Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer (MGM) | Release Date: August 24, 2007
6.2
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 35 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
16
Mixed:
14
Negative:
5
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
smiyamotJun 25, 2016
You might expect a hum drum movie from the title, but the film makers did a twist that makes this a much more interesting story line. Annie (Scarlett) is an anthropology major so she narrates this as if she is studying a native tribe in theYou might expect a hum drum movie from the title, but the film makers did a twist that makes this a much more interesting story line. Annie (Scarlett) is an anthropology major so she narrates this as if she is studying a native tribe in the jungle, in this case, the tribe is rich white families and the jungle is New York City's East side. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
RoshanK.Dec 29, 2007
Extremely boring and tedious with cliche characters.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
EricaDec 4, 2007
There were certainly some things that could be improved, but for the most I found this movie to be very pleasant. It was funny, well acted and charming. Even my boyfriend (whose favourite movie is 300) liked it, and he is hard to please.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
ChadS.Nov 3, 2007
When Mrs. X(Laura Linney) finally reveals her sensitive side(like Miranda Preistly(Meryl Streep) in "The Devil Wears Prada"), her vulnerability beneath the mask of apathetic nonchalance, we're not buying it. She's more believable When Mrs. X(Laura Linney) finally reveals her sensitive side(like Miranda Preistly(Meryl Streep) in "The Devil Wears Prada"), her vulnerability beneath the mask of apathetic nonchalance, we're not buying it. She's more believable as an unrepentant bitch. Her epiphany doesn't come about organically. It's too formulaic, and downright idiotic. Didn't she screen the damn tape? Thanks to some convoluted writing, Scarlett Johannsen gets to make an obvious speech about bad parenting. Linney gets to cry. Even when "The Nanny Diaries" is a passable entertainment about self-centered rich people, the film is watered down by Annie's romance with Dean(John Henry Cox). She feels bad for Grayer(Nicholas Art), but apparently, not that bad. She gets some. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
[Anonymous]Oct 19, 2007
Great underlaying message - was surprisingly uncliched (?) Thoroughly enjoyable.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
G-RadAndrewSep 3, 2007
Not much of a guy movie, but it was an all right family film that's for sure.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
G.MD.KSep 2, 2007
Ultimately entertaining and charming all together.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
K.B.Aug 28, 2007
It was the worst movie I have attempted to see in a really long time. I say attempted, because I didn't make it to the end. We managed a good 40 minutes into it -- which is about 30 minutes longer than my companions wanted to stay. It was the worst movie I have attempted to see in a really long time. I say attempted, because I didn't make it to the end. We managed a good 40 minutes into it -- which is about 30 minutes longer than my companions wanted to stay. Cheesy, cheesy, horrible writing. And just not funny or even cute. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
BillyS.Aug 26, 2007
The Devil "Buys" Prada. A summer fluff movie that is only worth seeing for Laura Linney, who does the best she can with material that just isn't very interesting. Scarlett Johannson dyed her hair brown but you still don't believe The Devil "Buys" Prada. A summer fluff movie that is only worth seeing for Laura Linney, who does the best she can with material that just isn't very interesting. Scarlett Johannson dyed her hair brown but you still don't believe she's a nanny and Paul Giamatti is only just a name for the marquee. Summer is over. The Weinstein's should have known the audience for this movie has gone back to school. I recommend you wait on this for the dvd. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
CaladoniaK.Aug 22, 2007
AWFUL. Cliche after cliche littered with horrible casting choices. A steaming pile of crap.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JaredC.Aug 20, 2007
Its the funniest and most entertaining movie ever. I loved it.
0 of 1 users found this helpful