User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 87 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 70 out of 87
  2. Negative: 12 out of 87
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Ramirez
    Aug 5, 2005
    10
    A pre-Che in action movie, don't expect a deep philosophical movie...this is just the most beautiful cinema you can get. An excellent heart-warming roadmovie, that caught from the first 5 minutes till the end. + the instrumental music is awesome.
  2. Mathew
    Sep 1, 2005
    10
    I admit it. I am biased. Almost thirty years ago I spent several years working in South America, a quarter century after Ché blew through those same places. This movie gets so many of the small things about the cultures perfectly correct that it comes as no surprise that non-actors were used in these scenes. It is as if you are making the road trip too and that is, indeed, the I admit it. I am biased. Almost thirty years ago I spent several years working in South America, a quarter century after Ché blew through those same places. This movie gets so many of the small things about the cultures perfectly correct that it comes as no surprise that non-actors were used in these scenes. It is as if you are making the road trip too and that is, indeed, the strength of this movie. The quiet comraderie of the two principles is inviting. Their journey is quixotic, amusing, romantic and not a little foolhardy, but you'd die to be doing it, too! Critics have claimed that by failing to tackle the reality of Ché's future the film does a disservice to the realities of his past. I would say that the film shows the blank slate of youth filling with experiential awareness and hinting at how those experiences might mix with the character's inherent tendencies. The future is not yet known, but the possibilities are being outlined. I think that it is done very, very well. Expand
  3. StephenS.
    Sep 10, 2005
    10
    Combine beautiful photography and powerful, natural acting with terrific writing, and you have Motorcycle Diaries. For those who criticize the movie as creating a false portrait of a man who would later advocate violent revolution, have they so little imagination that they are unable to comprehend how a young person who goes off to discover the world could legitimately grow from a Combine beautiful photography and powerful, natural acting with terrific writing, and you have Motorcycle Diaries. For those who criticize the movie as creating a false portrait of a man who would later advocate violent revolution, have they so little imagination that they are unable to comprehend how a young person who goes off to discover the world could legitimately grow from a sheltered son of privilege into a revolutionary, given the conditions of the world? One's politics are generally formed by your life experiences, and for most U.S. citizens, their experience is standardized television/mall living, with few ever traveling out of their racial ghetto, much less out of the U.S. Whatever else a viewer might get from the film, would that it might be an interest in making his or her own journey of discovery--to places that no one in the family has ever visited. Go for six months. See if you, like Ernesto/Che aren't changed. Things don't happen for no reason at all, my fellow citizens. Expand
  4. EduardoA.
    Sep 17, 2005
    10
    (Sorry if my english is bad). It is simply the best movie I've ever seen, i always admired "Che" Guevara because of his intelligence and his principles, his vision, the way that he matured, until becoming the most unselfish being in the world, and I think this movie reflects all that, and it does in a way that only non-commercial director's and these kind of actors (famous in (Sorry if my english is bad). It is simply the best movie I've ever seen, i always admired "Che" Guevara because of his intelligence and his principles, his vision, the way that he matured, until becoming the most unselfish being in the world, and I think this movie reflects all that, and it does in a way that only non-commercial director's and these kind of actors (famous in south america) can. Expand
  5. FazilM.
    Mar 20, 2006
    10
    Possibly Gael Garcia's best performance till date. The film is seamless and very heartening at times. Also to be praised is Gustavo Santaolalla's impeccable compositions for the move.
  6. CheG.
    Dec 19, 2004
    10
    Fantastic! Mr. Selles directed this amazig movie with wondeful breaktrough performances and an excellent cinematography! Bravo Gael Garcia Bernal!
  7. ErnestoF.
    Dec 26, 2004
    10
    Wonderfully shot. Great acting by Bernal and De la Serna.
  8. ZahirO.
    Oct 28, 2004
    10
    This movie is a gem and must be seen by all! If this movie does not win an oscar, it will be a travesty. Thank you Robert Redford for being a part of such projects! You are a true hero. Bravo Garcia Bernal for your choice of roles. You are now officially an International Superstar!
  9. BobH.
    Oct 25, 2004
    10
    Absolutley breathtaking view of South America. The acting is absolutely first class and just superb. You can see and feel the pain in the eyes of the people in that region. It is not difficult to understand where the seeds of revolution are born? Sometimes in life we have very little choice and are destined to become the men we truly are. This is an outstanding piece of cinema magic.
  10. DavidM.
    Oct 24, 2004
    10
    My girlfriend dragged me to this, but it turned out to be way better than I thought it was gonna be. Funny in parts, thought-provoking in others.
  11. TracyR.
    Oct 23, 2004
    10
    Beautiful, enjoyable,, thought-provoking. Even better if you've actually READ the memoir. There's a person in all history, always is, and whatever you end up thinking about it all in the end, the movie makes you grapple with the complexity that recognizing other people's humanity fully always brings. Excellent movie.
  12. TimothyA.
    Oct 23, 2004
    10
    Amazing, for those that where personally later involved on either side of the Cold War, As a young idealist. Only the years of living and caring for humanity do we begin to understand this great insperational Leader and the notion this Great Rebel had. In time one comes to understand that the fight for injustice is all to often on bothsides and only the winner will have the time to then Amazing, for those that where personally later involved on either side of the Cold War, As a young idealist. Only the years of living and caring for humanity do we begin to understand this great insperational Leader and the notion this Great Rebel had. In time one comes to understand that the fight for injustice is all to often on bothsides and only the winner will have the time to then try to clarify his actions as the just and right ones. This movie has helped me see our one time enemy in a different light (Communism) and come to remember we believed in the same basic ideal. But the World, governments, and politician have a way of brainwashing our mind and misguiding our passions in the name of patriotism. I Loved this Film and have come to admire the man that aided in the creation of and equal share government, even thought I once pledge my service to combat it in Central America. Expand
  13. CarlosM.
    Oct 6, 2004
    10
    As i watched the movie and saw my family in it, the Ferreyrs's and my aunt Chichina i disagreed on how they were protrayed, however, the rest of the movie describes exactly how CHichina (my aunt) remmebred el "Che" and how importatn he was to her. The actors do an amazing job in the movie and many of you will not know and do not know, or hhave never known what el "che" is and was all As i watched the movie and saw my family in it, the Ferreyrs's and my aunt Chichina i disagreed on how they were protrayed, however, the rest of the movie describes exactly how CHichina (my aunt) remmebred el "Che" and how importatn he was to her. The actors do an amazing job in the movie and many of you will not know and do not know, or hhave never known what el "che" is and was all about. Dont rate the movie because of its landscapes and acting, rate it for its emotinal content and its serious significance behind the journey of transformation. Expand
  14. C.Perazzo
    Oct 12, 2004
    10
    This movie is great, with a great director and actors, and a sad but lovely history...go watch it.
  15. MarioG.
    Sep 28, 2004
    10
    Gael is always a garantee for great films. Has any of the current actors al least some of his integrity?
  16. AndrewR.
    Sep 24, 2004
    10
    Excellent film. Walter Salles has the sensibility of the great poets. It´s interesting, though, that in the Bush´s America the film has received some bad reviews. The EW critic even mentioned the film as a Communism nostalgia. That´s what you get when you see a film in your own point of view. Ideology of revolution turn some people down, i believe. Diaries is Excellent film. Walter Salles has the sensibility of the great poets. It´s interesting, though, that in the Bush´s America the film has received some bad reviews. The EW critic even mentioned the film as a Communism nostalgia. That´s what you get when you see a film in your own point of view. Ideology of revolution turn some people down, i believe. Diaries is sypmapthetic to Che and his causes, of course. Salles is a banker´s son in Brazil but has left convictions. Who is really a terrorist? Che Guevara or George Bush, a man who kills with the finger in the gun or the other who send men to kill other people? Expand
  17. WilliamX.
    Sep 22, 2004
    10
    Go see it! Go rent it!
  18. DiogoM.
    Sep 22, 2004
    10
    The best movie from a excellent director, Walter Salles (Central Station, Behind the Sun). A simple and powerfull narrative.
  19. RafaelB.
    Sep 22, 2004
    10
    A wonderful movie. It's one of the best of the year.
  20. BrianR.
    Jan 10, 2005
    10
    This movie belongs on your top 10 of 2004 list. Excellent buddy movie.
  21. anneh.
    Jan 24, 2005
    10
    Superb film - excellent acting -true picture of the great human being that was Che Guevara.
  22. AldoG.
    Jan 27, 2005
    10
    For any one who is south american and knows the customs and history of the place. This movie is excellent. We also see the awakening of a boy into the ideals of a man that would change the world. The sound track is incredibly beautiful as well as the cinematography . The script is a triumphed as well as the performances of these fine actors. This movie should win an Oscar. I am buying the For any one who is south american and knows the customs and history of the place. This movie is excellent. We also see the awakening of a boy into the ideals of a man that would change the world. The sound track is incredibly beautiful as well as the cinematography . The script is a triumphed as well as the performances of these fine actors. This movie should win an Oscar. I am buying the DVD! The ratings should go upto '11'! Expand
  23. MarcusM
    Feb 7, 2005
    10
    Absolutely brilliant. An execellent betreyal of Ernesto "Che" Guevara. Beautiful cinematography and superb acting all across the board. A very moving picture that should spark some kind of thought for viewers. Wonderful!!
  24. HelcioB.
    Feb 10, 2005
    10
    Great Latin American Movie, from rising star Walter Salles.
  25. GabrielD.
    Feb 19, 2005
    10
    That Movie was Great. Those guys were also funny. My Dad told me Ernesto was so poused to be a legened.
  26. Abby
    Feb 21, 2005
    10
    The point is not about who Che Guevara eventually became, but that he was once as young and idealistic as the rest of us should hope to be. This movie should inspire thoughtful discussion, as to what sort of injustice (and convoluted Marxism) could turn someone who began with the best of ideals into a killer. And be careful where you point your finger--our great "liberal democracies" are The point is not about who Che Guevara eventually became, but that he was once as young and idealistic as the rest of us should hope to be. This movie should inspire thoughtful discussion, as to what sort of injustice (and convoluted Marxism) could turn someone who began with the best of ideals into a killer. And be careful where you point your finger--our great "liberal democracies" are surely not the towers of high-minded ideals either. See the humanity in everyone, even a radical who ultimately did good as well as evil. And please, comments about "commies" only bely bigotry and ignorance. And of course, the acting, music, cinematography was superb. See it with a slightly open mind and enjoy. :) Expand
  27. ErnestS.
    Feb 21, 2005
    10
    Excellent movie. very moving in its depiction of Guevara's awakening awareness of the oppression and exploitation in Latin America. sure to contibute to the eternal appeal of Che.
  28. Jao
    Feb 26, 2005
    10
    Movies like this come around about once every 5 years. Truly a pleasure from start to finish. Bernal and De la Serna have perfect chemistry on screen with one of the most believable peformances together I've seen. This IS the best movie of the year. If you haven't seen it, watch it now!!
  29. Zuma
    Feb 26, 2005
    10
    Great movie. When it ends you feel like changing the world. By the way I have to say, reactionaries stink...I feel really sorry for people like J.Pool and Dan. I don't blame them though, it's all about how you've been taught.
  30. JimM.
    Feb 27, 2005
    10
    The best film I saw in 2004, and one of the best I've ever seen. A truly moving account of the early development of a great freedom fighter, Che Guevara. The movie is also a good introduction, as it was for Che, to the effects of U.S. and corporate imperialism on Central America. And contrary to a couple of ignorant reviews, Che NEVER advocated "genocide." Yes, he came to believe, The best film I saw in 2004, and one of the best I've ever seen. A truly moving account of the early development of a great freedom fighter, Che Guevara. The movie is also a good introduction, as it was for Che, to the effects of U.S. and corporate imperialism on Central America. And contrary to a couple of ignorant reviews, Che NEVER advocated "genocide." Yes, he came to believe, correctly, that it would take armed revolution to overthrow imperialistic governments. I guess one person's "freedom fighter" is another person's "terrorist." But please read history books and not the rantings of ignorant people. Expand
  31. WayneM.
    Mar 5, 2005
    10
    Beautiful life journey of a hero, good and bad.
  32. mikea
    Apr 10, 2005
    10
    This is just a movie about the life of a man who had a dream, but sadly because of the ignorance on the human race, the indigenous, the hispanics, blacks, and the less fortunate have been divided by virtual borders, and it's not fair. I do hope that one day all of humanity just unites and not fighs for ideals, but for the right to live in a world of peace, and thats what Ernesto This is just a movie about the life of a man who had a dream, but sadly because of the ignorance on the human race, the indigenous, the hispanics, blacks, and the less fortunate have been divided by virtual borders, and it's not fair. I do hope that one day all of humanity just unites and not fighs for ideals, but for the right to live in a world of peace, and thats what Ernesto Guevara wanted, but unfortunately the Imperialist government wouldn't allow him, which cost him his life. I do recommend this movie to all age groups, and all types of people. Expand
  33. SamX.
    May 1, 2006
    9
    Stunning visual style and reminiscient of Jack Kerouac on the road. Those who rate this film poorly are probably just critics of el Che, and their opinions of the man and legend is reflected in the scores, rather than the content of the film itself.
  34. AjithF.
    Jun 3, 2006
    9
    The moie is so touching an realistic.....the way they have shown an innocent boy become a revolutionary is sooo well directed......an excellent movie.
  35. DamonC
    Nov 5, 2004
    9
    This is a wonderfully sensitive and politically nuanced movie I've seen for a long time. Reviewers who question the polemics of the piece miss the point - it is NOT about the color of the revolution, it IS about the world education of a young man, who comes to terms with himself and his relationship with the world. Gael Bernal Garcia gave a Oscar-worthy performance, and this movie This is a wonderfully sensitive and politically nuanced movie I've seen for a long time. Reviewers who question the polemics of the piece miss the point - it is NOT about the color of the revolution, it IS about the world education of a young man, who comes to terms with himself and his relationship with the world. Gael Bernal Garcia gave a Oscar-worthy performance, and this movie won't be so quickly forgotten. Thank you, Walter Salles. Expand
  36. Triniman
    Oct 9, 2004
    8
    The Motorcycle Diaries 4/5 Two twenty-something men from Arentina, one a biochemist, the other a medical student close to graduation, set fourth one a cross-continent journey of South America aboard a 1939 motorcycle. Along the way, their eyes are opened to the changing landscape and particularly to the people they encounter, many of whom are poor and in dire circumstances. These The Motorcycle Diaries 4/5 Two twenty-something men from Arentina, one a biochemist, the other a medical student close to graduation, set fourth one a cross-continent journey of South America aboard a 1939 motorcycle. Along the way, their eyes are opened to the changing landscape and particularly to the people they encounter, many of whom are poor and in dire circumstances. These encounters end up shaping their perspectives and changing their lives forever. Ernesto Guevara is the 23 year-old student. He is awkward around women, honest to a fault, but is obviously a person of principle in the making. Alberto Granado is the biochemist and is much more at ease with himself. He fits in easily with the locals wherever they stop to stay with them. He dances well and totally throws himself into the moment to enjoy the good times with the people they meet. Ernesto, by contrast, is more of contemplative person and has firmer convictions. For example, he refuses to spend the $15 US a girlfriend has given him to buy her a bathing suit in the US, even though he and Alberto are usually starving and in need of shelter. He ends up giving the money away, much to the displeasure of Alberto. Along the way, there is much swearing in this sub-titled film, as we see the duo wipe out on the motorcycle several times, encounter snow-filled roads in Chilie that force them to walk the motorcycle and generally argue over how to con or not to con people for food and shelter. The film culminates with the pair arriving to volunteer at a leper colony. On one side of the river is the colony, and on the other side, the medical staff have their facilities and homes. Upon their first visit to the colony, the pair refuse to wear gloves, which is a strict rule, although the gloves are pointless since leprosy is not communicable. Soon, they are embraced by everyone, lepers and medical staff alike. They treat the patients like people, not like pariahs, and end up becoming totally accepted. In one scene, the nuns are serving everyone lunch except our heroes. When they enquire, they are told that only those who attend mass are allowed to be fed. Dejected, they leave the mess hall but find their patients approaching them with food behind the nuns backs. On Ernesto's 24'th birthday, a party is held by the medical staff,on their half of the colony. Ernesto gives a heartfelt speech in which he praises the people for their generosity and makes mention about how South America should be united since they are all the same people. This is supposed to foretell his later exploits as the revoutionary Che Guevara. After making the speech, he wanders to the edge of the river with Alberto, takes off his shirt and then attempts to swim across to be with his beloved patients. This film is refreshingly original. The acting all around is excellent.You never get a sense of being suckered in by the typical shallow hooks that too many Hollywood films utilize. There are no outrageous camera angles, CGI or anything else that leser films require to keep you interested. The Motorcycle Diaires is a film about a journey that results in our protaganists opening their eyes and hearts to the humanity around them on the great South American continent. At times, it will put a smile on your face, but it will also make you think of others apart from yourself without the feeling that you are being preached to. Self-discovery and the road to it, has rarely been filmed so well in recent memory. See this film! Expand
  37. JoelB.
    Jan 10, 2005
    8
    A beautiful, visceral movie, not about a revolutionary, but just about two young men exploring South America and their own hearts. It captured that feather-in-the-wind feeling of youth, when everything seems equally possible, but one does eventually land somewhere. The cinematography was incredible, not so much for the grand vistas as for the close-ups of human faces. And this seems true A beautiful, visceral movie, not about a revolutionary, but just about two young men exploring South America and their own hearts. It captured that feather-in-the-wind feeling of youth, when everything seems equally possible, but one does eventually land somewhere. The cinematography was incredible, not so much for the grand vistas as for the close-ups of human faces. And this seems true to Ernesto's gift -- at least during this time in his life, he really sees the people around him. Expand
  38. PatC.
    Apr 18, 2005
    8
    The story develops as a slices-of-life odyssey with snippets of reflection. Think Huckleberry Finn a la Kerouac. Recognition of humanity's plight and possibilities yields to political posturing that champions the plight of the downtrodden. While being faithful to the story, the film is almost apologetic as to the awkwardness of that transition, almost conceding that it was always the The story develops as a slices-of-life odyssey with snippets of reflection. Think Huckleberry Finn a la Kerouac. Recognition of humanity's plight and possibilities yields to political posturing that champions the plight of the downtrodden. While being faithful to the story, the film is almost apologetic as to the awkwardness of that transition, almost conceding that it was always the goal of global communism to impose its own totalitarianism as it co-opted grass-roots revolutions. For those who assert that the injustices portrayed are intolerable, it goes without saying that Latin America still has a lot to sort out in that regard. But the inevitable political posturing of the story is a restrained conclusion, preserving the achievement of the film, which is hardly radical. It captures of the breadth of perspective and acceleration of the maturing process available when introspective, impressionable, daring and sometimes obnoxious youth tire of the worldview of classrooms and hit the road. Expand
  39. GarthD
    Oct 26, 2004
    7
    A nice characterological snapshot of a budding youthful idealist and his friend. As with any snapshot, incomplete and perhaps romanticized. But enjoyable to look at, and moving in parts. Not a masterpiece but leaves me wanting to learn a little more about South America, its history, its beauty, and the dark times associated with Che Guevera and his era.
  40. MarcyR.
    Nov 25, 2004
    7
    This is an enojoyable film, but not one of great depth. The lead performers are not engaging, nor is the writing or direction. It is perhaps the subject matter and the exquisite vistas that kept me engrossed at all. It is worth renting though not worth getting excited about.
  41. ChadS.
    Nov 4, 2004
    7
    Che Guevara was already a good man when he made his trek across South America. Through no fault of his own, he lacks the character arc of a Malcolm X, who was a criminal before he was a revolutionary. There's no drama when Guevara decides what his fate will be, because helping people was already in the cards. Still, without any serious mounting of Jack Kerouac's "On the Road", Che Guevara was already a good man when he made his trek across South America. Through no fault of his own, he lacks the character arc of a Malcolm X, who was a criminal before he was a revolutionary. There's no drama when Guevara decides what his fate will be, because helping people was already in the cards. Still, without any serious mounting of Jack Kerouac's "On the Road", "The Motorcycle Diaries" works as a travelogue, and Gael Garcia Bernal is more believable at playing an icon during his formative years, than Chris O'Donnell's did as a young Ernest Hemmingway in "In Love and War". Expand
  42. Jul 1, 2011
    7
    A road movie with a little more substance than most. The countryside is beautifully shot, and feels totally true to the period. Political without being moralising. Well worth a watch
  43. Dec 22, 2013
    7
    Well crafted and acted but it is not really special, the story is ambitious but the characters don't develop an interesting relationship and it just reach the point of showing an inspired young "Che". Gael GarcĂ­a Bernal's work should be mentioned.
  44. Albert
    Jun 9, 2006
    6
    Just a correct road movie, with beautiful photography and good acting. Unfortunately it lacks a litle bit more depth. Guevara's moral coming of age is determined by too few episodes. "How much unjustice", he claims when he's about to return to Argentina. And anyone who knows South America, and anyone who has read his diaries, knows he met quite a lot more reasons to become Just a correct road movie, with beautiful photography and good acting. Unfortunately it lacks a litle bit more depth. Guevara's moral coming of age is determined by too few episodes. "How much unjustice", he claims when he's about to return to Argentina. And anyone who knows South America, and anyone who has read his diaries, knows he met quite a lot more reasons to become conscious about what was/is happening in the continent. Anyway. I would like to make just one coment to a couple of the site users : I don't know what you are taught in your History classes in the USA, but to consider Che Guevara a mass murderer reveals either an absolute abscence of knowledge on the subject, or an absolute abscence of knowledge of the english language. Expand
  45. KevinE.
    Mar 28, 2005
    6
    The relationship between this film and the ultimate political story of Che Guevara is insignificant. This was a lazy, sometimes silly travelogue of South America with a few shots of idealism thrown in. Overly simplistic on almost every level, especially sexual. This could have been such a rich story, lushly told, passionate..instead it really just whimpers along and doesn't reveal The relationship between this film and the ultimate political story of Che Guevara is insignificant. This was a lazy, sometimes silly travelogue of South America with a few shots of idealism thrown in. Overly simplistic on almost every level, especially sexual. This could have been such a rich story, lushly told, passionate..instead it really just whimpers along and doesn't reveal anything particularly interesting about the human condition. It is pale next to the true story of Guevara and the communist movement. Expand
  46. KesslerS.
    Mar 16, 2005
    5
    Overrated!
  47. Diana
    Mar 11, 2005
    4
    It takes more than a nice landscape and a famous hero to make a good movie. reactions to the movie would be a bit more tame, if it was not about che.
  48. SamJ.
    Sep 29, 2004
    3
    If you've seen the trailer of this static, episodic, and totally uninvolving film, you would have had all you need to have. Bernal underplays his role and there is no depth or insight. A very overated film from an overated director. There were some critics who did pan the film, and I expressed agreement completely. This is a pretty-to-look-at travelogue and nothing more.
  49. BenA.
    Oct 8, 2004
    3
    A ludicrously rosy portrait of a future mass murderer. "Motorcycle Diaries" is as little in touch with reality as Che's blinkered devotees.
  50. BartT.
    Oct 6, 2004
    2
    One of the most ponderous films to come down the road in a long time, from one of the most overestimated foreign directors. Little happens, Bernal sleepwalks through his role, and the film is way too long!
  51. J.Pool
    Feb 17, 2005
    2
    At best, something to watch with your travel agent freinds- nice scenery or So. Am. The reality is that "Che", later in life, becomes the great advodate of genocide, dicatatorship and communism. Those giving the film a 10 surely do not undersand the scale. 10 =best. 0= worst.
  52. ballbearing
    Mar 20, 2005
    2
    Excessively long, yet still fails to make a point. Avoid at all costs.
  53. AndrewS.
    Nov 18, 2004
    1
    Incredibly bland, dull and lifeless film that is overlong and extremely shallow. The director is very overrated.
  54. BobE.
    Oct 6, 2004
    1
    Do the users who give this film a "10" have any criteria to judge this film on this level. It was dull, pointless, all eye-candy and little depth. If this pretension deserves a "10" what is there really left to acknowledge quality in other films?
  55. JamesM.
    Nov 18, 2004
    0
    A completely boring and ponderous film that frankly, ranks among the worst of the year!
  56. JoeyT.
    Nov 18, 2004
    0
    Pretention of a high-order, this film is vacuous and stilted, with a bad performance at its center.
  57. Dan
    Feb 15, 2005
    0
    Why do you misguided fools find so much heroism in a Communist genocidal maniac? Please folks, open your eyese and realize that Ernesto Guevara has done nothing to deserve your respect, let alone you love. He has erned my disgust and hatred. He should recieve more. This man is nothing but a Communist pig and men who made the film are Commy bastards too.
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 37
  2. Negative: 0 out of 37
  1. 67
    "Dr. Goodlove," or "How I Learned to Stop Worrying and Love the Proletariat" might have been a better title for this ingratiatingly loopy origin story about prerevolutionary icon Ernesto "Che" Guevara.
  2. 100
    Lovely, heartfelt and unforced.
  3. 50
    It's much easier to linger on his youthful idealism than on how that idealism eventually manifested itself. It certainly makes for a much prettier picture. But when your subject is Ernesto ''Che'' Guevara, it is disingenuous.