The Oranges

Metascore
46

Mixed or average reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 23
  2. Negative: 4 out of 23

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: Olly Richards
    Dec 5, 2012
    60
    The storyline delicately tiptoes along the line of good taste and is embroidered by a first-rate cast. Still, a knockout moment is missing.
  2. Reviewed by: Mary Pols
    Oct 4, 2012
    60
    Light as a feather, the movie is at times a modest pleasure, but inconsequential.
  3. Reviewed by: Bill Goodykoontz
    Oct 4, 2012
    60
    Ultimately, however, what prevents The Oranges from being the movie it might have been is Farino's inability to settle on a tone.
  4. Reviewed by: Owen Gleiberman
    Oct 6, 2012
    58
    What starts off as a neighborhood scandal becomes a liberating thing for everyone involved - an attitude that seems as if it's trying to be oh so European, and might have been had the director, Julian Farino, not been working so hard to convince us of the Deep Inner Goodness of everyone involved.
  5. Reviewed by: Noel Murray
    Oct 3, 2012
    58
    Overall, The Oranges appears to have been forcibly wrested into a conventional indie-dramedy package, rather than finding the length, style, structure, and perhaps medium that would best suit it.
  6. 50
    A comedy about a middle-aged dad who has an affair with his neighbour's daughter, The Oranges does not taste freshly squeezed.
  7. Reviewed by: Michael Phillips
    Oct 6, 2012
    50
    The result is a placid tale of impulses running wild. Farino is a smooth operator, but he puts little on screen that feels like life, as opposed to a middle-of-the-road indie.
  8. Reviewed by: Joe Williams
    Oct 5, 2012
    50
    While it claims to be exported from New Jersey, The Oranges is peddling an alien motto: When life hands you lemons, fuhgeddaboudit.
  9. Reviewed by: Michael O'Sullivan
    Oct 4, 2012
    50
    When the jokes work, it's for a simple reason: The four actors playing the couples are seasoned veterans of film comedy (although each is more than capable of handling dramatic roles, as well).
  10. Reviewed by: Rex Reed
    Oct 2, 2012
    50
    The film is worth seeing for the excellent ensemble work by a cast that, although diligent and appealing, remain somewhat less than thrilling. They do their best to plumb the depths of domestic dysfunction, but in the end, The Oranges does not quite deliver the goods.
  11. Reviewed by: Peter Bradshaw
    Dec 11, 2012
    40
    Janney steals the movie in the scene in which she discovers the awful truth.
  12. Reviewed by: Stephen Holden
    Oct 4, 2012
    40
    How could a movie starring Hugh Laurie, Oliver Platt, Allison Janney and Catherine Keener go so wrong? That is the mystery behind The Oranges, a dysfunctional-family comedy - excuse the cliché - that backs away in terror from its potentially explosive subject.
  13. Reviewed by: Elizabeth Weitzman
    Oct 4, 2012
    40
    Even the actors seem disconnected, with only Leighton Meester - who has the most to prove - working to create a distinguishable character.
  14. Reviewed by: Marjorie Baumgarten
    Oct 3, 2012
    40
    The Oranges has little original shading.
  15. Reviewed by: Chris Packham
    Oct 2, 2012
    40
    The Oranges, an extremely dry comedy directed by Julian Farino, is kind of like a takedown of the suburbs written by the people who designed the menu at Olive Garden: It's inoffensive, forgettable, and you don't actually have to chew anything.
User Score
7.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 13 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 3
  2. Negative: 0 out of 3
  1. Sep 10, 2013
    10
    Watched this movie recently and was really disappointed by the critical reception of this excellent film! Sure the premise is a littleWatched this movie recently and was really disappointed by the critical reception of this excellent film! Sure the premise is a little disconcerting at first, but I was really won over by the genuine nature of the central relationship, and the lack of understanding from the rest of the cast felt immensely real. Every time I felt myself becoming frustrated with a character I was able to step back and see the real genuine places they were coming from. Phenomenal writing, passable direction, A+ cast, and while the music made things a little corny here and there I feel sure in saying this is my one of my top movies to come out this year. More people should watch this film! Full Review »
  2. Jun 4, 2013
    4
    I expected a comedy, maybe my mistake. The acting didn’t quite convinced me but what I really dislike is the plot, at the end it becomes aI expected a comedy, maybe my mistake. The acting didn’t quite convinced me but what I really dislike is the plot, at the end it becomes a simple drama with the typical life-teaching “never know where life’s gonna take you”. Full Review »
  3. Oct 11, 2012
    4
    The Orange had the makings of a really funny movie. Excellent comedic cast, potentially hysterical premise, festive setting... But theThe Orange had the makings of a really funny movie. Excellent comedic cast, potentially hysterical premise, festive setting... But the writers (and probably director) just blew it. I was almost rooting for this film to take off, but it just sat there and got a little boring. Leighton Meester was just unlikeable enough, Hugh Laurie was just passive enough, and Oliver Platt lacked the razor-sharp wit that writers from his other films and tv shows typically supply him with. And the Catherine Keener role?? The goats? I wish they had taken another run at her story. Full Review »