Metascore
32

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 11
  2. Negative: 8 out of 11
  1. Reviewed by: Frank Scheck
    Sep 1, 2012
    30
    If the target audience for this film were any younger, they'd be embryos.
  2. Reviewed by: Amy Biancolli
    Aug 30, 2012
    25
    The whole thing runs about an hour too long: It should have been a TV show. The adventure's too big for the kids who would love it the most.
  3. Reviewed by: Elizabeth Weitzman
    Aug 30, 2012
    20
    If only the movie could live up to its own potential. Instead, we're stuck with blandly unappealing costumed characters meandering through a boring quest to find some lost balloons.
  4. Reviewed by: Geoff Berkshire
    Aug 29, 2012
    30
    The low-budget production feels chintzy and impossibly square, even by tyke standards.
  5. Reviewed by: A.O. Scott
    Aug 28, 2012
    30
    Hallie's dad said it was Rocky Horror for toddlers whatever that is. Me and Hallie are 7 and we thought it was for babies.
  6. Reviewed by: Mark Olsen
    Aug 28, 2012
    30
    For the sake of the children, The Oogieloves in the Big Balloon Adventure should be allowed to quietly float away.
  7. Reviewed by: Loren King
    Aug 28, 2012
    25
    Will your preschoolers enjoy it? Perhaps. Is it worth 88 minutes of their lives, or yours? Not in a world where "Sesame Street" is on TV every day. Not even in a world where "Sesame Street" didn't exist.
  8. Reviewed by: Nick Schager
    Aug 28, 2012
    12
    Enduring this brainless kid's film is akin to witnessing the end of the world.
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 99 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 51 out of 59
  2. Negative: 7 out of 59
  1. Aug 30, 2012
    0
    Awful movie, is really terrible and stupid, don't have any good. The Oogieloves in the Big Balloon Adventure is a fail, stupid, silly andAwful movie, is really terrible and stupid, don't have any good. The Oogieloves in the Big Balloon Adventure is a fail, stupid, silly and awful movie, no more. Full Review »
  2. Mar 9, 2013
    0
    JK they suck.
  3. Sep 4, 2012
    0
    There are very few movies I have given a 0 to. The only other being Project X. But this one deserves it. It's by far my least pleasant viewingThere are very few movies I have given a 0 to. The only other being Project X. But this one deserves it. It's by far my least pleasant viewing experience since... Project X. But, this one just made me rub my head and go, '' what am I doing with my life?" I wanted to see this movie JUST to see how awful it was. And it was pretty sh!tty. This movie made me lose countless brain cells by the minute, and seriously made me have the urge to go on a rampage. When people say stuff like The Room, or Plan 9 are the worst films ever made, I will point to 'The Oogieloves in the Big Balloon Adventure" and go, what's the worst movie of all time again? Full Review »