Screen Gems | Release Date: August 21, 2013
6.2
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 308 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
169
Mixed:
48
Negative:
91
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
JTSTmommyAug 21, 2013
The books are always way better than the movies hands down, but I have to say that I really enjoyed the movie. It has been a while since I read the book, so I am not sure if they left out any important details. I was a bit worried when I sawThe books are always way better than the movies hands down, but I have to say that I really enjoyed the movie. It has been a while since I read the book, so I am not sure if they left out any important details. I was a bit worried when I saw the preview, but I have to say this is way better than Twilight and if I didn't have a child I would be seeing this a lot more then one time in the theatre. I am very annoyed by the critic's reviews because they have clearly never read the book. This is one of those movies that if you haven't read the book you will not understand the story. Expand
9 of 10 users found this helpful91
All this user's reviews
9
MarcelineAug 30, 2013
The critics are nuts. This is nothing like Twilight! Though if you want to compare it t others it is a cross between Harry Potter, Star Wars, Buffy the Vampire Slayer with a little bit if Dungeons and Dragons. And yet it is NOT those and isThe critics are nuts. This is nothing like Twilight! Though if you want to compare it t others it is a cross between Harry Potter, Star Wars, Buffy the Vampire Slayer with a little bit if Dungeons and Dragons. And yet it is NOT those and is an enjoyable movie all around. It is an excellent action-fantasy and is very funny without being a comedy. I highly recommended it! Expand
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
10
LunabelleAug 29, 2013
You critics don't know what you are talking about. Lets get one thing straight, Twilight does not rule any other supernatural movie franchise. So stop comparing it to The Mortal Instruments etc. Twilight was a love story. TMI is much moreYou critics don't know what you are talking about. Lets get one thing straight, Twilight does not rule any other supernatural movie franchise. So stop comparing it to The Mortal Instruments etc. Twilight was a love story. TMI is much more than that. As far as I can see if you don't love sci-fi, action, romance, comedy, fantasy in one novel and movie. It's not for you. But don't bash it because it didn't meet your needs. TMI will always have it's book fans and they will grow from fans of the movie and be supported. Shadow Hunters are not going anywhere. Oh and to the person who said that Cassie stole ideas from other novels/movies. Why are you not bashing every vampire, werewolf, witch etc. film/tv show or book made? Those ideas were ledgends already here before you were born. So no one stole any 'idea'. I love the books and the movie. x Expand
6 of 8 users found this helpful62
All this user's reviews
10
Raissa_SilvaAug 23, 2013
it's amazing, I love the books and the movie was perfect, everybody should watch more soon possible and please ignore the most critical and comparisons, really worth watch
9 of 13 users found this helpful94
All this user's reviews
8
StephmikoAug 21, 2013
If you have read the book, you will love this movie. Harald Zwart has managed to create basically the book on the screen. With including all the important scenes (they switched the order but still included it all), it made it a very enjoyableIf you have read the book, you will love this movie. Harald Zwart has managed to create basically the book on the screen. With including all the important scenes (they switched the order but still included it all), it made it a very enjoyable movie to watch as a fan of the book! However, if you are not a fan of the book, it may be a bit confusing. Some of the exposition given by Magnus was boring and it dragged the movie a bit but overall, I believe they did a good job! So if you can ignore some script awkwardness and a bit of story dragging, I think you should go out and watch the movie because I am personally looking forward to the next one! Expand
14 of 21 users found this helpful147
All this user's reviews
7
jikkyAug 21, 2013
I'm rating this based purely on how much I liked the movie. If I focused on plot gaps or script awkwardness, my rating would be much lower. However, I watched this (yes, I actually watched it it, unlike, I suspect, the writers of earlierI'm rating this based purely on how much I liked the movie. If I focused on plot gaps or script awkwardness, my rating would be much lower. However, I watched this (yes, I actually watched it it, unlike, I suspect, the writers of earlier user reviews) purely for kicks. The kick of a hot young cast, with hot older supporting actors, battling it up fantasy-style in New York. The CGI was impeccable, the action fun, and the script mostly not cringe-inducing. That is more than can be said for your typical YA movie. All in all I got what I came for-- fun. Expand
8 of 12 users found this helpful84
All this user's reviews
10
WalissonOliverAug 31, 2013
Surprinsingly a great movie. I went to watch it expecting another twilight wannabe, but in the middle of the way I was completely sold for this. I can't wait for the next movie.
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
9
hotelier777Sep 22, 2013
I'm glad I don't listen to the movie critics and give this movie a chance. I haven't read the book yet, but I enjoy the movie, love the story, even though it's not perfect. There is a part that I don't enjoy so much, i think they shouldI'm glad I don't listen to the movie critics and give this movie a chance. I haven't read the book yet, but I enjoy the movie, love the story, even though it's not perfect. There is a part that I don't enjoy so much, i think they should change the script writer. And a song by Demi levato, kinda ruined the mood of the movie, which is more goth and moody. But overall I like city of bones, and I'll loved to watch city of ashes if they make the sequel. There's a lot of potential, they only need to work it better. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
7
DanniquimaAug 21, 2013
The movie it's entertaining, it got holes in the storyline, and its a little bit different to the book. However, its not something that we haven't seen before, but its enjoyable and you will have a good time watching it. And besides, it's aThe movie it's entertaining, it got holes in the storyline, and its a little bit different to the book. However, its not something that we haven't seen before, but its enjoyable and you will have a good time watching it. And besides, it's a movie for the youngest people, for the fans of the books, not for an Academy Award. Expand
9 of 14 users found this helpful95
All this user's reviews
10
Pattz25Aug 21, 2013
A great book-to-movie adaptation of an already much-loved book series. The cast is amazing and so is the plot which has no more than a few changes to it compared to the book.
13 of 21 users found this helpful138
All this user's reviews
9
natasha_riceAug 21, 2013
The book will be a massive hit with book fan base, although it has a fast past plot and skips out some details and relieves some details too early. It is not just a film for teen girls. It has many leading male characters and has plenty of action.
8 of 13 users found this helpful85
All this user's reviews
10
IagoMAug 21, 2013
As a fan of the book, I found it really great. The scenes and the cast was perfectly catch from essence of the books (of course the book is way better than the movie, but as a fan, I can say that they tried so hard to be loyal to the source).As a fan of the book, I found it really great. The scenes and the cast was perfectly catch from essence of the books (of course the book is way better than the movie, but as a fan, I can say that they tried so hard to be loyal to the source). Somethings are really missing, but I hope the director put it on the second. I had a good time watching it. And as a have read here, it's a movie to the fans and the young people, or everyone who likes this kind of story. Expand
12 of 20 users found this helpful128
All this user's reviews
9
Laurenwilcox97Aug 23, 2013
Very good book adaptation, all the actors protrayed the characters very well. The special effects linked to what was described in the book. Overall a very good movie and would gladly see it again
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
10
francis007Aug 21, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is where I start stressing the importance of opening week/end. It’s very important that you see The Mortal Instruments: City of Bones opening week/end Wednesday through Sunday. We need this film to do well in the box office the first week to ensure future movies. You want to see more Mortal Instruments movies, as well as Infernal Devices movies, right? Then go see The Mortal Instruments: City of Bones multiple times this week and bring your friends and family with you and keep spreading the word. It’s time to show the mundane world that the Shadowhunters are indeed a force to be reckoned with. As Jace says, “Have a little faith!”

Lily also encourages fans to see it multiple times opening weekend!The movie is amazing! Don't compare Mortal Instruments: City Of Bones to Harry because the don't have the same story. Give them a chance to have a sequel so they can correct their mistakes.
Expand
6 of 11 users found this helpful65
All this user's reviews
10
awesomeness274Aug 22, 2013
I loved it, and I read the book. I thought everything was great, the set, the props, the acting, and the cast. The plot might of be iffy with Valentine, but I think if everyone tries hard in the next movie to make it as close to the book asI loved it, and I read the book. I thought everything was great, the set, the props, the acting, and the cast. The plot might of be iffy with Valentine, but I think if everyone tries hard in the next movie to make it as close to the book as they can, it will turn out great. This is not another Twilight romance! Twilight was a romance story, this is a full on story, and like any other good book, has some romance in it. A lot of the big critics are just sick of seeing fantasy movies, well get over it because fantasy and sci-fi will never stop with teens and tweens. Expand
4 of 8 users found this helpful44
All this user's reviews
8
aaflowers12Aug 26, 2013
Great book to movie adaptation. My husband never read the books, found the movie "better than expected" and "will definitely see the squeal." It could be hard to catch up with the new terminology and a little jumpy- always room forGreat book to movie adaptation. My husband never read the books, found the movie "better than expected" and "will definitely see the squeal." It could be hard to catch up with the new terminology and a little jumpy- always room for improvement. The cast was picked perfectly and caught their personalities very well. Altered a piece of story so i'm not sure what to expect next. Won't be as big as Hunger Games, but better than Twilight. Try to see it at least once! Expand
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
10
soulsurvivor911Aug 23, 2013
I am a huge fan of the books so the movie is a no brainer. Its the bestbook to movie adaptation I have ever seen. So much better than twlight and Jamie as Jace is perfect cannot wait for the second one.
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
10
kbrinuAug 23, 2013
The movie is audacious, comparing to other teen adaptations. The acting is really something that highlights this franchise. All audiences will like it.
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
9
Paula97Sep 3, 2013
I was satisfied with the adaptation, as a fan of the books I had my hopes a little up. I liked it very much and I am looking forward for a sequel, though I am hoping they improve one thing or more. I was a little disappointed by some of theI was satisfied with the adaptation, as a fan of the books I had my hopes a little up. I liked it very much and I am looking forward for a sequel, though I am hoping they improve one thing or more. I was a little disappointed by some of the cast performances, specially Magnus Bane.
So, again, I really liked this movie, and I really hope they continue the series, and if they do, I hope they make the next movies better.

P.S. Please forgive my english.
Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
10
crystalgenoveseSep 19, 2013
I absolutely loved this movie. The books have a great story line and I think the director did a wonderful job at displaying that in the film. I don't think that there were too many twists in the movie. I found that the entire time I wasI absolutely loved this movie. The books have a great story line and I think the director did a wonderful job at displaying that in the film. I don't think that there were too many twists in the movie. I found that the entire time I was watching it I wanted to know what happened next. Where as usually I don't get that interested. I don't know exactly what about the movie,critics didn't like but the only things that I have heard bad about it is that it had too much crammed into it. I feel just the opposite. I have read the books and if anything they could have added more to the movie. I like to watch movies that keep me entertained not bore me to sleep. The whole point of having a young adult book or film is to have a really great story line so you keep your readers into it. And I don't care what anybody else thinks this movie had a great story line! Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
9
nicp2112Sep 1, 2013
I was expecting this movie to be a lot worse then it was. I enjoyed watching it the same if not more then reading the book. Yeh they changed a few things but nothing dramatic enough to change the plot. There was only one part that I feltI was expecting this movie to be a lot worse then it was. I enjoyed watching it the same if not more then reading the book. Yeh they changed a few things but nothing dramatic enough to change the plot. There was only one part that I felt could have been done better, but even then it was entertaining to watch. Other then that I loved this movie! I really hope they make a sequel. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
lalo2000Aug 24, 2013
this movie is more than amazing and its a really goooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooood adaptation better that Harry Potter andthis movie is more than amazing and its a really goooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooood adaptation better that Harry Potter and Hunger Games, i will not mention twilight because f*ck twilight, The Mortal Instruments:City of Bones is really gooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooood, very recomended Expand
3 of 7 users found this helpful34
All this user's reviews
10
knmAug 23, 2013
Don't pay attention to the critics. The Mortal Instruments: City of Bones was a really good adaptation of a fun and well-written YA Fantasy book.

Critics complain about how it's like a combination of Harry Potter meets Buffy The Vampire
Don't pay attention to the critics. The Mortal Instruments: City of Bones was a really good adaptation of a fun and well-written YA Fantasy book.

Critics complain about how it's like a combination of Harry Potter meets Buffy The Vampire Slayer meets Percy Jackson meets Twilight. Everywhere they look, a plot point is "borrowed" from these other works.

So what? The books were actually well-written (unlike some OTHER popular books in this genre. Yes, I'm looking at YOU, Hunger Games and Twilight.) And the movie adaptation was well done, in large part thanks to the excellent casting. It is rare to find young actors who have this much chemistry on screen. (This is a large part of why the Twilight movies were so awful, and why the Harry Potter and Hunger Games movies were so successful.)

So, if you harbor an affection for YA sci-fi or fantasy, don't let the haters keep you away. This was not a B-movie, not a hodge-podge of incongruous plot points, and not a rip-off of other genre films. (In fact, many "dangling" plot points are there precisely because this is the first in a six book series. They eventually resolve! And I'm glad they got left in the movie, even if they would make non-book readers leave feeling like there was still a good bit of unresolved mystery.)
Expand
4 of 11 users found this helpful47
All this user's reviews
10
amiamiAug 26, 2013
I loved the book and I loved the movie! I don't know what all of these critics were watching but I would see this movie 10 times over!! It was AMAZING!!! So worth it!
2 of 6 users found this helpful24
All this user's reviews
10
FandomFanaticAug 27, 2013
I don't know about the critics but this is a franchise based movie, with the majority of it's audience already being avid fans of the books. While it doesn't make much sense to the mundanes, let me assure you it makes total and perfect senseI don't know about the critics but this is a franchise based movie, with the majority of it's audience already being avid fans of the books. While it doesn't make much sense to the mundanes, let me assure you it makes total and perfect sense if you cared enough to know the back stories.

They did the best they could in the brief amount of screen time they were allowed and from a fans point of view they not only succeeded in quoting from the book and creating the perfect atmosphere for our Shadowhunters. They were able to include every little nook and cranny that caused so many of us to fall in love with the books in the first place.
Expand
2 of 7 users found this helpful25
All this user's reviews
10
laismalekAug 23, 2013
It's fun, full of action and the effects look awesome. The young actors are as amazing as the older one, and we have the always amazing Jonathan Rhys Meyers, Jared Harris, Lena Headey and CCH Pounder in it!
2 of 8 users found this helpful26
All this user's reviews
7
khutchNov 12, 2013
Surprisingly interesting, in a world where 'Percy Jackson's' are released every year, and say by the way are nothing exciting, 'The City Bones' is at least worthy of respect and attention.
Clary seems to have a lot to present, as well as
Surprisingly interesting, in a world where 'Percy Jackson's' are released every year, and say by the way are nothing exciting, 'The City Bones' is at least worthy of respect and attention.
Clary seems to have a lot to present, as well as your friends.
Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
SlyckNickChickDec 10, 2013
I haven't read the series, but I just finished watching 'The Mortal Instruments': 'City of Bones' and Loved it. I wish there were more supernatural movies. Its unfortunate that book lovers slam some movies that are based on the Novels theyI haven't read the series, but I just finished watching 'The Mortal Instruments': 'City of Bones' and Loved it. I wish there were more supernatural movies. Its unfortunate that book lovers slam some movies that are based on the Novels they have read. When it comes to novels being produce into movies it's hard to make readers happy. Maybe that's why I'm not so much into reading as much as I am into watching a great movie or two, or three, (Trilogies Rock) I like to believe I have a pretty great taste in movies and this one should definitely be on everyone's watch list. Looking forward to watching this trilogy and will pray and hope it does not get cancelled! GO TEAM GO! I have faith you will get more followers! Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
MusicGurl8192Sep 23, 2013
I loved this Movie, there were Great Effects Good Action Scenes, Comedy and Romance. It makes no sense why there are so many Bad Reviews. This Film is so differant then any other Films out there and People need to Stop comparing it to HarryI loved this Movie, there were Great Effects Good Action Scenes, Comedy and Romance. It makes no sense why there are so many Bad Reviews. This Film is so differant then any other Films out there and People need to Stop comparing it to Harry Potter and twilight cause there is nothing to compare. Me and my Sister loved this and can't wait for the Sequel. This Movie was very enjoyable.
Don't listen to the Critics People, this Movie was Great.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
lelefoxx00Sep 24, 2013
I couldn't believe when I saw what score this movie got with the critics. I thought it was excellent and well put together. Special effects were great, acting was great. story line was great, etc. I don't know what all the hate is about butI couldn't believe when I saw what score this movie got with the critics. I thought it was excellent and well put together. Special effects were great, acting was great. story line was great, etc. I don't know what all the hate is about but personally I can not wait for the second one. I get this genre isn't everyone's "cup of tea" so to speak but come one people, give it some credit! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
Jade_COct 2, 2013
I saw the movie twice in the cinema and loved it both times and I've read all the books, all the cast in the mortal instruments city of bones are extremely talented I just can't understand why people don't like it it was full of action,I saw the movie twice in the cinema and loved it both times and I've read all the books, all the cast in the mortal instruments city of bones are extremely talented I just can't understand why people don't like it it was full of action, romance, comedy and bits of horror it was an all genres film that everyone likes. I loved the cast in the film, especially Jamie campbell Bower he is extremely talented and very successful Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
sivvieOct 13, 2013
this movie is great, i really do hope they make the series! would love to see the other movies in future! i would imagine them doing really well, if you think that this movie was a bad one, then you wait till the whole sequels come out, i'mthis movie is great, i really do hope they make the series! would love to see the other movies in future! i would imagine them doing really well, if you think that this movie was a bad one, then you wait till the whole sequels come out, i'm sure you will be changing your minds. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
twilightnutterOct 22, 2013
Loved it.. I was straight to the book store for the rest of the books so I could find out what happened next. Jamie and Lily were amazing, but I knew Jamie would be great just like in Twilight, really impressed with Lily. Totally fell in loveLoved it.. I was straight to the book store for the rest of the books so I could find out what happened next. Jamie and Lily were amazing, but I knew Jamie would be great just like in Twilight, really impressed with Lily. Totally fell in love with it. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
SissybearOct 24, 2013
First off I have to say, I absolutely adore the books (beautifully written by the way) so I held the movie up to certain standards. While naturally the movie would be different, it was pretty close to the book, so close in fact that I wasFirst off I have to say, I absolutely adore the books (beautifully written by the way) so I held the movie up to certain standards. While naturally the movie would be different, it was pretty close to the book, so close in fact that I was impressed. My favorite part about the whole thing, was that they kept some of the best lines in the book, in the movie. The ending kind of upset me a little but overall, very well done. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
Olguiss99Nov 14, 2013
Also the script was amazing and kind of the same as the book, and usually i like more the books than the movies but in this case its different. The movie was BETTERR i loved how they put things and what they said and i think the cast did aAlso the script was amazing and kind of the same as the book, and usually i like more the books than the movies but in this case its different. The movie was BETTERR i loved how they put things and what they said and i think the cast did a great job filling for the characters, i absolutely fell in love with the movie and the characters... It was simply awsome! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
elena-mccolmNov 16, 2013
I thought the movie was fantastic!!!!! I can't wait for the next one no matter what the critics say about it
:)I thought the characters where cast well. I love the books and the movie was a little different but still had the same concept. I
I thought the movie was fantastic!!!!! I can't wait for the next one no matter what the critics say about it
:)I thought the characters where cast well. I love the books and the movie was a little different but still had the same concept. I thought the movie really was very well one.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
JohnnySanchezNov 24, 2013
I've never read the book, but this movie has encouraged me to do so. A good story and a good visual style, although some of the casting didn't quite fit their roles. But nonetheless, you must watch it. If you don't watch it, then you suck.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
Tss5078Jan 27, 2014
For those of you who didn't read the book, City of Bones, this movie may seem a bit confusing to you. This film is kind of like a cliff notes version of the book. Certainly they had to cut things out of the nearly 500 page novel, but some keyFor those of you who didn't read the book, City of Bones, this movie may seem a bit confusing to you. This film is kind of like a cliff notes version of the book. Certainly they had to cut things out of the nearly 500 page novel, but some key moments are simply touched upon with a line or two, making the movie a bit confusing at times. Clary Fray (Lily Collins) is a seemingly normal girl, who for some reason can't stop drawing a symbol. When she starts asking about the symbol, she is pulled into a world she never knew existed. As it turns out, Clary is keeping secrets, secrets she doesn't even know she has. It's those secrets that will eventually put her life, and the lives of everyone she knows, in danger. At first, the two main characters seem like they are completely different and won't have any chemistry at all, but as time goes on, they learn they're more alike than they think. Once their on the same page, the story really takes off. Lily Collins (Abduction, The Blind Side) really takes hold of her character and gives the film a strong female lead, that rivals Katniss Everdeen. Collins is paired with British heart-throb, Jamie Campbell Bower, who is a lot more than eye candy. I'd never seen Bower in anything, except bit parts in Twilight and Harry Potter, but the guy has some serious fighting skills. Bower is another one who at first doesn't seem to fit, but in the end really helps to make this film something special. To answer the big question about City of Bones, no, it is not as good as the book and you really shouldn't have expected it to be. The novel is massive and has entire parts that simply couldn't be transferred to the big screen. Some things were left out that shouldn't have been, while some of the more fast paced scenes were extended for the screen. All in all, I thought this movie was a pretty good representation of an excellent novel and a great film to include in your next movie night. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
oblique15Sep 19, 2014
One of those fun and underrated movies that never got much hype. This was actually a good movie. Takes you into an underground would adventure full of odd characters nobody else can see. I never read the book, but that did not stop me fromOne of those fun and underrated movies that never got much hype. This was actually a good movie. Takes you into an underground would adventure full of odd characters nobody else can see. I never read the book, but that did not stop me from enjoying it. This is much more interesting than the first Hunger Games. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
HerdelicateSoulJan 3, 2014
Don't always believe the critics. Only seeing The Mortal Instruments last night, I was intrigued with the story line and although it seemed a little familiar it was very fun to watch. I haven't read the books and I am not the one to watchDon't always believe the critics. Only seeing The Mortal Instruments last night, I was intrigued with the story line and although it seemed a little familiar it was very fun to watch. I haven't read the books and I am not the one to watch many movies, but I have to say that TMI kept me on the edge of my seat, especially at the end. What I don't agree with is the Twilight comparison. I would rather watch TMI over Twilight any day. I'm excited to see what the producers will be doing with the squeal. Hopefully, it will be just as great or even better than the first film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
undafedJan 4, 2014
I haven't read the series, but I watched 'The Mortal Instruments': 'City of Bones' with my girlfriend and we both Loved it! This movie should definitely be on everyone's watch list. Looking forward to the trilogy!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
gailygrindMar 19, 2014
I love this movie, even though I know it got bad critic reviews. It followed the plot pretty well and was just poorly directed. The cast was pretty good, just wished that Jace was mildly more attractive as he was described.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
EmmyPadenSep 19, 2014
I can't believe that City of Bones did so poorly in the theaters. I have read 3 of the four books. At first, when I have read a book before watching the movie, I pick it apart because of changes they have made and parts they left out. Then II can't believe that City of Bones did so poorly in the theaters. I have read 3 of the four books. At first, when I have read a book before watching the movie, I pick it apart because of changes they have made and parts they left out. Then I take a step back. Why would anyone want to watch a movie in which they already know the ending? All of the "series" movies and shows have done the same thing. I now try very hard to view the book and the movie as separate entities. Double the entertainment!! I truly love this movie. I even DVRed it and watch it every day!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Aqua__Cat1Sep 28, 2014
I loved this movie. I read the books and they were amazing, and I believe the movie was beautifully adapted. I only wish more people had falling in love with it the same way I did. There were changes here and there, but that has to beI loved this movie. I read the books and they were amazing, and I believe the movie was beautifully adapted. I only wish more people had falling in love with it the same way I did. There were changes here and there, but that has to be expected when you are making a movie from a book with that much history and back-story and also that level of action going on. There was so much to tell and explain and in the span of time they had, I think they did really well at explaining thing. I love the casting and I think everyone was as perfect as you could get to the characters in the book. I'm keeping my fingers crossed for a second film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
TheEmpireJan 25, 2015
So much better than Twilight, but not lucky as it. With no success at all, they had no other option but cancel the sequels. Only now we have to live knowing we'll never know what would happen with Claire's mother, Jocelyn, and all other characters.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
kyle20ellisOct 23, 2016
You critics don't know what you are talking about. Lets get one thing straight, Twilight does not rule any other supernatural movie franchise. So stop comparing it to The Mortal Instruments etc. Twilight was a love story. TMI is much moreYou critics don't know what you are talking about. Lets get one thing straight, Twilight does not rule any other supernatural movie franchise. So stop comparing it to The Mortal Instruments etc. Twilight was a love story. TMI is much more than that. As far as I can see if you don't love sci-fi, action, romance, comedy, fantasy in one novel and movie. It's not for you. But don't bash it because it didn't meet your needs. TMI will always have it's book fans and they will grow from fans of the movie and be supported. Shadow Hunters are not going anywhere. Oh and to the person who said that Cassie stole ideas from other novels/movies. Why are you not bashing every vampire, werewolf, witch etc. film/tv show or book made? Those ideas were ledgends already here before you were born. So no one stole any 'idea'. I love the books and the movie. x Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews