Universal Pictures | Release Date: May 7, 1999
8.9
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 493 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
450
Mixed:
35
Negative:
8
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
samFJul 20, 2008
I can't understand how this got so low from the critics. This movie is alot of fun, i guess people spend time trying to compare it to something? I just enjoyed the movie the sequel is also amazing and i can't wait for the new one.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JaredC.Aug 1, 2007
It is so amazing, a bit corny but its a huge funfest of a time, every second is interesting or either appealing. Its the year's best film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
kittyJul 8, 2008
I loved this movie, I have always enjoyed studying ancient Egypt (along with anything else ancient) ao this was my cup of tea.
2 of 3 users found this helpful
8
AndrewBJan 12, 2009
A thoroughly enjoyable film that is nothing more than what it tries to be-Entertainment. Don't go into this film expecting a great story that will cause you to think of life in a different way; watch it for the impossible adventure, A thoroughly enjoyable film that is nothing more than what it tries to be-Entertainment. Don't go into this film expecting a great story that will cause you to think of life in a different way; watch it for the impossible adventure, witty dialogue, and just dumb fun. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
R.LFeb 9, 2009
The Mummy is not an oscar worthy film, but it is a great one at that. The Mummy is a remake of the 1932 original( also produced by Universal studios) the original Mummy stared Boris Karloff as Imhotep, but the difference between the original The Mummy is not an oscar worthy film, but it is a great one at that. The Mummy is a remake of the 1932 original( also produced by Universal studios) the original Mummy stared Boris Karloff as Imhotep, but the difference between the original and the remake is that the story and some of the character's are different but the the mummy remains the same, all be it the visual effects are much better now then they were then but the basic plot of both the movies mostly remain the same. The Mummy stars Brendan Fraser, Rachel Weisz, John Hannah as a group of egytologist searching for an ancient city lost beneath the sand a century ago. without warning or regrade for what they have done they released a 3,000 year old mummy for his grave. Now them and a group of ancient warriors have to stop Imhotep from engulfing the world in total darkness for all time. The mummy is a completely engrossing horror thriller with some of the best visual effect ever seen, it's one of those film you'll be watching over and over again. And it will never get old no matter how many times you watch it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
GavGav96Dec 10, 2010
'The Mummy' has the jokes, the action, and the chills along with the sneaky little educational references here and there that serve a refreshing mummy film ****
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
liptapJun 11, 2011
This movie is AMAZING!!!! It is very fast paced with a lot of action, comedy & pretty decent special effects too! It is very entertaining & extremely enjoyable.
14 of 14 users found this helpful140
All this user's reviews
8
MovieLonely94Nov 2, 2010
its like Indiana Jones except it doesn't have Harrison Ford in hit. my opinion: very entertaining.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
9
TheQuietGamerFeb 15, 2011
This movie is the first of three and the best in the series, it has a great plot, enjoyable character, and drama and humor, a movie I would recommend seeing.
8 of 8 users found this helpful80
All this user's reviews
8
TokyochuchuFeb 25, 2013
The Mummy is a classic adventure movie. The ancient Egyptian curse theme is compelling and the film is well paced. The cast is likable and there are more than enough decent action scenes to entertain. The Mummy is a superior blockbuster forThe Mummy is a classic adventure movie. The ancient Egyptian curse theme is compelling and the film is well paced. The cast is likable and there are more than enough decent action scenes to entertain. The Mummy is a superior blockbuster for the whole family. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
lususgreeneMay 13, 2011
Better than you would think, this movie delivers a good, if predictable time. Weisz shines as a star and delivers a movie saving performace. Good Character development and good acting take what was likely to be a dull, average, forgettableBetter than you would think, this movie delivers a good, if predictable time. Weisz shines as a star and delivers a movie saving performace. Good Character development and good acting take what was likely to be a dull, average, forgettable movie and turn it into a solidly entertaining work. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
dxt4May 8, 2011
i think then this remake is very good, maybe the fault of this movie is the parts of the comedy, but the special effects and some acting are so good . the story is strong and the music is ok, 120 minutes of god action
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
grandpajoe6191Sep 27, 2011
"The Mummy" is a movie trying hard to be like the Indiana Jones franchise but turns out to be better than the average summer blockbuster.
3 of 11 users found this helpful38
All this user's reviews
7
spadenxJan 24, 2012
Its a good movie. The cast is fine, solid action, and it was interesting. The film has that "It" factor (cant really describe why its so good, it just is) and I enjoyed watching it.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
8
imthenoobMar 30, 2013
Easily one of the most likeable/enjoyable movies you will ever see. It's really hard to say anything bad about it. Good action, Solid acting, Fraser and Weisz work wonders together. Just a really good movie.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
7
beingryanjudeSep 1, 2014
The Mummy rises above many of the Indiana Jones films to provide fascinating and entertaining adventures through Ancient and Modern-day Egypt. Rachel Weisz is brilliant in an early-career role as an Egyptian historian and researcher.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
8
Trev29Jun 27, 2013
An exceptionally thrilling adventure stocked full of action and laughs. One of the few widely known movies to showcase the eastern part of the world in such a lively entertaining way.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
RikiegeJan 31, 2013
A great movie that reminds me of 'Indiana Jones' fantasy this time.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
7
JamesCannonNov 29, 2014
Rachel Weisz is so hot in this. Yes this kind of a cheesier Indiana Jones, but the effects really show up. Rachel Weisz is all sexy and funny. Good pacing and along with a decent story make this a satisfying b movie. I have the blu rayRachel Weisz is so hot in this. Yes this kind of a cheesier Indiana Jones, but the effects really show up. Rachel Weisz is all sexy and funny. Good pacing and along with a decent story make this a satisfying b movie. I have the blu ray and it looks great. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
cameronmorewoodNov 12, 2012
I can say nothing for the acting, directing, writing, or anything for that matter. What I can say is that I enjoyed it. I still can't figure out why, but I enjoyed it.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
Rox22May 31, 2015
I know that time has not been kind to this movie and critics really ripped it to pieces, but I remember watching it on opening night and I enjoyed it immensely. Sure, it's far from perfect, but it knows that and embraces its own goofiness.I know that time has not been kind to this movie and critics really ripped it to pieces, but I remember watching it on opening night and I enjoyed it immensely. Sure, it's far from perfect, but it knows that and embraces its own goofiness.

The visuals (at the time) were fantastic. Acting: so-so. Story: corny but full of adventure and action cliches, to the point that I think it is mocking itself.

Overall:
The Mummy is a fun movie not meant to be taken seriously. Flawed, but enjoyable.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
LevelSevenMar 9, 2013
I really like the mummy movies and maybe that's just because I'm fascinated with Ancient Egypt but whatever. This movie is a great adventure/action film. Disregard the whole thing where people are comparing this to Indiana Jones, I don't likeI really like the mummy movies and maybe that's just because I'm fascinated with Ancient Egypt but whatever. This movie is a great adventure/action film. Disregard the whole thing where people are comparing this to Indiana Jones, I don't like to compare movies when I watch them unless they're a parody. To me these movies have their own identity and this movie is just great, go see it. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
SEROJMar 12, 2013
Nowadays is very hard to find a good adventure movie like this. This is one of the first scary movies i watched as a kid. My score for "The mummy" is 8/10
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
drewgreat45678May 25, 2013
This was an amazing film. With a mixture of indiana jones, humor, horror, great storyline, great setting, music, and superb acting from Brendan Fraser, Rachel Weisz, John Hannah and Arnold Vosloo, you have got a great summer horror-adventure film.
7 of 7 users found this helpful70
All this user's reviews
10
DibbHansenAug 30, 2013
Fantastic entertainment with great visuals, a creative, witty and inventive script that does not rely entirely on cliche to get through to audiences, amazing acting by all the cast, great costumes, beautiful locations in from the Middle EastFantastic entertainment with great visuals, a creative, witty and inventive script that does not rely entirely on cliche to get through to audiences, amazing acting by all the cast, great costumes, beautiful locations in from the Middle East and a grand style about the film. A great, great film. Expand
5 of 5 users found this helpful50
All this user's reviews
7
MovieGuysFeb 16, 2014
I've never liked Brendan Fraser as an actor in any movie, and this is no exception. The movie was actually pretty good, with a good story and okay script, but Fraser is marginal at best. There's something about him that makes it so that II've never liked Brendan Fraser as an actor in any movie, and this is no exception. The movie was actually pretty good, with a good story and okay script, but Fraser is marginal at best. There's something about him that makes it so that I can't take him seriously in any movie. The stupid, bad comedies he's done (Furry Vengeance, I'm looking at you) have damaged his reputation. The Mummy is a pretty serious movie, but I can't take Fraser seriously in it. He could play a businessman in a Wall Street thriller and I would still think that at any time he's going to resort to slapstick humor somehow. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
Venomq7May 15, 2014
''Indiana Jones'' style movie with remarkable cast assemble, an unforgettable score and great action-adventure story makes you wanna watch the movie over and over again.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
mohgamer27Aug 11, 2015
the best movie i've ever seen , my childhood was great bcz of this wonderful movie , no words can describe it , it's the best .... Suspence , comedy , fun , excitement , horror , great cast , very nice music all in one movie
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
8
heathermFeb 19, 2015
The Mummy's action-adventure fun never gets old for me. It's really well-paced with a lively and engaging (if not original) plot and full of memorable scenes. The antagonistic dynamic between Brendan Fraser jaded treasure hunter and RachelThe Mummy's action-adventure fun never gets old for me. It's really well-paced with a lively and engaging (if not original) plot and full of memorable scenes. The antagonistic dynamic between Brendan Fraser jaded treasure hunter and Rachel Weisz's high-strung librarian is wonderful to watch, as they take turns yelling at and saving each other. The violence is cartoonish rather than gory, but in a good way--it's pretty fun and light-hearted, as far as violence goes. This is a movie I always come back to. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
mm007Dec 10, 2016
[9/10]
Pros:
1.Fast paced with lot of action. 2.Good Egyptian-flavored plot and special effects. 3.Some creepy mummy moments and a lot of humor-filled dialogues. Cons: 1.That villain mummy is very much powerful, but does not know at all how
[9/10]
Pros:
1.Fast paced with lot of action.
2.Good Egyptian-flavored plot and special effects.
3.Some creepy mummy moments and a lot of humor-filled dialogues.
Cons:
1.That villain mummy is very much powerful, but does not know at all how to use his power effectively.With all his power he could not even restrict a few gunmen!!!
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
kyle20ellisAug 9, 2016
I remember being terrified when I first watched this when I was just a kid. As I've grown up, there are still a couple of things, mainly the scarabs, that make me cringe. The use of Egypt mythology was a strong point of this film as itI remember being terrified when I first watched this when I was just a kid. As I've grown up, there are still a couple of things, mainly the scarabs, that make me cringe. The use of Egypt mythology was a strong point of this film as it includes Egyptian gods, curses and even some of the 10 plagues of Egypt. I admired the performances of both Brendan Fraser and Rachel Weisz, especially how their relationship develops over the course of the story. The supporting roles from John Hannah, Kevin J.O Connor and Oded Fehr were also highlights as their performances very easily stood out, just like the main characters. However, for me, Arnold Vosloo's role as the cursed Imhotep was the spotlight of the film as his performance alone created a strong sense of horror and power. Even though there were a couple of good laughs, I felt that this film could've been better without attempting to be funny. Overall, The Mummy is one of my personal favorite Universal films to come out within the last 14 years and I feel tops off anything that the later sequels can give to the audience. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews