Picturehouse Entertainment | Release Date: December 28, 2007
7.6
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 157 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
127
Mixed:
11
Negative:
19
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
DanielleM.May 27, 2008
This movie was amazing, i couldn't get enough. You really have to pay attention to understand whats going on. I like it when a movie keeps you on the edge of your set, and this one does.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
CatullusP.Jul 17, 2008
An almost unbearably chilling film with surprising emotional heft and humanity, which makes this a highly original entry in the thriller genre. Scary, yes, but heartbreaking, compassionate and sad as well. The cast--especially the An almost unbearably chilling film with surprising emotional heft and humanity, which makes this a highly original entry in the thriller genre. Scary, yes, but heartbreaking, compassionate and sad as well. The cast--especially the mother--the direction, the gorgeous photography, the music--are all first class. The Orphanage succeeds brilliantly with tropes that are familiar to the genre. Like a great song, it contains many familiar chords and notes and yet is put together in such a way that makes you feel as if you're seeing it for the first time. I can't imagine what it must take to pull something like this off. Those looking for cheap thrills and gore won't find it here. This movie requires an attention span above 9 years old. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
MichaelF.Jan 17, 2008
Truly frightening in an old-school, tasteful way.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
2
JasonP.Jan 21, 2008
What?! I can't believe I had to sit through 90 minutes of the most boring and pointless sequence of events just to get an "OK" ending. ***SPOILER*** A movie where a mother kills her self over an orphan child and doesn't care one What?! I can't believe I had to sit through 90 minutes of the most boring and pointless sequence of events just to get an "OK" ending. ***SPOILER*** A movie where a mother kills her self over an orphan child and doesn't care one bit about leaving her husband alone and miserable... is just dumb! Oh, and explain to me why Tomas is an evil ghost who smashes the mothers fingers with the door, just to come out all loving and good at the end. What about that old woman who killed the orphans... she shows up out of nowhere in the tool shed (or what ever that room in the front yard is called) to do what? To check if the dead orphans she buried are still dead? And that woman showing up out of nowhere again in front of their car months later just to get hit by a bus... Stupid! I don't understand how anyone can like this film... ***End Spoiler*** I'm soo sick of foreign films getting good reviews from critics, just because it's in another language. If this was made in the U.S. in English, everyone would be trashing this film. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful
9
SethFJan 4, 2008
Beautifully shot, acted and edited.One of my favorite films this year. It is filled with jumps, goosebumps not to mention heart. It is not a cheap thrill. see it!
1 of 2 users found this helpful
6
TravisCJan 9, 2008
The movie was okay, but not that frightening nor original. Relied too heavily on schlocky music to induce a sense of fear. Worth seeing, but hardly award-worthy.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
JimMar 18, 2008
Good photography and directing. Boring story, not believable, some good acting from the mother, not frightening at all. It tries to be intelligent but fails miserably.
1 of 4 users found this helpful
10
TomL.Mar 21, 2008
One of the most intense, horrifying movies I've watched for a long time. It's simple and elegant in the way that it's shot, yet immerses you into an unforgiving world where anything is possible. This movie is a true horror One of the most intense, horrifying movies I've watched for a long time. It's simple and elegant in the way that it's shot, yet immerses you into an unforgiving world where anything is possible. This movie is a true horror movie which guarantees goosebumps. Definately recommended and I will be buying this on DVD. Superb! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
PrinkipperSkippleMar 27, 2008
Great film. Like Pan's Labyrinth, don't get caught up in the supernatural aspects and see it in very human terms and it is still both scary and touching
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
NathanN.Mar 3, 2008
This is a seriously scary movie. Visually it goes to extremes in being perfect and even the can't be helped cliche parts work well. This movie is a lot like The Ring in how it delivers the goosebumps, even though you know its only a This is a seriously scary movie. Visually it goes to extremes in being perfect and even the can't be helped cliche parts work well. This movie is a lot like The Ring in how it delivers the goosebumps, even though you know its only a movie. If you like this one you'll also like Session 9. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
PJCorpuzMar 30, 2008
Even if you take away the horror aspect of this film, its still wonderful!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
7
JayH.Apr 15, 2008
Visually very impressive, like all Guillermo Del Toro films, he is also gifted and drawing the viewer into a film. Suspenseful, fascinating and a well crafted film. Good cinematography and art direction.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
6
NW.May 17, 2008
I was honestly a bit disappointed with this... I think I went in with high expectations, and more of a Guillermo Del Toro touch. Definitely had the atmosphere, but I was hoping for more frights.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
BrianW.May 23, 2008
Was so well done, I forgot that this was in Spanish with English subtitles. Guillermo Del Toro is a genius. I investigate the paranormal and it takes a lot to scare me, which very few horror movies have ever done. This one made me actually Was so well done, I forgot that this was in Spanish with English subtitles. Guillermo Del Toro is a genius. I investigate the paranormal and it takes a lot to scare me, which very few horror movies have ever done. This one made me actually get up out of my chair on more than one occasion. Nice to see a plot that hasn't been overuse in previous movies and the creepy kids factor was very well played. Acting was very good in this film, and sold the plot amazingly. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
DavidMay 31, 2008
This was an excellent movie even though when you stand back and look it is really just a haunted house pic. The movie maker that can get a jump from an audience from a simple slamming door like this did is the new Hitchcock.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
KevinC.Mar 29, 2009
A beautiful film the evokes a creepy atmosphere instead of going for cheap scares. It plays with your expectations, as some of the things you think are important end up being inconsequential, or vice versa, creating a conclusion that is A beautiful film the evokes a creepy atmosphere instead of going for cheap scares. It plays with your expectations, as some of the things you think are important end up being inconsequential, or vice versa, creating a conclusion that is completely logical but that still manages to surprise you. My one caveat is that I wish they had included a couple of the deleted scenes to add more of the character depth, but maybe it's hindsight and if they were in there I would think they were spoon-feeding the end to me. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
IvanM.Dec 26, 2007
I watched this movie last week in Spain... awesome and soooo scary.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
9
danielwDec 26, 2007
The classic gothic horror movie is a sadly dying breed -- swamped by slasher movies and facile monster claptrap. The orphanage is a triumphant return of the genre. It's got it all -- a big house with lots of corners around which things The classic gothic horror movie is a sadly dying breed -- swamped by slasher movies and facile monster claptrap. The orphanage is a triumphant return of the genre. It's got it all -- a big house with lots of corners around which things that go bump in the night may -- or may not -- be lurking, a lighthouse, and a sad looking little boy with a dark secret. But the filmmakers have respect for the genre, and it never descends into camp. This is a seriously scary and stylish piece of filmmaking -- scary, in that it gets under your skin, rather than in that it makes you jump out of your seat. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
2
ManuelA.Dec 27, 2007
Full of cliche and borrows too much from previous movies, not up to the hype
2 of 3 users found this helpful
6
KatieM.Dec 30, 2007
The movie was enjoyable, but did not contribute anything new to the genre. The plot, resolution, and underlying themes--corruption or perversion of childhood, redemption of mother's love--reminded me of recent American J-Horror The movie was enjoyable, but did not contribute anything new to the genre. The plot, resolution, and underlying themes--corruption or perversion of childhood, redemption of mother's love--reminded me of recent American J-Horror adaptations such as The Ring and Dark Water. Also, a lot of the "scares" were more unintentionally comedic than actually scary. Overall a "good" film, but don't leave to go to the restroom--you may miss one of the two critical explanatory scenes (without them, the story really doesn't make sense). Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JimSJan 10, 2008
An unusually commited and affecting film, it's not clear that it really belongs in the horror genre. Rueda is lovely and involving, and her son wonderful. Really this is a film about maternal love, under very special circumstances.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
8
ChadS.Jan 12, 2008
Simon(Roger Princep) is HIV-positive, which serves as a metaphor, I think, for the aesthetics of the way this filmmaker reworks the horror genre to his liking. We expect blood, but "The Orphanage" is nearly bloodless. Using AIDS as an Simon(Roger Princep) is HIV-positive, which serves as a metaphor, I think, for the aesthetics of the way this filmmaker reworks the horror genre to his liking. We expect blood, but "The Orphanage" is nearly bloodless. Using AIDS as an analogy: If somebody with the virus bleeds, there's a fear of being infected. Just the very idea of an infected person shedding tainted blood scares us. After years of sitting through so many American horror films(mostly bad), we've been conditioned to expect arterial sprays, red drippings, or some manner of spectacular bloodletting. As it turns out, nobody spills an ounce of blood in "The Orphanage", but the film manages to induce an anxiety about some death rendered in grisly detail. Simon is representative of this filmmaker's sensibilities. The young boy doesn't have to bleed to scare the bejesus out of us. "The Orphanage" takes a page out of the "Poltergeist" handboo-(make the horror twofold; human(an abducted child) and supernatural(ghosts)- with cribnotes from "The Blair Witch Project"(black screen, the human face in fearful repose), and god help us all, Steven Spielberg's worst title from his filmography. Most impressive of all is how the ghosts don't flicker, or fade away; they're either corporeal or suggested. "The Orphanage" is cerebral, but by no means is it a deconstruction of the genre. In the film's last ten minutes, you get the raw emotion of Ingmar Bergman's "Cries and Whispers" and the Spielbergian uplift of "Kick the Can"(the second segment from "The Twilight Zone: The Movie"). Pretty cool, huh. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
rpJan 13, 2008
I did not want to see this movie since I tend to dislike the horror genre. However, the film takes a wonderful detour (I am sure is not to everyone's liking) and the last section of the movie moved me as few movies have. Belen Rueda I did not want to see this movie since I tend to dislike the horror genre. However, the film takes a wonderful detour (I am sure is not to everyone's liking) and the last section of the movie moved me as few movies have. Belen Rueda might be the reason why this movie works so well. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
9
THWJan 14, 2008
Scares you the old fashioned way, with your own imagination and fear of the unknown. A refreshing change from the overly gory Hollywood trash that's been polluting the horror genre. A great methodical, suspense ridden film.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
AbbyLFeb 13, 2008
I absolutely LOVED this movie. Personally I think everything Sergio Sanchez and Guillermero Del Toro (spelling?) touch turns to gold. But I'm a sucker for Spanish/Mexican films. And this movie did not disappoint.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
Mr.PotatoR.Mar 11, 2008
@Jason P. You have obviously not understood anything about this movie![***SPOILER***]The mother kills herself out of guilt. She was responsible for the boys death (think about that).As I understood the boy that pushes the mother and @Jason P. You have obviously not understood anything about this movie![***SPOILER***]The mother kills herself out of guilt. She was responsible for the boys death (think about that).As I understood the boy that pushes the mother and 'smashes' her fingers is not a ghost but her son wearing the mask (when she finds him dead he is still wearing it).The old woman was alarmed when she realized that people have moved back into the orphanage and acted without thinking - you are right this is as much unreasonable as it is realistic: just imagine that you have killed someone and hidden his corpse on the basement of an abandoned house, and at some point you are told that someone has moved in. Plus she Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
THESMar 28, 2008
How frightening a horror becomes to watch always depends to an extent upon the individual - their fears, phobias (and subconcious even?). To my mind, The Orphanage is the most frightening movie I have ever endured. It is also expertly paced How frightening a horror becomes to watch always depends to an extent upon the individual - their fears, phobias (and subconcious even?). To my mind, The Orphanage is the most frightening movie I have ever endured. It is also expertly paced and evocatively shot. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JLApr 14, 2008
One of the most amazing movies I have ever seen. It really moves you inside.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
MattD.Apr 22, 2008
An excellent, chilling story that creates suspense without the mindless use of gory props and fake screams and has enough plot twists to keep it interesting. It must be (and deserves to be) watched at full volume in a quiet, dark room to An excellent, chilling story that creates suspense without the mindless use of gory props and fake screams and has enough plot twists to keep it interesting. It must be (and deserves to be) watched at full volume in a quiet, dark room to have the greatest effect. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
RadrianMay 22, 2008
Great movie. On par with some of the best Hitchcock made. Amazing ending.
0 of 1 users found this helpful