User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 131 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 9 out of 131
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. ManuelA.
    Dec 27, 2007
    2
    Full of cliche and borrows too much from previous movies, not up to the hype
  2. Sep 15, 2011
    8
    This movie was absolutely fantastic. The acting was top notch, the set ups for the scary parts was almost torture in how slow and meticulous it set everything up. It even had a couple jump scares that actually worked as well. The ending was also heart wrenching and overall
    satisfying. The problems I hear people having are that it's to slow and that it turns into a drama at the end rather
    This movie was absolutely fantastic. The acting was top notch, the set ups for the scary parts was almost torture in how slow and meticulous it set everything up. It even had a couple jump scares that actually worked as well. The ending was also heart wrenching and overall
    satisfying. The problems I hear people having are that it's to slow and that it turns into a drama at the end rather then a horror movie. To me these complaints are just from people who probably like the slasher kill them all movies as opposed to horror movies that take their time and let you try to figure out what's happening and why. The ending again is very emotional and is very dramatic. If you like the slower paced movies then this is definitely worth checking out if you haven't you will not be disappointed.
    Expand
  3. SethF
    Jan 4, 2008
    9
    Beautifully shot, acted and edited.One of my favorite films this year. It is filled with jumps, goosebumps not to mention heart. It is not a cheap thrill. see it!
  4. IvanM.
    Dec 26, 2007
    10
    I watched this movie last week in Spain... awesome and soooo scary.
  5. danielw
    Dec 26, 2007
    9
    The classic gothic horror movie is a sadly dying breed -- swamped by slasher movies and facile monster claptrap. The orphanage is a triumphant return of the genre. It's got it all -- a big house with lots of corners around which things that go bump in the night may -- or may not -- be lurking, a lighthouse, and a sad looking little boy with a dark secret. But the filmmakers have The classic gothic horror movie is a sadly dying breed -- swamped by slasher movies and facile monster claptrap. The orphanage is a triumphant return of the genre. It's got it all -- a big house with lots of corners around which things that go bump in the night may -- or may not -- be lurking, a lighthouse, and a sad looking little boy with a dark secret. But the filmmakers have respect for the genre, and it never descends into camp. This is a seriously scary and stylish piece of filmmaking -- scary, in that it gets under your skin, rather than in that it makes you jump out of your seat. Expand
  6. JimS
    Jan 10, 2008
    10
    An unusually commited and affecting film, it's not clear that it really belongs in the horror genre. Rueda is lovely and involving, and her son wonderful. Really this is a film about maternal love, under very special circumstances.
  7. rp
    Jan 13, 2008
    9
    I did not want to see this movie since I tend to dislike the horror genre. However, the film takes a wonderful detour (I am sure is not to everyone's liking) and the last section of the movie moved me as few movies have. Belen Rueda might be the reason why this movie works so well.
  8. JohnD.
    Dec 27, 2007
    10
    Probably the best horror film since The others but in another level. This is more like a drama with some horror moments. Belén Rueda gives one of the most devastating performances of the recent years, probably the best female performance of the year.
  9. JustinM
    Dec 28, 2007
    10
    Easily the best film I've seen all year. Despite some unnecessarily drawn out scenes, the camera work is amazing, the suspense is palpable and realistic, and ultimately you're left with a sense of finality.
  10. JoeU.
    Dec 29, 2007
    9
    I always read the best and worst reviews for all films on Metacritic. It is interesting that one of the best features of this fillm, in my humble opinion, which is a moving and surprising ending, happens to be what the worst review (NY Daily News) describes as an "unsatisfactory" ending. That´s why we are all different.... Add to that what I thought was a good story line, good I always read the best and worst reviews for all films on Metacritic. It is interesting that one of the best features of this fillm, in my humble opinion, which is a moving and surprising ending, happens to be what the worst review (NY Daily News) describes as an "unsatisfactory" ending. That´s why we are all different.... Add to that what I thought was a good story line, good direction, beautiful cinematography, excellent acting by Belen Rueda, and it all adds up to what I thought was quite an entertaining and satisfying movie. Expand
  11. MichaelL
    Dec 31, 2007
    10
    Excellent, cerebral ghost story in the purest sense of the word. Schlock-meisters like Eli Roth and Rob Zombie take note: this is how an ARTIST crafts a scary film. No gouged eyeballs or buckets of blood...just superb performances, a character driven plot, and lots of "things that go bump in the night"... Hitchcock would be proud. Don't miss this film
  12. JohnB.
    Dec 30, 2007
    9
    Many twists without becoming too complicated, i recommend it.
  13. MikeB
    Jan 12, 2008
    9
    A great suspense/horror/psychological film that doesn't rely on gore and blood. I haven't had chills like that for years... I actually even shrieked out at one point (as did many others). Films like this renew my hopes for cinema. Now if Hollywood would only see the light. Go see the movie whether you like horror or not.
  14. Feb 9, 2012
    10
    This movie was brilliant! I can't think in anything wrong about it. Perhaps there are some small details that needed to be clarified -if they were not left like that deliberately-, but, in movies, as it is in life, there is always room for improvement. The performances were great, and the characters were perfectly elaborates, so the audience empathize with them. I actually felt prettyThis movie was brilliant! I can't think in anything wrong about it. Perhaps there are some small details that needed to be clarified -if they were not left like that deliberately-, but, in movies, as it is in life, there is always room for improvement. The performances were great, and the characters were perfectly elaborates, so the audience empathize with them. I actually felt pretty close to Laura and Simon, and also to the 'ghost' children and their story. Moreover, this movie manages to continuously surprise us. There is always suspense, which makes it thrilling. In fact, at time, I had goosebumps; that, even though I am not a person who gets easily scared. Further, I love the emotional component of the film, because it was not a movie that dealt merely with death, life, and the super natural world, but it was a movie that confronted us about how each of us deals with his/her humanity. The Orphanage questions our coping mechanisms to face, pain, loss, reality, the 'unknown', and more. I think that those people who see is a 'dumb' 'silly' 'pointless' or 'boring' movie are probably more into gore or have a very narrow perspective about what is horror. I have read some of the reasons why some put this movie just a '1 or 2', and frankly, in most of the cases, their criticism shows an absolutely basic analytical thought. So, if you like intellectual stimulation, this is the movie for you! It is magnificently done. Moreover, the photography is breathtaking, so is the landscape. I loved the ending I found it very powerful...and open to your imagination. I did have tears, and I am not an overly emotional person so that means something to me. I think I can easily watch this movie twice the same day, not just because of its beauty, but also to play myself a bit with the clues...I may be able to discover more about it.!..An end note: I did like this movie more than Pan's Laberynth. I find The Orphanage is much better. Pan's Labyrinth was beautiful -what I enjoyed the most was the art direction- but the whole story didn't really impressed me much. The Orphanage is Del Toro's masterpiece! Expand
  15. JasonP.
    Jan 21, 2008
    2
    What?! I can't believe I had to sit through 90 minutes of the most boring and pointless sequence of events just to get an "OK" ending. ***SPOILER*** A movie where a mother kills her self over an orphan child and doesn't care one bit about leaving her husband alone and miserable... is just dumb! Oh, and explain to me why Tomas is an evil ghost who smashes the mothers fingers with What?! I can't believe I had to sit through 90 minutes of the most boring and pointless sequence of events just to get an "OK" ending. ***SPOILER*** A movie where a mother kills her self over an orphan child and doesn't care one bit about leaving her husband alone and miserable... is just dumb! Oh, and explain to me why Tomas is an evil ghost who smashes the mothers fingers with the door, just to come out all loving and good at the end. What about that old woman who killed the orphans... she shows up out of nowhere in the tool shed (or what ever that room in the front yard is called) to do what? To check if the dead orphans she buried are still dead? And that woman showing up out of nowhere again in front of their car months later just to get hit by a bus... Stupid! I don't understand how anyone can like this film... ***End Spoiler*** I'm soo sick of foreign films getting good reviews from critics, just because it's in another language. If this was made in the U.S. in English, everyone would be trashing this film. Expand
  16. KenG.
    Jan 13, 2008
    10
    This is one of the scariest, most sensible ghost movies ever made. The pervading sense of dread clings to you throughout, and the clever echoing of Peter Pan & Neverland tightens the tension. There are one or two genuine jump-out-of-your-seat moments, and the climax packs an emotional punch unequal in horror films today, Bravo!!
  17. Jim
    Mar 18, 2008
    3
    Good photography and directing. Boring story, not believable, some good acting from the mother, not frightening at all. It tries to be intelligent but fails miserably.
  18. Steve
    Apr 29, 2008
    2
    I can't decide which one disappointed me more: The movie or Metacritic. I think US movie critics' opinion won't count for me anymore.
  19. CatullusP.
    Jul 17, 2008
    9
    An almost unbearably chilling film with surprising emotional heft and humanity, which makes this a highly original entry in the thriller genre. Scary, yes, but heartbreaking, compassionate and sad as well. The cast--especially the mother--the direction, the gorgeous photography, the music--are all first class. The Orphanage succeeds brilliantly with tropes that are familiar to the genre. An almost unbearably chilling film with surprising emotional heft and humanity, which makes this a highly original entry in the thriller genre. Scary, yes, but heartbreaking, compassionate and sad as well. The cast--especially the mother--the direction, the gorgeous photography, the music--are all first class. The Orphanage succeeds brilliantly with tropes that are familiar to the genre. Like a great song, it contains many familiar chords and notes and yet is put together in such a way that makes you feel as if you're seeing it for the first time. I can't imagine what it must take to pull something like this off. Those looking for cheap thrills and gore won't find it here. This movie requires an attention span above 9 years old. Expand
  20. MichaelF.
    Jan 17, 2008
    8
    Truly frightening in an old-school, tasteful way.
  21. TravisC
    Jan 9, 2008
    6
    The movie was okay, but not that frightening nor original. Relied too heavily on schlocky music to induce a sense of fear. Worth seeing, but hardly award-worthy.
  22. TomL.
    Mar 21, 2008
    10
    One of the most intense, horrifying movies I've watched for a long time. It's simple and elegant in the way that it's shot, yet immerses you into an unforgiving world where anything is possible. This movie is a true horror movie which guarantees goosebumps. Definately recommended and I will be buying this on DVD. Superb!
  23. PrinkipperSkipple
    Mar 27, 2008
    9
    Great film. Like Pan's Labyrinth, don't get caught up in the supernatural aspects and see it in very human terms and it is still both scary and touching
  24. NathanN.
    Mar 3, 2008
    10
    This is a seriously scary movie. Visually it goes to extremes in being perfect and even the can't be helped cliche parts work well. This movie is a lot like The Ring in how it delivers the goosebumps, even though you know its only a movie. If you like this one you'll also like Session 9.
  25. PJCorpuz
    Mar 30, 2008
    10
    Even if you take away the horror aspect of this film, its still wonderful!
  26. JayH.
    Apr 15, 2008
    7
    Visually very impressive, like all Guillermo Del Toro films, he is also gifted and drawing the viewer into a film. Suspenseful, fascinating and a well crafted film. Good cinematography and art direction.
  27. NW.
    May 17, 2008
    6
    I was honestly a bit disappointed with this... I think I went in with high expectations, and more of a Guillermo Del Toro touch. Definitely had the atmosphere, but I was hoping for more frights.
  28. BrianW.
    May 23, 2008
    9
    Was so well done, I forgot that this was in Spanish with English subtitles. Guillermo Del Toro is a genius. I investigate the paranormal and it takes a lot to scare me, which very few horror movies have ever done. This one made me actually get up out of my chair on more than one occasion. Nice to see a plot that hasn't been overuse in previous movies and the creepy kids factor was Was so well done, I forgot that this was in Spanish with English subtitles. Guillermo Del Toro is a genius. I investigate the paranormal and it takes a lot to scare me, which very few horror movies have ever done. This one made me actually get up out of my chair on more than one occasion. Nice to see a plot that hasn't been overuse in previous movies and the creepy kids factor was very well played. Acting was very good in this film, and sold the plot amazingly. Expand
  29. David
    May 31, 2008
    10
    This was an excellent movie even though when you stand back and look it is really just a haunted house pic. The movie maker that can get a jump from an audience from a simple slamming door like this did is the new Hitchcock.
  30. KevinC.
    Mar 29, 2009
    9
    A beautiful film the evokes a creepy atmosphere instead of going for cheap scares. It plays with your expectations, as some of the things you think are important end up being inconsequential, or vice versa, creating a conclusion that is completely logical but that still manages to surprise you. My one caveat is that I wish they had included a couple of the deleted scenes to add more of A beautiful film the evokes a creepy atmosphere instead of going for cheap scares. It plays with your expectations, as some of the things you think are important end up being inconsequential, or vice versa, creating a conclusion that is completely logical but that still manages to surprise you. My one caveat is that I wish they had included a couple of the deleted scenes to add more of the character depth, but maybe it's hindsight and if they were in there I would think they were spoon-feeding the end to me. Expand
  31. KatieM.
    Dec 30, 2007
    6
    The movie was enjoyable, but did not contribute anything new to the genre. The plot, resolution, and underlying themes--corruption or perversion of childhood, redemption of mother's love--reminded me of recent American J-Horror adaptations such as The Ring and Dark Water. Also, a lot of the "scares" were more unintentionally comedic than actually scary. Overall a "good" film, but The movie was enjoyable, but did not contribute anything new to the genre. The plot, resolution, and underlying themes--corruption or perversion of childhood, redemption of mother's love--reminded me of recent American J-Horror adaptations such as The Ring and Dark Water. Also, a lot of the "scares" were more unintentionally comedic than actually scary. Overall a "good" film, but don't leave to go to the restroom--you may miss one of the two critical explanatory scenes (without them, the story really doesn't make sense). Expand
  32. ChadS.
    Jan 12, 2008
    8
    Simon(Roger Princep) is HIV-positive, which serves as a metaphor, I think, for the aesthetics of the way this filmmaker reworks the horror genre to his liking. We expect blood, but "The Orphanage" is nearly bloodless. Using AIDS as an analogy: If somebody with the virus bleeds, there's a fear of being infected. Just the very idea of an infected person shedding tainted blood scares Simon(Roger Princep) is HIV-positive, which serves as a metaphor, I think, for the aesthetics of the way this filmmaker reworks the horror genre to his liking. We expect blood, but "The Orphanage" is nearly bloodless. Using AIDS as an analogy: If somebody with the virus bleeds, there's a fear of being infected. Just the very idea of an infected person shedding tainted blood scares us. After years of sitting through so many American horror films(mostly bad), we've been conditioned to expect arterial sprays, red drippings, or some manner of spectacular bloodletting. As it turns out, nobody spills an ounce of blood in "The Orphanage", but the film manages to induce an anxiety about some death rendered in grisly detail. Simon is representative of this filmmaker's sensibilities. The young boy doesn't have to bleed to scare the bejesus out of us. "The Orphanage" takes a page out of the "Poltergeist" handboo-(make the horror twofold; human(an abducted child) and supernatural(ghosts)- with cribnotes from "The Blair Witch Project"(black screen, the human face in fearful repose), and god help us all, Steven Spielberg's worst title from his filmography. Most impressive of all is how the ghosts don't flicker, or fade away; they're either corporeal or suggested. "The Orphanage" is cerebral, but by no means is it a deconstruction of the genre. In the film's last ten minutes, you get the raw emotion of Ingmar Bergman's "Cries and Whispers" and the Spielbergian uplift of "Kick the Can"(the second segment from "The Twilight Zone: The Movie"). Pretty cool, huh. Expand
  33. THW
    Jan 14, 2008
    9
    Scares you the old fashioned way, with your own imagination and fear of the unknown. A refreshing change from the overly gory Hollywood trash that's been polluting the horror genre. A great methodical, suspense ridden film.
  34. AbbyL
    Feb 13, 2008
    10
    I absolutely LOVED this movie. Personally I think everything Sergio Sanchez and Guillermero Del Toro (spelling?) touch turns to gold. But I'm a sucker for Spanish/Mexican films. And this movie did not disappoint.
  35. Mr.PotatoR.
    Mar 11, 2008
    8
    @Jason P. You have obviously not understood anything about this movie![***SPOILER***]The mother kills herself out of guilt. She was responsible for the boys death (think about that).As I understood the boy that pushes the mother and 'smashes' her fingers is not a ghost but her son wearing the mask (when she finds him dead he is still wearing it).The old woman was alarmed when @Jason P. You have obviously not understood anything about this movie![***SPOILER***]The mother kills herself out of guilt. She was responsible for the boys death (think about that).As I understood the boy that pushes the mother and 'smashes' her fingers is not a ghost but her son wearing the mask (when she finds him dead he is still wearing it).The old woman was alarmed when she realized that people have moved back into the orphanage and acted without thinking - you are right this is as much unreasonable as it is realistic: just imagine that you have killed someone and hidden his corpse on the basement of an abandoned house, and at some point you are told that someone has moved in. Plus she Expand
  36. THES
    Mar 28, 2008
    10
    How frightening a horror becomes to watch always depends to an extent upon the individual - their fears, phobias (and subconcious even?). To my mind, The Orphanage is the most frightening movie I have ever endured. It is also expertly paced and evocatively shot.
  37. JL
    Apr 14, 2008
    10
    One of the most amazing movies I have ever seen. It really moves you inside.
  38. MattD.
    Apr 22, 2008
    8
    An excellent, chilling story that creates suspense without the mindless use of gory props and fake screams and has enough plot twists to keep it interesting. It must be (and deserves to be) watched at full volume in a quiet, dark room to have the greatest effect.
  39. Radrian
    May 22, 2008
    9
    Great movie. On par with some of the best Hitchcock made. Amazing ending.
  40. RyanM.
    May 27, 2008
    9
    Simple, well shot, ghost story that has more depth in it's simplicity and mood than the obvious American style scares with monsters and gore. Great, even, and chilling made this film worthwhile..
  41. Luiz
    Jun 14, 2008
    9
    Fantastic! The movie captures the attention from the first minute till it´s brilliant ending. A must see!
  42. EmericC
    Aug 11, 2009
    8
    Great movie, but the ending could've been better.
  43. SeanW.
    Jan 22, 2008
    10
    It's so rare to find a horror movie in this day and age that has a genuine story and quality writing. Far too often it's full of genre cliches that disappoint. The Orphange is a definite masterpiece.
  44. CarolinaG.
    Apr 15, 2008
    10
    A completely unexpected ending. A movie full of details. I liked the way in which they turned a simple orphanage horror movie into a true original story. Loved the screenplay.
  45. ModestusQ.
    Apr 23, 2008
    8
    The horror genre has been inundated with mediocre and derivative films, or absolute dreck for longer than I care to recall. It is such a breath of fresh air when one comes along that not only redeems the genre, but also transcends it. This is such a film. 'The Orphanage' has the chills, thrills and scares, but also delivers a genuinely moving and thoroughly engaging human story. The horror genre has been inundated with mediocre and derivative films, or absolute dreck for longer than I care to recall. It is such a breath of fresh air when one comes along that not only redeems the genre, but also transcends it. This is such a film. 'The Orphanage' has the chills, thrills and scares, but also delivers a genuinely moving and thoroughly engaging human story. One aspect of this film I particularly enjoyed is that it never relented character and subtlety in favor of a seemingly bottomless bag of "Boo" tricks. Wonderful and highly recommended! Expand
  46. [Anonymous]
    Jun 18, 2008
    8
    Screw you, Steve. You don't know what a good film is. Sure it coulda been shorter and characters coulda been developed more. But it is scarier than any other film I've ever seen. So Steve, go to hell, and cry like the little bitch you are.
  47. Austin
    Feb 25, 2009
    10
    Terrific suspense and a great textured story. The acting is much better than I'd expected. The ending was one of the most moving to ever come out of the horror genre. Well worth your time! See it!
  48. Sep 1, 2010
    8
    Woman moves her family back into the orphanage she grew up in as a child, son has "new friends", strange things start happening.
    Really well put together ghost story that moves along well. Brilliant locations & well directed with some proper chilling moments along the way.
    Un, dos, tres, toca la pared!!
  49. Feb 4, 2012
    8
    This is easily one of the most affective horror movies in the past few years, and certainly one of the best that I've ever seen. This movie runs on suspense and a great story that has you actually caring about Laura and her family. Don't let the subtitles throw you off because if you skip this spanish film then you're only doing yourself an injustice. Perhaps one of the best parts of thisThis is easily one of the most affective horror movies in the past few years, and certainly one of the best that I've ever seen. This movie runs on suspense and a great story that has you actually caring about Laura and her family. Don't let the subtitles throw you off because if you skip this spanish film then you're only doing yourself an injustice. Perhaps one of the best parts of this movie is its great ending that makes sense and is sad, yet you don't really question it. Sorry 'Saw' fans, there's no blood or much gore in this movie but that's the flaw of those movies anyway. If you want a clean, suspenseful movie that makes you think then give this movie a try. Definitely worth it! Expand
  50. Apr 30, 2012
    8
    Great film, definitely one of the better horror films out there. Cleverly directed and while it may not be the scariest film out there, it is still full of some very creepy moments and clever jump moments. The idea of using a child to scare the audience has been used so many times before and while its not an original idea, it's handled well here. Overall The Orphanage is a great film, itGreat film, definitely one of the better horror films out there. Cleverly directed and while it may not be the scariest film out there, it is still full of some very creepy moments and clever jump moments. The idea of using a child to scare the audience has been used so many times before and while its not an original idea, it's handled well here. Overall The Orphanage is a great film, it has a clever story, interesting characters and some really creepy twists, it could have used a bit of clarification in its ending but otherwise it's a great horror movie, just remember to put English subtitles on. Expand
  51. Oct 31, 2012
    8
    Much more than the usual jump-scare horror movies! 'The Orphanage' is very burdensome in a way I've never seen before with a horror/thriller movie. Its story and the closure of it are fantastic, the screenplay is one of the utterly best in this genre. The acting really got me, the way the little kid plays is fantastic! It's not that mysterious, weird manner like in movies as 'The Omen' -Much more than the usual jump-scare horror movies! 'The Orphanage' is very burdensome in a way I've never seen before with a horror/thriller movie. Its story and the closure of it are fantastic, the screenplay is one of the utterly best in this genre. The acting really got me, the way the little kid plays is fantastic! It's not that mysterious, weird manner like in movies as 'The Omen' - it's just a normal kid with ominous things happening around him. The medium doesn't feel unrealistic like in ANY other horror film and Belén Rueda, the main actress, doesn't ever get hysterious. This movie truly is a renovation in the mystery genre. Albeit the viewer doesn't catch sight of the really scary scenes in this movie, the whole aura of the film is creepy and your heart beats twice as fast usual while watching it. I wasn't completely pleased with the medium scene or the resolution, but nevertheless 'The Orphanage' is one of the best scary movies I've ever seen and by the way also great in other aspcets like acting, screenplay, cinematography or the disquieting score. Go and watch this movie! Expand
  52. Jun 12, 2013
    8
    A fantastic movie that will chill you and frighten you at some points. Extraordinary photography and plot. Really liked Belen Rueda. The end was surprisingly sad. A great thriller
  53. DanielleM.
    May 27, 2008
    10
    This movie was amazing, i couldn't get enough. You really have to pay attention to understand whats going on. I like it when a movie keeps you on the edge of your set, and this one does.
  54. Jun 26, 2013
    9
    I thought I'd like this. I never considered it to be one of the strongest horrors of the 21st century.

    Nowadays there seems to be a common trope in horror movies, consisting of quite noises then a 'BANG', then doing something then 'BANG'. The art of jump scares has really taken hold of our horror stories. This film does not use cheap scares, and it also doesn't waste it's story,
    I thought I'd like this. I never considered it to be one of the strongest horrors of the 21st century.

    Nowadays there seems to be a common trope in horror movies, consisting of quite noises then a 'BANG', then doing something then 'BANG'. The art of jump scares has really taken hold of our horror stories. This film does not use cheap scares, and it also doesn't waste it's story, characters or time in general.

    There is an emotional arc to this film.

    In a horror. I know.

    There is a sense of tragedy and loss, and although this film is scary, it also has heart. The film is very similar to Pan's Labyrinth in way of tone- Guillermo del Toro, of course, was involved. The difference is that this film is a hell of a lot scarier, but I did find myself feeling like this was Pan's sequel almost.

    All I have to say really is that people need to see this.

    Thank God the remake has been put on hold. They better not touch it.

    I won't spoil much, but simply instruct. See this film. Experience the perfect mix of horror, suspense, drama and fantasy.
    Expand
Metascore
74

Generally favorable reviews - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 33
  2. Negative: 0 out of 33
  1. Reviewed by: Mark Olsen
    70
    There’s not really a bogeyman in The Orphanage and not much blood; just insane intensity and a building sense of bad vibes.
  2. Reviewed by: David Ansen
    90
    A great horror movie is like a good shrink--and a lot cheaper, too. It purges us through petrification. That horror movie, thankfully, has arrived. It's called The Orphanage," and it is seriously scary.
  3. Reviewed by: Justin Chang
    90
    A fastidiously grim ghost story that rattles the bones of the haunted-house genre and finds plenty of fresh (but not too bloody) meat.