Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 37
  2. Negative: 0 out of 37
  1. Reviewed by: Steve Persall
    Nov 22, 2011
    100
    Yes, Kermit does reprise The Rainbow Connection, surely one of the loveliest movie songs ever and, yes, it still brings tears to your eyes. Happy tears, realizing some marvelous things never change.
  2. Reviewed by: Linda Holmes
    Nov 23, 2011
    90
    It's hard not to be both heartened and a little wistful about the fact that The Muppets is probably as good a Muppet project as it's possible to make without Jim Henson.
  3. Reviewed by: Bill Goodykoontz
    Nov 22, 2011
    90
    Clever and current without being cynical, smart without being condescending, funny without being exclusionary to grown-ups or to kids.
  4. Reviewed by: Pete Hammond
    Nov 20, 2011
    90
    The holiday season just got a whole lot brighter.
  5. Reviewed by: Marc Savlov
    Nov 23, 2011
    89
    It is with immense pleasure that I can report that Disney's Muppet reboot movie is an absolute delight.
  6. Reviewed by: Michael O'Sullivan
    Nov 22, 2011
    88
    The Muppets is both a delightful family film about the Muppets and a winking, self-referential satire about how lame the Muppets are.
  7. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    Nov 22, 2011
    88
    More fresh than retro, The Muppets bursts with charm and cheeky humor.
  8. Reviewed by: Wesley Morris
    Nov 22, 2011
    88
    I've never seen a movie so perfectly balanced between unabashed nerdiness and hipness.
  9. Reviewed by: Rene Rodriguez
    Nov 21, 2011
    88
    The Muppets may have been born out of a desire to revive a dormant franchise that was once a cash cow, but there isn't a single beat in the film that feels crass or opportunistic. This one is from the heart.
  10. Reviewed by: Shawn Levy
    Nov 23, 2011
    83
    You can find movies with better scripts, direction, acting, songs, and jokes than The Muppets -- but you won't find one that's nearly so much fun.
  11. Reviewed by: Lisa Schwarzbaum
    Nov 21, 2011
    83
    For kids, blessedly unironic by nature until wised up by nurture, the movie is just shiny, funny, and filled with songs.
  12. Reviewed by: Olly Richards
    Feb 6, 2012
    80
    Made absolutely for grown-up fans, this is the Muppets as you fondly remember them: funny, smart and gleefully insane. Kermit, it's great to have you back.
  13. Reviewed by: Dana Stevens
    Nov 23, 2011
    80
    Like Statler and Waldorf, older viewers may kvetch and cavil about the details, but when that red velvet curtain goes up, we wouldn't give up our balcony seats for the world.
  14. Reviewed by: Elizabeth Weitzman
    Nov 22, 2011
    80
    Segel and Nicholas Stoller, who made "Forgetting Sarah Marshall" together, wrote the screenplay for The Muppets with obvious intent: to return these icons to their former glory.
  15. Reviewed by: Stephen Holden
    Nov 22, 2011
    80
    The rainbow connection is a smooth, unbroken arch.
  16. Reviewed by: Steven Rea
    Nov 23, 2011
    75
    'As long as there are Muppets," muses a little felt guy named Walter, "there is still hope." And indeed, there is something hopeful about The Muppets - Disney's rollicking reboot of the late Jim Henson's furball franchise.
  17. Reviewed by: Mike Scott
    Nov 23, 2011
    75
    Sprinkled throughout, there is also a handful of wonderfully amusing song-and-dance numbers, written by Bret McKenzie.
  18. Reviewed by: Kyle Smith
    Nov 23, 2011
    75
    There are several adorable musical numbers that make excellent use of Adams. Segel's dancing is . . . well, he reminded me of a huge star: Big Bird.
  19. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    Nov 22, 2011
    75
    The Muppets is a rare family film likely to appeal more to parents than to their offspring.
  20. Reviewed by: Amy Biancolli
    Nov 22, 2011
    75
    A triumph of simplicity, innocence and goofy jokes.
  21. Reviewed by: Roger Ebert
    Nov 22, 2011
    75
    A funny, wickedly self-aware musical that opens by acknowledging they've outlived their shelf life.
  22. Reviewed by: Alison Willmore
    Nov 22, 2011
    75
    The love Segel has for the Muppets is a genuine, perceivable and positive quality that suffuses this good-hearted revitalization of the franchise, and if some wish fulfillment sneaks in there too.
  23. Reviewed by: Michael Phillips
    Nov 22, 2011
    75
    At its best, though, The Muppets cuts back on the '80s-flashback self-consciousness and believes in the dream.
  24. Reviewed by: Joe Williams
    Nov 22, 2011
    75
    The troupe's first film in more than a decade, is a more aggressively absurd antidote to what it calls "a hard, cynical world." Happily, it works.
  25. Reviewed by: Roger Moore
    Nov 21, 2011
    75
    The musical comedy whimsically and often cleverly revisits the characters, their shtick and and the TV show and movies that made them most famous.
  26. Reviewed by: Peter Travers
    Nov 21, 2011
    75
    The Muppets slaps a smile on your face you won't want to wipe off.
  27. Reviewed by: Bill Weber
    Nov 19, 2011
    75
    The beloved gang's sweet reunion will melt nostalgic adults into laughter and tears, and maybe kids won't mind drippy new Muppet Walter so much.
  28. Reviewed by: Mary Pols
    Nov 23, 2011
    70
    During the movie's best moments, I recalled exactly what my long-gone father's roars of laughter sounded like. Was it the joyous lunacy of "Mahnamahna" that used to set him off?
  29. Reviewed by: J.R. Jones
    Nov 23, 2011
    70
    Unfortunately, this comeback movie, a labor of love for mush-headed screenwriter and star Jason Segel, errs on the side of sweetness and nostalgia; except for a few good zingers from balcony dwellers Statler and Waldorf, there isn't much here for mom and dad.
  30. Reviewed by: Betsy Sharkey
    Nov 22, 2011
    70
    For all its sharpness, the movie has a very sweet streak.
  31. Reviewed by: Andrew O'Hehir
    Nov 21, 2011
    70
    I'm being completely sincere - and entirely complimentary! - when I say that The Muppets represents a career high point for Segel, the comedian who reveals himself to be a whimsical writer, capable singer and dancer and appealing straight man.
  32. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    Nov 18, 2011
    70
    A breezy, keen-to-please attitudes prevails, and director James Bobin (The Flight of the Conchords, Da Ali G Show for TV) moves things along with good cheer.
  33. Reviewed by: Justin Chang
    Nov 18, 2011
    70
    An unexpected treat. Bright and perky, cheeky but never mean-spirited.
  34. Reviewed by: Keith Phipps
    Nov 22, 2011
    67
    Henson's characters maintained an essential innocence while sending up the very idea of entertainment. They put on a show with quotation marks around it, but the irony never felt cynical. When it isn't getting bogged down in unearned sentiment, The Muppets gets that right.
  35. Reviewed by: Bilge Ebiri
    Dec 27, 2011
    60
    It may not entirely work as a movie, but The Muppets shines as a piece of touching pop nostalgia.
  36. Reviewed by: Rick Groen
    Nov 23, 2011
    50
    The Muppet charm, always more at home within the intimate frame of a TV set, is gone here.
  37. Reviewed by: Melissa Anderson
    Nov 22, 2011
    50
    Terrified of alienating those who were raised on the originals, The Muppets panders to them instead, constantly blasting or restaging Top 40 hits from the past three-plus decades, continuing the cheap strategy that worked well on YouTube two years ago with the Muppets' cover of "Bohemian Rhapsody."
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 303 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 79 out of 94
  2. Negative: 4 out of 94
  1. Dec 23, 2011
    10
    The Muppets is extremely heartwarming and funny, charming and just innocent. It features lovable performances from the whole cast with someThe Muppets is extremely heartwarming and funny, charming and just innocent. It features lovable performances from the whole cast with some great musical numbers. I give this movie 99%. Full Review »
  2. Nov 23, 2011
    9
    This movie made me laugh so hard. If you grew up with The Muppets you will love this movie if you never seen the muppets you wont really getThis movie made me laugh so hard. If you grew up with The Muppets you will love this movie if you never seen the muppets you wont really get the humor. It has funny jokes and hilarious songs. I almost peed my pants with the Im a Man or a Muppet song.The only thing I have to criticize was at the ending( no spoilers) Selena Gomez is in it a brief and I was like NO NO NO GO AWAY she should of honestly not been in the movie like keep older actors. Other then that this was one of my favorite movies this year TBH. Full Review »
  3. Nov 25, 2011
    10
    This movie is exactly what it sets out to be. It's fun, carefree and has a great message about family, perseverance, and has some reallyThis movie is exactly what it sets out to be. It's fun, carefree and has a great message about family, perseverance, and has some really touching moments between pieces of felt. I felt a little silly tearing up at one point because it's a Muppet movie but it did a great job of bringing the Muppets into a new century. It reminded me of a Pixar movie in that it is just so pure in what it seeks out to do and has such a simple message but it's executed so well.

    The only issue I had with the movie is that they break the fourth wall a couple too many times for my taste. It's a small gripe but seem like it happened too many times.
    Full Review »