14. ChadS.
    Dec 9, 2007
    6
    "The Mist" reminded me of the original "Twilight Zone" when Rod Serling experimented with a one-hour format. Both, the anthology show and current Stephen King adaptation, undoubtedly are overlong and overstays its welcome. Reminiscent of "The Monsters Are Due on Maple Street", "The Mist" even has a twist ending that punches you in the gut. Give the film its due; the political allegory "The Mist" reminded me of the original "Twilight Zone" when Rod Serling experimented with a one-hour format. Both, the anthology show and current Stephen King adaptation, undoubtedly are overlong and overstays its welcome. Reminiscent of "The Monsters Are Due on Maple Street", "The Mist" even has a twist ending that punches you in the gut. Give the film its due; the political allegory might be a little hackneyed, but at least the film tries to be relevant as well as entertaining. Brent Norton(Andre Braugher) is like a member of President Bush's administration who ignores the people who are better informed and ends up getting his followers killed. "The Mist" also reminds people that American has its share of religious zealots; it's not just Iraq. As Mrs. Carmody, Marcia Gay Harden is such a showstopper, her performance feels better suited for the stage. She gives "The Mist" that filmed-play feel. Mrs. Carmody and Brent are the real monsters, not that squid thing(hey, NBC already gave us "The Beast", this monster is like SNL's Land Shark) who kills without prejudice. Rhetoric is what gets us killed. Expand
  15. MarkJ.
    Mar 28, 2008
    6
    A nicely minimal movie that moves forward through the standard cliches, cheesecake dialog, and implausible decisions as creatively as it can. If it weren't for an absolute failure of an ending this would be the stuff of b-movie legends.
  16. BillyS.
    Dec 11, 2007
    6
    The only person who could make a great movie of a King book was Kubrick, and he changed the screenplay so drastically that The Shining became his own. The Mist is the latest and this time Frank Darabont comes closer than anyone since in capturing the claustrophobic fear of a King book, but it's the special effects in this one that cheapen the whole film and take away from the real The only person who could make a great movie of a King book was Kubrick, and he changed the screenplay so drastically that The Shining became his own. The Mist is the latest and this time Frank Darabont comes closer than anyone since in capturing the claustrophobic fear of a King book, but it's the special effects in this one that cheapen the whole film and take away from the real story of people trapped inside a supermarket where evil lurks in a fog outside. Marcia Gay Harden is impressive as a Bush-like fanatical Christian with delusions of grandeur who becomes more of a threat than the tentacled creatures outside. As unbelievable as the ending was, I did like the way Darabont didn't sugar coat it. It ain't The Shining folks, but it's the best King adaptation since. Expand
  17. LizT.
    Dec 1, 2007
    6
    Abundance applauce actually errupted in our theater when Mrs. Carmody was shot. The ending was horrible! What it lacked was exection. People laughed at David's screaming/moaning because it was so unrealistic. And the fact that the army magically showed up unscathed and immediately saved the day by clearingup all fog and monsters was completely surreal. However, the fact that David Abundance applauce actually errupted in our theater when Mrs. Carmody was shot. The ending was horrible! What it lacked was exection. People laughed at David's screaming/moaning because it was so unrealistic. And the fact that the army magically showed up unscathed and immediately saved the day by clearingup all fog and monsters was completely surreal. However, the fact that David had just shot his son and murdered three others, seconds before rescue, made me feel like I had been punched in the gut. And that reaction, even tainted by substaindard execution, was worth the $9. Expand
  18. LexL
    May 17, 2008
    6
    Overall the movie was good. I would of probably rated it an 8 if I didn't have a son myself. The father was so protective and passionate about saving his life, then makes a 2 minute decision to kill him. It was disturbing and I would of let it go until I saw all the Christian wannabes being saved by the military. Then I felt hatred. If that was their intentions then well done. But I Overall the movie was good. I would of probably rated it an 8 if I didn't have a son myself. The father was so protective and passionate about saving his life, then makes a 2 minute decision to kill him. It was disturbing and I would of let it go until I saw all the Christian wannabes being saved by the military. Then I felt hatred. If that was their intentions then well done. But I won't watch it again Expand
  19. Jul 23, 2011
    6
    Eh. Sad, depressing, but scary. An interesting (but somewhat predictable) look at the way people work together. Overall, the ending is what really shocked me. That was good.
  20. Jan 28, 2013
    4
    Although the foundation for a good story is there, the poor acting and melodramatic character development make the movie fall short of being a good film. The ending is unfitting and characters are often portrayed as hysterical, making it hard to feel any kind of connection to them. On top of that, the movie just doesn't end. It lasts 2 hours and 7 minutes and it really starts to drag aboutAlthough the foundation for a good story is there, the poor acting and melodramatic character development make the movie fall short of being a good film. The ending is unfitting and characters are often portrayed as hysterical, making it hard to feel any kind of connection to them. On top of that, the movie just doesn't end. It lasts 2 hours and 7 minutes and it really starts to drag about halfway through. Expand
Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 29
  2. Negative: 1 out of 29
  1. There's a grim modern parable to be read into the dangerous effects of the gospel-preaching local crazy lady Mrs. Carmody (brilliantly played by a hellfire Marcia Gay Harden) on a congregation of the fearful.
  2. Less horrific than it is horribly didactic.
  3. 60
    The Mist is itself a supermarket of B-movie essentials, handsomely stocked with bad science, stupid behavior, chewable lines of dialogue, religious fruitcakes, and a fine display of monsters.