The Nut Job

The Nut Job Image
Metascore
37

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 28 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 77 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 28
  2. Negative: 8 out of 28
  1. Reviewed by: Bilge Ebiri
    Jan 17, 2014
    70
    A delightfully goofy slapstick cartoon with a surprisingly dark heart.
  2. 63
    Better than any animated film released in the doldrums of January has a right to be.
  3. Reviewed by: Adam Nayman
    Jan 16, 2014
    50
    The Nut Job has a certain lo-fi charm, but it’s hardly a world-beater; with all due respect to Surly, Rocky J. Squirrel’s place in the pantheon would seem to be safe for another 50 years.
  4. Reviewed by: Bill Goodykoontz
    Jan 15, 2014
    40
    Peter Lepeniotis’ animated film brings together a good cast, including Will Arnett, Brendan Fraser and Liam Neeson, which sounds like a sweet deal. But it places them in an uninspired little movie about selfish behavior, which, while overcome (of course), never really manages to escape its bitter roots.
  5. Reviewed by: Miriam Bale
    Jan 16, 2014
    40
    The Nut Job features muddy-colored and often ugly animation, a plot that feels too stretched out and loaded with details to hold the attention of most children, and more flatulence jokes than anyone deserves.
  6. Reviewed by: Scott Bowles
    Jan 16, 2014
    38
    Despite some high-caliber voice talent and shimmering animation, it's hard to get a bead on this tale.
  7. Reviewed by: Kevin McFarland
    Jan 15, 2014
    0
    The most egregious problem with The Nut Job is how shamelessly it fills in the gaps left by expanding Lepeniotis’ short with generic and tedious rogue-to-hero cliché.

See all 28 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 27
  2. Negative: 16 out of 27
  1. Feb 8, 2014
    10
    "The Nut Job" was actually pretty good and definitely hilarious. i mean, yea i gotta admit: the story's been done over 200 times before, it's"The Nut Job" was actually pretty good and definitely hilarious. i mean, yea i gotta admit: the story's been done over 200 times before, it's a bit too fast and Surly isn't as likeable as i wanted him to be, but look on the bright side. they did try. the animation was surprisingly really good. the colors are nice and vivid, with some really good 3D too (like when the tree explodes, the nuts and acorns look like they're about to hit your face, it was realistic). the voice acting was good too, but i gotta say: the one who totally stole the show for me was Maya Rudolph as Precious the pug. i'm not saying that just cause i love pugs, but cause Maya Rudolph really knows how to handle a voice role. she does that here and it's great, i really liked it. and i laughed a lot in this movie, and i wasn't the only one. everybody in the theater i was in, they all laughed out loud. it was a hilarious movie and we all liked it. so if u want 87 minutes of laughs, good humor, nice voice acting and a smart premise, go check out The Nut Job. no matter how much bad review it got, i still recommend it. it's a good movie Expand
  2. Jan 17, 2014
    8
    "The Nut Job" was actually pretty good and definitely hilarious. i mean, yea i gotta admit: the story's been done over 200 times before, it's"The Nut Job" was actually pretty good and definitely hilarious. i mean, yea i gotta admit: the story's been done over 200 times before, it's a bit too fast and Surly isn't as likeable as i wanted him to be, but look on the bright side. they did try. the animation was surprisingly really good. the colors are nice and vivid, with some really good 3D too (like when the tree explodes, the nuts and acorns look like they're about to hit your face, it was realistic). the voice acting was good too, but i gotta say: the one who totally stole the show for me was Maya Rudolph as Precious the pug. i'm not saying that just cause i love pugs, but cause Maya Rudolph really knows how to handle a voice role. she does that here and it's great, i really liked it. and i laughed a lot in this movie, and i wasn't the only one. everybody in the theater i was in, they all laughed out loud. it was a hilarious movie and we all liked it. so if u want 87 minutes of laughs, good humor, nice voice acting and a smart premise, go check out The Nut Job. no matter how much bad review it got, i still recommend it. it's a good movie Expand
  3. May 16, 2014
    6
    It's no Over the Hedge, but it's still a fairly entertaining movie about animals stealing food. I think kids will find it enjoyable, and I seeIt's no Over the Hedge, but it's still a fairly entertaining movie about animals stealing food. I think kids will find it enjoyable, and I see no reason why parents would hate it. Yes it's not up to the quality of a Pixar or DreamWorks animated movie, but I do not believe in will make older audiences miserable.

    The movie has got a great voice cast full of some big name actors. The animation is pretty bad though, as the human characters and backgrounds just look gross. The animals actually look pretty good, but it's often hard to notice that given how ugly the world around them is. As far as humor and story goes, both are up to snuff and are entertaining enough to keep you engaged, even if neither are particularly revolutionary. I do feel it can be surprisingly violent though, and not in a slapstick sort of way. It can almost seem mean at times.

    All in all it's a decent animated kids movie that I do not feel will make viewers miserable in any way. Kids are most likely going to get quite a few laughs out of it, and adults shouldn't have to worry about staying awake through it. My final score is a 6.3/10=Okay.
    Expand
  4. Jun 9, 2015
    3
    The Nut Job it's as terrible as it sounds.You would think that a 2014 animation would be better or at least better looking but no.How came upThe Nut Job it's as terrible as it sounds.You would think that a 2014 animation would be better or at least better looking but no.How came up with this idea in the first place,or even a better question Who approved this movie in the first place anyway ?
    Why are they making a second movie I will never understand.Probably because of the movie this movie made.Why do people keep on watching these terrible movies ? I don't understand what is considered good in this movie to watch it on cinema ? I even regret very much watching it at home.
    Just do not watch this film if you still haven't please don't let these stupid and worthless movies evolve.
    Expand
  5. Mar 6, 2014
    3
    Though it is a story about animals, it is just too ridiculous to follow. The story line was boring and poorly developed. I kept hoping forThough it is a story about animals, it is just too ridiculous to follow. The story line was boring and poorly developed. I kept hoping for something positive to come out of this movie, but it didn't happen. I love animated films, but not this one. Highly disappointed! Expand
  6. Jun 30, 2014
    2
    Seriously, the worst animated film I have seen in years. My kids hated it and wanted me to turn it off and rewatch other movies instead. ISeriously, the worst animated film I have seen in years. My kids hated it and wanted me to turn it off and rewatch other movies instead. I made them finish it, but just horrible. Stupid story. Terrible characters and acting. Yes, the voices in this movie actually annoyed me. That's saying something. Whoever made this I think just had one small idea and thought they can make a mint on it. Expand
  7. Mar 15, 2014
    0
    i looked at the trailer for nut job i am not gonna see it because why you see a squirrel trying to steal nuts . we all seen these animalsi looked at the trailer for nut job i am not gonna see it because why you see a squirrel trying to steal nuts . we all seen these animals take nuts and it is easy . Expand

See all 27 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: August 24, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Don't Breathe, Hands of Stone, Southside With You, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.
  2. What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video

    What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video Image
    Published: August 23, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Amazon Instant Video and Prime Instant Video, updated frequently.
  3. Film Friday (8/19): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (8/19): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: August 19, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at Denis Villeneuve's buzzy sci-fi film Arrival, plus Terrence Malick’s Voyage of Time, Andrea Arnold's American Honey, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.
  4. Action Heroes: The Definitive Ranking

    Action Heroes: The Definitive Ranking Image
    Published: August 16, 2016
    We rank 22 leading action movie stars by their average Metascores.