The Notebook

The Notebook Image
Metascore
53

Mixed or average reviews - based on 34 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 449 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , , ,
  • Summary: A sweeping love story told by a man (Garner) reading from his faded notebook to a woman in a nursing home (Rowlands), The Notebook follows the lives of two North Carolina teens from very different worlds who spend one indelible summer together before they are separated, first by her parentsA sweeping love story told by a man (Garner) reading from his faded notebook to a woman in a nursing home (Rowlands), The Notebook follows the lives of two North Carolina teens from very different worlds who spend one indelible summer together before they are separated, first by her parents and then by WWII. (New Line Productions) Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 34
  2. Negative: 3 out of 34
  1. Wall Street Journal
    Reviewed by: Joe Morgenstern
    90
    A lovely surprise. Ripe with feeling and lush with physical beauty, it's a love story that swings confidently between age and youth, and, like the young Tiger Woods of old, avoids every trap along the way.
  2. An old-fashioned and occasionally schmaltzy movie that delivers an emotional wallop
  3. 70
    Overall, The Notebook is a surprisingly good film that manages to succeed where many other "chick flick" like romances fail.
  4. 60
    Amid the sticky-sweet swamp of Jeremy Leven's script, Rowlands and Garner emerge spotless and beatific, lending a magnanimous credibility to their scenes together. These two old pros slice cleanly through the thicket of sap-weeping dialogue and contrivance, locating the terror and desolation wrought by the cruel betrayals of a failing mind.
  5. 50
    You won't necessarily applaud The Notebook's excesses, but its final moments of grace will leave you in a sodden heap on the theater floor.
  6. 50
    To their credit, director Nick Cassavetes and screenwriter Jeremy Leven heighten the melodrama and seize on the most distinctive strokes of Nicholas Sparks' bland best seller.
  7. 20
    The movie not only approaches a level of shamelessness you have to see to disbelieve, it does it in a manner that's both inept and crass.

See all 34 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 82 out of 105
  2. Negative: 10 out of 105
  1. [Anonymous]
    Oct 25, 2008
    10
    Best love story ever.
  2. Jul 5, 2015
    10
    It is a perfect film. It's really one worth seeingIt is a perfect film. It's really one worth seeing . Expand
  3. Aug 15, 2011
    10
    I recommend this movie to many people. Because it is very nice and moved story. This is about love story. The main character is old man whoI recommend this movie to many people. Because it is very nice and moved story. This is about love story. The main character is old man who loves one old woman. In the last scene, you must be cry. It is famous movie in America. I love this story! Expand
  4. Apr 6, 2012
    7
    I can see why many people like it. Especially girls. I am myself a female spectator, yet, although I truly enjoyed, I don't find it as good asI can see why many people like it. Especially girls. I am myself a female spectator, yet, although I truly enjoyed, I don't find it as good as most people here seem to find it. The story is certainly beautiful, at times predictable, but delightful just the same, and I like the performances. Still, the story is not truly original, but it has good moments and all the elements together make this movie special, not an easy movie to forget. For what it is, however...is over the average, but not much more. Expand
  5. Jun 1, 2015
    6
    I rated it with 6 stars but I think I deserved only 4; I think the flashback is good but only when you do it well, so I suggest you to startI rated it with 6 stars but I think I deserved only 4; I think the flashback is good but only when you do it well, so I suggest you to start with the family picture at the garden of the hospital when they told The father that there is no hope and also ask him to back home, or the death of the two. then back with the story teller. Expand
  6. Sep 1, 2012
    4
    The director seemed to do everything in his power to make this the most over dramatic romantic movie ever. Its as if he were trying to win aThe director seemed to do everything in his power to make this the most over dramatic romantic movie ever. Its as if he were trying to win a prize. The movie is phony and generic. Collapse
  7. HaroldT
    Dec 29, 2008
    1
    I don't understand why people love this movie because to me these people should be n a mental hospital for screwing up films so bad.

See all 105 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. 23 Buddy Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best

    23 Buddy Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best Image
    Published: July 25, 2016
    We rank some of cinema's most notable buddy films by Metascore.
  2. What to Watch Now on Netflix

    What to Watch Now on Netflix Image
    Published: July 25, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Netflix streaming, updated frequently. You can also find a list of titles expiring soon.
  3. Film Friday (7/22): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (7/22): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: July 22, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at The Magnificent Seven, Sausage Party, xXx: Return of Xander Cage, Snowden, The Girl on the Train, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.
  4. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: July 20, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Star Trek Beyond, Lights Out, Don't Think Twice, Ice Age: Collision Course, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.