The Oogieloves in the Big Balloon Adventure Image
Metascore
32

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 11 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 109 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , , , ,
  • Summary: The film follows the Oogieloves - Goobie, Zoozie and Toofie - as they set out to find five magical golden balloons in time for their good friend Schluufyʼs surprise birthday party. With the help of their best friends, J. Edgar, Windy Window and Ruffy, and theThe film follows the Oogieloves - Goobie, Zoozie and Toofie - as they set out to find five magical golden balloons in time for their good friend Schluufyʼs surprise birthday party. With the help of their best friends, J. Edgar, Windy Window and Ruffy, and the support of many extraordinary new friends whom they meet along the way, the Oogieloves travel throughout all of beautiful LovelyLoveville on their search. They’ll need plenty of creative thinking, teamwork and enthusiasm to rescue these one-of-a-kind balloons in time for the big celebration. But when the Oogieloves work together with the audience, they can achieve anything! (Big Balloon Adventure Movie) Expand

Trailer

Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 11
  2. Negative: 8 out of 11
  1. Reviewed by: Abby West
    Aug 29, 2012
    91
    Parents who have had to sit through a myriad of mindless kids movies will appreciate a chance for their kids to be themselves at the theater and to be silly right alongside them. On the whole, it can serve as a good introduction to the movie-going experience.
  2. 60
    The song and dance interaction of kids hollering advice during Blue's Clues happens here on the big screen, which is meant to transform the movie into a social event of sorts.
  3. Reviewed by: Sherilyn Connelly
    Aug 28, 2012
    50
    If today's youngsters grow up thinking of Christopher Lloyd as the old guy with the bongos from The Oogieloves in the Big Balloon Adventure, at least they'll be thinking of Christopher Lloyd at all.
  4. Reviewed by: Mark Olsen
    Aug 28, 2012
    30
    For the sake of the children, The Oogieloves in the Big Balloon Adventure should be allowed to quietly float away.
  5. Reviewed by: A.O. Scott
    Aug 28, 2012
    30
    Hallie's dad said it was Rocky Horror for toddlers whatever that is. Me and Hallie are 7 and we thought it was for babies.
  6. Reviewed by: Amy Biancolli
    Aug 30, 2012
    25
    The whole thing runs about an hour too long: It should have been a TV show. The adventure's too big for the kids who would love it the most.
  7. Reviewed by: Nick Schager
    Aug 28, 2012
    12
    Enduring this brainless kid's film is akin to witnessing the end of the world.

See all 11 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 54 out of 62
  2. Negative: 7 out of 62
  1. Aug 21, 2013
    10
    Oogieloves in the Big Balloon Adventure is a film you should add to your video collection. Toni Braxton and a great cast, catchy songs and aOogieloves in the Big Balloon Adventure is a film you should add to your video collection. Toni Braxton and a great cast, catchy songs and a peppy goldfish: good time guaranteed for all! Expand
  2. Aug 19, 2013
    10
    Oogieloves in the Big Balloon Adventures is a great summer film. The songs are happy and help drive the plot forward, and also show off someOogieloves in the Big Balloon Adventures is a great summer film. The songs are happy and help drive the plot forward, and also show off some of its cast’s great singing abilities. The sets are cool, clearly thought out to be visually interesting with the character’s costumes. And the characters themselves are also cool, and each have their own thing going on behind the stage, such as J. Edgar’s crush on Windy. Ah, love! Expand
  3. Sep 24, 2015
    10
    good stuff this is. real good. features oggyloafs the best loves to ever oogie. great plot, deep characters. n ow I need 151 characters sogood stuff this is. real good. features oggyloafs the best loves to ever oogie. great plot, deep characters. n ow I need 151 characters so this is here Expand
  4. Aug 21, 2013
    10
    One of my children (age 6) saw this for a friend’s birthday party (which in itself is interesting since the film is about several friendsOne of my children (age 6) saw this for a friend’s birthday party (which in itself is interesting since the film is about several friends throwing a birthday party for another friend). He said how much fun he had and came home singing/ dancing. He BEGGED me to take him to see the film again, and soon his sister did too! But I read all the bad reviews and couldn’t bear to spend $50 on a crappy family movie night!

    Flash forward to this past week when I saw it for sale. I bought it as a surprise for my children, and they were so happy! Such a simple present but they were so happy! Even now, I am sitting with them in the den while they dance and sing along to the film, and am super glad I got this for them. A great film for little kids! One thing, though, is that Oogieloves is much better for LITTLE (re: under 7/8); my 6 year old loved it but I think he is really in the older age bracket for enjoying the film.
    Expand
  5. Aug 22, 2013
    10
    Oogieloves in the Big Balloon Adventures is a decent children’s film with something for everyone. I would recommend it to parents withOogieloves in the Big Balloon Adventures is a decent children’s film with something for everyone. I would recommend it to parents with children in different age groups or grades (which is most of us).

    Adults (i.e. parents) will appreciate the great cast, which features Toni Praxton, Christopher Lloyd and the beautiful Jaime Pressly. Very young children will like the brightly colored sets. Children a little bit older will like the characters themselves (each one has a distinct personality) as well as the music. For kids up to 7 or 8, the fact that the film actually lets them participate-i.e.sing and dance and move along with the characters, will be something fun and they will like having the new experience. For these reasons, I think that Oogieloves in the Big Balloon Adventure is a film that the whole family can enjoy (provided all of your kids are less than 10 years old—after that, I find that kids think they are too “adult” to see the same “kids” movies that their parents adore).
    Expand
  6. Aug 23, 2013
    10
    Oogieloves in the Big Balloon Adventure is one of the most controversial children’s films that has come out in the last few years. WhateverOogieloves in the Big Balloon Adventure is one of the most controversial children’s films that has come out in the last few years. Whatever other people may say, for me and my family, Oogieloves in the Big Balloon Adventure is a simple film, short and sweet and perfect for young kids, think pre-school or kindergarten.

    My kids and their friends seem to enjoy it thoroughly, and beg to watch it when they are on a play date. The film on DVD is also very reasonably priced, so it is a great bargain and a special treat to get your children.
    Expand
  7. Jun 18, 2013
    0
    Ya I saw it. It was so stupid I threw up. Worthless. Director should be dead. I can't believe that someone would like this. It really kindaYa I saw it. It was so stupid I threw up. Worthless. Director should be dead. I can't believe that someone would like this. It really kinda scared me in a way. I thought they were honna pull out a knife and kill themselves cause theyre so flipping weird Expand

See all 62 User Reviews