User Score
6.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 325 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 73 out of 325
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. FloydH.
    Mar 29, 2008
    10
    Excellent. I had no idea this was the same director of the Shawshank Redemption, and the Green Mile. I almost avoided renting this DVD because it was 'a rental store exclusive' which to my mind seemed to impute box office or critical failure. Had it not been a Stephen King book adaptation, starred Thomas Jane, and been lauded by Richard Roeper, and Pete Hammond - I would not Excellent. I had no idea this was the same director of the Shawshank Redemption, and the Green Mile. I almost avoided renting this DVD because it was 'a rental store exclusive' which to my mind seemed to impute box office or critical failure. Had it not been a Stephen King book adaptation, starred Thomas Jane, and been lauded by Richard Roeper, and Pete Hammond - I would not have given it a second glance due to it's lack of critical acclaim. I can only conclude that the lack of critical acclaim is due in no small measure to its indictment of religion as a form of mental calcification. Why else? The acting was sterling. The monsters no less than macabre. The story singular with only a slight nod to the Silent Hill series. Why this film is important: It shines an caustic light onto the religious bias of an overwhelming number of film critics. I now know which film critics to avoid in the future when researching how to spend my last 350,640 hours. Expand
  2. ke
    Apr 6, 2008
    9
    The low reviews kept me away from this film in theaters, but once I rented it, I was surprised by how good the movie is. It's entertaining and scarier than any other shit out there right now. It's a really good Stephen King adaptation and the acting strong. The ending is a little turn off, but the rest of the film make up for it. Watch the film >>>> It's f**king good.
  3. MatthewU.
    Dec 9, 2007
    8
    A great adaptation of a great short story.
  4. MariusS.
    Dec 26, 2007
    10
    Steven King at his best,. I truly enjoyed this movie, excellent!
  5. AndrewL
    Jul 10, 2009
    10
    Once again i was almost fooled by the critics, the movie was brilliant. its actually very hardcore, not in a violent sense, although it is quite graphic. for a modern horror movie im surprised how little it makes you jump, this was a good thing, it didnt need cheap scare tactics to totally creep you out, it does it through the people in the mall and how they react to the situation. the Once again i was almost fooled by the critics, the movie was brilliant. its actually very hardcore, not in a violent sense, although it is quite graphic. for a modern horror movie im surprised how little it makes you jump, this was a good thing, it didnt need cheap scare tactics to totally creep you out, it does it through the people in the mall and how they react to the situation. the movie really was great, scary, fun, intense, suspenseful, really just a great horror flick. the Ending, by far, is one of the most powerful pieces of cinema ive seen, ever. Expand
  6. HamedM.
    Jul 20, 2008
    9
    This is one of the greatest movies that i have ever seen about the human and God. They (the main characters) died because of losing their practical faith in God.
  7. JakeW.
    Jan 20, 2008
    9
    This movie was fantastic and leaves a lot to the imagination. It's not your typical ending and heroes die. See it if you like shows like the outer Limits or the Twilight Zone.
  8. JohnL.
    Mar 30, 2008
    9
    I really liked this movie, i went into it expecting a lot considering the director (frank darabont) and it really did not disappoint.The horror genre seems like its geting harder and harder to do well and too many movies are taking influences from asian horror cinema and it was fresh in the beginning (the ring) but now the movies are all too similar in theme and mood and frankly the I really liked this movie, i went into it expecting a lot considering the director (frank darabont) and it really did not disappoint.The horror genre seems like its geting harder and harder to do well and too many movies are taking influences from asian horror cinema and it was fresh in the beginning (the ring) but now the movies are all too similar in theme and mood and frankly the reviews speak for themselves those movies are terrible..As your watching this movie you really start to get scared, not because of whats jumping out from around a corner but from the ideas behind the story...that our worst fears are often found in ourselves..This is the best horror movie i have seen since frailty (2002)...i hope i dont have to wait another 6 years for another quality horror title Expand
  9. CoryG
    Apr 25, 2008
    8
    Good movie, but omg, what was up with the ending!?!?!?
  10. FB.
    Jul 4, 2008
    8
    Fair amount of suspense (hard to make a good monster movie these days) great character interaction especially once the weakest ones are done away with. One of the better book-to-screen adaption of any of king's books I have seen yet. Even better when you look at the budget they had to make this movie with. Above all the LEAST Hollywood ending ever made the movie a standout.
  11. PhilM.
    Jul 6, 2008
    7
    Alright something about this movie made me like it despite alot of flaws. I can't really put my finger on what made it great to watch, I guess it was how they just set up everything. How the story was told. If you understand what I mean then this movie is for you. Despite the good points, the CG was pretty bad, but that's forgivable, considering I'm a 3d artist and actually Alright something about this movie made me like it despite alot of flaws. I can't really put my finger on what made it great to watch, I guess it was how they just set up everything. How the story was told. If you understand what I mean then this movie is for you. Despite the good points, the CG was pretty bad, but that's forgivable, considering I'm a 3d artist and actually KNOW WHAT IT'S LIKE TO CREATE, unlike many idiots who just watch and whinge. Also, I agree with one of the posters here who said the characters did things that people wouldn't do in real life. I found myself going "JUST SAY THIS" or "YOU WOULD DO THIS INSTEAD". Overall, worth the watch. Expand
  12. PhilB.
    Dec 3, 2007
    7
    The feeling of "surrealness" that the movie captures is exceptional. There are not too many moments where the characters are doing something stupid to move the story along. As you watch you end up feeling lost/helpless just as the story intends you too. (NO SPOILERS HERE) The ending just floors you...the whole movie just floors you. Whether you think the "monsters" are cheesy or The feeling of "surrealness" that the movie captures is exceptional. There are not too many moments where the characters are doing something stupid to move the story along. As you watch you end up feeling lost/helpless just as the story intends you too. (NO SPOILERS HERE) The ending just floors you...the whole movie just floors you. Whether you think the "monsters" are cheesy or unbelievable, that is not the point as the whole situation is unbelievable, but the movie does a great job of showing you a believable story in an unbelievable situation. Not the best, but definitely worth watching if you like movies with good stories. Horror fans might not like it because it is not a true horror. Action fans might not like it because there is not enough action. This is a good story, with good acting, direction and cinematography. Expand
  13. vidMan
    Dec 8, 2007
    8
    When I first saw the trailer I though it was another "Storm of the Century." And when you see the movie it seems to have influences from that story as well as possibly a few video games. But it all ties together nicely, eventually finding it's own identity. At it's worst, the stupidity of some characters may actually aggravate the audience. The monsters are obviously CG. When I first saw the trailer I though it was another "Storm of the Century." And when you see the movie it seems to have influences from that story as well as possibly a few video games. But it all ties together nicely, eventually finding it's own identity. At it's worst, the stupidity of some characters may actually aggravate the audience. The monsters are obviously CG. Overall, this movie has an interesting point of view, tension filled scenes, and unexpected results. Good movie. Expand
  14. JayH.
    Mar 19, 2008
    7
    Great horror flick, really scary and imaginatively done. Excellent special effects, good characters that are nicely defined, superb atmosphere. creepy and very engrossing.
  15. KhalidN.
    Mar 28, 2008
    8
    Awesome movie! the ending is about why people commit suicide, the pressure of hopelessness, the anit-happy ending that these modern horror movies fail to achieve, the mist has so much to say about modern society and there's freakin giant monsters.
  16. MikeC.
    Apr 3, 2008
    8
    The film does two things extremely well. First, you have to make the viewer want the bad guy (woman in this case) dead, really, really badly. Check. Second, it really pulls off the death to the living and no hope for all ending quite well. That's why Invasion of The Bodysnatchers sticks with you forever. These kinds of endings are not common, so enjoy them.
  17. AlanM.
    Apr 5, 2008
    9
    A haunting vision that examines peoples' limits. Having read "The Mist" the same year Skeleton Crew came out, it has been to this day my favourite novella by King. As such, I'm well aware that the majority of film adaptations of King's work tend to bomb quite horribly. This movie, however, did not leave me with a sour taste after it was over. The premise of the military A haunting vision that examines peoples' limits. Having read "The Mist" the same year Skeleton Crew came out, it has been to this day my favourite novella by King. As such, I'm well aware that the majority of film adaptations of King's work tend to bomb quite horribly. This movie, however, did not leave me with a sour taste after it was over. The premise of the military creating this havoc is by no means a new idea, yet with a mild suspension of belief it's plausible. The CGI, I admit, was certainly not up to the standards of today's big budget films but then I can easily understand that the terrors in the mist was not the primary conflict. No, that distinction was humanity's basic instincts. It would be folly to assume that society has the capacity to hunker down in any post-apocalyptic situation and easily overcome it's own shortcomings. As a species, we are all capable of mistakes, and when confronted by our worst fears (both imagined and real), every person will react differently. Everyone has a limit. At what point they reach that limit varies, and throughout the movie we are shown where those limits are. The dialogue, often criticized for being cliche, worked for me as it felt more realistic than what Hollywood tends to do with how people communicate to one another. The ending, while surprising different from the novella, did not take away anything from the movie. Nay, it was just another example of someone reaching their limit for dealing with something beyond their means. With news stories throughout the years regarding people who have faced their own tragedies and chosen the more horryifying result, is it any wonder we see the same here? Bottom line, if you think that we as a species are infallible, this move is not for you. If you were expecting a horror film with scary monsters, this film is not for you. If you are open to the idea that we, as people, are capable of giving up hope when we have reached our limits... then yes, this movie is for you. Expand
  18. SteveB.
    Aug 11, 2008
    10
    Excellent adaptation of the novella. I like the nods to other horror movies and the rose from the Dark Tower that it is rumored that Thomas Jane will also be in. The ending is phenomenal, a true horror classic.
  19. TammyR.
    Aug 9, 2008
    10
    This is a great movie that i really enjoyed. Worthwhile to see it.
  20. Dylan
    Sep 30, 2008
    10
    An exemplary piece of horror filmmaking.
  21. BillB.
    Nov 8, 2009
    9
    As with most effective horror movies, The Mist scares you most when the threat is what you cannot see. Thanks to Darabont's direction, the tension doesn't let up as the mystery is slowly revealed. The danger posed by some within the grocery store only amps it up. And the ending nearly knocked me to the floor. This is certainly not your run-of-the mill gross-out flick.
  22. RickyM.
    Oct 19, 2009
    8
    The ending is black but the film up til then is great harrowing and breathtakingly scary.
  23. TommyG.
    Jan 23, 2009
    10
    Absorbing and scary - This skillful horror film treats the viewer with intelligence. The characters make you belief in the premise. Some of the special effects could be a little better, but the construction, attention to detail and multiple layers of storytelling (not to mention the entirely haunting ending) certainly make of for it. Darabont's really great with the actors too.
  24. RobertS
    Sep 19, 2009
    9
    I love a horror film that goes for the bleak and the depressing - this is the horror genre folks, why on Earth would I want a 'happy ending' to all that has gone before? Keep your ludicrous 'Sorority Row', 'Friday the 13th' and 'Saw' claptrap and give me a group of people riven by mistrust, fear of 'what's out there' and attempting to I love a horror film that goes for the bleak and the depressing - this is the horror genre folks, why on Earth would I want a 'happy ending' to all that has gone before? Keep your ludicrous 'Sorority Row', 'Friday the 13th' and 'Saw' claptrap and give me a group of people riven by mistrust, fear of 'what's out there' and attempting to exert their influence over others. That's horror - not the monsters (and the effects are not that bad for a film that had a pretty low budget), not the short term visceral satisfaction of arterial spray that most of us are desensitized to know anyway or the B movie trimmimngs that Darabont provides along the way. The confrontations between the people in the store is far more engaging and suspenseful, and even if the film doesn't quite make the points it wants to (although it mostly manages) it at least attempts to have some meat and bones to it. Which is more than can be said for other so-called horrors of late. For my money, one of the more memorable horror films of the last couple of years and one that I frequently recommend to others. Expand
  25. RickC.
    Nov 22, 2007
    9
    A wicked little horror flick with a good cast, authentic reactions, consequences of actions, deft camera work, music that stays largely ambient, decent special effects, a terrific "villain," an assortment of Lovecraftian monsters and a polarizing ending. What's not to like?! The most fun I've had at a monster movie since The Host.
  26. [Anonymous]
    Nov 23, 2007
    10
    What an ending. That's all I can even say about it. I never want to see it again, it was painful to watch, but so worth it. It's a really interesting look into the mindset of desperate people, more than it is a typical King horror flick.
  27. MattF
    Nov 23, 2007
    9
    The mist while not a horror, is completely suspenseful and disturbing, the ending, which changed from the book works like a breath of fresh air. The creatures looked terrifying the effects worked well and Thomas Jane gives his usual solid performance. Finally a Stephen King horror done right! Please so see this and save R rated horror!
  28. J.B.
    Nov 24, 2007
    8
    Generally it's one of the better and most faithful of Stephen King adaptations. Some of the character development slows the movie down a 'bit, but without that development the characters and the dynamics of the group would seem more as if they were all following a script rather than their reactions developing from the situation. Marcia Gay Harden's character is not as Generally it's one of the better and most faithful of Stephen King adaptations. Some of the character development slows the movie down a 'bit, but without that development the characters and the dynamics of the group would seem more as if they were all following a script rather than their reactions developing from the situation. Marcia Gay Harden's character is not as ham-fisted as a lesser director would have allowed her to be, and Thomas Jane makes the hero a well-rounded character. The ending, serves more as a flip-side view of the original story while preserving the dark tone - and it still works as one of those ironic "gotcha", "Twilight Zone" type endings. The movie shows us just enough of what's in the mist as it cinematically should in adapting this story, and the score is wonderfully spare and moody (and I loved that there was no pop-tune over the end credits, just the background sound effects to leave you in a pensive mood, the same as the original story. I've hoped for a long time they could adapt this King story well, and I'm not disappointed. Expand
  29. RyanN.
    Nov 24, 2007
    8
    Great investigation into how groups of people may react in extreme situations. Monster CG not as realistic as it could have been, but creepy mood achieved through use of the actual mist.
  30. RobertC.
    Nov 24, 2007
    9
    Whoa. The Mist, Frank Darabont's newest film version of a Stephen King tale, is a kick in the gut. Adapted from a nearly flawless novella originally published in the Kirby McCauley edited 1983 anthology DARK FORCES, The Mist recalls George A. Romero's Night of the Living Dead for sheer apocalyptic dread. Moreover, like Romero's film, The Mist owns an ending brutal in its Whoa. The Mist, Frank Darabont's newest film version of a Stephen King tale, is a kick in the gut. Adapted from a nearly flawless novella originally published in the Kirby McCauley edited 1983 anthology DARK FORCES, The Mist recalls George A. Romero's Night of the Living Dead for sheer apocalyptic dread. Moreover, like Romero's film, The Mist owns an ending brutal in its anguish. Whereas King's novella ends with ambiguity concerning the survival of the characters and the world, Darabont's film serves a clear denoument that leaves the viewer emotionally exhausted, helpless, and weirdly satisfied. I left the theater satisfied that I'd seen a nearly perfect horror film whose intact and intelligent subtext and resonance is difficult to find at today's multiplex. I also left the theater satisfied that the filmmakers respected me as a member of the audience. Like Night and James Gunn's Slither, The Mist is bright, intellectual popcorn horror steeped deeply in the human condition. Darabont utilises the "desert island" trope as creatively as Romero did in 1968. This trope strands several people in a place where there is little or no chance of escape and allows the human part of them to take over. Greed, cowardice, need for order, all these things rise to the surface and the people trapped in the island become dangerous. In the case of Romero's and Darabont's films, the people trapped in the farmhouse and grocery store become more dangerous than the ghouls and creepy other-dimensional crawlies who wish to consume them. More importantly, like Romero, Darabont doesn't flinch in presenting an ending that belongs more in the European ouvre of Austria's Michael Haneke than in a Hollywood film. Perhaps the Weinstein brothers, who produced, understand that The Mist is material in need of a resonant and stunning denoument to respect every action and death occurring throughout the story. Regardless, go and see this movie! You will not regret it. Expand
  31. BCguy85
    Nov 25, 2007
    10
    this is what movies are about. getting people passionate about a movie. when I'm in a theater and people are cheering when things are happening you know it's got a good impact. it's also nice to have endings you don't see coming.
  32. PhilS.
    Dec 1, 2007
    9
    A terrifric movie for several reasons and one the best scary films in years.
  33. MichaelL.
    Dec 2, 2007
    10
    At last, a smart, scary, fearless American horror film. 2007 has been a bleak year for terror, and with critics anointing the ghastly "1408" and the dumb-dumb "The Host" as brilliant, I wasn't expecting much from "The Mist". I was mistaken. Excellent acting (Bravo, Marcia Gay Harden!), some jump-out-of-your seat jolts, and an all-too real ending make this the best creepshow I've At last, a smart, scary, fearless American horror film. 2007 has been a bleak year for terror, and with critics anointing the ghastly "1408" and the dumb-dumb "The Host" as brilliant, I wasn't expecting much from "The Mist". I was mistaken. Excellent acting (Bravo, Marcia Gay Harden!), some jump-out-of-your seat jolts, and an all-too real ending make this the best creepshow I've seen since 2006's "The Descent". Simple-minded viewers who need a "let's kick some Martian butt!" all-American ending will be angry at the conclusion of this film... good! Thank God Darabont had the clarity of vision to see this thing through to its (blessedly non-heavy metal soundtrack) closing credits. Expand
  34. BenB.
    Dec 3, 2007
    9
    What a great horror movie this is, an homage to the old style classics that not only were unafraid to take risks, but to tell an actual story, one that didn't rely on the body count and gore and sex and drugs and pretty much every other kind of trash out there that eventually took over the genre, but on pure, unadulterated suspense. What makes 'The Mist' work isn't in What a great horror movie this is, an homage to the old style classics that not only were unafraid to take risks, but to tell an actual story, one that didn't rely on the body count and gore and sex and drugs and pretty much every other kind of trash out there that eventually took over the genre, but on pure, unadulterated suspense. What makes 'The Mist' work isn't in it's monsters (which are a visual delight), or in it's gore (which is actually effective and disturbing, something Eli Roth should take note), or even in it's scares (which are certainly nerve jangling) Expand
  35. SamN.
    Feb 22, 2008
    8
    The movie is by no means perfect, but it's extremely well made, with admirable performances and an astounding ending. Yet while the performances are admirable, they're certainly not perfect, and some of the dialouge doesn't help. Another thing bothered me was the fact that too much of the creatures were shown. It left little to the imagination, with the exception of the The movie is by no means perfect, but it's extremely well made, with admirable performances and an astounding ending. Yet while the performances are admirable, they're certainly not perfect, and some of the dialouge doesn't help. Another thing bothered me was the fact that too much of the creatures were shown. It left little to the imagination, with the exception of the tentacle creature. As I mentioned before, the ending is absolutely phenomenal. I certainly hope those of you that disliked the ending weren't expecting a 'Ok, the mist has gone away, let's go home, lol' type of ending. If anything, the movie bitch slaps those of you that were expecting that. And, to Annie R. Marcia Gay Harden wasn't really a 'Christian'. She was more of a pagan. Expand
  36. WayneC.
    Feb 25, 2008
    7
    If you concentrate on the cheap special effects, you'll be disappointed; but if you read it as a modern morality tale -- how do we fight an enemy we cannot see or eawsily identify (?) -- then the film has some merit; the ending is harrowing but just a bit this side of cliche (as in "we may have seen it somewhere else before but it still makes us wrench").
  37. IanR.
    Mar 14, 2008
    9
    I thought it was a great movie, not like most horrors with a twist to make a happy ending, which can make a movie dull sometimes.
  38. KenN.
    Mar 30, 2008
    8
    Christians will not like the strong anti-christian themes and folks specifically wanting a super-gory bloody horror flick wont like all of the dialog. I liked the depressing ending myself because it was unexpected. The acting was better than usual in this genre. The film aspires to be more intellectual than the typical horror film and it almost succeeds. Almost.
  39. JackS.
    Mar 31, 2008
    9
    The monsters are a MacGuffin, the real creatures to fear are inside the store. This is a very good movie. People who dismiss it are missing the bigger picture. Marcia Gay Harden is spectacular, one of the greates female villans in the history of film. Just give this film a chance. You will not be disapointed.
  40. JoelR.
    Apr 15, 2008
    7
    Truly creepy, horrible in many instances. The characters were believable, and some you actually cared about. The feeling of hopelessness, sheer devastation, loss is felt throughout. The ending leaves you wrought over.
  41. JohnM.
    Apr 4, 2008
    8
    Wow, the uncompromising ending is why I would recommend this movie. It raises and exentuates the fact that this movie is about people, not monsters or "creatures from another world coming for BLOOD". Christians who are upset by this film need to get a grip on the fact that just because a character, fictional or real, uses the words God or Bible to defend their terrible behavior Wow, the uncompromising ending is why I would recommend this movie. It raises and exentuates the fact that this movie is about people, not monsters or "creatures from another world coming for BLOOD". Christians who are upset by this film need to get a grip on the fact that just because a character, fictional or real, uses the words God or Bible to defend their terrible behavior doesn't make them Godly nor Christian. This movie is a character study that in the end punches you in the gut. Like life outside of Hollywood often does Expand
  42. MattB.
    Apr 4, 2008
    9
    This movie had some excellent scenes (notably the spider one) and great character development. You know a film is good when you passionately hate and/or love some of the characters in it. What really blew me away was the ending... it was spectacular. You never see it coming and it is SO Stephen King!! The best ending to a horror movie ever. Period.
  43. UlfE.
    Apr 5, 2008
    9
    The movie has truly scary moments and manages to create a hopeless and eerie atmosphere. It
  44. PeterB.
    Apr 8, 2008
    8
    Stumbles here and there, but otherwise creepy and intense. Although, it must be said, the movie is eventually betrayed by its Twilight ZOne ending.
  45. EinarJ.
    May 9, 2008
    7
    Surprising. What I felt lacked in sci-fi horror, appeared in overly-religious persecution. The acting was overall, just amazing. And the end, despite being a bit obvious, made me sob a tear (anti-crying in the movies).. It was just.. great. Wow... Much better than I had expected.
  46. Jester
    Jul 10, 2008
    10
    This movie was wonderful, trashy, and stupid in all the right ways!!
  47. JohnC.
    Jul 11, 2008
    10
    Gory and gruesome, just tht way I like it.
  48. MichaelA.
    Jul 12, 2008
    10
    Scary, thought-provoking, surprisingly brutal ending. Worth watching.
  49. lol
    Jul 12, 2008
    9
    The ending was unneccesarily bad, even for this kind of movie. Otherwise, the acting, plot, action, atmosphere and mood of the movie was great.
  50. ColeC.
    Jul 20, 2008
    9
    Frank Darabont was offered twice the amount of the money if he changed the ending. He said no (Bravo), and what you get is undiluted horror movie. The characters are well developed. The almost instant social -fracturing that takes place amongst them is brilliant, and is quite reminiscent of some the George A. Romero movies. The creepies that lurk in the mist are also intriguing, as is Frank Darabont was offered twice the amount of the money if he changed the ending. He said no (Bravo), and what you get is undiluted horror movie. The characters are well developed. The almost instant social -fracturing that takes place amongst them is brilliant, and is quite reminiscent of some the George A. Romero movies. The creepies that lurk in the mist are also intriguing, as is concept of where they came from. So clearly, compared to the endless "Grudges" and "saw" rehashes of late, this movie offers a fresh breathe of air, albeit misty one. Expand
  51. rofl?lol
    Aug 5, 2008
    10
    Amazingly retarded ending... otherwise, the best acting, scares, creepiness and atmosphere in a horror movie ever.
  52. JamesA.
    Jun 29, 2009
    8
    Some people will think that this movie does little to set it apart in any commendable way; I think it does just that in remarkable ways. First, let me start off by telling you what you won't see in this movie that you see in so many others nowadays. You won't see wasteful, unrealistic, over the top action thrown in just for over the top action's sake. You won't see Some people will think that this movie does little to set it apart in any commendable way; I think it does just that in remarkable ways. First, let me start off by telling you what you won't see in this movie that you see in so many others nowadays. You won't see wasteful, unrealistic, over the top action thrown in just for over the top action's sake. You won't see recycled plot elements; there's no "Classical Hero's Journey" structure; there's no awkward, misplaced romances that punctuate the plot. You won't see bad acting or cheesy dialogue, nor will you see poor pacing. The movie's pacing is so that it emphasizes suspense, uncertainty, and the characters. The characters themselves are very well delivered, and you'll find yourself relating to them before things even go totally awry. The cast is top notch. The dialogue is believable and not trimmed down to the point where the characters seem less like people, and more like just a role in a plot. The plot itself comes with at least a couple twists, they won't throw you for a loop, but at least one (and I'm not giving anything away here) is so brutal, cruel, and unforgiving that it alone sets the movie apart from the status quo, and had me outright clapping for the guts it took. Now what don't I like about the movie? The central antagonist(s) in this movie is enigmatic and centers around the mist that has swept through the town in question. In this mist are other wordly beasts that are the center for very much terror. For the better part, most of these monsters are bland. They come with a lot of detail and are mostly well rendered, but most of them just don't seem imaginatively done enough to fill the plot role that they were given. That's not really important for the story though. Another negative is the source eventually suggested for these apocalyptic happenings. The source isn't necessarily believable given current scientific theory, but it's delivered in such a way that it's not set in stone, and still leaves the audience for the most part to make their own decision. A closing pitfall that the movie falls into is that it perhaps tries a little too hard to make political and religious commentary on humanity's nature, but without really accomplishing anything in its efforts that hadn't been heard before. Those elements were necessary in moving the story along and providing a powerful secondary conflict within the plot, but it just didn't do as much as it seemed that it was trying to, and it did try hard. I've mulled over this movie for hours, and those are the only three detracting drawbacks that I can really muster that wouldn't be unfair to the film. It's written well; it's acted well; it disregards a lot of stigmas, and it has a remarkably, brutal twist that will wrench your emotions to the core. In the horror department, it's suspenseful, not overly gory, although not entirely scary. It has its startle-moments, which'll play off of your jumping reflex, but it really hinges more on discomfort of the unknown, and on a deeply sorrowful unease. Collapse
  53. zach
    Sep 18, 2009
    8
    This was a good movie. But be warned the ending i liked but if you hate unhappy endings don't watch.
  54. MidgardD.
    Nov 22, 2007
    9
    9/10 stars. Wonderful adaptation that followed the plot very closely with an added ending that shocks and amazes. The film was trying to show who the true monsters in the story are, and it clearly wasn't the supernatural creatures that arrived with the mist.
  55. sarah
    Nov 24, 2007
    10
    this movie is one of the best movies i've seen in a long time! i loved the way the director set up the tension and you could feel it. its like you don't know whats gonna happen next. overall the film was amazing! i will buy it the day it comes out on dvd!
  56. RussW
    Nov 24, 2007
    9
    I always thought the short story The Mist would make a great movie and it didn't disappoint. Great tension and effects and a very daring ending that outdid the original book.
  57. JenniferC.
    Nov 24, 2007
    9
    I think that it was a pretty good movie being adapted from Stephen King. It left you thinking "Could I ever do that if I was him?". It's scary what fear brings out of people.
  58. LisaL
    Nov 26, 2007
    10
    The scariest movie I have every seen! The ending is incredible, the monsters are genuinely terrifying, and the plot is phenomenal. I loved every minute of this terrifying thriller!
  59. DanielC.
    Nov 28, 2007
    7
    Maybe my expectations were low. Maybe I just thought it was better than most horror films out there today.
  60. ManniB.
    Nov 28, 2007
    9
    Great adaptation of King, with inteligent and preety depressing ending. Another fantastic movie from Darabont.
  61. PJ.
    Nov 28, 2007
    10
    Hands down, one of the scariest films I've seen (and I'm not easily scared at a movie). People were cheering, screaming, and clapping. The ending was heart wrenching and, from what I understand, not the ending that was in the original short story.
  62. MikeR.
    Nov 28, 2007
    8
    I agree with those of you that felt the ending was ridiculous. It was not the ending that King gives it in the novella. Up until that last scene, I thought that the production was well acted, tight, the two hours for me flew by, and I thought that the special effects were about average. they certainly had me on the edge of my seat during the tentacle scene. The last scene was a major I agree with those of you that felt the ending was ridiculous. It was not the ending that King gives it in the novella. Up until that last scene, I thought that the production was well acted, tight, the two hours for me flew by, and I thought that the special effects were about average. they certainly had me on the edge of my seat during the tentacle scene. The last scene was a major disappointment for me. It was obviously a hallucination, since you would NOT have the both the miltary and town civilian heading TOWARD the town as it is being cleared, plus no one acknowledged his presence. But why go it that direction, leaving it open ended as King does in the novella works best, but the devastating ending of the movie, without the final oddly out of place scene, had me tearing up, at a horror film yet. By the way, I do not get the whole "ridiculous plot line" argument. It is horror after all, but it does need to be consistent and logically progress. Up until the last scene it was as outstanding movie for it type. Expand
  63. VanessaC.
    Dec 11, 2007
    10
    Awesome movie with great metaphors and a shocker ending!
  64. AlaricP.
    Dec 1, 2007
    9
    I think this is a great movie. I don't like movies with a bunch of gore, like Saw, Hostel, or other torture porn movies. But this movie has only one or two instances of gore, so I like it for staying a thriller. But that's not all. The cinematography is great. The camera is always moving around, just adding to the feeling to the movie. I am a loyal fan of Stephen King, and this I think this is a great movie. I don't like movies with a bunch of gore, like Saw, Hostel, or other torture porn movies. But this movie has only one or two instances of gore, so I like it for staying a thriller. But that's not all. The cinematography is great. The camera is always moving around, just adding to the feeling to the movie. I am a loyal fan of Stephen King, and this movie stays true to the story. Although the ending is a little upsetting, it is a good one. I can't recommend this movie enough. Expand
  65. joer
    Dec 1, 2007
    9
    i went to this film kicking and screaming the whole way. i was off base. tremendous movie with outstanding performances and a gut-wrenching finish. Highlky recommended!
  66. GaryS.
    Nov 17, 2008
    10
    Veers close to crass and cheap and jokey but stays the right side of serious, giving that ending a nice sharp stab.
  67. StephenC.
    Nov 4, 2008
    8
    HOLY ENDING! I cannot believe that ending. It was an awesome movie. The ending is very depressing though.
  68. JeremyB.
    Apr 14, 2008
    8
    I was very impressed with this movie. Very scary and upsetting, especially as a married man with 2 young boys. The relationship between Thomas Jane and his son was very believable. Marcia Gay Harden was awesome. One of the best screen villains in a long time. Creature effects were very creepy, trying very hard to not show everything (ala: Jaws, War of the Worlds, Blairwitch). The movie I was very impressed with this movie. Very scary and upsetting, especially as a married man with 2 young boys. The relationship between Thomas Jane and his son was very believable. Marcia Gay Harden was awesome. One of the best screen villains in a long time. Creature effects were very creepy, trying very hard to not show everything (ala: Jaws, War of the Worlds, Blairwitch). The movie knows that what is not seen is better. Ending was a major shock...and pitch perfect. Darabont is a great director. Super intense!! Expand
  69. JonathanR.
    Jun 15, 2008
    9
    I very much enjoyed this movie, it seemed as if it were a big-screen version of Half-Life 1 and 2 combined. As many things seemed to be taken from there: Tentacles, Dementional Warp-gates, Mist as well as many other things. The movie seemed to be bashing religion and the ending was horrible and leaves you feeling half enraged and half despaired.
  70. SethH
    Jun 28, 2008
    8
    A pretty good movie, I agree with most that the ending was pretty easy to guess, but overall it was very spooky and the constant depressed feeling in the movie gave it some realism.
  71. Andrew
    Aug 31, 2008
    10
    I jokingly called the ending in the movie theater before it happened. Go see the movie instead of YouTube-ing the ending, it'd ruin it. Really good movie that's worth your time to watch.
  72. BobN
    Oct 27, 2009
    8
    Wow. I really loved this film. It seemed to me akin to reading an old Ray Bradbury short story, like say from the Illustrated Man. The atmoshpere is all that matters in a short, and this film holds true on that count. Like I said, it was exactly like reading King's short stories, or any other old-school sci-fi/horror, and how often do films achieve that nowadays? Darabont, mission Wow. I really loved this film. It seemed to me akin to reading an old Ray Bradbury short story, like say from the Illustrated Man. The atmoshpere is all that matters in a short, and this film holds true on that count. Like I said, it was exactly like reading King's short stories, or any other old-school sci-fi/horror, and how often do films achieve that nowadays? Darabont, mission accomplished, thank you for the generous throw back, your film rocked. You are one of the only directors to do King justice. Holy crap though, Steven King is a weird human being. The atmosphere in this film is depressing, imagine a writer LIVING that atmoshpere for extended periods of time...weird individual. Expand
  73. ks
    Jun 23, 2009
    10
    Excellent monster movie, in which not the monsters are the thread, the ordinary people are. The Ending is one of the best in horror movie history.
  74. BetsyM.
    Nov 21, 2007
    9
    The Mist has always been one of my favorite King stories and I was really happy that I also enjoyed the movie (unlike The Shining which really distorted the book). As a horror movie The Mist is right on target. Suspense and creatures abound. I liked the character development and the behavior of the characters as the tension grew. The ending, while disturbing, was perfect for making one The Mist has always been one of my favorite King stories and I was really happy that I also enjoyed the movie (unlike The Shining which really distorted the book). As a horror movie The Mist is right on target. Suspense and creatures abound. I liked the character development and the behavior of the characters as the tension grew. The ending, while disturbing, was perfect for making one think about the various paths people take and decisions they make. Overall a wonderful movie. Expand
  75. AaronB.
    Nov 23, 2007
    8
    This movie is interesting in that it allows for different readings. If you are looking for a few laughs, which a good horror movie should give you, then you are in for a few. If you are looking a movie to push the envelope then don't see the Mist. What you'll find instead is a look at the worst humanity has to offer. The monsters for the most part are irrelevant. They are a This movie is interesting in that it allows for different readings. If you are looking for a few laughs, which a good horror movie should give you, then you are in for a few. If you are looking a movie to push the envelope then don't see the Mist. What you'll find instead is a look at the worst humanity has to offer. The monsters for the most part are irrelevant. They are a means to the movie. Its actually the mist and that which it revels, ironically enough, that is at the center of this movie. Given enough push, humanity if capable of almost anything. King has shown us this before in books and movies. Within us there is the possibility for good. However, as any paradox, there has to be two sides. Human nature allows for an immense amount of bad as well. On the surface this movie may come off a little dismal and at times cheesy. But dig deeper and you will find an interesting message. No matter what you take away from this film, whether it be the monsters or the mist, this movie is something to think about. Expand
  76. Jdaz2
    Nov 25, 2007
    7
    This a good popcorn movie, it makes you jump in certain spots and makes you laugh in others. I like the end because it doesn't wrap it up with a pretty bow. I think Jim M. took it to seriously, just enjoy the movie for what it is.
  77. MoeP.
    Nov 27, 2007
    8
    Good God... This is perhaps the most faithful reproduction of any King story that I have seen. Having read the novella many years ago, wishing someone would make a film from it, I am impressed. Although the ending, the ending, the ending... Whoa... Overall, great movie, and surprisingly good acting for a horror flick. My apologies to any offended actors, but I mean that as a true Good God... This is perhaps the most faithful reproduction of any King story that I have seen. Having read the novella many years ago, wishing someone would make a film from it, I am impressed. Although the ending, the ending, the ending... Whoa... Overall, great movie, and surprisingly good acting for a horror flick. My apologies to any offended actors, but I mean that as a true compliment. This is a wildly surreal story, and getting the right feel is a very delicate process. The main protagonist is like a suburban Henry Rollins, if you can imagine such a thing. Very cool. I think you'll like it. Expand
  78. EdG.
    Nov 29, 2007
    8
    What started as a slow film that had me wondering what I got myself into, soon became a pleasure to watch with one of the best endings to a movie I have ever seen.
  79. MikeS
    Dec 14, 2007
    8
    Having read the story a few years ago, I was very interested in watching this movie, even with the mixed reviews it got. I thought it was very well done, and the creatures were terrifying, each more gruesome than the last! The tentacles were a bit unconvincing, but other than that, excellent special effects. Tension mounting as the people got more and more frazzled by the experience, Having read the story a few years ago, I was very interested in watching this movie, even with the mixed reviews it got. I thought it was very well done, and the creatures were terrifying, each more gruesome than the last! The tentacles were a bit unconvincing, but other than that, excellent special effects. Tension mounting as the people got more and more frazzled by the experience, until the protagonists were forced to leave for fear of what the others in the store would do to them, and barely escape with their lives. The main character makes a snap decision during the escape that leads to having to make a difficult decision later. The ending was an emotional kick in the gut (different from the short story) , very unexpected! Expand
  80. Jun 12, 2011
    9
    A depressing and visceral cautionary tale about the monsters that hide inside us all. The acting ranged from wholly believable to flat-out cheesy, but it was trivial by the end. Speaking of endings...holy crap. I think I've made my point.
  81. Nov 1, 2010
    10
    I disagree with many critics and evidently many viewers in that I think this film was an excellent character drama, and a very good film overall. The characters were solid, the acting was great in most cases, it built up a lot of suspense and character development, and it avoided a lot of tropes and cliche's, with a pretty brutal ultimatum.

    It wasn't a typical horror movie, or even a very
    I disagree with many critics and evidently many viewers in that I think this film was an excellent character drama, and a very good film overall. The characters were solid, the acting was great in most cases, it built up a lot of suspense and character development, and it avoided a lot of tropes and cliche's, with a pretty brutal ultimatum.

    It wasn't a typical horror movie, or even a very good horror movie, by any means. The enemies are rarely seen, in several cases passive, and scare moments don't last very long. However, in almost every other respect I'd say the film is a great success. Most characters actually have interesting opinions and beliefs, and don't follow genre cliche's (when they do, it's with depth and subtlety). A small example is the seeming jobsworth store department manager, I forget his name, who has a goofy appearance, is stumpy, and has glasses. In EVERY other horror movie he would be comic/ sicko relief, and would be killed by the main character or somesuch after he pervs on the love interest or some crap. However, he turns out to be a good guy, one of the best in the film, and is likeable and has a lot of story/plot input. The generic psycho antagonist seems one-dimensional and cliche, but is acted with extreme finesse- when she finally starts driving people to violence (which is inevitable), you can actually see that she is shocked at what is going on, but keeps at it out of fear and wavering momentum. The whole thing is about why people do these things- basically fear and how people deal with it.

    The story is basic and doesn't reveal much about what is going on, but that's not necessary, as it's mostly about the characters' survival and relationships, yet it still does a good job of setting up an ecology and background for the strange creatures the players encounter. The film's not much of a horror, but as a thriller and a character piece- I'd say hit it up like a whack-a-mole.
    Expand
  82. Oct 9, 2011
    9
    Strangely, one of my favorite films of all time, although I understand that people don't like it. I'm not a fanboy, or a hater, so I won't bag out people who dislike this film, likewise i don't expect to be knocked just because I really enjoyed this. I liked the pace, the premise, and the cheesy acting and effects. Even though it felt a bit B grade I felt this added to the experience forStrangely, one of my favorite films of all time, although I understand that people don't like it. I'm not a fanboy, or a hater, so I won't bag out people who dislike this film, likewise i don't expect to be knocked just because I really enjoyed this. I liked the pace, the premise, and the cheesy acting and effects. Even though it felt a bit B grade I felt this added to the experience for me. I saw this in cinemas and remember walking with a big smile on my face. If you're a fan of post-apocalyptic, sci-fi and horror you should get a kick out of this, if you're a Dark Tower fan then maybe even moreso (as their are a few nods to the series in this film). To me this film captures the dire reality of such an event quite well by pitting a small group of people together who must learn to fight off a common threat. It deals with the microcosm of society and how certain people can influence the masses. There is a real feeling of dread and despair that is portrayed in the film. The characters are survivors but we know that not all of them will make it through to the end, we know that their situation is a dangerous one and the film keeps you on your toes.

    All in all, I really liked it and always mention this to friends as being one of my faves of all time, they always laugh, heh, but that's life. Don't be deterred by bad reviews, its just one of those movies, some love it, some hate it, you might really like it.
    Expand
  83. Jul 2, 2011
    9
    the mist is a strange experience and annoying in a good way, of course. monsters that attack to people are innocent in comparison with monster people inside. music that heard in the last scenes don't let the eyes to be dry.
  84. Jun 25, 2012
    9
    When I first watched the first 15 minutes of this film, I was thinking to myself, "Man, this movie is kinda unoriginal." I was wrong. When the mist starts rolling in, the film keeps you hooked until the ending. The characters are well put together, and although the acting isn't perfect, it's still very solid. What I enjoyed the most about this movie is that it doesn't rely on cheap tacticsWhen I first watched the first 15 minutes of this film, I was thinking to myself, "Man, this movie is kinda unoriginal." I was wrong. When the mist starts rolling in, the film keeps you hooked until the ending. The characters are well put together, and although the acting isn't perfect, it's still very solid. What I enjoyed the most about this movie is that it doesn't rely on cheap tactics to make you scared. It's suspenseful, gory, and thrilling. This movie also gets credit for having one of the most depressing endings in film history. Expand
  85. Jun 14, 2011
    10
    The beauty of a good horror movie is when the actual threat itself becomes insignificant in comparison to the ills that manifest from the very people that are trying to escape it. This very story telling mechanic is what The Mist does in magnificent fashion. If you watch this movie with the right head on your shoulders, respecting the situation the central characters are in at any givenThe beauty of a good horror movie is when the actual threat itself becomes insignificant in comparison to the ills that manifest from the very people that are trying to escape it. This very story telling mechanic is what The Mist does in magnificent fashion. If you watch this movie with the right head on your shoulders, respecting the situation the central characters are in at any given moment, then the end scene will rip your very soul clean in half. I know the end differs from the short story originally penned by King, but the author himself has ok'd the revised ending with much applause (there is actually a sit down chat with King and Darabont on the disc where this is seen and heard). One point I will make that really needs to be listened to is the viewing of this film in Black & White. I myself have never seen the colour version as the director himself (there is a 'forward' at the start of the B&W presentation on Blu-ray by Darabont) has stated that the B&W is the native viewing experience... and i certainly agree with that. The Mist is a mini masterpiece that got reviewed at the time by the wrong people and therefore has not reached the audience it deserves. The fans will continue to spread the word and keep the films legacy alive through word of mouth and passion for what this reviewer truely believes is one of the best horror movies of all time Expand
  86. j30
    Nov 1, 2011
    8
    A truly terrifying movie. It's nice to watch a horror movie that's not obsessed with throwing gore and cheap tricks scares at you. I have heard countless complaints about the ending, which to my surprise, was not nearly as bad as everyone had made it out to be.
  87. Apr 1, 2013
    8
    The mis-categorizing of The Mist as a horror movie was unfortunate. The building sense of hopelessness along with Marcia Gay Harden's award deserving role as Mrs. Carmody creates a movie that is worth your attention.
  88. Apr 5, 2012
    9
    I definitely enjoyed the movie. It was better than what I expected, yet, I know it was not brilliant. It works in its genre, although there was room for improvement. I think it is not easy to describe the feelings that this movie inspires to me; but I know this is a movie that I would recommend to those who enjoy horror films where violence and gore are justified. The story is interestingI definitely enjoyed the movie. It was better than what I expected, yet, I know it was not brilliant. It works in its genre, although there was room for improvement. I think it is not easy to describe the feelings that this movie inspires to me; but I know this is a movie that I would recommend to those who enjoy horror films where violence and gore are justified. The story is interesting and it takes a while for the mistery to be unfolded. Although some may have already thought where the answer was, the way it was done in the movie, is to be applauded. Good performances and good cast. It had an interesting perspective, that made me reflect-again- in how dangerous religious fanatism can be to the world ( be aware I mean, fanatism, for there is nothing wrong with religion itself) and how easy to manipulate are human beings under certain conditions. Great ending, although sad. Overall, a good movie but i am disappointed to se the low score, especially considering how many good reviews it got...I wonder if the metacritic system is working for I don't see it changing much days after some comments are post..strange indeed. Something that they should ckeck...for it is not only the percentage, but the number of 'positive' doesn't add after my friends or I write a review...! Expand
  89. Oct 6, 2012
    10
    As always Frank Darabont makes a great job .
  90. Mar 8, 2014
    8
    the premise is interesting, and the effects range from being really good to really cheesy, but the film is very suspenseful, this is a lot better than your average monster movie. The ending is terrible though.
  91. Sep 29, 2012
    8
    This is, by far, the greatest work of Stephen King. The thought of using something rather common, like mist, makes it seem like anything can happen now. Every time I see mist, I think it will turn into a horror story. I am also VERY impressed with the special effects. A little too impressed...actually.
  92. May 26, 2013
    8
    I loved this film! The Mist follows a group of townspeople trapped in a grocery store as a mysterious mist blows into town, bringing with it a variety of unfamiliar creatures. The trapped townspeople are played perfectly by a great cast; Thomas Jane is good as the main character, and Marcia Gay Harden is chillingly brilliant as the disturbed Christian. She steals every scene she's in andI loved this film! The Mist follows a group of townspeople trapped in a grocery store as a mysterious mist blows into town, bringing with it a variety of unfamiliar creatures. The trapped townspeople are played perfectly by a great cast; Thomas Jane is good as the main character, and Marcia Gay Harden is chillingly brilliant as the disturbed Christian. She steals every scene she's in and delivers multiple monologues that rank among her best performances. The cast had a surprisingly great script to work with; sharp dialogue and well-written conversations make this film extremely realistic. There were a few stupid decisions and characters scattered throughout, but that doesn't hold back the film much. Also, the CGI could have been a little better. With it's strong cast, memorable monologues, and solid script, The Mist builds perfectly to an ending that's unforgettable. Devastating, infuriating, but perfect. Expand
  93. Nov 10, 2013
    7
    Really solid horror/suspense movie. Thomas Jane is prettty damn good here. Yeah, some of the acting is a bit wooden, but i you're a fan of The Walking Dead or TV/movies of the type that make you examine human nature, you'll enjoy this one. A solid 7/10.
    For those complaining about the ending, I believe Stephen King himself said he wished he had thought of this particular way to end the story.
  94. Nov 30, 2013
    9
    This film is precisely the kind that is destined to be under rated. I came to view it out of an unusual impulse toward gratuitous monster mashing gore. But The Mist is far more substantial than anything the average horror fan is going to be prepared for. The film is an allegory for the for the human condition at its most grim. And as such within the genre, it is not just as good as horrorThis film is precisely the kind that is destined to be under rated. I came to view it out of an unusual impulse toward gratuitous monster mashing gore. But The Mist is far more substantial than anything the average horror fan is going to be prepared for. The film is an allegory for the for the human condition at its most grim. And as such within the genre, it is not just as good as horror gets, it is correct. And I use the word 'correct' here in the most laudatory sense that a person could use it while aghast and weeping. Expand
  95. Apr 23, 2015
    7
    The Mist is what a horror film should be - dark, tense, and punctuated by just enough gore to keep the viewer's flinch reflex intact. In fact, that movie's ending is so uncompromising that one must assume director Frank Darabont had final cut so the studio couldn't interfere. (It's worth noting that the ending is not the same as that of Stephen King's novella, but I won't mention how itThe Mist is what a horror film should be - dark, tense, and punctuated by just enough gore to keep the viewer's flinch reflex intact. In fact, that movie's ending is so uncompromising that one must assume director Frank Darabont had final cut so the studio couldn't interfere. (It's worth noting that the ending is not the same as that of Stephen King's novella, but I won't mention how it has changed.) Darabont has fashioned a tense motion pictures that's ultimately more about paranoia, religious fanaticism, and the price of hopelessness than it is about monsters. But the creatures are present and accounted for, lurking in the white-out that is the mist. Someone has finally succeeded where John Carpenter failed with The Fog.

    Darabont, who was an established screenwriter before trying his hand at directing with 1994's The Shawshank Redemption, has made four motion pictures. The Mist is the third one that uses a Stephen King story as source material. Before The Mist, Darabont stuck to King's "straight" stories, but this time he takes a turn for the horrific. What he does right, however, is to focus more on the interplay between the characters than on the monsters. By the end, one wonders which group is more savage: us or them. Darabont's theme in some ways echoes a sentiment voiced by Ellen Ripley in Aliens: that human beings can be as bad or worse than the nightmares that sometimes hunt them. (The movie borrows other things from the Alien series, including the expulsion of creatures from the body and the cocooning of victims.)

    The majority of the film takes place within the supermarket, although the most tense scenes are those in which one or more characters leaves its relative "safety" for a short period. Inside, as the terrified and trapped people grow increasingly more tense, the population fractures into three groups: those who believe in the supernatural explanation and follow Mrs. Carmody; those who reject that anything serious is wrong and follow Brent Norton, and those who know there are monsters but don't think praying is the answer and follow David. It's a story we have seen before: while the demons gather their forces in the darkness, the humans bicker amongst themselves.

    The special effects are both a strength and a weakness. They are effective when portraying monsters seen through the gloom of the mist. (There's one horrific and awe-inspiring moment late in the movie.) When seen a little closer and clearer, however, the CGI is too apparent. Atmosphere is Darabont's strength. It's what drives the movie - wondering and fearing what might be out there, preparing to launch itself at the huge plate glass windows that front a supermarket. Using ingredients supplied by King, the director brews a potent stew that concludes with a scene tinged with the most bitter irony imaginable.

    If there's a fault, it's in the "explanation" that details what the mist is and why the creatures are displacing humankind. This has tacked-on, obligatory feel. The scenario might have worked better if it was left to our imagination to figure out where the monsters come from or why they are here. Like time travel, the more the filmmakers try to explain it, the more lame it sounds. Fortunately, it's a small part of an otherwise superbly made motion picture. Finally, after a long list of failures, someone has done justice in bringing one of King's horror stories to the screen. Though definitely not the feel-good movie of the season, this is a must-see for anyone who loves the genre and doesn't demand "torture porn" from horror.
    Expand
  96. Jun 7, 2015
    10
    One of the best horror movies I have ever seen, great story and the ending is one of the best horror movies endings of all time. Must watch movie if you love horror films.
Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 29
  2. Negative: 1 out of 29
  1. There's a grim modern parable to be read into the dangerous effects of the gospel-preaching local crazy lady Mrs. Carmody (brilliantly played by a hellfire Marcia Gay Harden) on a congregation of the fearful.
  2. Less horrific than it is horribly didactic.
  3. 60
    The Mist is itself a supermarket of B-movie essentials, handsomely stocked with bad science, stupid behavior, chewable lines of dialogue, religious fruitcakes, and a fine display of monsters.