User Score
6.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 314 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 72 out of 314
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. AdamC.
    Mar 20, 2008
    0
    127 minutes long? This film is a joke. Truly a steaming pile.
  2. FloydH.
    Mar 29, 2008
    10
    Excellent. I had no idea this was the same director of the Shawshank Redemption, and the Green Mile. I almost avoided renting this DVD because it was 'a rental store exclusive' which to my mind seemed to impute box office or critical failure. Had it not been a Stephen King book adaptation, starred Thomas Jane, and been lauded by Richard Roeper, and Pete Hammond - I would not Excellent. I had no idea this was the same director of the Shawshank Redemption, and the Green Mile. I almost avoided renting this DVD because it was 'a rental store exclusive' which to my mind seemed to impute box office or critical failure. Had it not been a Stephen King book adaptation, starred Thomas Jane, and been lauded by Richard Roeper, and Pete Hammond - I would not have given it a second glance due to it's lack of critical acclaim. I can only conclude that the lack of critical acclaim is due in no small measure to its indictment of religion as a form of mental calcification. Why else? The acting was sterling. The monsters no less than macabre. The story singular with only a slight nod to the Silent Hill series. Why this film is important: It shines an caustic light onto the religious bias of an overwhelming number of film critics. I now know which film critics to avoid in the future when researching how to spend my last 350,640 hours. Expand
  3. halb
    Apr 3, 2008
    6
    Overall, very disappointing film.... probably because I had such high expectations for it. It's primary 'saving grace' is the ending. Unexpected and bleak and powerful. Those who hate the ending should just stay in their own sugar-coated disneyland of typical hollywood outcomes.
  4. ke
    Apr 6, 2008
    9
    The low reviews kept me away from this film in theaters, but once I rented it, I was surprised by how good the movie is. It's entertaining and scarier than any other shit out there right now. It's a really good Stephen King adaptation and the acting strong. The ending is a little turn off, but the rest of the film make up for it. Watch the film >>>> It's f**king good.
  5. DrewL.
    Nov 22, 2007
    5
    The first half was terrific! One of the most tense movies to come along in years! The, the more we saw of the creatures, the less scary and more stupid the movie became. I wish Darabont continued with the tone he established in the first half, instead of going effects crazy. 'Dreamcatcher' was better than this, because that movie didn't take itself seriously...it knew it The first half was terrific! One of the most tense movies to come along in years! The, the more we saw of the creatures, the less scary and more stupid the movie became. I wish Darabont continued with the tone he established in the first half, instead of going effects crazy. 'Dreamcatcher' was better than this, because that movie didn't take itself seriously...it knew it was a B grade monster movie. 'The Mist' tries to have its cake and eat it too. Now I haven't seen all adaptations, but this is the worst adaptation of a King novel yet. The biggest disappointment of 2007. Expand
  6. TerrinB.
    Dec 2, 2007
    5
    Solid story line (believable as far as monster movies go)Silly ending based on the character of the father of the kid.His survival instinct would not allow him to do what he did prematurely.
  7. SébastienC.
    Dec 2, 2007
    5
    Really bad. The director tried to instillate some social psychology (how humans behave in a life or death situation) into a fantastic/horror movie. The idea was good, but was very poorly implemented. Unsubtle close-ups and would-be realistic shaky camera, stereotyped characters, laughable lines, predictable events (apart for the end), and the usual overflow of disgusting scenes Really bad. The director tried to instillate some social psychology (how humans behave in a life or death situation) into a fantastic/horror movie. The idea was good, but was very poorly implemented. Unsubtle close-ups and would-be realistic shaky camera, stereotyped characters, laughable lines, predictable events (apart for the end), and the usual overflow of disgusting scenes traditionally seen in mediocre horror movies. Even a non-hollywoodian and original end cannot make a poor movie better. Stay away from it. Expand
  8. MatthewU.
    Dec 9, 2007
    8
    A great adaptation of a great short story.
  9. JohnO
    Mar 17, 2008
    5
    I wonder if this would have seen the inside of a cinema were it not for Darabont's success with Green Mile and Shawshank. From the cheap production and second rate cast to the poor CGI, this film feels 'made for TV' right the way through. Good TV, (like watching a sci-fi/horror two hour special) but tv nonetheless.
  10. ArielG
    Mar 8, 2008
    4
    It started off quite well, and built up a great chilling atmosphere. A feeling of dread and horror. Then it all went downhill from there. Bad special effects aside, the acting was atrocious - at the end the way the main character is shouting is just plain unbelievable and silly. But the most frustrating thing to watch was the bad decisions the characters kept making over and over again. I It started off quite well, and built up a great chilling atmosphere. A feeling of dread and horror. Then it all went downhill from there. Bad special effects aside, the acting was atrocious - at the end the way the main character is shouting is just plain unbelievable and silly. But the most frustrating thing to watch was the bad decisions the characters kept making over and over again. I know with movies like this, you have to suspend beliefs for a while, but the things they did was just unrealistic. The idea and the theme of the movie was good, but I just don't think it was executed the right way. A shame though, it could've been a great movie. Expand
  11. MattG.
    Apr 15, 2008
    3
    This was a horrible cliche-riddled crap film. the ending did not fit.
  12. JonathanF.
    Nov 24, 2007
    5
    Charmingly ridiculous. Sometimes just plain ridiculous. And the rest of the time outright terrible.
  13. Cables
    Nov 28, 2007
    5
    Marcia Gay Harden's character is one of the most annoying characters i've ever seen in a movie and she needed to take an exit MUCH earlier. Some parts of this movie were laugh out loud terrible. Some parts were just creepy. The special effects were also laugh out loud bad. It's a rare case of a completely average movie with a pretty good ending (even if it was terribly depressing).
  14. JohnM
    Nov 26, 2007
    4
    The movie was good for a while but it grew increasingly ridiculous and the ending was so far from what any real person with sense would do. If you are a fan of quitters watch this awful movie.
  15. MariusS.
    Dec 26, 2007
    10
    Steven King at his best,. I truly enjoyed this movie, excellent!
  16. Dec 12, 2011
    1
    It was pretty terrible and a rather generic film up until the very end, Literally the last scene of the film. Acting was below average and I expected far better, The story wasnt interesting, and the ending was just so stupid but its a hilariously stupid ending (if you have a sick sense of humor like me). Its a rather trashy film if you ask me.
  17. AndrewL
    Jul 10, 2009
    10
    Once again i was almost fooled by the critics, the movie was brilliant. its actually very hardcore, not in a violent sense, although it is quite graphic. for a modern horror movie im surprised how little it makes you jump, this was a good thing, it didnt need cheap scare tactics to totally creep you out, it does it through the people in the mall and how they react to the situation. the Once again i was almost fooled by the critics, the movie was brilliant. its actually very hardcore, not in a violent sense, although it is quite graphic. for a modern horror movie im surprised how little it makes you jump, this was a good thing, it didnt need cheap scare tactics to totally creep you out, it does it through the people in the mall and how they react to the situation. the movie really was great, scary, fun, intense, suspenseful, really just a great horror flick. the Ending, by far, is one of the most powerful pieces of cinema ive seen, ever. Expand
  18. MicheleC.
    Mar 30, 2008
    0
    This movie had it's moments and could have been a pretty good movie if not for the absolute horrific ending. I have 2 young sons and this upset me to my core! The dumbest outcome I have ever seen in a movie.
  19. NK
    Mar 29, 2008
    5
    Not weighty enough to be the intellectual film Darabont wants it to be, not scary enough to be the horror film it should be. (And as ever, the monsters just aren't scary...)
  20. JohnD.
    Feb 9, 2010
    4
    Do yourself a favour: skip to the end. The Mist features one-dimensional characterisations, hammy effects and dialogue unrealistic enough to be laughable. The final 15 minutes are maaaybe work watching. Its just a shame the same can't be said for the 111 dirge-like minutes that preceed it.
  21. ClifC.
    Mar 9, 2009
    5
    Ridiculous acting, Thomas Jane can't act. Only the biggest monster was well done, the others were quite ridiculous. The other bizarre thing was the plot trying to separate minds and opinions with religious, scientifics and rationalists beliefs. I'm not a religious at all and I'm a rationalist, but I was quite shocked by the semi-hidden insults made to both opinions and Ridiculous acting, Thomas Jane can't act. Only the biggest monster was well done, the others were quite ridiculous. The other bizarre thing was the plot trying to separate minds and opinions with religious, scientifics and rationalists beliefs. I'm not a religious at all and I'm a rationalist, but I was quite shocked by the semi-hidden insults made to both opinions and beliefs. The good points: it was entertaining and despite the hidden insults towards both "camps" it was really interesting to see how human race reacts in front of an event like this. The worst is that it would be very probable. Expand
  22. CaseyD
    Oct 27, 2009
    5
    It would have been a 7 or 8 but that ending pissed me off.it was not original at all, i think I've seen and read that ending about a million times and it just makes people angry at this movie after watching it(it really was not needed, it was just plain horrible and disturbing and it made me mad at the "writer" of that ending). other than that, it was ok.
  23. Jul 17, 2011
    0
    Some tension - interesting effects - many annoying performances - ridiculous plot contrivances - many boring sections - a terrible movie - one of the worst ever that I've seen
  24. T
    May 6, 2008
    3
    I didn't see the first 10 minutes of the movie, but I feel like it didn't matter so much. I was also under the influence of alcohol when watching, which i thought would make it better...but it didn't. The acting is ho-hum, and every single horror-movie cliche you can think of is in this movie. Oh, and the special effects are bad. I will admit that I don't know much I didn't see the first 10 minutes of the movie, but I feel like it didn't matter so much. I was also under the influence of alcohol when watching, which i thought would make it better...but it didn't. The acting is ho-hum, and every single horror-movie cliche you can think of is in this movie. Oh, and the special effects are bad. I will admit that I don't know much about the horror genre, but I feel like there can be so much better than this drivel. Expand
  25. GraemeW
    Jun 16, 2008
    3
    Would of given it a couple of points more , if it wasn't the cheap trick of an ending , I do not need sugar sweetened , but 5 going out like that, unbelievable bunch of losers, the rest average b grade, not even funny, dialogue written by a 13 year old, but suppose that's Mr King, read him at that age. Don't mind my team losing as long as they play- bunch of losers
  26. TiberiuC.
    Jan 15, 2010
    0
    So bad I had to skip to the end. S. King simply can't write good books. And the movies based upon his books are even worse. Don't waste your time with this crap, there are many other good movies out there.
  27. AndreM
    Apr 26, 2009
    3
    I thought that it would be some kind of psycologic thriller, what would be a lot more interesting. However, the movie has some really boring alien bugs, just as in any other B class movie. That took a lot of the movie credibility away. Through the movie, there were some interesting parts, some funny and some very intense. But some (most of) the persons were extremely dumb, by taking too I thought that it would be some kind of psycologic thriller, what would be a lot more interesting. However, the movie has some really boring alien bugs, just as in any other B class movie. That took a lot of the movie credibility away. Through the movie, there were some interesting parts, some funny and some very intense. But some (most of) the persons were extremely dumb, by taking too long to decide to do something. And finnaly, the end was very, very sad, not bad, really, it was probably the most well thought part of the movie, but very sad. If it was with me, I would wait for the bugs come, not suicide so early. Expand
  28. LeeL.
    Nov 23, 2007
    0
    This was garbage, without a single authentic reaction from any of the actors, warmed-over horror cliches without an ounce of fresh air, and absurd pretension pawned off as knowing social commentary. Maybe it would work for five-year-olds.
  29. Sep 1, 2010
    2
    Cloud of mist appears over a lake, traps people in a supermarket, mayhem ensues.
    Stereotypes galore, awful dialogue, general stupidity all round & I wanted most of the people dead about 25 minutes in.
    Ending is quite good though.
    Watch The Fog, Dawn of the Dead & The Thing which this steals from but are much, much better.
  30. HamedM.
    Jul 20, 2008
    9
    This is one of the greatest movies that i have ever seen about the human and God. They (the main characters) died because of losing their practical faith in God.
  31. JakeW.
    Jan 20, 2008
    9
    This movie was fantastic and leaves a lot to the imagination. It's not your typical ending and heroes die. See it if you like shows like the outer Limits or the Twilight Zone.
  32. JohnL.
    Mar 30, 2008
    9
    I really liked this movie, i went into it expecting a lot considering the director (frank darabont) and it really did not disappoint.The horror genre seems like its geting harder and harder to do well and too many movies are taking influences from asian horror cinema and it was fresh in the beginning (the ring) but now the movies are all too similar in theme and mood and frankly the I really liked this movie, i went into it expecting a lot considering the director (frank darabont) and it really did not disappoint.The horror genre seems like its geting harder and harder to do well and too many movies are taking influences from asian horror cinema and it was fresh in the beginning (the ring) but now the movies are all too similar in theme and mood and frankly the reviews speak for themselves those movies are terrible..As your watching this movie you really start to get scared, not because of whats jumping out from around a corner but from the ideas behind the story...that our worst fears are often found in ourselves..This is the best horror movie i have seen since frailty (2002)...i hope i dont have to wait another 6 years for another quality horror title Expand
  33. CoryG
    Apr 25, 2008
    8
    Good movie, but omg, what was up with the ending!?!?!?
  34. FB.
    Jul 4, 2008
    8
    Fair amount of suspense (hard to make a good monster movie these days) great character interaction especially once the weakest ones are done away with. One of the better book-to-screen adaption of any of king's books I have seen yet. Even better when you look at the budget they had to make this movie with. Above all the LEAST Hollywood ending ever made the movie a standout.
  35. PhilM.
    Jul 6, 2008
    7
    Alright something about this movie made me like it despite alot of flaws. I can't really put my finger on what made it great to watch, I guess it was how they just set up everything. How the story was told. If you understand what I mean then this movie is for you. Despite the good points, the CG was pretty bad, but that's forgivable, considering I'm a 3d artist and actually Alright something about this movie made me like it despite alot of flaws. I can't really put my finger on what made it great to watch, I guess it was how they just set up everything. How the story was told. If you understand what I mean then this movie is for you. Despite the good points, the CG was pretty bad, but that's forgivable, considering I'm a 3d artist and actually KNOW WHAT IT'S LIKE TO CREATE, unlike many idiots who just watch and whinge. Also, I agree with one of the posters here who said the characters did things that people wouldn't do in real life. I found myself going "JUST SAY THIS" or "YOU WOULD DO THIS INSTEAD". Overall, worth the watch. Expand
  36. UliD.
    Nov 30, 2007
    3
    Sorry. but , like nearley all Stephen King Films -> worse than the book. for me , as a european watcher, this film is more a propagandistic film than one close to the story. i have read this book ( or a part of it , as in the german form , you just can have it combined with some other short stories) and i even tried to make my own theorie of makin a theatre production out of it ( but i Sorry. but , like nearley all Stephen King Films -> worse than the book. for me , as a european watcher, this film is more a propagandistic film than one close to the story. i have read this book ( or a part of it , as in the german form , you just can have it combined with some other short stories) and i even tried to make my own theorie of makin a theatre production out of it ( but i missed , because it went too funny). i have to say - (sorry my english is not very good) the latest poin where i was depressed by this film was after the action when the alien with flys came in inthe supermarket. If i can remember exactly the action with mrs carmody didn`happen in the book like this. ( for me a kind of pathetic action, which is made to solidarize the creationists in the US )i don ´t know if S.K. would like to have it that way... another thing is the animation and the look, - toomuch cgi which takes away the best of the story. you(guys from teh film), woul have been dine better to make more strange sequences from actions and cuts we all know, (in the supermarket ) (especially there !!!) instead of wasting toomuch time by animating sceneries ..i read this book oftenenough, butmaybe european guys have another taste of sth. like . that but i have to say ( for me ) -> finally i have expected more. Expand
  37. PhilB.
    Dec 3, 2007
    7
    The feeling of "surrealness" that the movie captures is exceptional. There are not too many moments where the characters are doing something stupid to move the story along. As you watch you end up feeling lost/helpless just as the story intends you too. (NO SPOILERS HERE) The ending just floors you...the whole movie just floors you. Whether you think the "monsters" are cheesy or The feeling of "surrealness" that the movie captures is exceptional. There are not too many moments where the characters are doing something stupid to move the story along. As you watch you end up feeling lost/helpless just as the story intends you too. (NO SPOILERS HERE) The ending just floors you...the whole movie just floors you. Whether you think the "monsters" are cheesy or unbelievable, that is not the point as the whole situation is unbelievable, but the movie does a great job of showing you a believable story in an unbelievable situation. Not the best, but definitely worth watching if you like movies with good stories. Horror fans might not like it because it is not a true horror. Action fans might not like it because there is not enough action. This is a good story, with good acting, direction and cinematography. Expand
  38. vidMan
    Dec 8, 2007
    8
    When I first saw the trailer I though it was another "Storm of the Century." And when you see the movie it seems to have influences from that story as well as possibly a few video games. But it all ties together nicely, eventually finding it's own identity. At it's worst, the stupidity of some characters may actually aggravate the audience. The monsters are obviously CG. When I first saw the trailer I though it was another "Storm of the Century." And when you see the movie it seems to have influences from that story as well as possibly a few video games. But it all ties together nicely, eventually finding it's own identity. At it's worst, the stupidity of some characters may actually aggravate the audience. The monsters are obviously CG. Overall, this movie has an interesting point of view, tension filled scenes, and unexpected results. Good movie. Expand
  39. ChadS.
    Dec 9, 2007
    6
    "The Mist" reminded me of the original "Twilight Zone" when Rod Serling experimented with a one-hour format. Both, the anthology show and current Stephen King adaptation, undoubtedly are overlong and overstays its welcome. Reminiscent of "The Monsters Are Due on Maple Street", "The Mist" even has a twist ending that punches you in the gut. Give the film its due; the political allegory "The Mist" reminded me of the original "Twilight Zone" when Rod Serling experimented with a one-hour format. Both, the anthology show and current Stephen King adaptation, undoubtedly are overlong and overstays its welcome. Reminiscent of "The Monsters Are Due on Maple Street", "The Mist" even has a twist ending that punches you in the gut. Give the film its due; the political allegory might be a little hackneyed, but at least the film tries to be relevant as well as entertaining. Brent Norton(Andre Braugher) is like a member of President Bush's administration who ignores the people who are better informed and ends up getting his followers killed. "The Mist" also reminds people that American has its share of religious zealots; it's not just Iraq. As Mrs. Carmody, Marcia Gay Harden is such a showstopper, her performance feels better suited for the stage. She gives "The Mist" that filmed-play feel. Mrs. Carmody and Brent are the real monsters, not that squid thing(hey, NBC already gave us "The Beast", this monster is like SNL's Land Shark) who kills without prejudice. Rhetoric is what gets us killed. Expand
  40. Matt
    Oct 7, 2008
    0
    Really bad horror movie. Absolutely awful. I guess it only takes 3 days in a fully food-stocked grocery store for humans to revert back to the tribal stage of society. There's a bunch of really obvious, bad commentary on small towns, religion, and the military - insulting to each group in its own way. The monsters are incredibly bland. If we're to understand correctly, these Really bad horror movie. Absolutely awful. I guess it only takes 3 days in a fully food-stocked grocery store for humans to revert back to the tribal stage of society. There's a bunch of really obvious, bad commentary on small towns, religion, and the military - insulting to each group in its own way. The monsters are incredibly bland. If we're to understand correctly, these things come from another dimension, but the best they could come up with is bigger versions of dragonflies, pterodactyls, squids, spiders, and lobsters? Fun fact: If you imagine the protagonist screaming "JUMANJIIIIIII" at the end instead of just screaming, it almost makes it worth the rental price in pure comedic value. Almost. Expand
  41. JayH.
    Mar 19, 2008
    7
    Great horror flick, really scary and imaginatively done. Excellent special effects, good characters that are nicely defined, superb atmosphere. creepy and very engrossing.
  42. SamJ
    Mar 24, 2008
    2
    To Me. It was a up and down movie with a STUPID ending. How could anyone shot there own kid and people you said you were going to save! Just plan Stupid
  43. KhalidN.
    Mar 28, 2008
    8
    Awesome movie! the ending is about why people commit suicide, the pressure of hopelessness, the anit-happy ending that these modern horror movies fail to achieve, the mist has so much to say about modern society and there's freakin giant monsters.
  44. MarkJ.
    Mar 28, 2008
    6
    A nicely minimal movie that moves forward through the standard cliches, cheesecake dialog, and implausible decisions as creatively as it can. If it weren't for an absolute failure of an ending this would be the stuff of b-movie legends.
  45. HeatherB.
    Mar 30, 2008
    1
    Out of touch dialog...the re-writers just massacred Kings novel...the messy dialog and the unrealistic character reactions were a constant distraction. The only reason I give it a 1 is for when Mrs. Carmody was shot in the gut and then in the head....that was the best part and the most realistic part of the whole movie....other then that, such a disappointment.
  46. TommyP.
    Apr 27, 2008
    0
    As this movie was a Stephen King film, I will say my sister and i just finished up watching it. The acting and one sided thought process of the people in the film made me utterly "PISSED OFF" The Mist was the most annoying, and totally against the way an actual human adult would act, let alone comunicate with eachother. I would not ask anyone to watch this flick. I have never gotten angry As this movie was a Stephen King film, I will say my sister and i just finished up watching it. The acting and one sided thought process of the people in the film made me utterly "PISSED OFF" The Mist was the most annoying, and totally against the way an actual human adult would act, let alone comunicate with eachother. I would not ask anyone to watch this flick. I have never gotten angry at a movie until now! Expand
  47. MikeC.
    Apr 3, 2008
    8
    The film does two things extremely well. First, you have to make the viewer want the bad guy (woman in this case) dead, really, really badly. Check. Second, it really pulls off the death to the living and no hope for all ending quite well. That's why Invasion of The Bodysnatchers sticks with you forever. These kinds of endings are not common, so enjoy them.
  48. AlanM.
    Apr 5, 2008
    9
    A haunting vision that examines peoples' limits. Having read "The Mist" the same year Skeleton Crew came out, it has been to this day my favourite novella by King. As such, I'm well aware that the majority of film adaptations of King's work tend to bomb quite horribly. This movie, however, did not leave me with a sour taste after it was over. The premise of the military A haunting vision that examines peoples' limits. Having read "The Mist" the same year Skeleton Crew came out, it has been to this day my favourite novella by King. As such, I'm well aware that the majority of film adaptations of King's work tend to bomb quite horribly. This movie, however, did not leave me with a sour taste after it was over. The premise of the military creating this havoc is by no means a new idea, yet with a mild suspension of belief it's plausible. The CGI, I admit, was certainly not up to the standards of today's big budget films but then I can easily understand that the terrors in the mist was not the primary conflict. No, that distinction was humanity's basic instincts. It would be folly to assume that society has the capacity to hunker down in any post-apocalyptic situation and easily overcome it's own shortcomings. As a species, we are all capable of mistakes, and when confronted by our worst fears (both imagined and real), every person will react differently. Everyone has a limit. At what point they reach that limit varies, and throughout the movie we are shown where those limits are. The dialogue, often criticized for being cliche, worked for me as it felt more realistic than what Hollywood tends to do with how people communicate to one another. The ending, while surprising different from the novella, did not take away anything from the movie. Nay, it was just another example of someone reaching their limit for dealing with something beyond their means. With news stories throughout the years regarding people who have faced their own tragedies and chosen the more horryifying result, is it any wonder we see the same here? Bottom line, if you think that we as a species are infallible, this move is not for you. If you were expecting a horror film with scary monsters, this film is not for you. If you are open to the idea that we, as people, are capable of giving up hope when we have reached our limits... then yes, this movie is for you. Expand
  49. BilalY.
    Apr 7, 2008
    3
    The movie is full of crap. There are all sorts of monsters, the one's with tenticles, the spiders, the mosquitoes, you name it. Acting was not too impressive either. And dont even ask about the ending.
  50. vs.dobbs
    Apr 8, 2008
    0
    Goodness, this was horrible. I was laughing thru the entire thing. The dialogue was atrocious--among the worst I've ever heard. Hard to believe a pro screenwriter did this.
  51. SteveB.
    Aug 11, 2008
    10
    Excellent adaptation of the novella. I like the nods to other horror movies and the rose from the Dark Tower that it is rumored that Thomas Jane will also be in. The ending is phenomenal, a true horror classic.
  52. TammyR.
    Aug 9, 2008
    10
    This is a great movie that i really enjoyed. Worthwhile to see it.
  53. Dylan
    Sep 30, 2008
    10
    An exemplary piece of horror filmmaking.
  54. BillB.
    Nov 8, 2009
    9
    As with most effective horror movies, The Mist scares you most when the threat is what you cannot see. Thanks to Darabont's direction, the tension doesn't let up as the mystery is slowly revealed. The danger posed by some within the grocery store only amps it up. And the ending nearly knocked me to the floor. This is certainly not your run-of-the mill gross-out flick.
  55. RickyM.
    Oct 19, 2009
    8
    The ending is black but the film up til then is great harrowing and breathtakingly scary.
  56. TommyG.
    Jan 23, 2009
    10
    Absorbing and scary - This skillful horror film treats the viewer with intelligence. The characters make you belief in the premise. Some of the special effects could be a little better, but the construction, attention to detail and multiple layers of storytelling (not to mention the entirely haunting ending) certainly make of for it. Darabont's really great with the actors too.
  57. RobertS
    Sep 19, 2009
    9
    I love a horror film that goes for the bleak and the depressing - this is the horror genre folks, why on Earth would I want a 'happy ending' to all that has gone before? Keep your ludicrous 'Sorority Row', 'Friday the 13th' and 'Saw' claptrap and give me a group of people riven by mistrust, fear of 'what's out there' and attempting to I love a horror film that goes for the bleak and the depressing - this is the horror genre folks, why on Earth would I want a 'happy ending' to all that has gone before? Keep your ludicrous 'Sorority Row', 'Friday the 13th' and 'Saw' claptrap and give me a group of people riven by mistrust, fear of 'what's out there' and attempting to exert their influence over others. That's horror - not the monsters (and the effects are not that bad for a film that had a pretty low budget), not the short term visceral satisfaction of arterial spray that most of us are desensitized to know anyway or the B movie trimmimngs that Darabont provides along the way. The confrontations between the people in the store is far more engaging and suspenseful, and even if the film doesn't quite make the points it wants to (although it mostly manages) it at least attempts to have some meat and bones to it. Which is more than can be said for other so-called horrors of late. For my money, one of the more memorable horror films of the last couple of years and one that I frequently recommend to others. Expand
  58. RickC.
    Nov 22, 2007
    9
    A wicked little horror flick with a good cast, authentic reactions, consequences of actions, deft camera work, music that stays largely ambient, decent special effects, a terrific "villain," an assortment of Lovecraftian monsters and a polarizing ending. What's not to like?! The most fun I've had at a monster movie since The Host.
  59. ChaseK.
    Nov 22, 2007
    3
    Bad special effects, bad acting, pretty much a complete, total misfire. It just feels like it should have gone straight to DVD...or TV.
  60. [Anonymous]
    Nov 23, 2007
    10
    What an ending. That's all I can even say about it. I never want to see it again, it was painful to watch, but so worth it. It's a really interesting look into the mindset of desperate people, more than it is a typical King horror flick.
  61. MattF
    Nov 23, 2007
    9
    The mist while not a horror, is completely suspenseful and disturbing, the ending, which changed from the book works like a breath of fresh air. The creatures looked terrifying the effects worked well and Thomas Jane gives his usual solid performance. Finally a Stephen King horror done right! Please so see this and save R rated horror!
  62. J.B.
    Nov 24, 2007
    8
    Generally it's one of the better and most faithful of Stephen King adaptations. Some of the character development slows the movie down a 'bit, but without that development the characters and the dynamics of the group would seem more as if they were all following a script rather than their reactions developing from the situation. Marcia Gay Harden's character is not as Generally it's one of the better and most faithful of Stephen King adaptations. Some of the character development slows the movie down a 'bit, but without that development the characters and the dynamics of the group would seem more as if they were all following a script rather than their reactions developing from the situation. Marcia Gay Harden's character is not as ham-fisted as a lesser director would have allowed her to be, and Thomas Jane makes the hero a well-rounded character. The ending, serves more as a flip-side view of the original story while preserving the dark tone - and it still works as one of those ironic "gotcha", "Twilight Zone" type endings. The movie shows us just enough of what's in the mist as it cinematically should in adapting this story, and the score is wonderfully spare and moody (and I loved that there was no pop-tune over the end credits, just the background sound effects to leave you in a pensive mood, the same as the original story. I've hoped for a long time they could adapt this King story well, and I'm not disappointed. Expand
  63. RyanN.
    Nov 24, 2007
    8
    Great investigation into how groups of people may react in extreme situations. Monster CG not as realistic as it could have been, but creepy mood achieved through use of the actual mist.
  64. RobertC.
    Nov 24, 2007
    9
    Whoa. The Mist, Frank Darabont's newest film version of a Stephen King tale, is a kick in the gut. Adapted from a nearly flawless novella originally published in the Kirby McCauley edited 1983 anthology DARK FORCES, The Mist recalls George A. Romero's Night of the Living Dead for sheer apocalyptic dread. Moreover, like Romero's film, The Mist owns an ending brutal in its Whoa. The Mist, Frank Darabont's newest film version of a Stephen King tale, is a kick in the gut. Adapted from a nearly flawless novella originally published in the Kirby McCauley edited 1983 anthology DARK FORCES, The Mist recalls George A. Romero's Night of the Living Dead for sheer apocalyptic dread. Moreover, like Romero's film, The Mist owns an ending brutal in its anguish. Whereas King's novella ends with ambiguity concerning the survival of the characters and the world, Darabont's film serves a clear denoument that leaves the viewer emotionally exhausted, helpless, and weirdly satisfied. I left the theater satisfied that I'd seen a nearly perfect horror film whose intact and intelligent subtext and resonance is difficult to find at today's multiplex. I also left the theater satisfied that the filmmakers respected me as a member of the audience. Like Night and James Gunn's Slither, The Mist is bright, intellectual popcorn horror steeped deeply in the human condition. Darabont utilises the "desert island" trope as creatively as Romero did in 1968. This trope strands several people in a place where there is little or no chance of escape and allows the human part of them to take over. Greed, cowardice, need for order, all these things rise to the surface and the people trapped in the island become dangerous. In the case of Romero's and Darabont's films, the people trapped in the farmhouse and grocery store become more dangerous than the ghouls and creepy other-dimensional crawlies who wish to consume them. More importantly, like Romero, Darabont doesn't flinch in presenting an ending that belongs more in the European ouvre of Austria's Michael Haneke than in a Hollywood film. Perhaps the Weinstein brothers, who produced, understand that The Mist is material in need of a resonant and stunning denoument to respect every action and death occurring throughout the story. Regardless, go and see this movie! You will not regret it. Expand
  65. BCguy85
    Nov 25, 2007
    10
    this is what movies are about. getting people passionate about a movie. when I'm in a theater and people are cheering when things are happening you know it's got a good impact. it's also nice to have endings you don't see coming.
  66. BillyS.
    Dec 11, 2007
    6
    The only person who could make a great movie of a King book was Kubrick, and he changed the screenplay so drastically that The Shining became his own. The Mist is the latest and this time Frank Darabont comes closer than anyone since in capturing the claustrophobic fear of a King book, but it's the special effects in this one that cheapen the whole film and take away from the real The only person who could make a great movie of a King book was Kubrick, and he changed the screenplay so drastically that The Shining became his own. The Mist is the latest and this time Frank Darabont comes closer than anyone since in capturing the claustrophobic fear of a King book, but it's the special effects in this one that cheapen the whole film and take away from the real story of people trapped inside a supermarket where evil lurks in a fog outside. Marcia Gay Harden is impressive as a Bush-like fanatical Christian with delusions of grandeur who becomes more of a threat than the tentacled creatures outside. As unbelievable as the ending was, I did like the way Darabont didn't sugar coat it. It ain't The Shining folks, but it's the best King adaptation since. Expand
  67. PhilS.
    Dec 1, 2007
    9
    A terrifric movie for several reasons and one the best scary films in years.
  68. MichaelL.
    Dec 2, 2007
    10
    At last, a smart, scary, fearless American horror film. 2007 has been a bleak year for terror, and with critics anointing the ghastly "1408" and the dumb-dumb "The Host" as brilliant, I wasn't expecting much from "The Mist". I was mistaken. Excellent acting (Bravo, Marcia Gay Harden!), some jump-out-of-your seat jolts, and an all-too real ending make this the best creepshow I've At last, a smart, scary, fearless American horror film. 2007 has been a bleak year for terror, and with critics anointing the ghastly "1408" and the dumb-dumb "The Host" as brilliant, I wasn't expecting much from "The Mist". I was mistaken. Excellent acting (Bravo, Marcia Gay Harden!), some jump-out-of-your seat jolts, and an all-too real ending make this the best creepshow I've seen since 2006's "The Descent". Simple-minded viewers who need a "let's kick some Martian butt!" all-American ending will be angry at the conclusion of this film... good! Thank God Darabont had the clarity of vision to see this thing through to its (blessedly non-heavy metal soundtrack) closing credits. Expand
  69. BenB.
    Dec 3, 2007
    9
    What a great horror movie this is, an homage to the old style classics that not only were unafraid to take risks, but to tell an actual story, one that didn't rely on the body count and gore and sex and drugs and pretty much every other kind of trash out there that eventually took over the genre, but on pure, unadulterated suspense. What makes 'The Mist' work isn't in What a great horror movie this is, an homage to the old style classics that not only were unafraid to take risks, but to tell an actual story, one that didn't rely on the body count and gore and sex and drugs and pretty much every other kind of trash out there that eventually took over the genre, but on pure, unadulterated suspense. What makes 'The Mist' work isn't in it's monsters (which are a visual delight), or in it's gore (which is actually effective and disturbing, something Eli Roth should take note), or even in it's scares (which are certainly nerve jangling) Expand
  70. SamN.
    Feb 22, 2008
    8
    The movie is by no means perfect, but it's extremely well made, with admirable performances and an astounding ending. Yet while the performances are admirable, they're certainly not perfect, and some of the dialouge doesn't help. Another thing bothered me was the fact that too much of the creatures were shown. It left little to the imagination, with the exception of the The movie is by no means perfect, but it's extremely well made, with admirable performances and an astounding ending. Yet while the performances are admirable, they're certainly not perfect, and some of the dialouge doesn't help. Another thing bothered me was the fact that too much of the creatures were shown. It left little to the imagination, with the exception of the tentacle creature. As I mentioned before, the ending is absolutely phenomenal. I certainly hope those of you that disliked the ending weren't expecting a 'Ok, the mist has gone away, let's go home, lol' type of ending. If anything, the movie bitch slaps those of you that were expecting that. And, to Annie R. Marcia Gay Harden wasn't really a 'Christian'. She was more of a pagan. Collapse
  71. WayneC.
    Feb 25, 2008
    7
    If you concentrate on the cheap special effects, you'll be disappointed; but if you read it as a modern morality tale -- how do we fight an enemy we cannot see or eawsily identify (?) -- then the film has some merit; the ending is harrowing but just a bit this side of cliche (as in "we may have seen it somewhere else before but it still makes us wrench").
  72. IanR.
    Mar 14, 2008
    9
    I thought it was a great movie, not like most horrors with a twist to make a happy ending, which can make a movie dull sometimes.
  73. LucyK.
    Mar 21, 2008
    2
    Absolute drivel. Condescending, frustrating, slow moving and disappointing. Two hours of my life I'll never get back.
  74. JimR.
    Mar 31, 2008
    1
    The ending was totaly out of character with the other 120 mins of wasted time. We shut the DVD off the second he stepped out of the truck. This was no way to end this movie. I will never recommend this to my friends
  75. KenN.
    Mar 30, 2008
    8
    Christians will not like the strong anti-christian themes and folks specifically wanting a super-gory bloody horror flick wont like all of the dialog. I liked the depressing ending myself because it was unexpected. The acting was better than usual in this genre. The film aspires to be more intellectual than the typical horror film and it almost succeeds. Almost.
  76. JackS.
    Mar 31, 2008
    9
    The monsters are a MacGuffin, the real creatures to fear are inside the store. This is a very good movie. People who dismiss it are missing the bigger picture. Marcia Gay Harden is spectacular, one of the greates female villans in the history of film. Just give this film a chance. You will not be disapointed.
  77. UweB.
    Apr 13, 2008
    3
    Rubbish... the ending was dreadful - why anyone couldn't see that coming a mile off I don't know. Generally poor effects, tediously over-acted, cardboard characters and shallow to boot. Just goes to show that quality horror is still hard to find.
  78. JoelR.
    Apr 15, 2008
    7
    Truly creepy, horrible in many instances. The characters were believable, and some you actually cared about. The feeling of hopelessness, sheer devastation, loss is felt throughout. The ending leaves you wrought over.
  79. JohnM.
    Apr 4, 2008
    8
    Wow, the uncompromising ending is why I would recommend this movie. It raises and exentuates the fact that this movie is about people, not monsters or "creatures from another world coming for BLOOD". Christians who are upset by this film need to get a grip on the fact that just because a character, fictional or real, uses the words God or Bible to defend their terrible behavior Wow, the uncompromising ending is why I would recommend this movie. It raises and exentuates the fact that this movie is about people, not monsters or "creatures from another world coming for BLOOD". Christians who are upset by this film need to get a grip on the fact that just because a character, fictional or real, uses the words God or Bible to defend their terrible behavior doesn't make them Godly nor Christian. This movie is a character study that in the end punches you in the gut. Like life outside of Hollywood often does Expand
  80. MattB.
    Apr 4, 2008
    9
    This movie had some excellent scenes (notably the spider one) and great character development. You know a film is good when you passionately hate and/or love some of the characters in it. What really blew me away was the ending... it was spectacular. You never see it coming and it is SO Stephen King!! The best ending to a horror movie ever. Period.
  81. UlfE.
    Apr 5, 2008
    9
    The movie has truly scary moments and manages to create a hopeless and eerie atmosphere. It
  82. TommyF.
    Apr 7, 2008
    1
    Big disappointment with a fat snooze.
  83. PeterB.
    Apr 8, 2008
    8
    Stumbles here and there, but otherwise creepy and intense. Although, it must be said, the movie is eventually betrayed by its Twilight ZOne ending.
  84. IanM.
    May 7, 2008
    0
    Absolutely appalling movie - offensively bad!! Rubbish plot, rubbish characters and rubbish script. The final 'twist' is also laughably bad. People will try and tell you this film is 'deep' and 'meaningful' with it's lazy attempt at social commentary. It's not. IT'S RUBBISH!!!!!!!
  85. EinarJ.
    May 9, 2008
    7
    Surprising. What I felt lacked in sci-fi horror, appeared in overly-religious persecution. The acting was overall, just amazing. And the end, despite being a bit obvious, made me sob a tear (anti-crying in the movies).. It was just.. great. Wow... Much better than I had expected.
  86. JW
    Jun 19, 2008
    2
    I gave this a two for high creepiness potential. Unfortunately, the characters are so phony and unbelievable, especially the Crazy Christian Lady (how many times have we seen that one in a Hollywood Movie), that the movie, at times, becomes just plain ridiculous. The ending also reminded me of a famous Twilight Zone episode, but I won't say which one.
  87. VictorN
    Jun 21, 2008
    0
    Boring story, bad acting and the characters acted very strange and did things any normal person never would do. It was just so fucking bad. And the ending is an example of all the things that is bad about the movie that I just said. I don't think anyone could take it seriously because of the unlikeliness of anyone doing that. And the bad acting turned the horrible ending to one of Boring story, bad acting and the characters acted very strange and did things any normal person never would do. It was just so fucking bad. And the ending is an example of all the things that is bad about the movie that I just said. I don't think anyone could take it seriously because of the unlikeliness of anyone doing that. And the bad acting turned the horrible ending to one of the most funny things I've ever seen. Made me and the guy next to me laugh (the girl I went with didn't laugh because she was asleep). And that wasn't the first time I laughed during the movie. Wouldn't recommend anyone to watch it. Expand
  88. Jester
    Jul 10, 2008
    10
    This movie was wonderful, trashy, and stupid in all the right ways!!
  89. JohnC.
    Jul 11, 2008
    10
    Gory and gruesome, just tht way I like it.
  90. MichaelA.
    Jul 12, 2008
    10
    Scary, thought-provoking, surprisingly brutal ending. Worth watching.
  91. lol
    Jul 12, 2008
    9
    The ending was unneccesarily bad, even for this kind of movie. Otherwise, the acting, plot, action, atmosphere and mood of the movie was great.
  92. ColeC.
    Jul 20, 2008
    9
    Frank Darabont was offered twice the amount of the money if he changed the ending. He said no (Bravo), and what you get is undiluted horror movie. The characters are well developed. The almost instant social -fracturing that takes place amongst them is brilliant, and is quite reminiscent of some the George A. Romero movies. The creepies that lurk in the mist are also intriguing, as is Frank Darabont was offered twice the amount of the money if he changed the ending. He said no (Bravo), and what you get is undiluted horror movie. The characters are well developed. The almost instant social -fracturing that takes place amongst them is brilliant, and is quite reminiscent of some the George A. Romero movies. The creepies that lurk in the mist are also intriguing, as is concept of where they came from. So clearly, compared to the endless "Grudges" and "saw" rehashes of late, this movie offers a fresh breathe of air, albeit misty one. Expand
  93. fnarlfnarl
    Jul 5, 2008
    0
    Awful. rubbish special effects. the bugs looked like they had the faces of toothless old men. but in fairness they had more expressions and talent than the human cast. hammy hammy ham ham. woefully stupid characters with ridiculous compulsions to do things no one would ever do. mob rule is speedy in this town. left wing, right wing? either way you'll be embarrassed by the Awful. rubbish special effects. the bugs looked like they had the faces of toothless old men. but in fairness they had more expressions and talent than the human cast. hammy hammy ham ham. woefully stupid characters with ridiculous compulsions to do things no one would ever do. mob rule is speedy in this town. left wing, right wing? either way you'll be embarrassed by the 'political' and 'religious' critique this film is apparently attempting to offer. watching your ball sack move is more exciting than this film. so much of it is unintentionally funny. the last scene is completely daft and as unbelievable as the rest of this bag of muck. good points: it will leave you with a sense that there can never be a worse film made (unless this idiot tries to make another one). regardless of his previous work, this movie is bereft of personality. people who give this a good review probably just like the shawshank redemption too much. RUN AWAY! Expand
  94. TheWileyG.
    Jul 5, 2008
    0
    Best feel-good comedy ever! Pity that because I definitely don't think that was the angle they were going for! The crazy religious nut was laughable (to see other reviews trying to get her notimated for an Oscar actually makes me feel ill). As far as special effects go, I have to say that nothing (and I mean nothing) lives up to the real thing. Why does every alien creature these Best feel-good comedy ever! Pity that because I definitely don't think that was the angle they were going for! The crazy religious nut was laughable (to see other reviews trying to get her notimated for an Oscar actually makes me feel ill). As far as special effects go, I have to say that nothing (and I mean nothing) lives up to the real thing. Why does every alien creature these days have that plasticy glaze? The casting agent obviously had one thing on their mind when they embarked upon their only task, and that was probably something like 'two expressions max guys. Ok so, eyebrows up, eyebrows down - you're hired! But maybe practice the eyebrows up for a bit before we start'. I heard rumours of a political undertone - and yeah, I suppose there was one but for crying out loud. Things just wouldn't get that out of control in the space of 3 days. The human race has come a long way...we know how to survive - it's like an in-built mechanism triggered by life threatening events. Many horror films play on this, and they can do it well, evoking our very senses, making us believe in the characters because they do the things that we'd do ourselves. That's how you build characters. Not by jamming a load of brief interpersonal meetings into 3 minute slots one after the other! Oh the amount of times I had to turn to my boyfriend and say 'cut the rope' 'leave him to die' 'get in the bloody car' which was all in good fun but you'd want to be a complete drone to enjoy this movie. The ending is not by any means harrowing - but it will have you in stitches - just wait til the desperate screaming part, you won't be disappointed! I'm mystified (potential pun here?) as to why this film is getting good reviews. If you read this and choose to ignore it, can I just say 'told ya so!'...you've been warned. Bring a laughter buddy and lots of popcorn to keep you awake. I'm scared of a lotta things, but mist isn't one of 'em...and if I had been there I would have just locked that mental religious lady in the toilet with her portable mini-bible to keep her busy. She'd shut up eventually. Also, guns don't solve everything...you'd think the Americans would know that by now. And if you're driving for ages and you think you might possibly run outta fuel, just ditch your car and get in another one. Duh! I shudder. Go see 'Wanted' instead...James McAvoy is a total hottie. Expand
  95. rofl?lol
    Aug 5, 2008
    10
    Amazingly retarded ending... otherwise, the best acting, scares, creepiness and atmosphere in a horror movie ever.
  96. JamesA.
    Jun 29, 2009
    8
    Some people will think that this movie does little to set it apart in any commendable way; I think it does just that in remarkable ways. First, let me start off by telling you what you won't see in this movie that you see in so many others nowadays. You won't see wasteful, unrealistic, over the top action thrown in just for over the top action's sake. You won't see Some people will think that this movie does little to set it apart in any commendable way; I think it does just that in remarkable ways. First, let me start off by telling you what you won't see in this movie that you see in so many others nowadays. You won't see wasteful, unrealistic, over the top action thrown in just for over the top action's sake. You won't see recycled plot elements; there's no "Classical Hero's Journey" structure; there's no awkward, misplaced romances that punctuate the plot. You won't see bad acting or cheesy dialogue, nor will you see poor pacing. The movie's pacing is so that it emphasizes suspense, uncertainty, and the characters. The characters themselves are very well delivered, and you'll find yourself relating to them before things even go totally awry. The cast is top notch. The dialogue is believable and not trimmed down to the point where the characters seem less like people, and more like just a role in a plot. The plot itself comes with at least a couple twists, they won't throw you for a loop, but at least one (and I'm not giving anything away here) is so brutal, cruel, and unforgiving that it alone sets the movie apart from the status quo, and had me outright clapping for the guts it took. Now what don't I like about the movie? The central antagonist(s) in this movie is enigmatic and centers around the mist that has swept through the town in question. In this mist are other wordly beasts that are the center for very much terror. For the better part, most of these monsters are bland. They come with a lot of detail and are mostly well rendered, but most of them just don't seem imaginatively done enough to fill the plot role that they were given. That's not really important for the story though. Another negative is the source eventually suggested for these apocalyptic happenings. The source isn't necessarily believable given current scientific theory, but it's delivered in such a way that it's not set in stone, and still leaves the audience for the most part to make their own decision. A closing pitfall that the movie falls into is that it perhaps tries a little too hard to make political and religious commentary on humanity's nature, but without really accomplishing anything in its efforts that hadn't been heard before. Those elements were necessary in moving the story along and providing a powerful secondary conflict within the plot, but it just didn't do as much as it seemed that it was trying to, and it did try hard. I've mulled over this movie for hours, and those are the only three detracting drawbacks that I can really muster that wouldn't be unfair to the film. It's written well; it's acted well; it disregards a lot of stigmas, and it has a remarkably, brutal twist that will wrench your emotions to the core. In the horror department, it's suspenseful, not overly gory, although not entirely scary. It has its startle-moments, which'll play off of your jumping reflex, but it really hinges more on discomfort of the unknown, and on a deeply sorrowful unease. Expand
  97. zach
    Sep 18, 2009
    8
    This was a good movie. But be warned the ending i liked but if you hate unhappy endings don't watch.
  98. MidgardD.
    Nov 22, 2007
    9
    9/10 stars. Wonderful adaptation that followed the plot very closely with an added ending that shocks and amazes. The film was trying to show who the true monsters in the story are, and it clearly wasn't the supernatural creatures that arrived with the mist.
  99. sarah
    Nov 24, 2007
    10
    this movie is one of the best movies i've seen in a long time! i loved the way the director set up the tension and you could feel it. its like you don't know whats gonna happen next. overall the film was amazing! i will buy it the day it comes out on dvd!
Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 29
  2. Negative: 1 out of 29
  1. There's a grim modern parable to be read into the dangerous effects of the gospel-preaching local crazy lady Mrs. Carmody (brilliantly played by a hellfire Marcia Gay Harden) on a congregation of the fearful.
  2. Less horrific than it is horribly didactic.
  3. 60
    The Mist is itself a supermarket of B-movie essentials, handsomely stocked with bad science, stupid behavior, chewable lines of dialogue, religious fruitcakes, and a fine display of monsters.