User Score
6.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 327 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 73 out of 327
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 7, 2015
    10
    One of the best horror movies I have ever seen, great story and the ending is one of the best horror movies endings of all time. Must watch movie if you love horror films.
  2. Apr 26, 2015
    0
    Totally terrible movie with very bad characters ! Im very disappointed .. I like the story but the movie was so far its a waste of your time ! Its not entertaining lots of stuff happening ..I would rather watch the Harry Potter marathon than watching this trash !
  3. Apr 23, 2015
    7
    The Mist is what a horror film should be - dark, tense, and punctuated by just enough gore to keep the viewer's flinch reflex intact. In fact, that movie's ending is so uncompromising that one must assume director Frank Darabont had final cut so the studio couldn't interfere. (It's worth noting that the ending is not the same as that of Stephen King's novella, but I won't mention how itThe Mist is what a horror film should be - dark, tense, and punctuated by just enough gore to keep the viewer's flinch reflex intact. In fact, that movie's ending is so uncompromising that one must assume director Frank Darabont had final cut so the studio couldn't interfere. (It's worth noting that the ending is not the same as that of Stephen King's novella, but I won't mention how it has changed.) Darabont has fashioned a tense motion pictures that's ultimately more about paranoia, religious fanaticism, and the price of hopelessness than it is about monsters. But the creatures are present and accounted for, lurking in the white-out that is the mist. Someone has finally succeeded where John Carpenter failed with The Fog.

    Darabont, who was an established screenwriter before trying his hand at directing with 1994's The Shawshank Redemption, has made four motion pictures. The Mist is the third one that uses a Stephen King story as source material. Before The Mist, Darabont stuck to King's "straight" stories, but this time he takes a turn for the horrific. What he does right, however, is to focus more on the interplay between the characters than on the monsters. By the end, one wonders which group is more savage: us or them. Darabont's theme in some ways echoes a sentiment voiced by Ellen Ripley in Aliens: that human beings can be as bad or worse than the nightmares that sometimes hunt them. (The movie borrows other things from the Alien series, including the expulsion of creatures from the body and the cocooning of victims.)

    The majority of the film takes place within the supermarket, although the most tense scenes are those in which one or more characters leaves its relative "safety" for a short period. Inside, as the terrified and trapped people grow increasingly more tense, the population fractures into three groups: those who believe in the supernatural explanation and follow Mrs. Carmody; those who reject that anything serious is wrong and follow Brent Norton, and those who know there are monsters but don't think praying is the answer and follow David. It's a story we have seen before: while the demons gather their forces in the darkness, the humans bicker amongst themselves.

    The special effects are both a strength and a weakness. They are effective when portraying monsters seen through the gloom of the mist. (There's one horrific and awe-inspiring moment late in the movie.) When seen a little closer and clearer, however, the CGI is too apparent. Atmosphere is Darabont's strength. It's what drives the movie - wondering and fearing what might be out there, preparing to launch itself at the huge plate glass windows that front a supermarket. Using ingredients supplied by King, the director brews a potent stew that concludes with a scene tinged with the most bitter irony imaginable.

    If there's a fault, it's in the "explanation" that details what the mist is and why the creatures are displacing humankind. This has tacked-on, obligatory feel. The scenario might have worked better if it was left to our imagination to figure out where the monsters come from or why they are here. Like time travel, the more the filmmakers try to explain it, the more lame it sounds. Fortunately, it's a small part of an otherwise superbly made motion picture. Finally, after a long list of failures, someone has done justice in bringing one of King's horror stories to the screen. Though definitely not the feel-good movie of the season, this is a must-see for anyone who loves the genre and doesn't demand "torture porn" from horror.
    Expand
  4. Mar 1, 2015
    1
    This movie was crap. No other word for it, except maybe a swear word, but kids use this website. First off, the acting. It was very bland, the characters acted like this:
    *Bored voice* Oh no, we need to block up the doors fast. Here's a bag of rock salt, block up the windows.
    *Really, really bad impression of a scared person* OH GOD, BEE THINGS! RUN! HIDE THE CHILDREN! I'M SUPPOSED TO BE
    This movie was crap. No other word for it, except maybe a swear word, but kids use this website. First off, the acting. It was very bland, the characters acted like this:
    *Bored voice* Oh no, we need to block up the doors fast. Here's a bag of rock salt, block up the windows.
    *Really, really bad impression of a scared person* OH GOD, BEE THINGS! RUN! HIDE THE CHILDREN! I'M SUPPOSED TO BE A GOOD ACTOR! MY ACTING IS MORE SCARY THAN THE BEES!
    Yeah.... Next, the movie relied on blood and gore multiple times to keep the fans scared, but it turned into a slasher multiple times during the movie. It was startling, yeah, but you knew it was gonna happen every time because it always got super quiet. And people always stand up for it by saying, "Duh, the plot twist at the end was epic, duh, I'm gonna watch Twilight, duh." First off, it's not a plot twist, and second off, the ending was so hilariously stupid, I laughed out loud. Seriously. This movie barely escaped a zero, only because the crazy religious lady was creepy, and I thoroughly enjoyed this movie- for all the wrong reasons. I liked it because of the fact it was so bad that it was hilarious. So, if you're looking for terror, watch The Shining, but if you're looking for comic relief, look no further than The Mist.
    Expand
  5. Mar 8, 2014
    8
    the premise is interesting, and the effects range from being really good to really cheesy, but the film is very suspenseful, this is a lot better than your average monster movie. The ending is terrible though.
  6. Nov 30, 2013
    9
    This film is precisely the kind that is destined to be under rated. I came to view it out of an unusual impulse toward gratuitous monster mashing gore. But The Mist is far more substantial than anything the average horror fan is going to be prepared for. The film is an allegory for the for the human condition at its most grim. And as such within the genre, it is not just as good as horrorThis film is precisely the kind that is destined to be under rated. I came to view it out of an unusual impulse toward gratuitous monster mashing gore. But The Mist is far more substantial than anything the average horror fan is going to be prepared for. The film is an allegory for the for the human condition at its most grim. And as such within the genre, it is not just as good as horror gets, it is correct. And I use the word 'correct' here in the most laudatory sense that a person could use it while aghast and weeping. Expand
  7. Nov 10, 2013
    7
    Really solid horror/suspense movie. Thomas Jane is prettty damn good here. Yeah, some of the acting is a bit wooden, but i you're a fan of The Walking Dead or TV/movies of the type that make you examine human nature, you'll enjoy this one. A solid 7/10.
    For those complaining about the ending, I believe Stephen King himself said he wished he had thought of this particular way to end the story.
  8. Aug 20, 2013
    0
    Okay. what the heck is this? Seriously, probably the worst movie I've ever seen. There's a pointless story, the acting (esp. that fundamental cult thing) is just silly. At the beginning you could think it will be a great movie, but with time progressing it goes straight down. The characters are so single-sided with dialogs everyone could write. It's full of cliches and the effects aren'tOkay. what the heck is this? Seriously, probably the worst movie I've ever seen. There's a pointless story, the acting (esp. that fundamental cult thing) is just silly. At the beginning you could think it will be a great movie, but with time progressing it goes straight down. The characters are so single-sided with dialogs everyone could write. It's full of cliches and the effects aren't good, either. Though, the end is the worst part of this ridiculous movie so predictable and just.... wrong. I can't really find words that fit. I don't even know why this exists. It shouldn't, Don't watch it. Expand
  9. Jun 14, 2013
    0
    One of the black list of worst of all time. Dont make sense any thing.
    The plot? A drama, yes a drama, not a action/SciFi, just a drama that try artificially puts some people together and show the "society problems". Like religion, guilty, fear...
  10. May 26, 2013
    8
    I loved this film! The Mist follows a group of townspeople trapped in a grocery store as a mysterious mist blows into town, bringing with it a variety of unfamiliar creatures. The trapped townspeople are played perfectly by a great cast; Thomas Jane is good as the main character, and Marcia Gay Harden is chillingly brilliant as the disturbed Christian. She steals every scene she's in andI loved this film! The Mist follows a group of townspeople trapped in a grocery store as a mysterious mist blows into town, bringing with it a variety of unfamiliar creatures. The trapped townspeople are played perfectly by a great cast; Thomas Jane is good as the main character, and Marcia Gay Harden is chillingly brilliant as the disturbed Christian. She steals every scene she's in and delivers multiple monologues that rank among her best performances. The cast had a surprisingly great script to work with; sharp dialogue and well-written conversations make this film extremely realistic. There were a few stupid decisions and characters scattered throughout, but that doesn't hold back the film much. Also, the CGI could have been a little better. With it's strong cast, memorable monologues, and solid script, The Mist builds perfectly to an ending that's unforgettable. Devastating, infuriating, but perfect. Expand
  11. Apr 1, 2013
    8
    The mis-categorizing of The Mist as a horror movie was unfortunate. The building sense of hopelessness along with Marcia Gay Harden's award deserving role as Mrs. Carmody creates a movie that is worth your attention.
  12. Jan 28, 2013
    4
    Although the foundation for a good story is there, the poor acting and melodramatic character development make the movie fall short of being a good film. The ending is unfitting and characters are often portrayed as hysterical, making it hard to feel any kind of connection to them. On top of that, the movie just doesn't end. It lasts 2 hours and 7 minutes and it really starts to drag aboutAlthough the foundation for a good story is there, the poor acting and melodramatic character development make the movie fall short of being a good film. The ending is unfitting and characters are often portrayed as hysterical, making it hard to feel any kind of connection to them. On top of that, the movie just doesn't end. It lasts 2 hours and 7 minutes and it really starts to drag about halfway through. Expand
  13. Oct 6, 2012
    10
    As always Frank Darabont makes a great job .
  14. Sep 29, 2012
    8
    This is, by far, the greatest work of Stephen King. The thought of using something rather common, like mist, makes it seem like anything can happen now. Every time I see mist, I think it will turn into a horror story. I am also VERY impressed with the special effects. A little too impressed...actually.
  15. Jun 25, 2012
    9
    When I first watched the first 15 minutes of this film, I was thinking to myself, "Man, this movie is kinda unoriginal." I was wrong. When the mist starts rolling in, the film keeps you hooked until the ending. The characters are well put together, and although the acting isn't perfect, it's still very solid. What I enjoyed the most about this movie is that it doesn't rely on cheap tacticsWhen I first watched the first 15 minutes of this film, I was thinking to myself, "Man, this movie is kinda unoriginal." I was wrong. When the mist starts rolling in, the film keeps you hooked until the ending. The characters are well put together, and although the acting isn't perfect, it's still very solid. What I enjoyed the most about this movie is that it doesn't rely on cheap tactics to make you scared. It's suspenseful, gory, and thrilling. This movie also gets credit for having one of the most depressing endings in film history. Expand
  16. Apr 5, 2012
    9
    I definitely enjoyed the movie. It was better than what I expected, yet, I know it was not brilliant. It works in its genre, although there was room for improvement. I think it is not easy to describe the feelings that this movie inspires to me; but I know this is a movie that I would recommend to those who enjoy horror films where violence and gore are justified. The story is interestingI definitely enjoyed the movie. It was better than what I expected, yet, I know it was not brilliant. It works in its genre, although there was room for improvement. I think it is not easy to describe the feelings that this movie inspires to me; but I know this is a movie that I would recommend to those who enjoy horror films where violence and gore are justified. The story is interesting and it takes a while for the mistery to be unfolded. Although some may have already thought where the answer was, the way it was done in the movie, is to be applauded. Good performances and good cast. It had an interesting perspective, that made me reflect-again- in how dangerous religious fanatism can be to the world ( be aware I mean, fanatism, for there is nothing wrong with religion itself) and how easy to manipulate are human beings under certain conditions. Great ending, although sad. Overall, a good movie but i am disappointed to se the low score, especially considering how many good reviews it got...I wonder if the metacritic system is working for I don't see it changing much days after some comments are post..strange indeed. Something that they should ckeck...for it is not only the percentage, but the number of 'positive' doesn't add after my friends or I write a review...! Expand
  17. Dec 12, 2011
    1
    It was pretty terrible and a rather generic film up until the very end, Literally the last scene of the film. Acting was below average and I expected far better, The story wasnt interesting, and the ending was just so stupid but its a hilariously stupid ending (if you have a sick sense of humor like me). Its a rather trashy film if you ask me.
  18. j30
    Nov 1, 2011
    8
    A truly terrifying movie. It's nice to watch a horror movie that's not obsessed with throwing gore and cheap tricks scares at you. I have heard countless complaints about the ending, which to my surprise, was not nearly as bad as everyone had made it out to be.
  19. Oct 9, 2011
    9
    Strangely, one of my favorite films of all time, although I understand that people don't like it. I'm not a fanboy, or a hater, so I won't bag out people who dislike this film, likewise i don't expect to be knocked just because I really enjoyed this. I liked the pace, the premise, and the cheesy acting and effects. Even though it felt a bit B grade I felt this added to the experience forStrangely, one of my favorite films of all time, although I understand that people don't like it. I'm not a fanboy, or a hater, so I won't bag out people who dislike this film, likewise i don't expect to be knocked just because I really enjoyed this. I liked the pace, the premise, and the cheesy acting and effects. Even though it felt a bit B grade I felt this added to the experience for me. I saw this in cinemas and remember walking with a big smile on my face. If you're a fan of post-apocalyptic, sci-fi and horror you should get a kick out of this, if you're a Dark Tower fan then maybe even moreso (as their are a few nods to the series in this film). To me this film captures the dire reality of such an event quite well by pitting a small group of people together who must learn to fight off a common threat. It deals with the microcosm of society and how certain people can influence the masses. There is a real feeling of dread and despair that is portrayed in the film. The characters are survivors but we know that not all of them will make it through to the end, we know that their situation is a dangerous one and the film keeps you on your toes.

    All in all, I really liked it and always mention this to friends as being one of my faves of all time, they always laugh, heh, but that's life. Don't be deterred by bad reviews, its just one of those movies, some love it, some hate it, you might really like it.
    Expand
  20. Jul 23, 2011
    6
    Eh. Sad, depressing, but scary. An interesting (but somewhat predictable) look at the way people work together. Overall, the ending is what really shocked me. That was good.
  21. Jul 17, 2011
    0
    Some tension - interesting effects - many annoying performances - ridiculous plot contrivances - many boring sections - a terrible movie - one of the worst ever that I've seen
  22. Jul 2, 2011
    9
    the mist is a strange experience and annoying in a good way, of course. monsters that attack to people are innocent in comparison with monster people inside. music that heard in the last scenes don't let the eyes to be dry.
  23. Jun 14, 2011
    10
    The beauty of a good horror movie is when the actual threat itself becomes insignificant in comparison to the ills that manifest from the very people that are trying to escape it. This very story telling mechanic is what The Mist does in magnificent fashion. If you watch this movie with the right head on your shoulders, respecting the situation the central characters are in at any givenThe beauty of a good horror movie is when the actual threat itself becomes insignificant in comparison to the ills that manifest from the very people that are trying to escape it. This very story telling mechanic is what The Mist does in magnificent fashion. If you watch this movie with the right head on your shoulders, respecting the situation the central characters are in at any given moment, then the end scene will rip your very soul clean in half. I know the end differs from the short story originally penned by King, but the author himself has ok'd the revised ending with much applause (there is actually a sit down chat with King and Darabont on the disc where this is seen and heard). One point I will make that really needs to be listened to is the viewing of this film in Black & White. I myself have never seen the colour version as the director himself (there is a 'forward' at the start of the B&W presentation on Blu-ray by Darabont) has stated that the B&W is the native viewing experience... and i certainly agree with that. The Mist is a mini masterpiece that got reviewed at the time by the wrong people and therefore has not reached the audience it deserves. The fans will continue to spread the word and keep the films legacy alive through word of mouth and passion for what this reviewer truely believes is one of the best horror movies of all time Expand
  24. Jun 12, 2011
    9
    A depressing and visceral cautionary tale about the monsters that hide inside us all. The acting ranged from wholly believable to flat-out cheesy, but it was trivial by the end. Speaking of endings...holy crap. I think I've made my point.
  25. Nov 1, 2010
    10
    I disagree with many critics and evidently many viewers in that I think this film was an excellent character drama, and a very good film overall. The characters were solid, the acting was great in most cases, it built up a lot of suspense and character development, and it avoided a lot of tropes and cliche's, with a pretty brutal ultimatum.

    It wasn't a typical horror movie, or even a very
    I disagree with many critics and evidently many viewers in that I think this film was an excellent character drama, and a very good film overall. The characters were solid, the acting was great in most cases, it built up a lot of suspense and character development, and it avoided a lot of tropes and cliche's, with a pretty brutal ultimatum.

    It wasn't a typical horror movie, or even a very good horror movie, by any means. The enemies are rarely seen, in several cases passive, and scare moments don't last very long. However, in almost every other respect I'd say the film is a great success. Most characters actually have interesting opinions and beliefs, and don't follow genre cliche's (when they do, it's with depth and subtlety). A small example is the seeming jobsworth store department manager, I forget his name, who has a goofy appearance, is stumpy, and has glasses. In EVERY other horror movie he would be comic/ sicko relief, and would be killed by the main character or somesuch after he pervs on the love interest or some crap. However, he turns out to be a good guy, one of the best in the film, and is likeable and has a lot of story/plot input. The generic psycho antagonist seems one-dimensional and cliche, but is acted with extreme finesse- when she finally starts driving people to violence (which is inevitable), you can actually see that she is shocked at what is going on, but keeps at it out of fear and wavering momentum. The whole thing is about why people do these things- basically fear and how people deal with it.

    The story is basic and doesn't reveal much about what is going on, but that's not necessary, as it's mostly about the characters' survival and relationships, yet it still does a good job of setting up an ecology and background for the strange creatures the players encounter. The film's not much of a horror, but as a thriller and a character piece- I'd say hit it up like a whack-a-mole.
    Expand
  26. Sep 1, 2010
    2
    Cloud of mist appears over a lake, traps people in a supermarket, mayhem ensues.
    Stereotypes galore, awful dialogue, general stupidity all round & I wanted most of the people dead about 25 minutes in.
    Ending is quite good though.
    Watch The Fog, Dawn of the Dead & The Thing which this steals from but are much, much better.
  27. JohnD.
    Feb 9, 2010
    4
    Do yourself a favour: skip to the end. The Mist features one-dimensional characterisations, hammy effects and dialogue unrealistic enough to be laughable. The final 15 minutes are maaaybe work watching. Its just a shame the same can't be said for the 111 dirge-like minutes that preceed it.
  28. TiberiuC.
    Jan 15, 2010
    0
    So bad I had to skip to the end. S. King simply can't write good books. And the movies based upon his books are even worse. Don't waste your time with this crap, there are many other good movies out there.
  29. BillB.
    Nov 8, 2009
    9
    As with most effective horror movies, The Mist scares you most when the threat is what you cannot see. Thanks to Darabont's direction, the tension doesn't let up as the mystery is slowly revealed. The danger posed by some within the grocery store only amps it up. And the ending nearly knocked me to the floor. This is certainly not your run-of-the mill gross-out flick.
  30. BobN
    Oct 27, 2009
    8
    Wow. I really loved this film. It seemed to me akin to reading an old Ray Bradbury short story, like say from the Illustrated Man. The atmoshpere is all that matters in a short, and this film holds true on that count. Like I said, it was exactly like reading King's short stories, or any other old-school sci-fi/horror, and how often do films achieve that nowadays? Darabont, mission Wow. I really loved this film. It seemed to me akin to reading an old Ray Bradbury short story, like say from the Illustrated Man. The atmoshpere is all that matters in a short, and this film holds true on that count. Like I said, it was exactly like reading King's short stories, or any other old-school sci-fi/horror, and how often do films achieve that nowadays? Darabont, mission accomplished, thank you for the generous throw back, your film rocked. You are one of the only directors to do King justice. Holy crap though, Steven King is a weird human being. The atmosphere in this film is depressing, imagine a writer LIVING that atmoshpere for extended periods of time...weird individual. Expand
  31. CaseyD
    Oct 27, 2009
    5
    It would have been a 7 or 8 but that ending pissed me off.it was not original at all, i think I've seen and read that ending about a million times and it just makes people angry at this movie after watching it(it really was not needed, it was just plain horrible and disturbing and it made me mad at the "writer" of that ending). other than that, it was ok.
  32. RickyM.
    Oct 19, 2009
    8
    The ending is black but the film up til then is great harrowing and breathtakingly scary.
  33. RobertS
    Sep 19, 2009
    9
    I love a horror film that goes for the bleak and the depressing - this is the horror genre folks, why on Earth would I want a 'happy ending' to all that has gone before? Keep your ludicrous 'Sorority Row', 'Friday the 13th' and 'Saw' claptrap and give me a group of people riven by mistrust, fear of 'what's out there' and attempting to I love a horror film that goes for the bleak and the depressing - this is the horror genre folks, why on Earth would I want a 'happy ending' to all that has gone before? Keep your ludicrous 'Sorority Row', 'Friday the 13th' and 'Saw' claptrap and give me a group of people riven by mistrust, fear of 'what's out there' and attempting to exert their influence over others. That's horror - not the monsters (and the effects are not that bad for a film that had a pretty low budget), not the short term visceral satisfaction of arterial spray that most of us are desensitized to know anyway or the B movie trimmimngs that Darabont provides along the way. The confrontations between the people in the store is far more engaging and suspenseful, and even if the film doesn't quite make the points it wants to (although it mostly manages) it at least attempts to have some meat and bones to it. Which is more than can be said for other so-called horrors of late. For my money, one of the more memorable horror films of the last couple of years and one that I frequently recommend to others. Expand
  34. zach
    Sep 18, 2009
    8
    This was a good movie. But be warned the ending i liked but if you hate unhappy endings don't watch.
  35. AndrewL
    Jul 10, 2009
    10
    Once again i was almost fooled by the critics, the movie was brilliant. its actually very hardcore, not in a violent sense, although it is quite graphic. for a modern horror movie im surprised how little it makes you jump, this was a good thing, it didnt need cheap scare tactics to totally creep you out, it does it through the people in the mall and how they react to the situation. the Once again i was almost fooled by the critics, the movie was brilliant. its actually very hardcore, not in a violent sense, although it is quite graphic. for a modern horror movie im surprised how little it makes you jump, this was a good thing, it didnt need cheap scare tactics to totally creep you out, it does it through the people in the mall and how they react to the situation. the movie really was great, scary, fun, intense, suspenseful, really just a great horror flick. the Ending, by far, is one of the most powerful pieces of cinema ive seen, ever. Expand
  36. JamesA.
    Jun 29, 2009
    8
    Some people will think that this movie does little to set it apart in any commendable way; I think it does just that in remarkable ways. First, let me start off by telling you what you won't see in this movie that you see in so many others nowadays. You won't see wasteful, unrealistic, over the top action thrown in just for over the top action's sake. You won't see Some people will think that this movie does little to set it apart in any commendable way; I think it does just that in remarkable ways. First, let me start off by telling you what you won't see in this movie that you see in so many others nowadays. You won't see wasteful, unrealistic, over the top action thrown in just for over the top action's sake. You won't see recycled plot elements; there's no "Classical Hero's Journey" structure; there's no awkward, misplaced romances that punctuate the plot. You won't see bad acting or cheesy dialogue, nor will you see poor pacing. The movie's pacing is so that it emphasizes suspense, uncertainty, and the characters. The characters themselves are very well delivered, and you'll find yourself relating to them before things even go totally awry. The cast is top notch. The dialogue is believable and not trimmed down to the point where the characters seem less like people, and more like just a role in a plot. The plot itself comes with at least a couple twists, they won't throw you for a loop, but at least one (and I'm not giving anything away here) is so brutal, cruel, and unforgiving that it alone sets the movie apart from the status quo, and had me outright clapping for the guts it took. Now what don't I like about the movie? The central antagonist(s) in this movie is enigmatic and centers around the mist that has swept through the town in question. In this mist are other wordly beasts that are the center for very much terror. For the better part, most of these monsters are bland. They come with a lot of detail and are mostly well rendered, but most of them just don't seem imaginatively done enough to fill the plot role that they were given. That's not really important for the story though. Another negative is the source eventually suggested for these apocalyptic happenings. The source isn't necessarily believable given current scientific theory, but it's delivered in such a way that it's not set in stone, and still leaves the audience for the most part to make their own decision. A closing pitfall that the movie falls into is that it perhaps tries a little too hard to make political and religious commentary on humanity's nature, but without really accomplishing anything in its efforts that hadn't been heard before. Those elements were necessary in moving the story along and providing a powerful secondary conflict within the plot, but it just didn't do as much as it seemed that it was trying to, and it did try hard. I've mulled over this movie for hours, and those are the only three detracting drawbacks that I can really muster that wouldn't be unfair to the film. It's written well; it's acted well; it disregards a lot of stigmas, and it has a remarkably, brutal twist that will wrench your emotions to the core. In the horror department, it's suspenseful, not overly gory, although not entirely scary. It has its startle-moments, which'll play off of your jumping reflex, but it really hinges more on discomfort of the unknown, and on a deeply sorrowful unease. Expand
  37. ks
    Jun 23, 2009
    10
    Excellent monster movie, in which not the monsters are the thread, the ordinary people are. The Ending is one of the best in horror movie history.
  38. AndreM
    Apr 26, 2009
    3
    I thought that it would be some kind of psycologic thriller, what would be a lot more interesting. However, the movie has some really boring alien bugs, just as in any other B class movie. That took a lot of the movie credibility away. Through the movie, there were some interesting parts, some funny and some very intense. But some (most of) the persons were extremely dumb, by taking too I thought that it would be some kind of psycologic thriller, what would be a lot more interesting. However, the movie has some really boring alien bugs, just as in any other B class movie. That took a lot of the movie credibility away. Through the movie, there were some interesting parts, some funny and some very intense. But some (most of) the persons were extremely dumb, by taking too long to decide to do something. And finnaly, the end was very, very sad, not bad, really, it was probably the most well thought part of the movie, but very sad. If it was with me, I would wait for the bugs come, not suicide so early. Expand
  39. ClifC.
    Mar 9, 2009
    5
    Ridiculous acting, Thomas Jane can't act. Only the biggest monster was well done, the others were quite ridiculous. The other bizarre thing was the plot trying to separate minds and opinions with religious, scientifics and rationalists beliefs. I'm not a religious at all and I'm a rationalist, but I was quite shocked by the semi-hidden insults made to both opinions and Ridiculous acting, Thomas Jane can't act. Only the biggest monster was well done, the others were quite ridiculous. The other bizarre thing was the plot trying to separate minds and opinions with religious, scientifics and rationalists beliefs. I'm not a religious at all and I'm a rationalist, but I was quite shocked by the semi-hidden insults made to both opinions and beliefs. The good points: it was entertaining and despite the hidden insults towards both "camps" it was really interesting to see how human race reacts in front of an event like this. The worst is that it would be very probable. Expand
  40. TommyG.
    Jan 23, 2009
    10
    Absorbing and scary - This skillful horror film treats the viewer with intelligence. The characters make you belief in the premise. Some of the special effects could be a little better, but the construction, attention to detail and multiple layers of storytelling (not to mention the entirely haunting ending) certainly make of for it. Darabont's really great with the actors too.
  41. GaryS.
    Nov 17, 2008
    10
    Veers close to crass and cheap and jokey but stays the right side of serious, giving that ending a nice sharp stab.
  42. StephenC.
    Nov 4, 2008
    8
    HOLY ENDING! I cannot believe that ending. It was an awesome movie. The ending is very depressing though.
  43. Matt
    Oct 7, 2008
    0
    Really bad horror movie. Absolutely awful. I guess it only takes 3 days in a fully food-stocked grocery store for humans to revert back to the tribal stage of society. There's a bunch of really obvious, bad commentary on small towns, religion, and the military - insulting to each group in its own way. The monsters are incredibly bland. If we're to understand correctly, these Really bad horror movie. Absolutely awful. I guess it only takes 3 days in a fully food-stocked grocery store for humans to revert back to the tribal stage of society. There's a bunch of really obvious, bad commentary on small towns, religion, and the military - insulting to each group in its own way. The monsters are incredibly bland. If we're to understand correctly, these things come from another dimension, but the best they could come up with is bigger versions of dragonflies, pterodactyls, squids, spiders, and lobsters? Fun fact: If you imagine the protagonist screaming "JUMANJIIIIIII" at the end instead of just screaming, it almost makes it worth the rental price in pure comedic value. Almost. Expand
  44. Dylan
    Sep 30, 2008
    10
    An exemplary piece of horror filmmaking.
  45. Andrew
    Aug 31, 2008
    10
    I jokingly called the ending in the movie theater before it happened. Go see the movie instead of YouTube-ing the ending, it'd ruin it. Really good movie that's worth your time to watch.
  46. SteveB.
    Aug 11, 2008
    10
    Excellent adaptation of the novella. I like the nods to other horror movies and the rose from the Dark Tower that it is rumored that Thomas Jane will also be in. The ending is phenomenal, a true horror classic.
  47. TammyR.
    Aug 9, 2008
    10
    This is a great movie that i really enjoyed. Worthwhile to see it.
  48. rofl?lol
    Aug 5, 2008
    10
    Amazingly retarded ending... otherwise, the best acting, scares, creepiness and atmosphere in a horror movie ever.
  49. ColeC.
    Jul 20, 2008
    9
    Frank Darabont was offered twice the amount of the money if he changed the ending. He said no (Bravo), and what you get is undiluted horror movie. The characters are well developed. The almost instant social -fracturing that takes place amongst them is brilliant, and is quite reminiscent of some the George A. Romero movies. The creepies that lurk in the mist are also intriguing, as is Frank Darabont was offered twice the amount of the money if he changed the ending. He said no (Bravo), and what you get is undiluted horror movie. The characters are well developed. The almost instant social -fracturing that takes place amongst them is brilliant, and is quite reminiscent of some the George A. Romero movies. The creepies that lurk in the mist are also intriguing, as is concept of where they came from. So clearly, compared to the endless "Grudges" and "saw" rehashes of late, this movie offers a fresh breathe of air, albeit misty one. Expand
  50. HamedM.
    Jul 20, 2008
    9
    This is one of the greatest movies that i have ever seen about the human and God. They (the main characters) died because of losing their practical faith in God.
  51. MichaelA.
    Jul 12, 2008
    10
    Scary, thought-provoking, surprisingly brutal ending. Worth watching.
  52. lol
    Jul 12, 2008
    9
    The ending was unneccesarily bad, even for this kind of movie. Otherwise, the acting, plot, action, atmosphere and mood of the movie was great.
  53. JohnC.
    Jul 11, 2008
    10
    Gory and gruesome, just tht way I like it.
  54. Jester
    Jul 10, 2008
    10
    This movie was wonderful, trashy, and stupid in all the right ways!!
  55. PhilM.
    Jul 6, 2008
    7
    Alright something about this movie made me like it despite alot of flaws. I can't really put my finger on what made it great to watch, I guess it was how they just set up everything. How the story was told. If you understand what I mean then this movie is for you. Despite the good points, the CG was pretty bad, but that's forgivable, considering I'm a 3d artist and actually Alright something about this movie made me like it despite alot of flaws. I can't really put my finger on what made it great to watch, I guess it was how they just set up everything. How the story was told. If you understand what I mean then this movie is for you. Despite the good points, the CG was pretty bad, but that's forgivable, considering I'm a 3d artist and actually KNOW WHAT IT'S LIKE TO CREATE, unlike many idiots who just watch and whinge. Also, I agree with one of the posters here who said the characters did things that people wouldn't do in real life. I found myself going "JUST SAY THIS" or "YOU WOULD DO THIS INSTEAD". Overall, worth the watch. Expand
  56. TheWileyG.
    Jul 5, 2008
    0
    Best feel-good comedy ever! Pity that because I definitely don't think that was the angle they were going for! The crazy religious nut was laughable (to see other reviews trying to get her notimated for an Oscar actually makes me feel ill). As far as special effects go, I have to say that nothing (and I mean nothing) lives up to the real thing. Why does every alien creature these Best feel-good comedy ever! Pity that because I definitely don't think that was the angle they were going for! The crazy religious nut was laughable (to see other reviews trying to get her notimated for an Oscar actually makes me feel ill). As far as special effects go, I have to say that nothing (and I mean nothing) lives up to the real thing. Why does every alien creature these days have that plasticy glaze? The casting agent obviously had one thing on their mind when they embarked upon their only task, and that was probably something like 'two expressions max guys. Ok so, eyebrows up, eyebrows down - you're hired! But maybe practice the eyebrows up for a bit before we start'. I heard rumours of a political undertone - and yeah, I suppose there was one but for crying out loud. Things just wouldn't get that out of control in the space of 3 days. The human race has come a long way...we know how to survive - it's like an in-built mechanism triggered by life threatening events. Many horror films play on this, and they can do it well, evoking our very senses, making us believe in the characters because they do the things that we'd do ourselves. That's how you build characters. Not by jamming a load of brief interpersonal meetings into 3 minute slots one after the other! Oh the amount of times I had to turn to my boyfriend and say 'cut the rope' 'leave him to die' 'get in the bloody car' which was all in good fun but you'd want to be a complete drone to enjoy this movie. The ending is not by any means harrowing - but it will have you in stitches - just wait til the desperate screaming part, you won't be disappointed! I'm mystified (potential pun here?) as to why this film is getting good reviews. If you read this and choose to ignore it, can I just say 'told ya so!'...you've been warned. Bring a laughter buddy and lots of popcorn to keep you awake. I'm scared of a lotta things, but mist isn't one of 'em...and if I had been there I would have just locked that mental religious lady in the toilet with her portable mini-bible to keep her busy. She'd shut up eventually. Also, guns don't solve everything...you'd think the Americans would know that by now. And if you're driving for ages and you think you might possibly run outta fuel, just ditch your car and get in another one. Duh! I shudder. Go see 'Wanted' instead...James McAvoy is a total hottie. Expand
  57. fnarlfnarl
    Jul 5, 2008
    0
    Awful. rubbish special effects. the bugs looked like they had the faces of toothless old men. but in fairness they had more expressions and talent than the human cast. hammy hammy ham ham. woefully stupid characters with ridiculous compulsions to do things no one would ever do. mob rule is speedy in this town. left wing, right wing? either way you'll be embarrassed by the Awful. rubbish special effects. the bugs looked like they had the faces of toothless old men. but in fairness they had more expressions and talent than the human cast. hammy hammy ham ham. woefully stupid characters with ridiculous compulsions to do things no one would ever do. mob rule is speedy in this town. left wing, right wing? either way you'll be embarrassed by the 'political' and 'religious' critique this film is apparently attempting to offer. watching your ball sack move is more exciting than this film. so much of it is unintentionally funny. the last scene is completely daft and as unbelievable as the rest of this bag of muck. good points: it will leave you with a sense that there can never be a worse film made (unless this idiot tries to make another one). regardless of his previous work, this movie is bereft of personality. people who give this a good review probably just like the shawshank redemption too much. RUN AWAY! Expand
  58. FB.
    Jul 4, 2008
    8
    Fair amount of suspense (hard to make a good monster movie these days) great character interaction especially once the weakest ones are done away with. One of the better book-to-screen adaption of any of king's books I have seen yet. Even better when you look at the budget they had to make this movie with. Above all the LEAST Hollywood ending ever made the movie a standout.
  59. SethH
    Jun 28, 2008
    8
    A pretty good movie, I agree with most that the ending was pretty easy to guess, but overall it was very spooky and the constant depressed feeling in the movie gave it some realism.
  60. VictorN
    Jun 21, 2008
    0
    Boring story, bad acting and the characters acted very strange and did things any normal person never would do. It was just so fucking bad. And the ending is an example of all the things that is bad about the movie that I just said. I don't think anyone could take it seriously because of the unlikeliness of anyone doing that. And the bad acting turned the horrible ending to one of Boring story, bad acting and the characters acted very strange and did things any normal person never would do. It was just so fucking bad. And the ending is an example of all the things that is bad about the movie that I just said. I don't think anyone could take it seriously because of the unlikeliness of anyone doing that. And the bad acting turned the horrible ending to one of the most funny things I've ever seen. Made me and the guy next to me laugh (the girl I went with didn't laugh because she was asleep). And that wasn't the first time I laughed during the movie. Wouldn't recommend anyone to watch it. Expand
  61. JW
    Jun 19, 2008
    2
    I gave this a two for high creepiness potential. Unfortunately, the characters are so phony and unbelievable, especially the Crazy Christian Lady (how many times have we seen that one in a Hollywood Movie), that the movie, at times, becomes just plain ridiculous. The ending also reminded me of a famous Twilight Zone episode, but I won't say which one.
  62. GraemeW
    Jun 16, 2008
    3
    Would of given it a couple of points more , if it wasn't the cheap trick of an ending , I do not need sugar sweetened , but 5 going out like that, unbelievable bunch of losers, the rest average b grade, not even funny, dialogue written by a 13 year old, but suppose that's Mr King, read him at that age. Don't mind my team losing as long as they play- bunch of losers
  63. FrancoisD.
    Jun 15, 2008
    0
    Lame from beginning to end. Horrible movie.
  64. JonathanR.
    Jun 15, 2008
    9
    I very much enjoyed this movie, it seemed as if it were a big-screen version of Half-Life 1 and 2 combined. As many things seemed to be taken from there: Tentacles, Dementional Warp-gates, Mist as well as many other things. The movie seemed to be bashing religion and the ending was horrible and leaves you feeling half enraged and half despaired.
  65. AlL
    May 17, 2008
    2
    Disappointing on so many levels it's shameful. A talky morality bum-wipe broken up with action sequences so poorly staged and paced they bordered on tedious. The lengthy discussions that fill the rest of the film had me wearing out the forward button. The CGI was deeply uneven- well animated but shoe-horned into some really crappy live-action mime. The creatures were especially Disappointing on so many levels it's shameful. A talky morality bum-wipe broken up with action sequences so poorly staged and paced they bordered on tedious. The lengthy discussions that fill the rest of the film had me wearing out the forward button. The CGI was deeply uneven- well animated but shoe-horned into some really crappy live-action mime. The creatures were especially disappointing, I was hoping for something truly demonic, but instead they're just bugs, only bigger. Marcia Gay Harden deserves an award for 'most annoying/overdone christian nutjob cliche in history'. The idea that this screeching lunatic could somehow be a charismatic figurehead in a time of crisis is laughable. And yes, I hated the ending. Any parent who thinks that the last act of the main character is in any way plausible needs to have their own children removed from their care. Expand
  66. LexL
    May 17, 2008
    6
    Overall the movie was good. I would of probably rated it an 8 if I didn't have a son myself. The father was so protective and passionate about saving his life, then makes a 2 minute decision to kill him. It was disturbing and I would of let it go until I saw all the Christian wannabes being saved by the military. Then I felt hatred. If that was their intentions then well done. But I Overall the movie was good. I would of probably rated it an 8 if I didn't have a son myself. The father was so protective and passionate about saving his life, then makes a 2 minute decision to kill him. It was disturbing and I would of let it go until I saw all the Christian wannabes being saved by the military. Then I felt hatred. If that was their intentions then well done. But I won't watch it again Expand
  67. EinarJ.
    May 9, 2008
    7
    Surprising. What I felt lacked in sci-fi horror, appeared in overly-religious persecution. The acting was overall, just amazing. And the end, despite being a bit obvious, made me sob a tear (anti-crying in the movies).. It was just.. great. Wow... Much better than I had expected.
  68. IanM.
    May 7, 2008
    0
    Absolutely appalling movie - offensively bad!! Rubbish plot, rubbish characters and rubbish script. The final 'twist' is also laughably bad. People will try and tell you this film is 'deep' and 'meaningful' with it's lazy attempt at social commentary. It's not. IT'S RUBBISH!!!!!!!
  69. T
    May 6, 2008
    3
    I didn't see the first 10 minutes of the movie, but I feel like it didn't matter so much. I was also under the influence of alcohol when watching, which i thought would make it better...but it didn't. The acting is ho-hum, and every single horror-movie cliche you can think of is in this movie. Oh, and the special effects are bad. I will admit that I don't know much I didn't see the first 10 minutes of the movie, but I feel like it didn't matter so much. I was also under the influence of alcohol when watching, which i thought would make it better...but it didn't. The acting is ho-hum, and every single horror-movie cliche you can think of is in this movie. Oh, and the special effects are bad. I will admit that I don't know much about the horror genre, but I feel like there can be so much better than this drivel. Expand
  70. TommyP.
    Apr 27, 2008
    0
    As this movie was a Stephen King film, I will say my sister and i just finished up watching it. The acting and one sided thought process of the people in the film made me utterly "PISSED OFF" The Mist was the most annoying, and totally against the way an actual human adult would act, let alone comunicate with eachother. I would not ask anyone to watch this flick. I have never gotten angry As this movie was a Stephen King film, I will say my sister and i just finished up watching it. The acting and one sided thought process of the people in the film made me utterly "PISSED OFF" The Mist was the most annoying, and totally against the way an actual human adult would act, let alone comunicate with eachother. I would not ask anyone to watch this flick. I have never gotten angry at a movie until now! Expand
  71. CoryG
    Apr 25, 2008
    8
    Good movie, but omg, what was up with the ending!?!?!?
  72. JoelR.
    Apr 15, 2008
    7
    Truly creepy, horrible in many instances. The characters were believable, and some you actually cared about. The feeling of hopelessness, sheer devastation, loss is felt throughout. The ending leaves you wrought over.
  73. MattG.
    Apr 15, 2008
    3
    This was a horrible cliche-riddled crap film. the ending did not fit.
  74. JeremyB.
    Apr 14, 2008
    8
    I was very impressed with this movie. Very scary and upsetting, especially as a married man with 2 young boys. The relationship between Thomas Jane and his son was very believable. Marcia Gay Harden was awesome. One of the best screen villains in a long time. Creature effects were very creepy, trying very hard to not show everything (ala: Jaws, War of the Worlds, Blairwitch). The movie I was very impressed with this movie. Very scary and upsetting, especially as a married man with 2 young boys. The relationship between Thomas Jane and his son was very believable. Marcia Gay Harden was awesome. One of the best screen villains in a long time. Creature effects were very creepy, trying very hard to not show everything (ala: Jaws, War of the Worlds, Blairwitch). The movie knows that what is not seen is better. Ending was a major shock...and pitch perfect. Darabont is a great director. Super intense!! Expand
  75. UweB.
    Apr 13, 2008
    3
    Rubbish... the ending was dreadful - why anyone couldn't see that coming a mile off I don't know. Generally poor effects, tediously over-acted, cardboard characters and shallow to boot. Just goes to show that quality horror is still hard to find.
  76. PeterB.
    Apr 8, 2008
    8
    Stumbles here and there, but otherwise creepy and intense. Although, it must be said, the movie is eventually betrayed by its Twilight ZOne ending.
  77. vs.dobbs
    Apr 8, 2008
    0
    Goodness, this was horrible. I was laughing thru the entire thing. The dialogue was atrocious--among the worst I've ever heard. Hard to believe a pro screenwriter did this.
  78. TommyF.
    Apr 7, 2008
    1
    Big disappointment with a fat snooze.
  79. BilalY.
    Apr 7, 2008
    3
    The movie is full of crap. There are all sorts of monsters, the one's with tenticles, the spiders, the mosquitoes, you name it. Acting was not too impressive either. And dont even ask about the ending.
  80. ke
    Apr 6, 2008
    9
    The low reviews kept me away from this film in theaters, but once I rented it, I was surprised by how good the movie is. It's entertaining and scarier than any other shit out there right now. It's a really good Stephen King adaptation and the acting strong. The ending is a little turn off, but the rest of the film make up for it. Watch the film >>>> It's f**king good.
  81. UlfE.
    Apr 5, 2008
    9
    The movie has truly scary moments and manages to create a hopeless and eerie atmosphere. It
  82. AlanM.
    Apr 5, 2008
    9
    A haunting vision that examines peoples' limits. Having read "The Mist" the same year Skeleton Crew came out, it has been to this day my favourite novella by King. As such, I'm well aware that the majority of film adaptations of King's work tend to bomb quite horribly. This movie, however, did not leave me with a sour taste after it was over. The premise of the military A haunting vision that examines peoples' limits. Having read "The Mist" the same year Skeleton Crew came out, it has been to this day my favourite novella by King. As such, I'm well aware that the majority of film adaptations of King's work tend to bomb quite horribly. This movie, however, did not leave me with a sour taste after it was over. The premise of the military creating this havoc is by no means a new idea, yet with a mild suspension of belief it's plausible. The CGI, I admit, was certainly not up to the standards of today's big budget films but then I can easily understand that the terrors in the mist was not the primary conflict. No, that distinction was humanity's basic instincts. It would be folly to assume that society has the capacity to hunker down in any post-apocalyptic situation and easily overcome it's own shortcomings. As a species, we are all capable of mistakes, and when confronted by our worst fears (both imagined and real), every person will react differently. Everyone has a limit. At what point they reach that limit varies, and throughout the movie we are shown where those limits are. The dialogue, often criticized for being cliche, worked for me as it felt more realistic than what Hollywood tends to do with how people communicate to one another. The ending, while surprising different from the novella, did not take away anything from the movie. Nay, it was just another example of someone reaching their limit for dealing with something beyond their means. With news stories throughout the years regarding people who have faced their own tragedies and chosen the more horryifying result, is it any wonder we see the same here? Bottom line, if you think that we as a species are infallible, this move is not for you. If you were expecting a horror film with scary monsters, this film is not for you. If you are open to the idea that we, as people, are capable of giving up hope when we have reached our limits... then yes, this movie is for you. Expand
  83. MattB.
    Apr 4, 2008
    9
    This movie had some excellent scenes (notably the spider one) and great character development. You know a film is good when you passionately hate and/or love some of the characters in it. What really blew me away was the ending... it was spectacular. You never see it coming and it is SO Stephen King!! The best ending to a horror movie ever. Period.
  84. JohnM.
    Apr 4, 2008
    8
    Wow, the uncompromising ending is why I would recommend this movie. It raises and exentuates the fact that this movie is about people, not monsters or "creatures from another world coming for BLOOD". Christians who are upset by this film need to get a grip on the fact that just because a character, fictional or real, uses the words God or Bible to defend their terrible behavior Wow, the uncompromising ending is why I would recommend this movie. It raises and exentuates the fact that this movie is about people, not monsters or "creatures from another world coming for BLOOD". Christians who are upset by this film need to get a grip on the fact that just because a character, fictional or real, uses the words God or Bible to defend their terrible behavior doesn't make them Godly nor Christian. This movie is a character study that in the end punches you in the gut. Like life outside of Hollywood often does Expand
  85. MikeC.
    Apr 3, 2008
    8
    The film does two things extremely well. First, you have to make the viewer want the bad guy (woman in this case) dead, really, really badly. Check. Second, it really pulls off the death to the living and no hope for all ending quite well. That's why Invasion of The Bodysnatchers sticks with you forever. These kinds of endings are not common, so enjoy them.
  86. halb
    Apr 3, 2008
    6
    Overall, very disappointing film.... probably because I had such high expectations for it. It's primary 'saving grace' is the ending. Unexpected and bleak and powerful. Those who hate the ending should just stay in their own sugar-coated disneyland of typical hollywood outcomes.
  87. JoeM.
    Mar 31, 2008
    2
    This is one of the stupidest movies I think I have ever seen. Do not waste you money especially if you spend 5 dollars at Blockbuster.
  88. JimR.
    Mar 31, 2008
    1
    The ending was totaly out of character with the other 120 mins of wasted time. We shut the DVD off the second he stepped out of the truck. This was no way to end this movie. I will never recommend this to my friends
  89. JackS.
    Mar 31, 2008
    9
    The monsters are a MacGuffin, the real creatures to fear are inside the store. This is a very good movie. People who dismiss it are missing the bigger picture. Marcia Gay Harden is spectacular, one of the greates female villans in the history of film. Just give this film a chance. You will not be disapointed.
  90. HeatherB.
    Mar 30, 2008
    1
    Out of touch dialog...the re-writers just massacred Kings novel...the messy dialog and the unrealistic character reactions were a constant distraction. The only reason I give it a 1 is for when Mrs. Carmody was shot in the gut and then in the head....that was the best part and the most realistic part of the whole movie....other then that, such a disappointment.
  91. KenN.
    Mar 30, 2008
    8
    Christians will not like the strong anti-christian themes and folks specifically wanting a super-gory bloody horror flick wont like all of the dialog. I liked the depressing ending myself because it was unexpected. The acting was better than usual in this genre. The film aspires to be more intellectual than the typical horror film and it almost succeeds. Almost.
  92. MicheleC.
    Mar 30, 2008
    0
    This movie had it's moments and could have been a pretty good movie if not for the absolute horrific ending. I have 2 young sons and this upset me to my core! The dumbest outcome I have ever seen in a movie.
  93. JohnL.
    Mar 30, 2008
    9
    I really liked this movie, i went into it expecting a lot considering the director (frank darabont) and it really did not disappoint.The horror genre seems like its geting harder and harder to do well and too many movies are taking influences from asian horror cinema and it was fresh in the beginning (the ring) but now the movies are all too similar in theme and mood and frankly the I really liked this movie, i went into it expecting a lot considering the director (frank darabont) and it really did not disappoint.The horror genre seems like its geting harder and harder to do well and too many movies are taking influences from asian horror cinema and it was fresh in the beginning (the ring) but now the movies are all too similar in theme and mood and frankly the reviews speak for themselves those movies are terrible..As your watching this movie you really start to get scared, not because of whats jumping out from around a corner but from the ideas behind the story...that our worst fears are often found in ourselves..This is the best horror movie i have seen since frailty (2002)...i hope i dont have to wait another 6 years for another quality horror title Expand
  94. NK
    Mar 29, 2008
    5
    Not weighty enough to be the intellectual film Darabont wants it to be, not scary enough to be the horror film it should be. (And as ever, the monsters just aren't scary...)
  95. FloydH.
    Mar 29, 2008
    10
    Excellent. I had no idea this was the same director of the Shawshank Redemption, and the Green Mile. I almost avoided renting this DVD because it was 'a rental store exclusive' which to my mind seemed to impute box office or critical failure. Had it not been a Stephen King book adaptation, starred Thomas Jane, and been lauded by Richard Roeper, and Pete Hammond - I would not Excellent. I had no idea this was the same director of the Shawshank Redemption, and the Green Mile. I almost avoided renting this DVD because it was 'a rental store exclusive' which to my mind seemed to impute box office or critical failure. Had it not been a Stephen King book adaptation, starred Thomas Jane, and been lauded by Richard Roeper, and Pete Hammond - I would not have given it a second glance due to it's lack of critical acclaim. I can only conclude that the lack of critical acclaim is due in no small measure to its indictment of religion as a form of mental calcification. Why else? The acting was sterling. The monsters no less than macabre. The story singular with only a slight nod to the Silent Hill series. Why this film is important: It shines an caustic light onto the religious bias of an overwhelming number of film critics. I now know which film critics to avoid in the future when researching how to spend my last 350,640 hours. Expand
  96. KhalidN.
    Mar 28, 2008
    8
    Awesome movie! the ending is about why people commit suicide, the pressure of hopelessness, the anit-happy ending that these modern horror movies fail to achieve, the mist has so much to say about modern society and there's freakin giant monsters.
  97. MarkJ.
    Mar 28, 2008
    6
    A nicely minimal movie that moves forward through the standard cliches, cheesecake dialog, and implausible decisions as creatively as it can. If it weren't for an absolute failure of an ending this would be the stuff of b-movie legends.
  98. SamJ
    Mar 24, 2008
    2
    To Me. It was a up and down movie with a STUPID ending. How could anyone shot there own kid and people you said you were going to save! Just plan Stupid
Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 29
  2. Negative: 1 out of 29
  1. There's a grim modern parable to be read into the dangerous effects of the gospel-preaching local crazy lady Mrs. Carmody (brilliantly played by a hellfire Marcia Gay Harden) on a congregation of the fearful.
  2. Less horrific than it is horribly didactic.
  3. 60
    The Mist is itself a supermarket of B-movie essentials, handsomely stocked with bad science, stupid behavior, chewable lines of dialogue, religious fruitcakes, and a fine display of monsters.