User Score
6.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 50 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 50
  2. Negative: 9 out of 50

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 7, 2014
    0
    not even funny and fun its sad but its for **** who love children it is never gonna a fun film to children or adults . so take my advice never watch **** films .
  2. Feb 23, 2014
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I have had the privilege of watching this two weeks before it got released and I admit to crying even while watching it for the second time. This is a great film to promote fostering and adoption and stealthily pokes in hints of Christianity. a great film altogether and deserves at least an eight. Expand
  3. Apr 26, 2013
    4
    Jennifer Garner's movie career has been fairly sketchy. She has had her successes (Juno) but has accompanied them with a plethora of failures (Elektra, Ghosts of Girlfriends Past). She has done well with her TV career and I view Alias as one of my all time favorite shows but she hasn't been as prolific as some would have imagined. The Odd Life of Timothy Green unfortunately carries on the trend of disappointment but not because of Garner. When wannabe parents Jim (Joel Edgerton) and Cindy Green (Jennifer Garner) discover they cannot have children they decide to write their own fantasy child's characteristics and aspirations and wish for them (and to some extent, him) The next day, as if out of nowhere Timothy crawls from the ground outside their house with leaves growing out of his ankles. Jim and Cindy must take care of him while keeping his unique secret from the rest of town. Garner tries to tap into her character from Juno with another mother desperate for a child and she is just as good in this as she was in Juno giving the film a wealth of emotion right from the get go. The supernatural elements of this story work as they are never as important as the relationships between the characters. In fact the supernatural parts allow for some of the movies strongest moments, especially the end. The story by Ahmet Zappa (Son of Frank) is clever and also a bit childish. The film should bask in its childish tendencies but isn't allowed to because the film is filled with side stories that add context to the ending but aren't all that enjoyable. In fact the film should have spent a little more time having fun with its characters instead of providing meaning, some things are better left to the imagination. The film tries to tell too many stories. The film looks at small town life in America but it does so by introducing many side characters, none of which provide much fun to this family film except for Dianne Wiest's Bernice, a sullen museum owner, town grouch and wife of the local factory owner. The look at the disillusion of a small town in modern America thanks to the economic downturn is a courageous move for Disney but it never really rings true when it is juxtaposed with the supernatural plot and the overall tone of the film. In fact the film removes all tension from the story line at the beginning of the film thanks to an opening that reveals a little too much. Ultimately its a film that casts such a wide net in terms of story that it has to handle many topics and characters throughout the film so that nothing is looked at closely enough and most of the important themes like the relationship between fathers and sons are never fully fleshed out or realized making for a not unpleasant but empty experience. Expand
  4. Apr 8, 2013
    2
    These people should never be allowed to be parents. they obviously don't know how to. The movie doesn't make any sense. Everyone in this movie were dicks. its just bad.
  5. Mar 14, 2013
    4
    There is very little to this movie and by the end of it your kind of bored. The performances are good and the kid in this film has some good moments, but nothing memorable here.
  6. Dec 19, 2012
    7
    I watched this film with lowest possible expectations and I must admit that I'm completely stunned. The Odd Life of Timothy Green is a wonderful family film, it has a good heart, its characters are believable and their performances are amazing. Its story may not seem so believable but sometimes it's okay to deviate from reality and live your life in imagination but what's good here is that it completely makes its way into the reality as it heads towards the climax. It's a story about a couple who want a child more than anything in this world, and they imagine both an imperfect and a perfect child they would want to have and they get to experience it for real. This is the type of film which I can watch whenever it's on television. The direction is good, Peter Hedges has handled it properly. I don't know why a lot people disliked that movie. Maybe they didn't like the whole concept of the film but come on, it's fantasy we are talking about, it can be of any kind which this film proves wonderfully. Expand
  7. Nov 25, 2012
    8
    OMG... I was so surprised by this movie.. At the end I thought that this was just a joke, when he ' died ' xD. I had to cry ;) I am sure I would see it again.. maybe in a few days :P
  8. Sep 17, 2012
    5
    This movie isn't really odd, so the word odd should be out of the title.
  9. Aug 23, 2012
    7
    This was definitely a charming film. It's a movie for all ages and all kinds of moviegoes. Great acting all around. Good story with a good delivery. Definitely not perfect, it had its flaws and it did get corny at times but i sure didn't walk into the theater expecting perfection but i did walk out pleased. I suggest you go see this if you enjoy an overall charming tale with great actors and a good delivery. 7/10 Expand
  10. Aug 22, 2012
    10
    I LOVED this movie! It was a great family movie! It is funny and at the end it made me cry!! I totally recommand this movie, it is amazing! The actors did a fantastic job!! :] xox
  11. LLL
    Aug 21, 2012
    10
    I really enjoyed this movie. A great family film, I was surprised by its depth. On the surface, Timothy Green might appear to be a feel good film about parent-child relationships and how everyone has value. If one digs a little, however, he may find more tenaciously rooted messages. I was really drawn to the attention to detail in this film. For example, I saw the use of the pencil as a way to make a point about how we tend to overlook the basic and take it for granted if it has always been around. I found myself thinking about the blessings of rain, sunshine, and corny jokes at the dinner table and hoping that there would be more movies to help me see how wonderful and odd life can be. Collapse
  12. Aug 21, 2012
    0
    Everyone tries too hard and nothing has any resonance. Jennifer Garner's over acting is particularly poor and the husband comes across as a big old scare-dy cat. Tone deaf, badly paced and full of stereotypes it all adds up to thin soup. Leaf it alone.
  13. Aug 20, 2012
    9
    As a person who has gone through a situation like one in the movie(Don't want to give to much away). I thought it was wonderful. I would see it again, anytime.
  14. Aug 17, 2012
    9
    It's ok to suspend disbelief every now and then. It's a charming sweet fable-- no more, no less. Engaging performances from the three leads....lovely photography....not the simplistic sappy story some reviewers had led me to believe. Good fantasy retreat for an hour and a half.
Metascore
48

Mixed or average reviews - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 29
  2. Negative: 3 out of 29
  1. Reviewed by: Helen O'Hara
    Apr 1, 2013
    60
    The midway point between "A.I." and "Diary Of A Wimpy Kid." It has quirky charm and a tender heart, but the treacly sentiment may become wearisome.
  2. Reviewed by: Matt Maytum
    Mar 25, 2013
    40
    An outdated oddity.
  3. Reviewed by: Liam Lacey
    Aug 16, 2012
    50
    As anodyne as it is, Timothy Green may represent the last gasp of a genre, the live-action family fable, that has been an entertainment staple for a couple of generations of moviegoers.