User Score
3.6

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 236 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 56 out of 236

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Feb 16, 2016
    7
    The first two movies were better movies by far. But this was good for at least a one time watch.

    Watch it here for free: https://www.primewire.ag/watch-664-The-Mummy-Tomb-of-the-Dragon-Emperor-online-free
  2. Feb 16, 2014
    0
    I'm at a loss for words about this movie. Fraser looks bored in this movie, and all the energy from the first one has diminished. It was just horrible overall, and the list of flaws is longer than span of the Sahara Desert.
  3. Aug 30, 2013
    8
    I enjoyed this movie- no matter how much hate it has gotten. It is stupid, but it is entertaining. The script is cliche, but the visuals and action dazzle and keep you on the edge of your seat. It is fantastic entertainment.
  4. Jan 31, 2013
    5
    The previous two parts were entertaining, this is not so.
  5. Jan 4, 2013
    0
    The first 2 were great. This was absolute trash. It just felt like some B-movie piece of crap that just leaves you feeling like you've wasted hours on a movie that was so terrible you never want to see a sequel to it. The acting was crap, the setting was crap, the action was crap. Just crap.crap.crap Don't bother watching this
  6. Dec 23, 2012
    0
    Although I just love the first two Mummy movies, I was leery when I heard of a third one coming out. After all, it had been a while since the second film and sequels released after that long a time (like Rush Hour 3) usually fail in capturing the magic of the predecessors. However, I was a big enough fan of the franchise to give the movie a go, and I kept my expectations low.Although I just love the first two Mummy movies, I was leery when I heard of a third one coming out. After all, it had been a while since the second film and sequels released after that long a time (like Rush Hour 3) usually fail in capturing the magic of the predecessors. However, I was a big enough fan of the franchise to give the movie a go, and I kept my expectations low. Unfortunately, they were not low enough. This movie was so unexpectedly and abominably bad that it shames the entire franchise to brand it as a Mummy movie. All but one of the action scenes are a clumsy mess of crap, the acting is dismal, the special effects are overblown, the mummy is just stupid, and it is completely anticlimactic. Even Brendan Fraser, who I hoped would be the ONE redeeming thing in this film, completely forgets his charming portrayal of Rick O Connell from the first two and instead turns in a corny, wannabe, unbelievably painful performance. If you want a good popcorn flick, go for either of the first two movies - DO NOT waste your time with this landfill of a 3-quel. It is simply, and truly, horrid - a piece of crap to which a toilet would lend far too much dignity. Expand
  7. May 29, 2012
    4
    Sloppy it its construction, the only major things going for it are the humor and action. The story is far too unorganized.
  8. Feb 19, 2012
    7
    Yes, its the worst out of all 3 though I am going to be honest: Not a great addition to the franchise, it is, but as a guilty pleasure, I have to approve of the fact that its quite the imagination of an adventure through China between dungeons and dragons with walking statues despite its flaws.
  9. Oct 9, 2011
    4
    Sometimes when a franchise is a major hit in the box-office the same franchise tends to become worse or worse. That was what happened with "The Mummy". After two delightful films, the third entry of the series was a complete flop.
  10. Sep 27, 2011
    2
    Congrats! "The Mummy: Tomb of the Dragon Emperor" is the razzie-winning movie of the year! It's one of the few films that can be so terrible despite the abundant development years it was given. Hurray!
  11. Sep 1, 2011
    2
    The third Mummy movie is easily the worst in a franchise, turning bad a series that was just average so far. Special effects and large action set pieces take precedence over character development and plot. This may seem standard of any blockbuster but it is particularly glaring here. The characters are hastily drawn sketches, the romance feels forced and the drama is dead from the outset.The third Mummy movie is easily the worst in a franchise, turning bad a series that was just average so far. Special effects and large action set pieces take precedence over character development and plot. This may seem standard of any blockbuster but it is particularly glaring here. The characters are hastily drawn sketches, the romance feels forced and the drama is dead from the outset. The action that is supposed to thrill instead feel hollow and lifeless as we don't care what happens to anybody and we don't feel the significance of what is taking place. The plot is flimsy, made worse by ridiculous twists and coincidences where belief isn't so much suspended as it is thrown off a bridge. If visual effects are all that you want, you may get brief enjoyment out of it. If you want something of substance, something with heart, then you should look elsewhere. Expand
  12. Aug 20, 2011
    3
    This movie would be great, it would be an awesome continuation of the Mummy series, except that it is in no way related to the previous two Mummies. It moves the setting to China, that's a little disappointing but not unforgivable; it ages one character almost a decade while leaving the others unchanged, but with all the ancient mysticism that they have been involved in maybe they don'tThis movie would be great, it would be an awesome continuation of the Mummy series, except that it is in no way related to the previous two Mummies. It moves the setting to China, that's a little disappointing but not unforgivable; it ages one character almost a decade while leaving the others unchanged, but with all the ancient mysticism that they have been involved in maybe they don't age anymore; it changed one of the main characters, now what the h***! No back story, no notice, no dramatic character death, no attempt to patch the story at all, it's like the filmmakers just gave up on the story and characters. I mean, this wasn't some secondary character, this wasn't the first sequel, it was the third movie in the series and they swapped a main character, talk about breaking the third wall, they might as well have the characters smile and wave at the camera. This movie could have been great, it could have been fun, but it could never be the "The Mummy". Expand
  13. Aug 3, 2011
    6
    A nice sequel for the thrilling The Mummy Series. But thats all. Thats why i watched this movie. It was all good in the first 2 movies when they were after Imhotep in Egypt. But China has nothing to do about it. I wish they were still in Egypt. -_-
  14. Feb 15, 2011
    4
    This movie is a huge let down, even if your a fan of the series like I am you still wont like this, even the second one was better than this, don't watch this movie.
  15. Aug 27, 2010
    1
    It's pretty much the same old fare with a few Asian people thrown in for good measure (and abominable snowmen?) Honestly, two years later can anyone honestly say they remember this movie?
  16. KeenanS
    Aug 3, 2009
    7
    At first I was expecting the worst, especially after witnessing the travesty that was Indy 4, and the first twenty minutes bore the worst of my fears. But then, the film became entertaining, and good. This film is gleefully stupid and preposterous, and yet ridiculously fun to watch. I enjoyed this over-the-top film and it provided plenty of popcorn thrills and excitement even if the At first I was expecting the worst, especially after witnessing the travesty that was Indy 4, and the first twenty minutes bore the worst of my fears. But then, the film became entertaining, and good. This film is gleefully stupid and preposterous, and yet ridiculously fun to watch. I enjoyed this over-the-top film and it provided plenty of popcorn thrills and excitement even if the acting was B-movie at best and the script felt as if they made it up as they went along. Still, I had fun watching this film. It was the least of the trilogy, but it was still fun and at least I wasn't left pissed off like I was when I saw Indy 4. However, if you want the closest thing to a modern Indiana Jones, watch the Tomb Raider flicks they're pretty awesome. Expand
  17. Johnny
    Apr 2, 2009
    10
    It's a shame the critics gave such negative reviews. It's an awesome thrill ride, a very good action movie.
  18. kevinm
    Jan 29, 2009
    4
    This latest entry in the series kind of became a parody of itself, which is too bad because I really love the first two.
  19. ColinC
    Jan 19, 2009
    5
    My least favorite of the three. A lot of spectacle, but the story and characters fall flat. It's the kind of movie that reminds you that no amount of spectacle can replace having a solid story with characters you actually care about. Is it too much to ask for both, Hollywood?
  20. AndrewB
    Jan 12, 2009
    7
    Tomb of the Dragon Emperor is definitely my least favorite of the series because it seems pointless as the first two said pretty much all that needed to be said. There's also the issue with Alex aging at an exponential rate. But, when you stop thinking about what's wrong with the film and just enjoy it for what it is, The Mummy 3 is still an enjoyable ride. Filled with plenty Tomb of the Dragon Emperor is definitely my least favorite of the series because it seems pointless as the first two said pretty much all that needed to be said. There's also the issue with Alex aging at an exponential rate. But, when you stop thinking about what's wrong with the film and just enjoy it for what it is, The Mummy 3 is still an enjoyable ride. Filled with plenty special effects, wit, and absurdities to keep you entertained the whole time. Expand
  21. MarkR
    Jan 12, 2009
    0
    I didn't expect much from this, the third installment in The Mummy series. The second movie in the series I found similarly uninspired, but this far surpassed all of my expectations. Truly, a horrible horrible movie. When your high point in a movie is an unexplained run-in with asian yetis, and a truly uninspired scene of yeti football, you're doing something wrong. Worse is the I didn't expect much from this, the third installment in The Mummy series. The second movie in the series I found similarly uninspired, but this far surpassed all of my expectations. Truly, a horrible horrible movie. When your high point in a movie is an unexplained run-in with asian yetis, and a truly uninspired scene of yeti football, you're doing something wrong. Worse is the budget, you'd think they could spend a little on writers this time around. I wouldn't wish this movie on anyone, truly a torture device of mediocrity and insipid idiocy. Expand
  22. BobR.
    Dec 26, 2008
    0
    One of the worst movies i have ever seen, i literally fell asleep watching it. A huge waste of time and money.
  23. R.Lopez
    Dec 25, 2008
    9
    Truly the best in the series!! The Mummy: Tomb of the Dragon Emperor is an amazing action/adventure film that will make you forget you ever saw the first two. This time the O'Connell's unearth the ruthless Dragon Emperor. This new mummy epic will take you for the ancient catacombs of china to the frigid Himalayas, this movie will keep you laughing and your heart pounding trough Truly the best in the series!! The Mummy: Tomb of the Dragon Emperor is an amazing action/adventure film that will make you forget you ever saw the first two. This time the O'Connell's unearth the ruthless Dragon Emperor. This new mummy epic will take you for the ancient catacombs of china to the frigid Himalayas, this movie will keep you laughing and your heart pounding trough the whole movie. It's an amazing film that you can watch over and over again and love every minute of this amazing adventure film. I very highly recommend this movie. Expand
  24. JonnyD.
    Dec 20, 2008
    3
    Besides the special effects the movie sucked... Horrible they really tried to do too much in this movie... love, comedy, action, drama, and oh did I mention love? You tried to kill me and I love you. (schoffs) too much English for people that lived in China for 2000 years.
  25. JayH.
    Dec 12, 2008
    5
    Granted it is not a great movie, but it is well produced with good special effects. It does entertain but it also tends to drag a bit too much and seemed longer than its hour and 52 minute length.
  26. Robert
    Sep 30, 2008
    0
    I couldn't believe they went ahead with the same character but with no Rachel Wiesz. Honestly getting someone to try to act like Rachel was a disgusting choice.Would have been better off just killing the character off and start over. That was the most disappointing move ever, and thats saying something considering I expected it to be utter crap. It was worse than that!!!
  27. JeffC.
    Sep 29, 2008
    8
    Much better than I expected based on the ratings. Incredible action and special effects, with good comedy, as proved by laughs in the theater. Could have been better, but a good film overall.
  28. HarryL.
    Sep 13, 2008
    0
    Easily the worst movie i have ever layed eyes on, i am a big film nerd, and this was nothing compared the the others, boring story line, no mummys in the actually movie, jet li sold out once again, and yeti's ragons, and giant dogs, should not be in a movie based around Egypt, oh wait it wasn't, please i urge nobody else watch this travesty of a movie
  29. Juraj
    Aug 28, 2008
    4
    The only thing good about the film are the special effects. However, without anything to support the FX, the movie blows. The humor (especially Jonathan's) is so forced at times. Oh, and the emperor - he was invincible when he was awaken; then he drank from the well of invincible water, and then he finally became invincible once more. A few seconds later, the good guys kill him. The only thing good about the film are the special effects. However, without anything to support the FX, the movie blows. The humor (especially Jonathan's) is so forced at times. Oh, and the emperor - he was invincible when he was awaken; then he drank from the well of invincible water, and then he finally became invincible once more. A few seconds later, the good guys kill him. Darn. Oh, and the actress looked nice in her dresses. Expand
  30. AlexR.
    Aug 27, 2008
    2
    Basically if you've seen the first two Mummy movies and you have seen the commercial for it, you've basically already seen Tomb of the Dragon Emperor. Nothing new has been brought to the table, just too much of what we've already seen.
  31. MikeC.
    Aug 27, 2008
    2
    It had some redeeming qualities...but the ending was terrible. "soon after, mummies were found in Peru." if you saw the movie you know what I'm talking about. IMO this ruined the franchise.
  32. Jeremy
    Aug 26, 2008
    1
    Literally sent me to sleep, extremely boring, avoid at all costs!
  33. PeterK.
    Aug 23, 2008
    1
    Dreadful.
  34. GuardCore
    Aug 21, 2008
    10
    This is the best mummy I've seen in my life. All those criticize the movie are sucks.
  35. [Anonymous]
    Aug 15, 2008
    4
    I'll admit it. I went into the theatre not expecting much from this film, and even then I was disappointed. As my mother and I left the theatre we didn't even talk about it. It just didn't have the same fun feeling that its prequels had. I wanted to like it, I tried to like it, but I couldn't.
  36. Fantasy
    Aug 14, 2008
    0
    Another one bites the dust. One too many Mummies if you ask me. This one is over the top and kills the franchise. Next...
  37. EdwardC.
    Aug 12, 2008
    3
    This movie was just ridiculous
  38. Kerry
    Aug 10, 2008
    1
    I fell asleep watching this movie. No kidding - it's that boring. If there was an original or interesting line, event or character in there, it escaped me. I want those 2 hours of my life back!
  39. AnthonyV.
    Aug 10, 2008
    9
    Really fun, similar in a lot of things to the first episodes. A great moment.
  40. MichaelJ.
    Aug 9, 2008
    0
    I was really disappointed by this movie. Seeing as I really enjoyed the first two Mummy movies, I thought that this one would be decent at least. Anyway, let me explain why I thought this movie was terrible. This movie is nothing like previous Mummy films. At least the first Mummy, which was excellent because it combined drama with comedy successfully and had a good storyline. This one I was really disappointed by this movie. Seeing as I really enjoyed the first two Mummy movies, I thought that this one would be decent at least. Anyway, let me explain why I thought this movie was terrible. This movie is nothing like previous Mummy films. At least the first Mummy, which was excellent because it combined drama with comedy successfully and had a good storyline. This one does a horrible job of combining drama with comedy. Whenever the Mummy 3 tries to be funny, which is most of the time(there is a bad joke every 30 seconds), it fails miserably, you end up trying to figure out a reason to laugh but can't find one. Another thing was that the story was terrible, it felt boring and that it had no point(at one point in the movie I almost fell asleep from boredom). The action and effects are no good either. The creatures all look fake and are not convincing. The one thing that made me laugh was how fake the effects were. In my opinion, I think that the studio wanted to make big money and decided that a lot of people would go see this movie out of curiosity based on the success of the first two. Then pulled a story out of nowhere and made this catastrophe. All in all a disappointing movie that is only successful in boring its audience trying to be funny. The only funny thing is how bad this movie is. Expand
  41. JoeAverage
    Aug 9, 2008
    0
    I was able to see this film about a month ago in a preview screening and to put it in kind words, its terrible. Jet Li is about the only good thing about the film but he's hardly in it. Brendan Fraser was phoning in his performance and looked if he was waiting from a call from his agent to get him out of the movie. Maria Bello looked goofy and miscast and the actor who plays their I was able to see this film about a month ago in a preview screening and to put it in kind words, its terrible. Jet Li is about the only good thing about the film but he's hardly in it. Brendan Fraser was phoning in his performance and looked if he was waiting from a call from his agent to get him out of the movie. Maria Bello looked goofy and miscast and the actor who plays their son makes Hayden Christensen from the Star Wars films look like an Oscar winner. John Hannah manages to bring some laughs to the table but his stick is not as fresh as it was before and Michelle Yeoh does not really do much with her role. This movie lacks the creepiness of the first two Mummy movies and the stone warriors of this movie don't hold a candle to the ghouls of the first two films at all. Not to mention the fact that the visual effects in this film look even worse than the second film(The Mummy Returns). The film itself seemed toned down in the fun and thrills department and just feels tired in certain scenes not to mention the dialogue, which seems like it was written by a five year old. This film seemed like a quick payday from all involved and sadly with the little effort spent in giving the audience something to root for and care for, its just feels like no one even cared about what they were making. Expand
  42. ChrisK.
    Aug 9, 2008
    0
    I was able to catch this movie at a test screening in California while i was on vacation and its not much of a film. Its the same story as the previous ones and most of the stuff in the movie were taken from them as well. I love Brendan Fraser but he didn't look happy to be there and with how the story was set up, you can't blame him for looking miserable. He has no chemistry I was able to catch this movie at a test screening in California while i was on vacation and its not much of a film. Its the same story as the previous ones and most of the stuff in the movie were taken from them as well. I love Brendan Fraser but he didn't look happy to be there and with how the story was set up, you can't blame him for looking miserable. He has no chemistry with Maria Bello, who was just awful (She's no Rachel Weisz, that's for damn sure.) and he has even less chemistry with his own son played by Luke Ford, who has the charisma and the charm of a brick, not to mention the fact that he looks just as old as both Fraser and Bello. Fraser has more chemistry with John Hannah, who is a welcome distraction from the lousiness of the film. The movie itself is just a flat headed mess of bad visual effects with no soul. Jet Li lacks the menacing presence of Arnold Vosloo from the previous films but that problem is more than less on the shoulders of the director, who was in my opinion more concern with the style of the film than any substance it could have had and because of that, Jet Li and most of the cast got the short end of the stick and it shows. They should have ended it with the second film but instead, we have a movie that manages to make even "The Scorpion King" look as good as Iron Man. Expand
  43. KurisuD.
    Aug 9, 2008
    6
    Not a true Mummy movie, but as a general action-adventure flick I don't really have any complaints. Just go in with some popcorn; normal expectations; don't try and over analyze the movie; and you should be fine.
  44. VincentVDB
    Aug 9, 2008
    2
    I really loved the first two movies and I was very excited when I heared the news they were working on a new part, but this... Why does the third episode always go Asian? (Pirates of the carribean 3) Pfff, it lacks all the good things the other episodes had. High budget and brilliant effects, but a story that was better off written by some toddlers... Very dissapointing.
  45. AndrasG.
    Aug 8, 2008
    0
    This is a great way to destroy an excellent franchise. This is pure garbage!! This idiot who directed this abismal should never do anything in his life again. I came out of the conema almost crying. To me this has never happend!!! Abismall, terrible, idiotic, mindless garbage!!!
  46. JGM
    Aug 8, 2008
    7
    The most under-rated film of the summer, no classic this but delivers on every promise it makes. Most of the criticism seems to be that it isn't really a "Mummy" film in the scarabs-and-sand sense, and that's true (of course if it was the critics would carp that the franchise was stale), but as a stylized adventure flick M3 is easily the match of the overhyped and overpraised The most under-rated film of the summer, no classic this but delivers on every promise it makes. Most of the criticism seems to be that it isn't really a "Mummy" film in the scarabs-and-sand sense, and that's true (of course if it was the critics would carp that the franchise was stale), but as a stylized adventure flick M3 is easily the match of the overhyped and overpraised Indiana Jones 4 with the benefit of being 30 minutes shorter and less self-serious (though, in fairness IJ4 *does* have a mummy in it, sorry Ms. Allen). Expand
  47. Leo
    Aug 7, 2008
    0
    WARNING: Do not watch this movie!! watch the Dark night or something good maybe pineapple express this movie is terrible how does Brendan Frasier get work, being the B class.....wait D class actor he is.
  48. BrianC.
    Aug 6, 2008
    3
    They tried to recreate the same humorous courtship that happened with Rick & Evy from the first two movies, by using the Son and failed miserably. The characters all seemed out of place. Jet Li was the only worthwhile performance. The Yeti's were like Jar Jar Binks or the Ewoks...completely unnecessary. It was painful to watch the characters trod through a bad script.
  49. GeoffM.
    Aug 6, 2008
    1
    The editing is horrible, screen writer was definitely tunned the whole time ( not in the good way) , and the soundtrack was a complete miss. I wasted my money so you don't have to, seriously don't even rent this rubish when it comes out!
  50. GeorgeM
    Aug 5, 2008
    5
    This is about the most "meh" of a movie ive seen ALL SUMMER. The first Mummy film became an instant classic in my book.....its simply simply a classic "popcorn movie" with a certain charm that dosen't tarnish over the years (ive seen the movie at least 100 times). The second Mummy film choked on its own extravagance trying to top the first film by adding 100s more effects shots that This is about the most "meh" of a movie ive seen ALL SUMMER. The first Mummy film became an instant classic in my book.....its simply simply a classic "popcorn movie" with a certain charm that dosen't tarnish over the years (ive seen the movie at least 100 times). The second Mummy film choked on its own extravagance trying to top the first film by adding 100s more effects shots that held the film back more than it helped.....in other words, the second Mummy movie pales in comparison to the first. This 3rd offerring......i just couldnt think of this as a film in the "The Mummy" franchise, it just didn't feel right. The action sequences are interesting.....but they are shot so quickly and edited so poorly its simply no fun to watch. The Yetis were.....neat.....and the whole field goal thing didn't bother nearly as much as the WHOLE FILM being a clutterred mess. Rick and Eveys characters seemed to be in the right place (Maria Bello did a.....decent job) but Ricks son Alex came off as annoying and his Chinese girlfriend didn't do so well either. Jonathon (John Hannah) gets NOTHING to do in this movie but sit their and look stupid.....and freak out when say.....an avalanche happens, and thats a shame.....i really enjoyed his character in the previous films, then again his character was written SO MUCH better in those films, here he is completely wasted. Its not a TOTAL loss.....but so close to it you may not even care, see with caution......either youll "kinda like it" or "hate it" completely. Expand
  51. IanO
    Aug 4, 2008
    1
    This is the worst movie of the year to me the actors never went well with each other all in all it sucked in every thing . I say go see THE DARK KNIGHT,RIGHT NOW!!!
  52. ChadS.
    Aug 3, 2008
    2
    The Himalayas are in Nepal. The filmmaker doesn't provide a legend(i.e. Himalayan Mts, Nepal) for the geographically-challenged, nor does Rick O'Connell (Brendan Fraser) say, "C'mon gang. We have to reach NEPAL before General Han(Jet Li) utilizes the immortality pool which will infuse himself with eternal life and the power to shape-shift into a three-headed dragon," to his The Himalayas are in Nepal. The filmmaker doesn't provide a legend(i.e. Himalayan Mts, Nepal) for the geographically-challenged, nor does Rick O'Connell (Brendan Fraser) say, "C'mon gang. We have to reach NEPAL before General Han(Jet Li) utilizes the immortality pool which will infuse himself with eternal life and the power to shape-shift into a three-headed dragon," to his wife Eleanor(Maria Bello, who seems to be channeling Stephanie Powers: "Hart to Hart Goes to China"?), or son Alex(Luke Ford, who seems to be channeling a surfer dude from the future). Because of the times, some people, the geographically-challenged, may leave the cineplex thinking that the mythical Shangri-La lies in China. And exactly what are we supposed to make of this Chinese connection? Do you assess this change of scenery as a deft melding of revisionist folklore and cinematic traditions, or a shameless attempt to revive a franchise of dubious public acclaim by pouncing on a genre that the filmmaker knows has a built-in audience? This is a rhetorical question, of course, in which you can gauge my answer by the sarcastic tone of this blog entry. Unfortunately, the most memorable thing that Jet Li does in "The Mummy: Tomb of the Dragon Emperor" is dissolve into mud before engulfing himself in flames. And then there's Michelle Yeoh. She so horny. Two-thousand years in a cave, Zi Juan waited for Ming Guo(Russell Wong), with her two-thousand-year-old daughter Lin(Isabella Leong), who talks to the snow animals. This movie seems to have been made for people who saw Ang Lee's "Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon", or any of the recent Zhang Yimou films, and thought to themselves with melancholic reflection: You know what this movie needed? A yeti. Expand
  53. MikeM.
    Aug 3, 2008
    5
    Replacing Rachael Weisz with Maria Bello really compromises the chemistry of this franchise. Half of the fun of the first two movies was watching the interplay of Brendan Fraser's character with Ms Weisz; Ms Bello and him have about as much chemistry as two dead fish. Once the movie gets going, about a third in, it starts to become enjoyable, as long as Ms. Bello isn't a primary Replacing Rachael Weisz with Maria Bello really compromises the chemistry of this franchise. Half of the fun of the first two movies was watching the interplay of Brendan Fraser's character with Ms Weisz; Ms Bello and him have about as much chemistry as two dead fish. Once the movie gets going, about a third in, it starts to become enjoyable, as long as Ms. Bello isn't a primary focus. Fun, but could have been so much better. Expand
  54. AlecB.
    Aug 3, 2008
    3
    The first two mummy films not being entirely great, but good enought to sit through the movie and walk out pleased with it. I was however dissapointed with this film. The story was as if the director told his 8 year old son to put a story together and hand it in. Brendan Fraiser wasnt as good, the chick who replaced Rachel Weisz as Evy was a terrible attribute to the film and the guy who The first two mummy films not being entirely great, but good enought to sit through the movie and walk out pleased with it. I was however dissapointed with this film. The story was as if the director told his 8 year old son to put a story together and hand it in. Brendan Fraiser wasnt as good, the chick who replaced Rachel Weisz as Evy was a terrible attribute to the film and the guy who played Alex was also terrible. Jet Li is the only character that played a decent part in the movie. RIP MUMMY SAGA. Expand
  55. JonB
    Aug 3, 2008
    3
    I really enjoyed the first two Mummy movies, but this one was terrible. If you came in halfway through the movie, you would be wondering if this was IJ4 or Mummy 3. Overall, save your money and Netfilx it.
  56. RG.
    Aug 3, 2008
    0
    Action franchises have a weird tendency of finding some horrible script and mindless director to set them to RIP. We saw it happen in the former batman sequence. And this Mummy movie is simply the best franchise killer I've ever seen. The main charaters' personalities are simply ruined (Rick actually discusses marriage through some bad-sitcom lines and forgets to be, well, Action franchises have a weird tendency of finding some horrible script and mindless director to set them to RIP. We saw it happen in the former batman sequence. And this Mummy movie is simply the best franchise killer I've ever seen. The main charaters' personalities are simply ruined (Rick actually discusses marriage through some bad-sitcom lines and forgets to be, well, Rick), the (wanna-be) actress who play evy is just terrible, the secondary characters and villans all have no emotion. Well, apart from Jet Li, who puts up a decent performance. Plus, the lines are, almost entirely, composed of cheesy, beaten-up or absolutely-no-fun dialogues and the story poor with even worse conections to make sense in things. Bottomline, the once-reasonably fun action franchise is now defunct. Lets hope it stays that way, unlike its characters. (At least I took a couple naps during the movie, so it wasnt a total waste of time.) Expand
  57. GraemeB.
    Aug 3, 2008
    1
    I was forced to go see this movie. Needless to say, I'm no longer friends with the people that dragged me there. This was a waste of my life. I tried really hard to care about this movie at the beginning, but it was just one cliche after another. When the Yetis showed up, I was done. I would say that the Yetis were a product of writers running out of ideas, but they had run out of I was forced to go see this movie. Needless to say, I'm no longer friends with the people that dragged me there. This was a waste of my life. I tried really hard to care about this movie at the beginning, but it was just one cliche after another. When the Yetis showed up, I was done. I would say that the Yetis were a product of writers running out of ideas, but they had run out of ideas when they decided to make this movie. The only reason that I'm giving this movie any score at all is that it gave my friends and I something to laugh at. I would recommend this movie to no one; save your time and money. Expand
  58. Jahzon
    Aug 3, 2008
    1
    Horrible script Horrible acting, very scary to think that a movie like this exist.
  59. concretetester
    Aug 3, 2008
    5
    The story was good. The actors never jelled and the frantic action appeared pedestrian. Jet Li was subdued. Should have been a much better movie.
  60. RulerInc.
    Aug 2, 2008
    6
    If the beginning of this movie wasn't so over done and trying to look so good it would have made the movie a TON better. For the fighting scenes in the movie they were well done and so were the very popular camera angles. The story line was interesting it could have had so much life and excitement to it. But I'm afraid that the beginning puts you in a state of mind that they are If the beginning of this movie wasn't so over done and trying to look so good it would have made the movie a TON better. For the fighting scenes in the movie they were well done and so were the very popular camera angles. The story line was interesting it could have had so much life and excitement to it. But I'm afraid that the beginning puts you in a state of mind that they are trying to over due it. Expand
  61. GilbertC.
    Aug 2, 2008
    10
    Amazing Special effects and the really big stuff happening makes this a great and highly solid and entertaining movie.
  62. DannyC.
    Aug 2, 2008
    10
    It may not be scary, it may have to many effects, it may not make any sense why their calling this chinese emperor a mummy. All there is to say is that this movie is repetitive but sooooo entertaining. It's the most satisfying Mummy movie yet. It looks much cooler, its big, exciting, and full of great action. It's not clunky, it's excellent.
  63. HDAddicts
    Aug 2, 2008
    8
    Just got back from Mummy 3 and it was quite enjoyable. But it's definetly NOT Mummy 3, it's Tomb of the Dragon Emperor. This latest installment is very different from the previous 2 movies. Although awesome I found it very hard to get used to the China setting rather than Egypt. I think that's partially because of how many times I've seen 1 & 2 on DVD or on TV. Other Just got back from Mummy 3 and it was quite enjoyable. But it's definetly NOT Mummy 3, it's Tomb of the Dragon Emperor. This latest installment is very different from the previous 2 movies. Although awesome I found it very hard to get used to the China setting rather than Egypt. I think that's partially because of how many times I've seen 1 & 2 on DVD or on TV. Other than that it has its cheesy moments just like the first 2, perhaps a little more. The CG is great and it has some unique FX. As far as Bello replacing Weisz (sp?), I actually noticed it more than I thought I would. But it didn't really come across as replacing.......she was almost like a different character. Not saying Maria Bello's performance wasn't good, but besides the english accent she seemed different. It almost would have been better to have some backstory of Evelyn and Rick divorcing with Bello being the new wife. Once again this opinion stems from the shear amount of times Mummy 1 and 2 have been viewed. Other than that it was an entertaining popcorn flick. Expand
  64. HastyManic
    Aug 2, 2008
    5
    This falls neatly under the category of 'big loud dumb fun.' While it is completely unmemorable, the film, in spite of itself, has a mild charm about it and some amusing dialogue and action to offset the general mediocrity of the proceedings. I must say, however, that Jet Li's villian has to be one of the most impotent of bad dudes in a big commercial film in as long as I This falls neatly under the category of 'big loud dumb fun.' While it is completely unmemorable, the film, in spite of itself, has a mild charm about it and some amusing dialogue and action to offset the general mediocrity of the proceedings. I must say, however, that Jet Li's villian has to be one of the most impotent of bad dudes in a big commercial film in as long as I can remember. OK entertainment and a decent distraction. Expand
  65. kevinl.
    Aug 2, 2008
    0
    Such a poor film it will leave you pondering which was better... battlefield earth or this piece of garbage?
  66. JessfE
    Aug 1, 2008
    7
    It was OK. It was much like "IJ4" in all respects. The kids will like it for it has non stop action for about one hour or so and although many of the gags fall flat a few of them do work. So if your looking for a mild diversion and lots of action sequences this is the ticket for you.
  67. LouisH.
    Aug 1, 2008
    7
    I give it a seven because it was as fun as the rest of the mummy series, but also the worst one of them. I mean, what happened to Rachel Weis as Evy? Thats like terminator without Arnold Shwarzanagger! And, although its a new twist, it takes place in China, not egypt, and the jokes were'nt so funny. On the lighter side, still fun, still exciting, hot chicks, and great FX as usual. I give it a seven because it was as fun as the rest of the mummy series, but also the worst one of them. I mean, what happened to Rachel Weis as Evy? Thats like terminator without Arnold Shwarzanagger! And, although its a new twist, it takes place in China, not egypt, and the jokes were'nt so funny. On the lighter side, still fun, still exciting, hot chicks, and great FX as usual. Definently a seven. Expand
  68. Camille
    Aug 1, 2008
    2
    This is honestly one of the worst movies I've seen in a really long time. Typically, I would enjoy a movie like this; even if the premise is silly, I'll like it if it's told and acted well. Unfortunately, this had a terrible story, terrible character development, terrible pacing, and terrible acting. This movie had everything working against it. It's almost as if they This is honestly one of the worst movies I've seen in a really long time. Typically, I would enjoy a movie like this; even if the premise is silly, I'll like it if it's told and acted well. Unfortunately, this had a terrible story, terrible character development, terrible pacing, and terrible acting. This movie had everything working against it. It's almost as if they had a whole epic film written about China and the Emperor and then decided to throw the The Mummy characters in it for the hell of it. I suppose if your a huge Mummy fan or big Brendan Frasier fan, you'll at least be pleased seeing him and the franchise on the big screen again. But to everyone else, I'd say avoid at all cost. Don't even bother renting it. Expand
  69. JamesL.
    Aug 1, 2008
    0
    Dang i afraid this will tear off the franchise. Because it has weak story, flaw of casting of Mario Bello, and opposed of two Egyptian movies for the previous series. This got to be the worse of the mummy series ever.
  70. PaulL.
    Aug 1, 2008
    0
    it sucked. Why, because the flaws of CGI, casting of Maria Bello, and bad storyline. This will kill off the whole mummy franchise.
  71. DanD.
    Aug 1, 2008
    8
    Dumb fun, but still fun.
  72. John
    Jul 31, 2008
    5
    Surprisingly not as bad as what the critics would make you believe. Go in with low expectations and you might have a little fun with it. The whole franchise is mindless popcorn trite so keep that in mind before you go.
  73. JamesCool
    Jul 30, 2008
    0
    Bad directing, bad dialouge, and hammy acting make this movie's predecessors look like The Godfather Part 1 and 2.
  74. ShenY.
    Jul 30, 2008
    10
    Looked pretty good to me. It would have been way too tired as another movie set in Egypt. And mummies are all over the world, people. Go to a library.
  75. DavidD.
    Jul 29, 2008
    10
    A really cool movie. Some people have decided to work up a hatred for this film, but they haven't seen it-I have. And it's a LOT of fun. The fight scene between Fraser and Li is like a snake fighting a mongoose. And the visual effects make the effects in the first two look like an old Bruce Campbel movie.
  76. DahvidR.
    Jul 29, 2008
    10
    The best action movie I've seen in a long time. The new cast members are top notch-they really didn't cheap out. A bit more sober than the other two, but retains the charm found in the previous Mummy movies.
  77. KyleB.
    Jul 29, 2008
    10
    Really good movie. I came out very pleasantly surprised.
  78. WylieM.
    Jul 29, 2008
    10
    Wow. Surprisingly awesome. Best action flick of the year.
  79. KyleC.
    Jul 29, 2008
    10
    Exactly what this franchise needed. It's the sequel that should have happened the last time around 7 years ago. It's fresh, it's fun, a tad darker than the others, and brings a LOT of new material to the trailer. This is NOT a movie made for a quick buck. I was very impressed after the sneak preview. Rob Cohen has succeeded with TOTDR where Spielberg failed with Indiana Jones.
Metascore
31

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 33
  2. Negative: 19 out of 33
  1. As for Fraser, his clumsy humanity is endearing, but by now, assuming he has invested wisely, he should have enough money saved so as to not have to waste his talent anymore.
  2. Too much of the proceedings are silly rather than horrifying, with the nadir being the appearance of some particularly athletic Yetis who briefly pitch in to lend a hand.
  3. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    20
    Reheating the ingredients can't disguise how stale they are, as setpiece after setpiece strains to whip up excitement, only to fall flat while reminding of previous sequences that did such things ever so much better.