New Line Cinema | Release Date: June 25, 2004
8.8
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 402 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
355
Mixed:
29
Negative:
18
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
6
python2000Feb 20, 2014
The most famous thing about The Notebook is probably how it is universally hated by men but loved by women. I don't hate it, but it is definitely weak and overrated. The performances are good, especially from Ryan Gosling who luckily is nowThe most famous thing about The Notebook is probably how it is universally hated by men but loved by women. I don't hate it, but it is definitely weak and overrated. The performances are good, especially from Ryan Gosling who luckily is now picking much better projects to work on. But the plot is predictable and cliched, despite many claiming it is one of the most original story lines ever. Just because a story happened in the past doesn't mean it isn't straightforward. I guessed the so called twist within the first 5 minutes (seriously that is not an exaggeration). Towards the end it gets a bit stronger and I can understand why fans call it the most emotional ending to any movie ever. To be honest The Notebook is not worth watching and is nowhere near as good as most say it is. Thank god the critics have more sense than the general public. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
4
Trev29Sep 1, 2012
The director seemed to do everything in his power to make this the most over dramatic romantic movie ever. Its as if he were trying to win a prize. The movie is phony and generic.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
JadeDec 4, 2005
10 10 10 10 10 ... i love this movie so much, coming from a girls perspective.. men might not like it all that much, but its WONDERFUL!!!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
4
RodrigoBGCSep 26, 2011
Only one word describe this movie, nonsense, most of the elements of this movie simply have no sense, the ambientation is ok, but if you analize it you will realize that most of the things that happen, are simply stupid or exaggerated, is aOnly one word describe this movie, nonsense, most of the elements of this movie simply have no sense, the ambientation is ok, but if you analize it you will realize that most of the things that happen, are simply stupid or exaggerated, is a good try but a love story should be coherent Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
RegOzApr 6, 2012
I can see why many people like it. Especially girls. I am myself a female spectator, yet, although I truly enjoyed, I don't find it as good as most people here seem to find it. The story is certainly beautiful, at times predictable, butI can see why many people like it. Especially girls. I am myself a female spectator, yet, although I truly enjoyed, I don't find it as good as most people here seem to find it. The story is certainly beautiful, at times predictable, but delightful just the same, and I like the performances. Still, the story is not truly original, but it has good moments and all the elements together make this movie special, not an easy movie to forget. For what it is, however...is over the average, but not much more. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
nirishan9Jan 21, 2013
Really, quite good and touching. Somewhat predictable and frustrating at times, overall a good watch. At some parts, it was rather boring, but nothing to complain about profusely.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
4
BradySmithJun 5, 2013
Chick flick alert. This movie is just another sappy love story. If I didn't have to rate it as a critic and just gave what I think about it as a score instead of being fair, its score would be even lower. I have to give credit to theChick flick alert. This movie is just another sappy love story. If I didn't have to rate it as a critic and just gave what I think about it as a score instead of being fair, its score would be even lower. I have to give credit to the actors, because you can tell they tried their best, and one of the scenes with the old people is kinda sad, (not the ending). But this one is made purely for girls, and particularly girls who don't give a crap about how contrived the story is. Was forced to watch this in my psychology class because it deals with memory. Needless to say, I didn't like it. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
saachanAug 15, 2011
I recommend this movie to many people. Because it is very nice and moved story. This is about love story. The main character is old man who loves one old woman. In the last scene, you must be cry. It is famous movie in America. I love this story!
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
5
cameronmorewoodNov 8, 2012
Gosling is great. He shows a variety of strong emotions, while still keeping his cool. It's the rest of the cast the overact and rip The Notebook to shreds.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
ThegodfathersonNov 13, 2013
I’ve heard people refer to “The Notebook” as cheesy, as a ‘chick flick’ (a label very few of my colleagues can stand because of its negative connotation), as predictable and sappy. So “The Notebook” doesn’t exactly take a brain surgeon toI’ve heard people refer to “The Notebook” as cheesy, as a ‘chick flick’ (a label very few of my colleagues can stand because of its negative connotation), as predictable and sappy. So “The Notebook” doesn’t exactly take a brain surgeon to guess how the story is going to play out. And it does unapologetically play on your emotions, practically begging you to squeeze out a few tears. But here’s why I enjoyed “The Notebook”: it’s a movie you can relax and let flow over you. It’s also one of the few films out there that tells a complete story. There’s a well-defined beginning, middle, and end. “The Notebook” is a gentle romantic tale in the midst of blockbuster action films and goofball comedies. It could be argued that releasing it in mid-June is counter-programming at its best, giving adults who don’t want their senses assailed by CGI special effects a real choice at the box office. But you have to wonder if “The Notebook” would have stood a better chance of finding the right audience had it been released later in the year, when moviegoers are really ready for more intense storytelling, than during the crowded summer months. The Notebook” isn’t just a film for women. It’s a movie for anyone who wants to get lost in a beautiful story, for anyone who believes romance is still alive on film. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
1
HaroldTDec 29, 2008
I don't understand why people love this movie because to me these people should be n a mental hospital for screwing up films so bad.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
2
AaronSep 22, 2008
This movie will leave you wondering, moreover, gasping, about why films like this are still made... A typical love story with the only surprise or mystery throughout the entire cliche infected plot being that I decided to watch it in the This movie will leave you wondering, moreover, gasping, about why films like this are still made... A typical love story with the only surprise or mystery throughout the entire cliche infected plot being that I decided to watch it in the first place. A shallow and awful attempt at what (to use stereophonics lyrics wisely) people who see no further than handbags and gladrags think love is! The acting was not terrible. It was bad, but not terrible. I think it must be difficult to act so unrealistically. The majority of the scenes are so far fetched and you can't help but feel like the writers of sex and the city could have written something more meaningful let alone believable. Some of the cinematography is well performed although, again, is subject to instant failure because of the simplicity and unrealistic portrayal of this story. I am sure, however, that many people will love this because Hollywood, yet again, has turned what was possibly a meaningful story, into an absolute (for the use of a better word) soppy, love drip mess. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
erin6Jan 20, 2011
The first time I saw this film I hated it. The second time I saw it I hated it. The third time I saw it I loved it. I'm not sure how I ended up watching a movie I hated so many times, but the third time my husband-to-be told me to watch itThe first time I saw this film I hated it. The second time I saw it I hated it. The third time I saw it I loved it. I'm not sure how I ended up watching a movie I hated so many times, but the third time my husband-to-be told me to watch it because he said the second time he saw it he realized that you have to be very very much in love to enjoy it. He was right. I think this movie speaks to our romantic fantasies. I just never had any romantic fantasies to compare it to until they happened to me in real life. This movie is wonderful if A) You are a hopeless romantic or B) You are that in love with someone yourself. I think how good it is is all about whether you can relate to the feelings of the characters. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
3
YoursTrulyNov 12, 2012
Sucks d**k.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
6
glendoflumpMay 21, 2014
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The first half hour was boring, only after halfway was mildly entertaining. However, I did loudly cry and yell at my screen at the end. Sad, but ultimately boring and, for me, just didn't live up to the hype. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
HamsterPrincessJan 6, 2015
One of the most beautiful love/romance dramas. I watched this over and over again, always in tears.
Performance of Rachel and Ryan are fantastic and the chemistry between them is believable.
Men hate this movie, but us girls love it! So be it. :))
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
4
AnonymousMCMar 3, 2005
I firmly believe that all of those people voting are the same Ryan Gosling-loving fangirl with too much time on her hands. This movie was boring, from start to finish. I wished for it to be sad enough to make me cry, just so that I would haveI firmly believe that all of those people voting are the same Ryan Gosling-loving fangirl with too much time on her hands. This movie was boring, from start to finish. I wished for it to be sad enough to make me cry, just so that I would have something to do. Unfortunately, this tepid love story of a man and a woman with no chemistry failed to moisten my eyes. And I'm a girl. I guess I'm just too hardcore. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
AndieV.Jul 2, 2007
i thought this movie was gonna be emotional and sad and beautiful, cause everyone was raving about it. then, when i watched it, it was like any ordinary "tragica" romance, some parts were emotional, but all in all, it was okay.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SamL.Mar 6, 2006
I love this movie. I think this movie is the greatest movie to show the meaning of staying with your love one no matter what.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DannyW.May 31, 2006
this film is a special film to me it is the saddest film ive ever nown it makes me cry, i fell in love with the film people u need to watch this film rating.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DickR.Aug 30, 2007
I tried to rate this movie a "14"... it's a perfect "10" plus 4 bonus points for Gosling's beard and ferris wheel climbing skills!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MeGaNSep 4, 2005
The notebook is the perfect movie for all age types. i didn't think i would like it but i actually loved it. i watched three times so far and i cried everytime. they show love as the most powerful thing. if someone hasn't seen it The notebook is the perfect movie for all age types. i didn't think i would like it but i actually loved it. i watched three times so far and i cried everytime. they show love as the most powerful thing. if someone hasn't seen it yet they have to go watch it. (bring some tissue!) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
AndyP.Feb 23, 2006
Ryan Gosling is perhaps the worst actor out there working today. Yes, even worse than Orlando Bloom.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SylviaV.Jul 6, 2006
its a very inspiring movie about love the story line is great i just loved it but if they didn't put so much sex it would be a great movie for my kids.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AbbyJul 1, 2007
Very good movie. I was honestly surprised I cried :)
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
AlLMar 17, 2008
[***SPOILERS***] Goes through the romance movie playbook page-by-page. The only thing that surprised me in this movie was the distinct lack of tragedy throughout. I expected the rich girl's parents to have Noah destroyed, or jailed, or [***SPOILERS***] Goes through the romance movie playbook page-by-page. The only thing that surprised me in this movie was the distinct lack of tragedy throughout. I expected the rich girl's parents to have Noah destroyed, or jailed, or something. Instead, they just go home. I expected Noah to get maimed in the war, he merely comes home a *little* bit less jovial. I expected Allie's perfect beau to cheat on her, I thought she might develop a drinking problem, or that he would at least go after Noah with a shotgun, ANYTHING! Nope, everyone in this movie is the nicest person in the world, and nothing in their world ever goes sour. Allie is so mawkishly dishy and nice that Noah's war-widow bit-on-the-side steps gracefully aside sighing 'gosh, but she's just wooonderful!' Fellahs, your lady will love this film. But, be warned, a man who will literally wither and die without them is NOT what women want- it's what they want to want. A wise man once said 'Man who put woman on pedestal, rarely knock her off.' Collapse
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
VictoriaDMar 17, 2009
I think if more people would love like that this world would be a better place.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
BobA.Jan 17, 2006
Knows what every adolescent and teenage girl wants to see --and delivers it. That makes it a good product, but a pretty boring movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
[Anonymous]Oct 25, 2008
Best love story ever.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DanDMar 13, 2009
This movie was wonderful. Sure it may have followed the stereotypical tragic/romance, but it has done it so well. I find it disgusting that someone can not see the greatness in the film. I could say more, but it feels as if my breath is This movie was wonderful. Sure it may have followed the stereotypical tragic/romance, but it has done it so well. I find it disgusting that someone can not see the greatness in the film. I could say more, but it feels as if my breath is being wasted. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RickZ.Nov 28, 2005
Now this is what I would call a true love story. I was blown away. This will definitely be one of my all time favorites. I can't stop thinking about it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
jimmytancrediJun 21, 2011
Well, I am one of those romantic ... and I much prefer a romance to a romantic comedy (anytime!) then, so was predisposed to like the movie. Of course I heard much about it because it is the typical movie that when people talk about romance,Well, I am one of those romantic ... and I much prefer a romance to a romantic comedy (anytime!) then, so was predisposed to like the movie. Of course I heard much about it because it is the typical movie that when people talk about romance, someone mentions the conversation: "You like it? Have you seen The Notebook?" The story is too beautiful and the romantic cliches are all there (thankfully) because the novel is to be romantic, it is to have remarkable dialogues, is to have beautiful scenes, etc.. Not to mention how I cried during the 2-hour movie, it seems that nothing else matters but the happiness of two characters on television. It's over, and and I was still crying ten minutes more, nor could he comment on the scenes without thrill me again ... ahahah (I'm hopeless, I know). Those who like novels, have to see The Notebook (it took me to see, because I'm stupid). I have a list of novels to watch (or read), but I better take a break, because life without these cinematographic, would be depressing! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
csw12Nov 26, 2015
This movie will leave you wondering, moreover, gasping, about why films like this are still made... A typical love story with the only surprise or mystery throughout the entire cliche infected plot. Garbage film
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
SpangleDec 15, 2016
A stirring romance film between a creepy stalker and an emotional mess, The Notebook is a film that needs no introduction. Everybody knows about The Notebook and a review will hardly convince you to change your stance. Personally, it was justA stirring romance film between a creepy stalker and an emotional mess, The Notebook is a film that needs no introduction. Everybody knows about The Notebook and a review will hardly convince you to change your stance. Personally, it was just fine. Ryan Gosling and Rachel McAdams lack chemistry whatsoever and their section is entirely typical. However, the old people are tremendous and provide all of the spark this film needs and it is a shame that it focuses on the wrong story for much of the runtime. That said, Gosling and McAdams do turn in good performances, even if their part lacks fire or punch. Instead, it rides on cliches and turns in a bland romance billed as epic.

I love romance films. I honestly do like chick flicks too. Not in a guilty pleasure way either. I simply like good cinema. The genre does not matter. The target demographic does not matter. Thus, my mixed feelings towards The Notebook are not as a result of being a guy and not liking romance movies. Rather, it is how lazy the section with young Noah Calhoun (Gosling) and Allie Hamilton (McAdams) is and how much it could have been. Often, romance movies opt to have their couples "meet cute". The Notebook takes a unique approach and instead just as Noah awkwardkly threaten to kill himself if Allie did not go on a date with him and creepily stalk her around both a carnival and in the town. How charming. Like, I know it is Ryan Gosling, but this girl should be calling the cops before he sends her his ear as a gift. Oddly though, they are well-matched for one another. Both possessing a propensity for cheating on their significant others when apart, Allie is also incredibly flawed. Slapping Noah during fights, spazzing out randomly, falling apart emotionally regularly, and indecisive, Allie is hardly a catch herself. Like, I know it is Rachel McAdams, but this guy should probably be moving along. Fortunately, he is a creep and she is an oddly abusive and emotional drama queen. It is like a beautiful match made in heaven. In a nutshell, this film is, "If you can't handle me at my worst, you don't deserve me at my best."

Fortunately, the section with the older version of the couple is breathtakingly emotional and tender. Love defined, this portion of the film is stunning. Starring James Garner as the older Noah and Gena Rowlands as the older Allie, the couple has incredible chemistry. Noah is now quite frail and had suffered multiple heart attacks in recent times. Allie has dementia and cannot remember Noah or their family. Yet, Noah does not give up and continues to read their story to her in order to help her remember him. The fleeting moments where she does are stunning. Chills, tears, and love, follow whenever they can hold each other and both know that they love one another. These moments are quickly followed up by Allie again forgetting and are powerful, emphasized by the tears in Noah's eyes as Allie gets covered in the fog once again. The ending may be a bit manipulative, but damn if it is not incredibly well-written and deserving of more screentime.

The other major plus here is Allie's mother, Ann Hamilton (Joan Allen). Though the situation her daughter found herself in is repugnant, the scene of Ann and Allie driving through South Carolina for Ann to help her daughter figure out what she wanted is great. Packed with emotion and terrific acting by Allen, this what-if scene of risky love versus safe love is powerful. While I did not identify with Allie's scenario, this moment and the emotional performance by Allen in this scene stand as a real highlight in the film.

It is fair to say I did not get what I expected from The Notebook. I figured the Gosling and McAdams portion would deliver the goods. Unfortunately, it was greatly disappointing. Though blessed with lush period detail and some great date scenes (laying in the road to watch the traffic light), this one is largely derailed by cliches and unethical characters. Yet, the portion of the older couple is profound and a thoroughly moving look at dementia, aging, and love through time. It is sad that The Notebook is not remembered for this section, which truly sets it apart from other chick flicks or romance films.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
lukechristianscFeb 12, 2015
Apparently critics are giving 'The notebook' a mediocre review, i couldn't blame i actually agree, the movie starts out an old man trying to make his dementia wife Allison trying to remember when they first meet also when they fall in love;Apparently critics are giving 'The notebook' a mediocre review, i couldn't blame i actually agree, the movie starts out an old man trying to make his dementia wife Allison trying to remember when they first meet also when they fall in love; so anyway the movie starts Rachelle Mcadams and Ryan Gosling are star crossed lovers young Allison is rich young Noah is poor. It's Nicholas Sparks same cliche' in all of his movies including books. Like this movie is very cliche'd like seriously a person can't remember their love story? so James Garner makes a book about their love to make sure old Ally (Gena Rowlandsy) remember? wow what a cliche! but the cast is great and they give outstanding performances. Grade C+ Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MarickJul 5, 2015
It is a perfect film. It's really one worth seeing .
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
VinceRocks123Jun 26, 2015
Not really pleasing in fact the movie was too upsetting you can easily point out the real-life hatred of Ryan and Rachel being drawn out on screen that obviously their reconciliation and love were fake, probably faker than Tommy Wiseau'sNot really pleasing in fact the movie was too upsetting you can easily point out the real-life hatred of Ryan and Rachel being drawn out on screen that obviously their reconciliation and love were fake, probably faker than Tommy Wiseau's poorly coordinated sex scenes in the romantic cult drama The Room, no wonder they never got close to each other, a hateful film It wasn't a film worth your Valentine's money to spend on seriously.

Of course you can't understand every young girls passionate love for this film they all pick it out as their favorites...... Not mine
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
goudamandoJun 1, 2015
I rated it with 6 stars but I think I deserved only 4; I think the flashback is good but only when you do it well, so I suggest you to start with the family picture at the garden of the hospital when they told The father that there is no hopeI rated it with 6 stars but I think I deserved only 4; I think the flashback is good but only when you do it well, so I suggest you to start with the family picture at the garden of the hospital when they told The father that there is no hope and also ask him to back home, or the death of the two. then back with the story teller. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
vivekvermaAug 24, 2015
The Notebook is a brilliantly written intriguing story about two young lovers that most people can relate to. The movie describes how a summer love turned into a pure and inseprable love. The movie is filled with fabulous quotes andThe Notebook is a brilliantly written intriguing story about two young lovers that most people can relate to. The movie describes how a summer love turned into a pure and inseprable love. The movie is filled with fabulous quotes and sentimental moments which makes people get lost in the story, and forget about their thoughts, or what is going on in the outside world.

The movie was adapted from the novel "The Notebook" by Nicholas Sparks. Nick Cassavetes directed the movie, making a great adaption. Ryan Gosling brings a great innocence to the role of Noah Calhoun in the film, one of the two main characters. Rachel McAdams plays the other half of the duo as Allie Hamilton. They both gave an astonishing performances along with James Garner who plays old Noah and Gena Rowlands who plays old Allie.

The old Allie has a disease called Alzheimer's which makes her forget about her old life, particularly her husband and the life they had spent together. The story unfolds as Old Noah reads her "The Notebook" comprising of their young love, how they met, how they fell in love, how their love grew.

Noah and Allie gave a remarkably convincing portrayal of a boy and a girl traveling down a very long road with no regard for the consequence of their unconditional love. Noah is a country boy, Allie is from city. Being from a wealthy family, she had the world at her feet while he didn't have two dimes to rub together. With Noah, Allie is a completely different person. She sees her life differently and does what she likes rather than what her parents wants for her. She is like a free bird flying high up in the sky, enjoying her life to the fullest. One of the narration of the movie says, "The best love is the kind that awakens the soul and makes us reach out for more, that plants a fire in our heart and brings peace to our minds". That's what they gave each other and that's what people want in their life.

It does not matter whether you love romantic movies or hate them, this is NOT just a romantic movie it is so more than that. By the end of the movie you will feel a whole heap of emotions. It leaves it viewers to talk about the movie for a long time. This was one of the best movies I recently saw and would highly recommend to see this epic tale of love.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
simonerodriguezMar 13, 2016
who ever gave this a negative score must hate life! it is one the best films i have ever seen, i can watch it again and again and again and again! ive always wanted a love like this!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
LzrtagwinaBurneMar 26, 2016
Slow starting, outdated music, scrappy clothes, mediocre actors, unbelievable story line, dozed off 40 mins through, woke up before the end, couldn't follow the plot & it was a 2 hour movie!!!

But it was just that DAMN cute! 10/10 would do again!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Antgiog1202May 20, 2016
Romance is the finest miracle life has to offer human beings. With the uncontrollable desire to love a solemate brings us that motivating force to wake up every morning and appreciate our time in life. The Notebook is the definition ofRomance is the finest miracle life has to offer human beings. With the uncontrollable desire to love a solemate brings us that motivating force to wake up every morning and appreciate our time in life. The Notebook is the definition of adoration and love between two vastly beautiful individuals. It can tunnel into the inner core of our hearts and can stupidly play with our emotions. Though, it doesn't surpass the obvious cliches we would expect out of this genre. The playful dialouge, the breakup, and the reconciliation moment are all perfect examples of cliches this film possesss.

The Notebook can be a hard film to watch; but it's definately worth your time!

Rating: 7/10
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews