Picturehouse Entertainment | Release Date: December 28, 2007
7.6
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 159 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
128
Mixed:
11
Negative:
20
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
moviegrabbagSep 15, 2011
This movie was absolutely fantastic. The acting was top notch, the set ups for the scary parts was almost torture in how slow and meticulous it set everything up. It even had a couple jump scares that actually worked as well. The ending wasThis movie was absolutely fantastic. The acting was top notch, the set ups for the scary parts was almost torture in how slow and meticulous it set everything up. It even had a couple jump scares that actually worked as well. The ending was also heart wrenching and overall
satisfying. The problems I hear people having are that it's to slow and that it turns into a drama at the end rather then a horror movie. To me these complaints are just from people who probably like the slasher kill them all movies as opposed to horror movies that take their time and let you try to figure out what's happening and why. The ending again is very emotional and is very dramatic. If you like the slower paced movies then this is definitely worth checking out if you haven't you will not be disappointed.
Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
9
SethFJan 4, 2008
Beautifully shot, acted and edited.One of my favorite films this year. It is filled with jumps, goosebumps not to mention heart. It is not a cheap thrill. see it!
1 of 2 users found this helpful
10
IvanM.Dec 26, 2007
I watched this movie last week in Spain... awesome and soooo scary.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
9
danielwDec 26, 2007
The classic gothic horror movie is a sadly dying breed -- swamped by slasher movies and facile monster claptrap. The orphanage is a triumphant return of the genre. It's got it all -- a big house with lots of corners around which things The classic gothic horror movie is a sadly dying breed -- swamped by slasher movies and facile monster claptrap. The orphanage is a triumphant return of the genre. It's got it all -- a big house with lots of corners around which things that go bump in the night may -- or may not -- be lurking, a lighthouse, and a sad looking little boy with a dark secret. But the filmmakers have respect for the genre, and it never descends into camp. This is a seriously scary and stylish piece of filmmaking -- scary, in that it gets under your skin, rather than in that it makes you jump out of your seat. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
10
JimSJan 10, 2008
An unusually commited and affecting film, it's not clear that it really belongs in the horror genre. Rueda is lovely and involving, and her son wonderful. Really this is a film about maternal love, under very special circumstances.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
9
rpJan 13, 2008
I did not want to see this movie since I tend to dislike the horror genre. However, the film takes a wonderful detour (I am sure is not to everyone's liking) and the last section of the movie moved me as few movies have. Belen Rueda I did not want to see this movie since I tend to dislike the horror genre. However, the film takes a wonderful detour (I am sure is not to everyone's liking) and the last section of the movie moved me as few movies have. Belen Rueda might be the reason why this movie works so well. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
10
JohnD.Dec 27, 2007
Probably the best horror film since The others but in another level. This is more like a drama with some horror moments. Belén Rueda gives one of the most devastating performances of the recent years, probably the best female Probably the best horror film since The others but in another level. This is more like a drama with some horror moments. Belén Rueda gives one of the most devastating performances of the recent years, probably the best female performance of the year. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
10
JustinMDec 28, 2007
Easily the best film I've seen all year. Despite some unnecessarily drawn out scenes, the camera work is amazing, the suspense is palpable and realistic, and ultimately you're left with a sense of finality.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
9
JoeU.Dec 29, 2007
I always read the best and worst reviews for all films on Metacritic. It is interesting that one of the best features of this fillm, in my humble opinion, which is a moving and surprising ending, happens to be what the worst review (NY Daily I always read the best and worst reviews for all films on Metacritic. It is interesting that one of the best features of this fillm, in my humble opinion, which is a moving and surprising ending, happens to be what the worst review (NY Daily News) describes as an "unsatisfactory" ending. That´s why we are all different.... Add to that what I thought was a good story line, good direction, beautiful cinematography, excellent acting by Belen Rueda, and it all adds up to what I thought was quite an entertaining and satisfying movie. Collapse
1 of 2 users found this helpful
10
MichaelLDec 31, 2007
Excellent, cerebral ghost story in the purest sense of the word. Schlock-meisters like Eli Roth and Rob Zombie take note: this is how an ARTIST crafts a scary film. No gouged eyeballs or buckets of blood...just superb performances, a Excellent, cerebral ghost story in the purest sense of the word. Schlock-meisters like Eli Roth and Rob Zombie take note: this is how an ARTIST crafts a scary film. No gouged eyeballs or buckets of blood...just superb performances, a character driven plot, and lots of "things that go bump in the night"... Hitchcock would be proud. Don't miss this film Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
9
JohnB.Dec 30, 2007
Many twists without becoming too complicated, i recommend it.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
9
MikeBJan 12, 2008
A great suspense/horror/psychological film that doesn't rely on gore and blood. I haven't had chills like that for years... I actually even shrieked out at one point (as did many others). Films like this renew my hopes for cinema. A great suspense/horror/psychological film that doesn't rely on gore and blood. I haven't had chills like that for years... I actually even shrieked out at one point (as did many others). Films like this renew my hopes for cinema. Now if Hollywood would only see the light. Go see the movie whether you like horror or not. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
10
KenG.Jan 13, 2008
This is one of the scariest, most sensible ghost movies ever made. The pervading sense of dread clings to you throughout, and the clever echoing of Peter Pan & Neverland tightens the tension. There are one or two genuine This is one of the scariest, most sensible ghost movies ever made. The pervading sense of dread clings to you throughout, and the clever echoing of Peter Pan & Neverland tightens the tension. There are one or two genuine jump-out-of-your-seat moments, and the climax packs an emotional punch unequal in horror films today, Bravo!! Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful
10
RegOzFeb 9, 2012
This movie was brilliant! I can't think in anything wrong about it. Perhaps there are some small details that needed to be clarified -if they were not left like that deliberately-, but, in movies, as it is in life, there is always room forThis movie was brilliant! I can't think in anything wrong about it. Perhaps there are some small details that needed to be clarified -if they were not left like that deliberately-, but, in movies, as it is in life, there is always room for improvement. The performances were great, and the characters were perfectly elaborates, so the audience empathize with them. I actually felt pretty close to Laura and Simon, and also to the 'ghost' children and their story. Moreover, this movie manages to continuously surprise us. There is always suspense, which makes it thrilling. In fact, at time, I had goosebumps; that, even though I am not a person who gets easily scared. Further, I love the emotional component of the film, because it was not a movie that dealt merely with death, life, and the super natural world, but it was a movie that confronted us about how each of us deals with his/her humanity. The Orphanage questions our coping mechanisms to face, pain, loss, reality, the 'unknown', and more. I think that those people who see is a 'dumb' 'silly' 'pointless' or 'boring' movie are probably more into gore or have a very narrow perspective about what is horror. I have read some of the reasons why some put this movie just a '1 or 2', and frankly, in most of the cases, their criticism shows an absolutely basic analytical thought. So, if you like intellectual stimulation, this is the movie for you! It is magnificently done. Moreover, the photography is breathtaking, so is the landscape. I loved the ending I found it very powerful...and open to your imagination. I did have tears, and I am not an overly emotional person so that means something to me. I think I can easily watch this movie twice the same day, not just because of its beauty, but also to play myself a bit with the clues...I may be able to discover more about it.!..An end note: I did like this movie more than Pan's Laberynth. I find The Orphanage is much better. Pan's Labyrinth was beautiful -what I enjoyed the most was the art direction- but the whole story didn't really impressed me much. The Orphanage is Del Toro's masterpiece! Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
9
CatullusP.Jul 17, 2008
An almost unbearably chilling film with surprising emotional heft and humanity, which makes this a highly original entry in the thriller genre. Scary, yes, but heartbreaking, compassionate and sad as well. The cast--especially the An almost unbearably chilling film with surprising emotional heft and humanity, which makes this a highly original entry in the thriller genre. Scary, yes, but heartbreaking, compassionate and sad as well. The cast--especially the mother--the direction, the gorgeous photography, the music--are all first class. The Orphanage succeeds brilliantly with tropes that are familiar to the genre. Like a great song, it contains many familiar chords and notes and yet is put together in such a way that makes you feel as if you're seeing it for the first time. I can't imagine what it must take to pull something like this off. Those looking for cheap thrills and gore won't find it here. This movie requires an attention span above 9 years old. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
MichaelF.Jan 17, 2008
Truly frightening in an old-school, tasteful way.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
TomL.Mar 21, 2008
One of the most intense, horrifying movies I've watched for a long time. It's simple and elegant in the way that it's shot, yet immerses you into an unforgiving world where anything is possible. This movie is a true horror One of the most intense, horrifying movies I've watched for a long time. It's simple and elegant in the way that it's shot, yet immerses you into an unforgiving world where anything is possible. This movie is a true horror movie which guarantees goosebumps. Definately recommended and I will be buying this on DVD. Superb! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
PrinkipperSkippleMar 27, 2008
Great film. Like Pan's Labyrinth, don't get caught up in the supernatural aspects and see it in very human terms and it is still both scary and touching
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
NathanN.Mar 3, 2008
This is a seriously scary movie. Visually it goes to extremes in being perfect and even the can't be helped cliche parts work well. This movie is a lot like The Ring in how it delivers the goosebumps, even though you know its only a This is a seriously scary movie. Visually it goes to extremes in being perfect and even the can't be helped cliche parts work well. This movie is a lot like The Ring in how it delivers the goosebumps, even though you know its only a movie. If you like this one you'll also like Session 9. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
PJCorpuzMar 30, 2008
Even if you take away the horror aspect of this film, its still wonderful!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
7
JayH.Apr 15, 2008
Visually very impressive, like all Guillermo Del Toro films, he is also gifted and drawing the viewer into a film. Suspenseful, fascinating and a well crafted film. Good cinematography and art direction.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
9
BrianW.May 23, 2008
Was so well done, I forgot that this was in Spanish with English subtitles. Guillermo Del Toro is a genius. I investigate the paranormal and it takes a lot to scare me, which very few horror movies have ever done. This one made me actually Was so well done, I forgot that this was in Spanish with English subtitles. Guillermo Del Toro is a genius. I investigate the paranormal and it takes a lot to scare me, which very few horror movies have ever done. This one made me actually get up out of my chair on more than one occasion. Nice to see a plot that hasn't been overuse in previous movies and the creepy kids factor was very well played. Acting was very good in this film, and sold the plot amazingly. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
DavidMay 31, 2008
This was an excellent movie even though when you stand back and look it is really just a haunted house pic. The movie maker that can get a jump from an audience from a simple slamming door like this did is the new Hitchcock.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
KevinC.Mar 29, 2009
A beautiful film the evokes a creepy atmosphere instead of going for cheap scares. It plays with your expectations, as some of the things you think are important end up being inconsequential, or vice versa, creating a conclusion that is A beautiful film the evokes a creepy atmosphere instead of going for cheap scares. It plays with your expectations, as some of the things you think are important end up being inconsequential, or vice versa, creating a conclusion that is completely logical but that still manages to surprise you. My one caveat is that I wish they had included a couple of the deleted scenes to add more of the character depth, but maybe it's hindsight and if they were in there I would think they were spoon-feeding the end to me. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
ChadS.Jan 12, 2008
Simon(Roger Princep) is HIV-positive, which serves as a metaphor, I think, for the aesthetics of the way this filmmaker reworks the horror genre to his liking. We expect blood, but "The Orphanage" is nearly bloodless. Using AIDS as an Simon(Roger Princep) is HIV-positive, which serves as a metaphor, I think, for the aesthetics of the way this filmmaker reworks the horror genre to his liking. We expect blood, but "The Orphanage" is nearly bloodless. Using AIDS as an analogy: If somebody with the virus bleeds, there's a fear of being infected. Just the very idea of an infected person shedding tainted blood scares us. After years of sitting through so many American horror films(mostly bad), we've been conditioned to expect arterial sprays, red drippings, or some manner of spectacular bloodletting. As it turns out, nobody spills an ounce of blood in "The Orphanage", but the film manages to induce an anxiety about some death rendered in grisly detail. Simon is representative of this filmmaker's sensibilities. The young boy doesn't have to bleed to scare the bejesus out of us. "The Orphanage" takes a page out of the "Poltergeist" handboo-(make the horror twofold; human(an abducted child) and supernatural(ghosts)- with cribnotes from "The Blair Witch Project"(black screen, the human face in fearful repose), and god help us all, Steven Spielberg's worst title from his filmography. Most impressive of all is how the ghosts don't flicker, or fade away; they're either corporeal or suggested. "The Orphanage" is cerebral, but by no means is it a deconstruction of the genre. In the film's last ten minutes, you get the raw emotion of Ingmar Bergman's "Cries and Whispers" and the Spielbergian uplift of "Kick the Can"(the second segment from "The Twilight Zone: The Movie"). Pretty cool, huh. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
THWJan 14, 2008
Scares you the old fashioned way, with your own imagination and fear of the unknown. A refreshing change from the overly gory Hollywood trash that's been polluting the horror genre. A great methodical, suspense ridden film.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
AbbyLFeb 13, 2008
I absolutely LOVED this movie. Personally I think everything Sergio Sanchez and Guillermero Del Toro (spelling?) touch turns to gold. But I'm a sucker for Spanish/Mexican films. And this movie did not disappoint.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
Mr.PotatoR.Mar 11, 2008
@Jason P. You have obviously not understood anything about this movie![***SPOILER***]The mother kills herself out of guilt. She was responsible for the boys death (think about that).As I understood the boy that pushes the mother and @Jason P. You have obviously not understood anything about this movie![***SPOILER***]The mother kills herself out of guilt. She was responsible for the boys death (think about that).As I understood the boy that pushes the mother and 'smashes' her fingers is not a ghost but her son wearing the mask (when she finds him dead he is still wearing it).The old woman was alarmed when she realized that people have moved back into the orphanage and acted without thinking - you are right this is as much unreasonable as it is realistic: just imagine that you have killed someone and hidden his corpse on the basement of an abandoned house, and at some point you are told that someone has moved in. Plus she Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
THESMar 28, 2008
How frightening a horror becomes to watch always depends to an extent upon the individual - their fears, phobias (and subconcious even?). To my mind, The Orphanage is the most frightening movie I have ever endured. It is also expertly paced How frightening a horror becomes to watch always depends to an extent upon the individual - their fears, phobias (and subconcious even?). To my mind, The Orphanage is the most frightening movie I have ever endured. It is also expertly paced and evocatively shot. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JLApr 14, 2008
One of the most amazing movies I have ever seen. It really moves you inside.
0 of 1 users found this helpful