Metascore
32

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 11 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 106 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , , , ,
  • Summary: The film follows the Oogieloves - Goobie, Zoozie and Toofie - as they set out to find five magical golden balloons in time for their good friend Schluufyʼs surprise birthday party. With the help of their best friends, J. Edgar, Windy Window and Ruffy, and theThe film follows the Oogieloves - Goobie, Zoozie and Toofie - as they set out to find five magical golden balloons in time for their good friend Schluufyʼs surprise birthday party. With the help of their best friends, J. Edgar, Windy Window and Ruffy, and the support of many extraordinary new friends whom they meet along the way, the Oogieloves travel throughout all of beautiful LovelyLoveville on their search. They’ll need plenty of creative thinking, teamwork and enthusiasm to rescue these one-of-a-kind balloons in time for the big celebration. But when the Oogieloves work together with the audience, they can achieve anything! (Big Balloon Adventure Movie) Expand
Watch On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 11
  2. Negative: 8 out of 11
  1. Reviewed by: Abby West
    Aug 29, 2012
    91
    Parents who have had to sit through a myriad of mindless kids movies will appreciate a chance for their kids to be themselves at the theater and to be silly right alongside them. On the whole, it can serve as a good introduction to the movie-going experience.
  2. 60
    The song and dance interaction of kids hollering advice during Blue's Clues happens here on the big screen, which is meant to transform the movie into a social event of sorts.
  3. Reviewed by: Sherilyn Connelly
    Aug 28, 2012
    50
    If today's youngsters grow up thinking of Christopher Lloyd as the old guy with the bongos from The Oogieloves in the Big Balloon Adventure, at least they'll be thinking of Christopher Lloyd at all.
  4. Reviewed by: Mark Olsen
    Aug 28, 2012
    30
    For the sake of the children, The Oogieloves in the Big Balloon Adventure should be allowed to quietly float away.
  5. Reviewed by: A.O. Scott
    Aug 28, 2012
    30
    Hallie's dad said it was Rocky Horror for toddlers whatever that is. Me and Hallie are 7 and we thought it was for babies.
  6. Reviewed by: Amy Biancolli
    Aug 30, 2012
    25
    The whole thing runs about an hour too long: It should have been a TV show. The adventure's too big for the kids who would love it the most.
  7. Reviewed by: Nick Schager
    Aug 28, 2012
    12
    Enduring this brainless kid's film is akin to witnessing the end of the world.

See all 11 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 53 out of 61
  2. Negative: 7 out of 61
  1. Aug 21, 2013
    10
    Oogieloves in the Big Balloon Adventures follows three friends around as they scout out missing balloons. There is Zoozie, a cute red headOogieloves in the Big Balloon Adventures follows three friends around as they scout out missing balloons. There is Zoozie, a cute red head with a love for languages, Goobie, a green science lover, and the bold Toofie, who may just have a mohalk (its unclear). Together, they form the Oogieloves, who act as tourguides throughout the film of Lovelyloveville. We meet more friends and visit cool places, and I couldn’t help but root for the oogieloves to find their missing balloons—which they do (spoiler alert), just in the nick of time. Collapse
  2. Aug 19, 2013
    10
    Oogieloves in the Big Balloon Adventures is the store of a group of friends who go around town (Lovelyloveville), exploring the world aroundOogieloves in the Big Balloon Adventures is the store of a group of friends who go around town (Lovelyloveville), exploring the world around them, talking to people, and trying to find lost balloons for their friend’s surprise party.

    The story is simple but the actual movie is more interesting. First off, it has an all-star cast: Toni Braxton, Jaime Pressley and Christopher Lloyd. It also has some awesome sets, such as the diner, although I also liked the bedroom in the pajama song, and seeing how each character matches up with his/her bed The songs are cheery, and the concept is fun—sing-a-long and dance-a-long as the Oogieloves go on their big adventure.

    I would recommend this film for families who feel like they are in a movie-seeing rut. This is definitely a different film, and will get you to bust a move! Fun for the family together, and all the dance moves are a great way for your kids to work out their energy, and parents to work off some calories!!! Fun for all.
    Expand
  3. Jul 19, 2015
    10
    Move over Quentin Tarantino, the new master of plot, characterizarion, and oh im crying thinking about it. I HAVE NEVER BEEN SO ATTATCHGED TOMove over Quentin Tarantino, the new master of plot, characterizarion, and oh im crying thinking about it. I HAVE NEVER BEEN SO ATTATCHGED TO THESE CHARACTERS, and
    THE TWIST ENDING WITH THE BICYCLE AND THE FORK, JUST.... WOWOWOWOWOWOWW. THIS SOULD BE SWHAT THEY SHOW THE KIDS AT THE PEW CSCHGOOL
    Expand
  4. Aug 21, 2013
    10
    Oogieloves in the Big Balloon Adventure is a simple, cute film. In an hour and a half, your family will meet the Oogieloves and their friends,Oogieloves in the Big Balloon Adventure is a simple, cute film. In an hour and a half, your family will meet the Oogieloves and their friends, tour Lovelyloveville and learn some snazzy dance moves/ catchy songs. All in all, not too shabby!!!!!! I watched this movie with my whole family. My two cute babies also loved it.
    Wonderful moment. Lovely story.
    Expand
  5. Aug 22, 2013
    10
    Oogieloves in the Big Balloon Adventure is a sing-a-long, move-a-long children’s film, with “echoes” of the teletubies and Dora the Explorer.Oogieloves in the Big Balloon Adventure is a sing-a-long, move-a-long children’s film, with “echoes” of the teletubies and Dora the Explorer. In certain ways, the Oggieloves also reminded me of movies and television shows from my childhood since each character seemed to be well thoughtout. Today, in movies for adults and kids alike, I can’t help but feel like everything is special effects driven. Plot and characters often go out the window, especially in Hollywood blockbusters.

    However, Oogieloves in the Big Balloon Adventure has characters who really seem to have a backstory. For example, J Edgar, the admittedly slightly incompetent vacuum cleaner nanny, who maybe has issues of his own that we don’t see, is in love with the brilliant Windy, a magical mirror and my daughter’s favorite character.

    Oogieloves is a charming film to watch with your kids. It has great tunes, colorful costumes and some great dance moves. See this film and have a rocking good time! Have your children check it out—you won’t be disappointed!
    Expand
  6. Aug 23, 2013
    10
    Oogieloves in the Big Balloon Adventure is a mix of a Broadway musical, the teletubies and a WII dancing game, combining the cheerful songs ofOogieloves in the Big Balloon Adventure is a mix of a Broadway musical, the teletubies and a WII dancing game, combining the cheerful songs of a musical, the aesthetic of the Teletubbies (albeit brighter) and the interactive qualities of WII.Oogieloves combines all these elements to make a happy children’s film that your kids will want to see again and again. Expand
  7. Jun 18, 2013
    0
    Ya I saw it. It was so stupid I threw up. Worthless. Director should be dead. I can't believe that someone would like this. It really kindaYa I saw it. It was so stupid I threw up. Worthless. Director should be dead. I can't believe that someone would like this. It really kinda scared me in a way. I thought they were honna pull out a knife and kill themselves cause theyre so flipping weird Expand

See all 61 User Reviews