The Notebook

User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 349 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 22 out of 349
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. HaroldT
    Dec 29, 2008
    1
    I don't understand why people love this movie because to me these people should be n a mental hospital for screwing up films so bad.
  2. Aaron
    Sep 22, 2008
    2
    This movie will leave you wondering, moreover, gasping, about why films like this are still made... A typical love story with the only surprise or mystery throughout the entire cliche infected plot being that I decided to watch it in the first place. A shallow and awful attempt at what (to use stereophonics lyrics wisely) people who see no further than handbags and gladrags think love is! This movie will leave you wondering, moreover, gasping, about why films like this are still made... A typical love story with the only surprise or mystery throughout the entire cliche infected plot being that I decided to watch it in the first place. A shallow and awful attempt at what (to use stereophonics lyrics wisely) people who see no further than handbags and gladrags think love is! The acting was not terrible. It was bad, but not terrible. I think it must be difficult to act so unrealistically. The majority of the scenes are so far fetched and you can't help but feel like the writers of sex and the city could have written something more meaningful let alone believable. Some of the cinematography is well performed although, again, is subject to instant failure because of the simplicity and unrealistic portrayal of this story. I am sure, however, that many people will love this because Hollywood, yet again, has turned what was possibly a meaningful story, into an absolute (for the use of a better word) soppy, love drip mess. Expand
  3. Greg
    Jun 23, 2004
    1
    Cliches abound. Awful.
  4. RachelM.
    Aug 1, 2005
    1
    Ranks right there with "On Golden Pond" as the one of the most blatently manipulative, contrived movies of all time.
  5. Josh
    Jun 22, 2004
    2
    Unintentionally funny for its use of every imaginable romantic movie cliche.
  6. KelR.
    Jul 21, 2004
    0
    I'm still trying to swallow the vomit this movie induced. It's cliche all of the way and full of the typical feminist view of how love should be. I'll give you my summary: Boy risks life for a date with girl she accepts at the moment but later on lies and says she won't, boy has to plead for a date finally she accepts. They have greatest date ever because he's her I'm still trying to swallow the vomit this movie induced. It's cliche all of the way and full of the typical feminist view of how love should be. I'll give you my summary: Boy risks life for a date with girl she accepts at the moment but later on lies and says she won't, boy has to plead for a date finally she accepts. They have greatest date ever because he's her opposite and a rebel, although their relationship isn't good they have that sexual attraction going on. Girls parents are rich and boys parents are not so girls parents destroy the romance. Years go by and the girl finds a great guy, but she occasionally thinks of boy. Boy gets back from war and is a total wreak, he cannot forget girl, and every little thing he does is still for the girl (although the girl never does anything for him). It's insanely stupid but girl and boy have a chance meeting and shortly there after have alot of sex. For some reason girl doesn't even give a damn about that great guy (her fiancee) she promised to marry but that doesn't seem to bother her in the least. And everything after that I don't know because I left the theater. This movie is a putrified, maggot infested, diseased corpse on the side of the road, avoid it like the plague. I feel sorry for all of you people out there who think this story is about love because if you believe these lies you'll never discover what love is really about. Expand
  7. anonymousfilmcritic
    May 31, 2005
    0
    The story line was so predictable, a blind guy would have been able to see the ending if it were stranded on Saturn. it's more obvious than a punch in the face, although i'd rather endure a punch in the face a thousand times than have to watch this sad excuse for a movie ever again. the only reason a blind guy may give this 'movie' a half-decent review is becasuse he The story line was so predictable, a blind guy would have been able to see the ending if it were stranded on Saturn. it's more obvious than a punch in the face, although i'd rather endure a punch in the face a thousand times than have to watch this sad excuse for a movie ever again. the only reason a blind guy may give this 'movie' a half-decent review is becasuse he wouldnt have had to seen it. and after i had seen it, i began to wish i were blind, just so that i would never have to see anything like that again. (Sorry if I have offended any blind people.) Expand
  8. Jun 26, 2015
    3
    Not really pleasing in fact the movie was too upsetting you can easily point out the real-life hatred of Ryan and Rachel being drawn out on screen that obviously their reconciliation and love were fake, probably faker than Tommy Wiseau's poorly coordinated sex scenes in the romantic cult drama The Room, no wonder they never got close to each other, a hateful film It wasn't a film worthNot really pleasing in fact the movie was too upsetting you can easily point out the real-life hatred of Ryan and Rachel being drawn out on screen that obviously their reconciliation and love were fake, probably faker than Tommy Wiseau's poorly coordinated sex scenes in the romantic cult drama The Room, no wonder they never got close to each other, a hateful film It wasn't a film worth your Valentine's money to spend on seriously.

    Of course you can't understand every young girls passionate love for this film they all pick it out as their favorites...... Not mine
    Expand
Metascore
53

Mixed or average reviews - based on 34 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 34
  2. Negative: 3 out of 34
  1. Mercilessly plodding pacing, problematic character motivations and a fundamental lack of chemistry between the two star-crossed lovers in question don't do a lot to help its cause.
  2. 25
    I have the same allergic reaction to this open faucet of tear-jerking swill as I do to the 1996 Nicholas Sparks novel that inspired it.
  3. Reviewed by: Robert Koehler
    60
    A determined and often affecting romance that doesn't speak down to audiences.