New Line Cinema | Release Date: June 25, 2004
8.8
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 402 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
355
Mixed:
29
Negative:
18
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
6
python2000Feb 20, 2014
The most famous thing about The Notebook is probably how it is universally hated by men but loved by women. I don't hate it, but it is definitely weak and overrated. The performances are good, especially from Ryan Gosling who luckily is nowThe most famous thing about The Notebook is probably how it is universally hated by men but loved by women. I don't hate it, but it is definitely weak and overrated. The performances are good, especially from Ryan Gosling who luckily is now picking much better projects to work on. But the plot is predictable and cliched, despite many claiming it is one of the most original story lines ever. Just because a story happened in the past doesn't mean it isn't straightforward. I guessed the so called twist within the first 5 minutes (seriously that is not an exaggeration). Towards the end it gets a bit stronger and I can understand why fans call it the most emotional ending to any movie ever. To be honest The Notebook is not worth watching and is nowhere near as good as most say it is. Thank god the critics have more sense than the general public. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
4
Trev29Sep 1, 2012
The director seemed to do everything in his power to make this the most over dramatic romantic movie ever. Its as if he were trying to win a prize. The movie is phony and generic.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
JadeDec 4, 2005
10 10 10 10 10 ... i love this movie so much, coming from a girls perspective.. men might not like it all that much, but its WONDERFUL!!!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
4
RodrigoBGCSep 26, 2011
Only one word describe this movie, nonsense, most of the elements of this movie simply have no sense, the ambientation is ok, but if you analize it you will realize that most of the things that happen, are simply stupid or exaggerated, is aOnly one word describe this movie, nonsense, most of the elements of this movie simply have no sense, the ambientation is ok, but if you analize it you will realize that most of the things that happen, are simply stupid or exaggerated, is a good try but a love story should be coherent Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
RegOzApr 6, 2012
I can see why many people like it. Especially girls. I am myself a female spectator, yet, although I truly enjoyed, I don't find it as good as most people here seem to find it. The story is certainly beautiful, at times predictable, butI can see why many people like it. Especially girls. I am myself a female spectator, yet, although I truly enjoyed, I don't find it as good as most people here seem to find it. The story is certainly beautiful, at times predictable, but delightful just the same, and I like the performances. Still, the story is not truly original, but it has good moments and all the elements together make this movie special, not an easy movie to forget. For what it is, however...is over the average, but not much more. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
nirishan9Jan 21, 2013
Really, quite good and touching. Somewhat predictable and frustrating at times, overall a good watch. At some parts, it was rather boring, but nothing to complain about profusely.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
4
BradySmithJun 5, 2013
Chick flick alert. This movie is just another sappy love story. If I didn't have to rate it as a critic and just gave what I think about it as a score instead of being fair, its score would be even lower. I have to give credit to theChick flick alert. This movie is just another sappy love story. If I didn't have to rate it as a critic and just gave what I think about it as a score instead of being fair, its score would be even lower. I have to give credit to the actors, because you can tell they tried their best, and one of the scenes with the old people is kinda sad, (not the ending). But this one is made purely for girls, and particularly girls who don't give a crap about how contrived the story is. Was forced to watch this in my psychology class because it deals with memory. Needless to say, I didn't like it. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
saachanAug 15, 2011
I recommend this movie to many people. Because it is very nice and moved story. This is about love story. The main character is old man who loves one old woman. In the last scene, you must be cry. It is famous movie in America. I love this story!
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
5
cameronmorewoodNov 8, 2012
Gosling is great. He shows a variety of strong emotions, while still keeping his cool. It's the rest of the cast the overact and rip The Notebook to shreds.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
ThegodfathersonNov 13, 2013
I’ve heard people refer to “The Notebook” as cheesy, as a ‘chick flick’ (a label very few of my colleagues can stand because of its negative connotation), as predictable and sappy. So “The Notebook” doesn’t exactly take a brain surgeon toI’ve heard people refer to “The Notebook” as cheesy, as a ‘chick flick’ (a label very few of my colleagues can stand because of its negative connotation), as predictable and sappy. So “The Notebook” doesn’t exactly take a brain surgeon to guess how the story is going to play out. And it does unapologetically play on your emotions, practically begging you to squeeze out a few tears. But here’s why I enjoyed “The Notebook”: it’s a movie you can relax and let flow over you. It’s also one of the few films out there that tells a complete story. There’s a well-defined beginning, middle, and end. “The Notebook” is a gentle romantic tale in the midst of blockbuster action films and goofball comedies. It could be argued that releasing it in mid-June is counter-programming at its best, giving adults who don’t want their senses assailed by CGI special effects a real choice at the box office. But you have to wonder if “The Notebook” would have stood a better chance of finding the right audience had it been released later in the year, when moviegoers are really ready for more intense storytelling, than during the crowded summer months. The Notebook” isn’t just a film for women. It’s a movie for anyone who wants to get lost in a beautiful story, for anyone who believes romance is still alive on film. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
1
HaroldTDec 29, 2008
I don't understand why people love this movie because to me these people should be n a mental hospital for screwing up films so bad.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
2
AaronSep 22, 2008
This movie will leave you wondering, moreover, gasping, about why films like this are still made... A typical love story with the only surprise or mystery throughout the entire cliche infected plot being that I decided to watch it in the This movie will leave you wondering, moreover, gasping, about why films like this are still made... A typical love story with the only surprise or mystery throughout the entire cliche infected plot being that I decided to watch it in the first place. A shallow and awful attempt at what (to use stereophonics lyrics wisely) people who see no further than handbags and gladrags think love is! The acting was not terrible. It was bad, but not terrible. I think it must be difficult to act so unrealistically. The majority of the scenes are so far fetched and you can't help but feel like the writers of sex and the city could have written something more meaningful let alone believable. Some of the cinematography is well performed although, again, is subject to instant failure because of the simplicity and unrealistic portrayal of this story. I am sure, however, that many people will love this because Hollywood, yet again, has turned what was possibly a meaningful story, into an absolute (for the use of a better word) soppy, love drip mess. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
erin6Jan 20, 2011
The first time I saw this film I hated it. The second time I saw it I hated it. The third time I saw it I loved it. I'm not sure how I ended up watching a movie I hated so many times, but the third time my husband-to-be told me to watch itThe first time I saw this film I hated it. The second time I saw it I hated it. The third time I saw it I loved it. I'm not sure how I ended up watching a movie I hated so many times, but the third time my husband-to-be told me to watch it because he said the second time he saw it he realized that you have to be very very much in love to enjoy it. He was right. I think this movie speaks to our romantic fantasies. I just never had any romantic fantasies to compare it to until they happened to me in real life. This movie is wonderful if A) You are a hopeless romantic or B) You are that in love with someone yourself. I think how good it is is all about whether you can relate to the feelings of the characters. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
3
YoursTrulyNov 12, 2012
Sucks d**k.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
6
glendoflumpMay 21, 2014
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The first half hour was boring, only after halfway was mildly entertaining. However, I did loudly cry and yell at my screen at the end. Sad, but ultimately boring and, for me, just didn't live up to the hype. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
HamsterPrincessJan 6, 2015
One of the most beautiful love/romance dramas. I watched this over and over again, always in tears.
Performance of Rachel and Ryan are fantastic and the chemistry between them is believable.
Men hate this movie, but us girls love it! So be it. :))
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
4
AnonymousMCMar 3, 2005
I firmly believe that all of those people voting are the same Ryan Gosling-loving fangirl with too much time on her hands. This movie was boring, from start to finish. I wished for it to be sad enough to make me cry, just so that I would haveI firmly believe that all of those people voting are the same Ryan Gosling-loving fangirl with too much time on her hands. This movie was boring, from start to finish. I wished for it to be sad enough to make me cry, just so that I would have something to do. Unfortunately, this tepid love story of a man and a woman with no chemistry failed to moisten my eyes. And I'm a girl. I guess I'm just too hardcore. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
AndieV.Jul 2, 2007
i thought this movie was gonna be emotional and sad and beautiful, cause everyone was raving about it. then, when i watched it, it was like any ordinary "tragica" romance, some parts were emotional, but all in all, it was okay.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SamL.Mar 6, 2006
I love this movie. I think this movie is the greatest movie to show the meaning of staying with your love one no matter what.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DannyW.May 31, 2006
this film is a special film to me it is the saddest film ive ever nown it makes me cry, i fell in love with the film people u need to watch this film rating.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DickR.Aug 30, 2007
I tried to rate this movie a "14"... it's a perfect "10" plus 4 bonus points for Gosling's beard and ferris wheel climbing skills!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MeGaNSep 4, 2005
The notebook is the perfect movie for all age types. i didn't think i would like it but i actually loved it. i watched three times so far and i cried everytime. they show love as the most powerful thing. if someone hasn't seen it The notebook is the perfect movie for all age types. i didn't think i would like it but i actually loved it. i watched three times so far and i cried everytime. they show love as the most powerful thing. if someone hasn't seen it yet they have to go watch it. (bring some tissue!) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
AndyP.Feb 23, 2006
Ryan Gosling is perhaps the worst actor out there working today. Yes, even worse than Orlando Bloom.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SylviaV.Jul 6, 2006
its a very inspiring movie about love the story line is great i just loved it but if they didn't put so much sex it would be a great movie for my kids.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AbbyJul 1, 2007
Very good movie. I was honestly surprised I cried :)
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
AlLMar 17, 2008
[***SPOILERS***] Goes through the romance movie playbook page-by-page. The only thing that surprised me in this movie was the distinct lack of tragedy throughout. I expected the rich girl's parents to have Noah destroyed, or jailed, or [***SPOILERS***] Goes through the romance movie playbook page-by-page. The only thing that surprised me in this movie was the distinct lack of tragedy throughout. I expected the rich girl's parents to have Noah destroyed, or jailed, or something. Instead, they just go home. I expected Noah to get maimed in the war, he merely comes home a *little* bit less jovial. I expected Allie's perfect beau to cheat on her, I thought she might develop a drinking problem, or that he would at least go after Noah with a shotgun, ANYTHING! Nope, everyone in this movie is the nicest person in the world, and nothing in their world ever goes sour. Allie is so mawkishly dishy and nice that Noah's war-widow bit-on-the-side steps gracefully aside sighing 'gosh, but she's just wooonderful!' Fellahs, your lady will love this film. But, be warned, a man who will literally wither and die without them is NOT what women want- it's what they want to want. A wise man once said 'Man who put woman on pedestal, rarely knock her off.' Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
VictoriaDMar 17, 2009
I think if more people would love like that this world would be a better place.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
BobA.Jan 17, 2006
Knows what every adolescent and teenage girl wants to see --and delivers it. That makes it a good product, but a pretty boring movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
[Anonymous]Oct 25, 2008
Best love story ever.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DanDMar 13, 2009
This movie was wonderful. Sure it may have followed the stereotypical tragic/romance, but it has done it so well. I find it disgusting that someone can not see the greatness in the film. I could say more, but it feels as if my breath is This movie was wonderful. Sure it may have followed the stereotypical tragic/romance, but it has done it so well. I find it disgusting that someone can not see the greatness in the film. I could say more, but it feels as if my breath is being wasted. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful