Open Road Films | Release Date: January 17, 2014
4.2
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 87 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
21
Mixed:
24
Negative:
42
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
7
blackjack777Mar 24, 2014
I didn’t think that the nut job was all that bad. When I saw it I was going in expecting something horrible but no it really surprised me and I honestly think it was ok maybe even good. The animation was ok the story was well paced but weakI didn’t think that the nut job was all that bad. When I saw it I was going in expecting something horrible but no it really surprised me and I honestly think it was ok maybe even good. The animation was ok the story was well paced but weak and generic over all. The main character was a bit too much of an a$% but not so that he was unlikeable. The side characters were fun and enough to balance out his negativity the notable ones are buddy as a faithful sidekick and precious who’s dynamic with the main character and personality had me laughing more than once. The main antagonist was bland but not distractingly so. All in all the movie is pretty bland with few weaknesses but takes no risks. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
billylenzFeb 8, 2014
"The Nut Job" was actually pretty good and definitely hilarious. i mean, yea i gotta admit: the story's been done over 200 times before, it's a bit too fast and Surly isn't as likeable as i wanted him to be, but look on the bright side. they"The Nut Job" was actually pretty good and definitely hilarious. i mean, yea i gotta admit: the story's been done over 200 times before, it's a bit too fast and Surly isn't as likeable as i wanted him to be, but look on the bright side. they did try. the animation was surprisingly really good. the colors are nice and vivid, with some really good 3D too (like when the tree explodes, the nuts and acorns look like they're about to hit your face, it was realistic). the voice acting was good too, but i gotta say: the one who totally stole the show for me was Maya Rudolph as Precious the pug. i'm not saying that just cause i love pugs, but cause Maya Rudolph really knows how to handle a voice role. she does that here and it's great, i really liked it. and i laughed a lot in this movie, and i wasn't the only one. everybody in the theater i was in, they all laughed out loud. it was a hilarious movie and we all liked it. so if u want 87 minutes of laughs, good humor, nice voice acting and a smart premise, go check out The Nut Job. no matter how much bad review it got, i still recommend it. it's a good movie Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
10
Atom57Jan 25, 2014
I really liked this movie though the story is a little bit predictable it was still very fun, exciting and hilarious nothing like Over the Hedge i thought that movie sucked but that 's just my opinion.
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
8
NikoZguri1997Jan 17, 2014
"The Nut Job" was actually pretty good and definitely hilarious. i mean, yea i gotta admit: the story's been done over 200 times before, it's a bit too fast and Surly isn't as likeable as i wanted him to be, but look on the bright side. they"The Nut Job" was actually pretty good and definitely hilarious. i mean, yea i gotta admit: the story's been done over 200 times before, it's a bit too fast and Surly isn't as likeable as i wanted him to be, but look on the bright side. they did try. the animation was surprisingly really good. the colors are nice and vivid, with some really good 3D too (like when the tree explodes, the nuts and acorns look like they're about to hit your face, it was realistic). the voice acting was good too, but i gotta say: the one who totally stole the show for me was Maya Rudolph as Precious the pug. i'm not saying that just cause i love pugs, but cause Maya Rudolph really knows how to handle a voice role. she does that here and it's great, i really liked it. and i laughed a lot in this movie, and i wasn't the only one. everybody in the theater i was in, they all laughed out loud. it was a hilarious movie and we all liked it. so if u want 87 minutes of laughs, good humor, nice voice acting and a smart premise, go check out The Nut Job. no matter how much bad review it got, i still recommend it. it's a good movie Expand
1 of 6 users found this helpful15
All this user's reviews
7
CherryxldApr 11, 2015
The Nut Job es una película de animación que si bien no se complementa del todo, puede llegar a ser entretenida.

Esta película puede identificarse como un film que podría llegar a ser más disfrutable tanto para los más pequeños como para
The Nut Job es una película de animación que si bien no se complementa del todo, puede llegar a ser entretenida.

Esta película puede identificarse como un film que podría llegar a ser más disfrutable tanto para los más pequeños como para los adultos, con una atmósfera que no resulta tan compleja, pero que ese detalle (que no la hace menos optimista) no la afecta ya que de cierta forma consigue deslumbrar con los recursos que tiene la mano y que los utiliza de una manera sustancial y fluida.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Jollyjoe1000Dec 16, 2015
WTF is everyone complaining about. it is a good movie the plot is simple and I love the characters and everyone who hated on this movie should be ashamed to underrated a good animated movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
RobertTheGreatFeb 28, 2017
I Am Actually Surprised Why It Was Not So Popular, I Mean The Characters Were Hilarious, Even Surly Squirrel, Didn't You Know That I Watched This Movie 2 Times In Theaters, And Then Again In My Birthday In 2014
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
SuperemeMar 5, 2017
Despite having a Metascore of 37 I Like this Film and It is so Funny but if is isn't Funny Let me Know................................................
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews