Columbia Pictures | Release Date: August 6, 2010
6.8
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 409 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
269
Mixed:
98
Negative:
42
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
7
grandpajoe6191Oct 1, 2011
"The Other Guys" doesn't try to be funny or sarcastic. It's just funny the way it is.
7 of 7 users found this helpful70
All this user's reviews
8
Longbottom94Apr 29, 2013
Ferrell and Wahlberg work surprising well off each, the action is appropriately over the top and funny at the same time, the improved scenes work well and Mark Wahlberg delivers his funniest performance by far ("I'm a you gotta let me fly").Ferrell and Wahlberg work surprising well off each, the action is appropriately over the top and funny at the same time, the improved scenes work well and Mark Wahlberg delivers his funniest performance by far ("I'm a you gotta let me fly"). Although some of the jokes don't always work and I didn't find the reoccurring joke that Will Ferrell's character is irresistible very funny, by the end I felt thoroughly entertained. Another great addition to the Will Ferrell comedy collection. Expand
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
7
MarcDoyleAug 11, 2010
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Not the best comedy of late (I'd give that to The Hangover), but I laughed consistently through the whole thing. It's Will Ferrel's funniest movie since Old School. And though The Rock & Sam Jackson aren't in the final act, they are hilarious. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
7
EpicLadySpongeJan 31, 2016
Here because of Daddy's Home being in theaters. Will Ferrell and Mark Wahlberg surprised this as this was their first film together. You'll find eye-popping laughter in this one.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
JobadkinsJun 13, 2011
What a movie,there is no movie that throws you off from the beginning with Samuel Jackson and the Rock then flips the scipt.I've seen this movie over 10 times and It just gets funnier every time.Will Ferrel just is out of this world funnyWhat a movie,there is no movie that throws you off from the beginning with Samuel Jackson and the Rock then flips the scipt.I've seen this movie over 10 times and It just gets funnier every time.Will Ferrel just is out of this world funny with Mark Wahlberg.The Acting,expressions,movements, everything is spot on and a different kind of funny.It's smart without going over the top,great movie! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
JacobJul 14, 2013
While I do not think this is a great comedy by any means, I still think it is an enjoyable film with good humor and good acting, which makes it worth a watch.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
roddersj04May 11, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The Other Guys tells the story of Officers Terry Hoitz (Mark Whalberg) and Allen Gamble (Will Ferrell) who aren't the hero cops that the police department idolize, they're merely the Other Guys. The main guys, Danson (The Rock/Dwayne Johnson) and Highsmith (SAMUEL L JACKSON!) set the film alight with their testosterone fuelled opening sequence of brilliance, complete with brilliant lines such as "Did somebody call 91-Holy **** and "You have the right to remain silent, but I wanna hear you scream!". Using a bus to slingshot a car into druggie bad guys and into a store, causing an explosion, now THATS an opening sequence. Martin and Fosse are the rivals of Hoitz and Gamble, leading to a silent fight at a wake with characters whispering insults and momentarily stopping to pay condolences. They also get some killer dialogue, whether its cornering a villian ("I hope you like the taste of prison food...and penis") or talking about their weekend. "So then what happened?" "What do you think happened? I woke up, I took the belt off my neck, got in my car, and got out of there." "Talk about a wild weekend" "I thought I was going to have to shoot my way out, hahahaha ...what are you going to do though, you know ...bar mitzvah's" They have an especially funny scene in a classroom of 10 year olds, which is probably my favourite scene in the film, and their retorts about the coke-covered car were especially funny. Of course, the two main characters get their share of funny dialogue also, whether its Will Ferrells quote about how a tuna would beat a lion in a fight or groaning about how walking away from explosions are BS. Its not just the quotes which are funny about them, as Gamble is revealed to have shot Derek Jeter in a flashback ("He's a bi-racial angel") and Terry gets his gun taken away and given a wooden gun, only to have the wooden gun taken and given a rape whistle. All of the actors play their roles well, (after Planet of the Apes and The Happening, you'll be surprised Mark Whalberg plays a role well) and Steve Coogan definatley does well as the troubled business man. Even the one scene characters like Christinith and her hairy (or not) husband do well when they are showed, even if they provide nothing to the plot but comedic foil. As you can see, I loved a lot about this film. But not everything worked. Bits that didn't work for me? The relationship between Terry and his wife (Eva Mendez) wasn't really funny, it was essentially him saying his hot wife was plain and treated her unspectacularly. Granted, I liked their last scene where he made amends with her and admitted he couldn't believe she was with him, and sending the granny out to relay their dirty messages had me laughing, but the bits before didn't make me laugh. Making Terry a pimp back in college seems to be an idea which is great when you say it out loud, but when executed you seem a little dissapointed. Also, Will Ferrell didn't even convince as a college guy, he just looked like a 40 something man retaking college, but thats a minor niggle. Also, the scene where Allen is jealous over his wife taking ballet with another guy (I assume that was her instructor). Will Ferrell livened up that scene, and Allens good ballet dancing was a laughable surprise, but the rest of the scene just didn't work for me. All in all, this film isn't as good as Anchorman, but it certainly beats the dire Cop-Out. Definately a brilliant action comedy Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
jdrandall38Jul 22, 2011
WOW! This movie is laugh out loud funny throughout. I have seen comedies go dull after the opening 20 minutes but not this one. First off, the funniest character in this movie is the one you wouldn't expect. Mark Wahlberg creates a newWOW! This movie is laugh out loud funny throughout. I have seen comedies go dull after the opening 20 minutes but not this one. First off, the funniest character in this movie is the one you wouldn't expect. Mark Wahlberg creates a new image for himself with "The Other Guys." We have all seen his movies and without a doubt, he has the acting skill, but who knew he was so funny! He will have more comedy roles due to this one, and I am looking forward to seeing them. The story behind "The Other Guys" is kind of dark. How big-time business men rob hard-working americans of their lifetime services just to cover losses. Wahlberg and Farrell are the cops behind-the-scenes who protect us from them, and they are just hilarious while they do so. The Captain's TLC references had me laughing for days and have become punch-lines to almost any joke you can think of. Priceless movie and an instant classic. 10/10 Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
LondonTrueloveNov 10, 2010
Very funny flick. Pretty much what you'd expect out of a cop comedy. Ferrell and Mark Wahlberg deliver. One of the films you can watch over and over.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
madinpaJan 12, 2011
I'll forgo some synopsis of an obvious light-hearted comedy. Ferrell and Wahlberg are very good throughout and Mendez is wonderful eye candy. All I can say is "desk-pop"!
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
TargetF209Feb 28, 2011
McKay and Ferrell have created another comedic treat and whilst it may not be on quite the same level as some previous hits, it's definitely an entertaining and hilarious ride that should be high up the "to-view" list.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
TheCritic1Feb 11, 2012
This film wasn't hilarious, but it was still pretty funny. Will Ferrell is great as the "good cop" and Mark Wahlberg is also great as the jack-ass "bad cop". This film has a good few laugh- out loud moments and its even funny now, and I'veThis film wasn't hilarious, but it was still pretty funny. Will Ferrell is great as the "good cop" and Mark Wahlberg is also great as the jack-ass "bad cop". This film has a good few laugh- out loud moments and its even funny now, and I've seen it three times. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
RFCxDaViDxRFCApr 17, 2011
This movie is an all time classic. I was absoutely hysterical and left in tears by the hilarity of this movie. The combination of the toughness of Mark Wahlberg and the wimpyness and funnyness of Will Ferrell means that this film was aThis movie is an all time classic. I was absoutely hysterical and left in tears by the hilarity of this movie. The combination of the toughness of Mark Wahlberg and the wimpyness and funnyness of Will Ferrell means that this film was a classic from the start. The Other Guys is an absolute gem of a film and should go down in history as one of the funniest films ever created. Well Done. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
Island7Aug 22, 2010
The Other Guys was pretty funny but I had higher expectations. It was good but it could have been much better also.
6 of 7 users found this helpful61
All this user's reviews
9
Campea16Aug 20, 2010
Hands down one of the funniest movies of the summer, if not the year! Ferrell and Wahlberg are a match made in heaven, for their chemistry is spectacular. One of Will Ferrell's funniest movies ever, its up there with Anchorman and TalladegaHands down one of the funniest movies of the summer, if not the year! Ferrell and Wahlberg are a match made in heaven, for their chemistry is spectacular. One of Will Ferrell's funniest movies ever, its up there with Anchorman and Talladega Nights. This movie was so funny that you often miss some of the jokes from laughing at previous ones! Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
8
DarkCriticAug 6, 2010
The Other Guys is the best buddy-cop film of the year and I really like this movie! Will Ferrell & Mark Wahlberg did the best characters that they work each other playing as dectitives that they work terrible with their jobs and they both The Other Guys is the best buddy-cop film of the year and I really like this movie! Will Ferrell & Mark Wahlberg did the best characters that they work each other playing as dectitives that they work terrible with their jobs and they both are hilarious in many ways and they both their own perspective way which they work as their own personalities,like most cops do. This movie will make you laugh and you will enjoy this action comedy film for entire summer! Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful
8
GlennPAug 8, 2010
This was a VERY funny movie. The problem is that it is so intelligently written that it goes over the heads of a lot of the audience. Trust me, if you like intelligent humor, you'll REALLY enjoy this movie.
2 of 3 users found this helpful
8
JularaAug 11, 2010
Adam McKay and Will Ferrell are back with this wacky cop film. They really found magic with Mark Whalberg and Will Ferrell partnering up to take down NYC's baddest and sneakiest criminals. One of the best summer movies this year. I hadAdam McKay and Will Ferrell are back with this wacky cop film. They really found magic with Mark Whalberg and Will Ferrell partnering up to take down NYC's baddest and sneakiest criminals. One of the best summer movies this year. I had such a good time laughing the entire time. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
7
allanjswanAug 11, 2010
It's got some genuine LOL moments, and yes, the last 25 minutes seems rushed and facilitates little more than an end to the fun, but this is probably the first movie starring Ferrell that will make it past a couple of viewings. A good funIt's got some genuine LOL moments, and yes, the last 25 minutes seems rushed and facilitates little more than an end to the fun, but this is probably the first movie starring Ferrell that will make it past a couple of viewings. A good fun romp, and well worth checking out. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
7
walrusgodAug 25, 2010
Definitely exceeded my somewhat meager expectations, The Other Guys manages to be a mostly entertaining movie. The jokes are funny more often than not, and the action is at least decent, if somewhat muddled due to the fast-paced ADD editingDefinitely exceeded my somewhat meager expectations, The Other Guys manages to be a mostly entertaining movie. The jokes are funny more often than not, and the action is at least decent, if somewhat muddled due to the fast-paced ADD editing that makes many modern action movies almost indecipherable. Ferrell and Wahlberg do a good job in the lead roles, although it seemed that most of the entertaining lines actually went to Wahlberg, who might want to stick to comedy after the somewhat dull response that's greeted his recent dramatic work. Overall, a huge step up from recent Ferrell comedies like Semi-Pro, but doesn't break any boundaries and is destined to be remembered as simply "entertaining" and nothing more. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
9
GeneAug 19, 2010
The main comedic style of this movie is to set up standard cop movie stereotypes and situations, and then resolve them in utterly unexpected and/or out of character ways. It may not always make sense, but it's always hilarious.

Also much
The main comedic style of this movie is to set up standard cop movie stereotypes and situations, and then resolve them in utterly unexpected and/or out of character ways. It may not always make sense, but it's always hilarious.

Also much more comedy dense than recent movies, there aren't that many 'slow' parts, and the ones that were there didn't last long. Definitely held interest the entire running time.

-1pt for an incomplete plot. The Wahlberg character just isn't given much of a back story outside of a single high-profile screwup, and too much of the main villain's plot happens offscreen.
Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
Review9Aug 22, 2010
The other guys is a very funny movie. Maybe not will ferell's best but still very funny. It does not have a great story and some parts were just added in for laughs but it was still a very funny movie and personaly i like it.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
valkurySep 22, 2010
O wow this movie was funny. That's just it. It was funny. Also i think more movies are coming out in the future with the same type of opposite actor cast type thing that this movie did(i don't know wat you wana call it). For example, i saw aO wow this movie was funny. That's just it. It was funny. Also i think more movies are coming out in the future with the same type of opposite actor cast type thing that this movie did(i don't know wat you wana call it). For example, i saw a preview of a movie when i went to see the other guys, and it was staring robert downy jr. And the bearded guy from the hangover. So i think were going to see alot more movies like this one. Expand
4 of 7 users found this helpful43
All this user's reviews
9
SeanSAug 8, 2010
Oh god, I laughed so hard watching this with a few friends. Everyone else in the theatre seemed to enjoy it as well, and there were even a few surprising bits of intelligent humour. If you like comedies, go for it--this was fantastic.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
7
JendoS.Aug 6, 2010
Two words to describe this movie: Wasted Cast. Michael Keaton, Dwayne Johnson and Sam Jackson saved it, but it wasn't enough. It didn't feel like Classic Ferrall comedy.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
7
NathanP.Aug 7, 2010
I'm not going to sit here and say The Other Guys is the best movie of the year, but it may very well be the best comedy of this summer. Will Ferrell makes a great comeback after a few bad roles and production choices (The Goods, Land of I'm not going to sit here and say The Other Guys is the best movie of the year, but it may very well be the best comedy of this summer. Will Ferrell makes a great comeback after a few bad roles and production choices (The Goods, Land of the Lost). Mark Wahlberg finds new life as a comedic actor and the summer of surprise funny men continues as Michael Keaton gives a solid supporting performance. My two complaints would be that 1) The 1st half was funnier than the 2nd 2) This movie could've done with some more editing, clocking in just at 2 hours in length Overall though, hilarious from start to finish, if Cop Out left a bad taste in your mouth for buddy cop comedies, The Other Guys will surely help you rinse that right out. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
8
WallyHAug 8, 2010
very funny my son and I were laughing al the way home!
1 of 2 users found this helpful
10
RobPAug 8, 2010
Another classic comedic film starring Will Ferrell. Mark Wahlberg, known for starring in dramas, shows that serious actors can also be hilarious. The supporting cast is excellent as well, including Michael Keaton, Samuel L. Jackson, and The Another classic comedic film starring Will Ferrell. Mark Wahlberg, known for starring in dramas, shows that serious actors can also be hilarious. The supporting cast is excellent as well, including Michael Keaton, Samuel L. Jackson, and The Rock. A must see film for the summer. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
8
JamesHAug 7, 2010
Lots of laughs, some really hilarious asides. A little uneven in the second half but some great stuff.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
8
NoahF.Aug 7, 2010
I think this show is great, and has even more potential. Although I can see why the market is less infatuated, for example my wife usually has the same tastes as me but didn't for this series. It seems to be a guy thing but I love it. I think this show is great, and has even more potential. Although I can see why the market is less infatuated, for example my wife usually has the same tastes as me but didn't for this series. It seems to be a guy thing but I love it. It's a very fresh, raw, and fun time for me that isn't too light (like Psych, or Eureka might be). That's why I enjoy this. It's tough, and at the same time fun. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
9
JBAug 8, 2010
Wow, stop bitching. For the people who gave this a bad review, seriously, they probably went in saying "Im going to go out of my way here to go into a movie with an actor i do not like, just so i can complain to everyone else afterward how I Wow, stop bitching. For the people who gave this a bad review, seriously, they probably went in saying "Im going to go out of my way here to go into a movie with an actor i do not like, just so i can complain to everyone else afterward how I hated it." You knew what you were going to get, and if you don't like his movies, then please do us a favour and don't see them. Also, giving it a zero makes no sense at all. If you're going to give it a zero, then you should give the dozens of movies released this summer that were worse a score in the negatives. Otherwise this was a funny movie, and I recommend it if you enjoyed Talledega Nights or Anchorman. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
7
AaronGAug 9, 2010
It's not amazing, but it's definitely a fun movie. Plot is dumb,but the jokes deliver.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
8
CirticsarewaytoocriticalAug 9, 2010
You know what? There is one twist in this movie that will kick your ass! It is so hilarious, crazy, silly and awesome that you won't believe what happened. Fairly funny all the way through, The whole theater I was in, laughing through You know what? There is one twist in this movie that will kick your ass! It is so hilarious, crazy, silly and awesome that you won't believe what happened. Fairly funny all the way through, The whole theater I was in, laughing through the whole movie. Whalburgs anger, and Farrels straight guy pimp turn really add a little something missing in these movies. The best treat though, Micheal Keaton. Soooo funny. Woulda given the movie a 9 but it beats you to death with an ignorant and irrelevant "lets all hate wall street" vibe that gets annoying, especially at the end. Gonna be a great movie to have around on Blu ray, kind of like Taladega nights, anchorman, dumb and dumber, etc for those sick, or rainy days. I gotta admit, I think I am over Farrels Shtick, I find he is quite a bit better when he reduces his persona... but he redeemed himself in this one. Maybe we can get a sequel with Andy Samburg as Marky Marks evil twin, that would be epic. "... hey dog, you're a dog, what's that about? Say Hi to your mother for me!" bahahaha awesome. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
10
MarkStringer96Oct 16, 2010
I went to see this film with low expectations but from the off there are just laughs after laughs after laughs. This film is a truly good film which you will remember for years to come.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
LeoTs3181983Sep 4, 2010
The Other Guys is a great movie. However it resembles the TV police reality show COPS more than a TV mystery series or a detective movie. See it at your own risk.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
AcropolisSep 15, 2010
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It was pretty funny. Some parts had my girlfriend and I cracking up, which is noteworthy, since she doesn't find stupidity funny. In other words, the movie was not stupid. It was mostly pretty funny (although a joke or two can be ruined by the seriousness of the situation). The Other Guys served its purpose well. There was just one misstep. We didn't understand the story. And we are both highly intelligent. I know I'm putting that assertion on the line, when I admit this, but I don't know HOW a company can cover their losses using the state lottery. And I have no idea how someone can steal a cop's pension. So we were in the dark when it came to a majority of the story, which is honestly pretty irritating. Regardless, It's funny. The characters work well together and some funny dialogue happens. See this movie if you have a desire to laugh (and preferably extensive knowledge of finances.) Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
7
Forrestgump1Oct 9, 2010
"The Other Guys is a rambunctious comedy that shows us the buddy-cop genre is not dead. I feel the talents here were wasted at times , Also that it did drag on , I did laugh here and there at this PG13 rated satire so i enjoyed the film in"The Other Guys is a rambunctious comedy that shows us the buddy-cop genre is not dead. I feel the talents here were wasted at times , Also that it did drag on , I did laugh here and there at this PG13 rated satire so i enjoyed the film in moderation" .. B Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
nutterjrJan 18, 2011
Even though the last part seemed to run out of steam, there was enough positive energy in most of the film that it leaves you with a sweet taste in your mouth.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
haychrisJan 1, 2011
I have never been compelled to write a review before."the other guys" movie review is on true emotion. This movie from the first 5 minutes made me physically sick. I felt like literally vomiting and just sitting in it completely shocked atI have never been compelled to write a review before."the other guys" movie review is on true emotion. This movie from the first 5 minutes made me physically sick. I felt like literally vomiting and just sitting in it completely shocked at what I had to just edure. the other guys was by far the most tragic piece of rotting garbage ever able to weasal its way to the big screen. I have never felt the urge to 100% despise whoever is allowed to have authority to direct something this shockingly apauling and revolting.

For those of you who did not make it through highschool i understand how you can rate this above a 0, for the other guys, lol, who gave reviews above 5, I am seriously concerned and scared for the phisical well being of your brains. I honestly may start going to church now just to pray for the sickness you must be going through everyday of your lives. Please ask for help, thats what its there for .

When actors of this magnitude are allowed to "join forces" to co-create a "masterpiece" such as this , we as a society need to be ashamed we fund hideous movies that make us all a little "or alot" dumber.

Let me save you the 2 hours you may actually make it through this disaster and realize when you come out of your stupidity induced coma that you are still alive and breathing. I hope this helps and I wish everyone a great new year!

ps. I am writing this review 20 minutes into the movie in a horrific and vengeful rage. Please understand I only rented this as there was nothing left in redbox and I am ashamed and embarassed I did. Please dont waste your 99cents at the redbox a you are better off getting a mcdouble, you will get more meaning out of that!
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
imthenoobJan 24, 2012
The film is hilarious through out and its definently one of the better comedies to come out in 2010. Ferrell and Wahlberg make a great team and I hope they make a sequel to this.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
aggiefanatic95Feb 6, 2012
This is my favorite movie of all time. I liked shows like Psych and the Good Guys which are like this. There are so many quotes from this movie which makes it great.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
AlanGAug 6, 2010
Frigggin hilarious!! I love it!!
1 of 3 users found this helpful
9
aabender002Aug 11, 2010
This is the funniest and most creative film that Adam McKay has put out since 'Anchorman', and I don't mean that as a bash to all the films in between them.
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
7
ShiiraAug 12, 2010
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Just like Thelma and Louise, who drove their 1964 Ford Convertible into the Grand Canyon, Highsmith(Samuel L. Jackson) and Danson(Dwayne Johnson) commit suicide, when the former says, "Aim for the bushes," just before they plunge to their deaths from a high building. It's an inside joke; they can't aim for the "bushes" anymore. It's Highsmith who says, "All the sex we don't have with women but we have to," at a press conference celebrating their latest heroics. Highsmith's bragging, a self-homage to he and his partner's legendary cocksmanship with the ladies, also has a double meaning, which becomes self-evident after their shocking demise. The reckless abandon that both men had brought to their pursuing of the drug dealers at the film's outset, now looks less like bravery, and more like a death wish. Homoeroticism, after all, is an open secret when "buddy movies" are concerned, but normally, such bromance innuendos are relegated to the subtext, a laughing matter. But the machismo of Highsmith and Danson seems so excessive, so flamboyantly straight, their virility quickly turns into burlesque. Played for laughs, "The Other Guys", on one level, satirizes every action film in which the hero seems impervious to bodily harm, regardless of the circumstances. Highsmith and Danson, surely, will land on their feet, like cats with nine lives, no matter what they do. On another level, "The Other Guys" has a subtextual level that rises(the very instant when both cops jump and have no place to land) and intertwines itself with the surface of the official narrative, in which the fall then transforms itself into a lovers' leap, so the tragedy of closeted ladies' men who live up to the "Shaft" myth stealthily exists alongside the parodic intent to lampoon the hyper-masculinity of heterosexual men with guns. On the other hand, the other guys, in particular, Allen(Will Ferrell), is straight, even though he pushes paper and carries around a wooden gun. When his partner Terry(Mark Wahlberg) doubts his heterosexuality, Allen pistol-whips him on the nose. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
9
LoganMAug 21, 2010
This is the funniest movie hands down. Adam Mckay did a fantastic job on directing. Will and Mark were so funny together, and the screenplay was great. By far the best film of the year.
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
9
PeterAAug 7, 2010
Kind of stupid in its humor, but funny none the less.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
8
kenDAug 9, 2010
I laughed along with the rest of the audience. A great team up putting Will Ferell and to my surprise Mark Whlberg. I didn't think it was going as good as it was. It's on of my "To buy" when it hits DVD list!
0 of 2 users found this helpful
7
ChadS.Aug 7, 2010
Just like Thelma and Louise, who drove their 1964 Ford convertible into the Grand Canyon, Highsmith(Samuel L. Jackson) and Danson(Dwayne Johnson), arguably, commit suicide, when the black half of the ambiguously gay duo says, "Aim for the Just like Thelma and Louise, who drove their 1964 Ford convertible into the Grand Canyon, Highsmith(Samuel L. Jackson) and Danson(Dwayne Johnson), arguably, commit suicide, when the black half of the ambiguously gay duo says, "Aim for the bushes," before they plunge to their deaths from a high building. It's an inside joke; they can't aim for the "bushes" anymore. It's Highsmith who says, "All the sex we don't want to have with women but we have to," at a press conference celebrating their latest heroics, in which the supercops had pursued drug dealers with a reckless abandon that could be deciphered as both men having serious death wishes. Highsmith's comment has a double meaning; it hints at a secret. Homoeroticism, after all. is an open secret when "buddy movies" are concerned, but normally, such bromance innuendos are relegated to the subtext, a laughing matter. The machismo of the "guys", however, in this case, seems so excessive, their virility turns into burlesque. Played for laughs, the pivotal moment in "The Other Guys", on one level, satirizes every action movie where the hero seems impervious to bodily harm, regardless of the circumstances, usually dangerous; but on another level, this second-tier narrative suddenly becomes intertwined with the filmic surface, the very instant when Highsmith and Danson meet their untimely demise. The fall transforms itself into a lovers' leap and surpasses the film's parodic intent to lampoon the hyper-masculinity of men with guns. On the other hand, Allen(Will Ferrell), the wimp, the wuss, is ironically straight, even though he pushes paper and carries a wooden gun. When his partner Terry(Mark Wahlberg) doubts his manhood, Allen pistol-whips him on the nose. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
10
brianAug 8, 2010
Great chemistry between Ferrell and Wahlberg. And Ferrell is on top of his game!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
Bullet97Mar 20, 2011
The Other Guys is a very funny, very well-acted, well-directed, and action-packed comedy that redeems Will Ferrell for Step Brothers. And it also redeems Marky Mark for Max Payne and the Happening.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
ESS180Nov 14, 2010
I liked it, it was actually a refreshing film.
There were some funny moments in the movie, Mark Wahlberg and Will Ferrell did a hilarious job.
SPOILERS!!!! The part that made me laugh my head off is when they do good cop bad cop but
I liked it, it was actually a refreshing film.
There were some funny moments in the movie, Mark Wahlberg and Will Ferrell did a hilarious job.

SPOILERS!!!!

The part that made me laugh my head off is when they do good cop bad cop but Will does bad cop bad cop I was laughing so hard I was like crying! Great movie
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
TheQuietGamerMar 10, 2011
This isn't your basic buddy cop movie, with a surprisingly deep plot, and moments that will have you rolling on the floor, of course we expected Will Farrel to be a socially awkward person, but his partner really compliments him not becauseThis isn't your basic buddy cop movie, with a surprisingly deep plot, and moments that will have you rolling on the floor, of course we expected Will Farrel to be a socially awkward person, but his partner really compliments him not because he's a complete opposite, but because he's not the most mentally stable person either, in my eyes Will Farrel has finally redeemed himself in my eyes. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
HalfwelshmanOct 3, 2011
As we've come to expect from an Adam McKay film, The Other Guys is thoroughly ridiculous and extremely funny. Part satire, part sitcom and part surreal action-comedy, it's a strange combination, but McKay somehow manages to get the balanceAs we've come to expect from an Adam McKay film, The Other Guys is thoroughly ridiculous and extremely funny. Part satire, part sitcom and part surreal action-comedy, it's a strange combination, but McKay somehow manages to get the balance just right. It's not as original as Anchorman, but also not as goofy and odd as Talledega Nights - it's probably McKay's most accessible and easy to enjoy film. While Ferrell's performance is far from his best (though by no means bad), the screen is dominated by a captivating comedy performance by Michael Keaton in his best role since Jackie Brown. Wahlberg also impresses, and his role as an under-appreciated and short-tempered detective gives him plenty to sink his teeth into. However, quite what Steve Coogan and Ray Stevenson (with bad Australian accent) are doing in the film at all is beyond me. There are some good jokes and some nice pop-culture references, and as a whole the film is very entertaining, even if it goes on for a bit too long and the plot meanders towards the end. McKay may never top Anchorman, but The Other Guys comes pretty close. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
alexandergreenSep 4, 2011
As usual with Ferrell/McKay productions, there are scenes that you can tell are obviously full of improvised dialogue. This may not be one of Ferrell's best, but it's certainly very funny. It is rude, bizarre, and the best cop action parodyAs usual with Ferrell/McKay productions, there are scenes that you can tell are obviously full of improvised dialogue. This may not be one of Ferrell's best, but it's certainly very funny. It is rude, bizarre, and the best cop action parody since Hot Fuzz. Mark Wahlberg also impresses with his comedic turn. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ZilcellMay 26, 2012
The Other Guys takes advantage of its buddy cop theme much better than Cop Out did. Its much funnier and the characters are much more likeable.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
DevoutestDoorNov 10, 2011
Great movie. I couldn't stop laughing when Will Farrel shouted, "I'm gonna make you eat a plate of human sh*t!!!!" It does need some improvements because some parts are kinda stupid. But overall, it's great.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
StevenFMay 31, 2013
The Other Guys relies on the viewer to understand a particular type of comedy, while also being filmed as a homage to older crime drapers on film and TV, and the actors involved make this one of the best comedies in the last few years.
That
The Other Guys relies on the viewer to understand a particular type of comedy, while also being filmed as a homage to older crime drapers on film and TV, and the actors involved make this one of the best comedies in the last few years.
That cast includes the ever expanding filmography of Will Ferrell, with his slow delivered wit and improvisation skills at their best, the surprisingly hilarious comedy of Mark Whalberg and the legendary Michael Keaton, a cast that prove time and time again that comedy doesn't have to stem entirely from sexual endeavours and crude delivery.
Ferrell and Whalberg play the titled characters Allen Gamble and Terry Hoitz, desk jockeys within NYPD, Allen is content with pleasing everyone, no toe treading, Hoitz on the other hand wants the thrill of the chase, and from there the film does play out predictably, but not without its wonderful one-liners, hilarious and over the top occurrences that simply get better and better. When they unknowingly happen upon a massive Ponzi scheme that reveals more information that they wanted in the first place.
The array of pop culture references and Hoitz's comparisons to Allen's feline nature are side-splitting ("When you pee in the urinal, it sounds feminine"). Don't worry, the film is full of them.
Where the film differentiates from the pack is its continuation of jokes, they don't stop at the punchline but instead progress it brilliantly into the story, where everything is topsy turvy, Ferrell is the unintentional ladies man, with the gorgeous wife Sheila (Eva Mendes) who he treats as ordinary, this runs as a continuous joke throughout the film, the film just fluidly runs well by its own ridiculous nature.
The true distraction is the backdrop of a Ponzi scheme, quite a serious matter, but this is painted clearer through the hapless leads.
This is the true comedy of the film, as Whalberg and Ferrell make an undeniably brilliant comedic duo, as if they truly do sit in a bar and discuss these things in reality. It has plenty of heart and of course exaggerated characters, which pokes fun at many other sob story films, but ultimately comes out on top from a strong cast, including small roles from Dwayne "The Rock" Johnson and Samuel L. Jackson.
The characters make this film what it is, with a callback to similar genre films that make this an undeniable hit.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
spadenxDec 19, 2011
I was suprised that it was as good as it was. Wahlberg is definently a good fit with Ferrell and they make a great comedy duo. Its an enjoyable comedy and well worth watching.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
AutiTakahashiJun 25, 2012
Only in a film by Adam McKay will you see scenes involving cubicle flute-playing, willful self-stabbing, and testicle drum-rubbing portrayed with such passion. And only a man named Will Ferrell will do all these acts just because he can. TheOnly in a film by Adam McKay will you see scenes involving cubicle flute-playing, willful self-stabbing, and testicle drum-rubbing portrayed with such passion. And only a man named Will Ferrell will do all these acts just because he can. The Other Guys succeeds in further extending McKay's and Ferrell's track record for being the most haphazardly ambitious comedians in Hollywood.

A quarter pound of illegal drugs needs to be recovered, and twelve million dollars worth of property damage later, they are recovered. No thanks are due to New York City's **** detectives Danson and Highsmith, who are uproariously played by Dwayne Johnson and Samuel L. Jackson. But they are not what this movie is about. Living beneath, far beneath their shadows are Allen Gamble and Terry Hoitz.

Read more here: http://localmoviereview.com/the-other-guys/
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
RealMuthaFJan 27, 2013
A nice mix of a buddy cop movie with a comedy, The Other Guys has hilarious characters and dialogues and admirable action scenes. Not the best comedy ever, but it still offers plenty of laughs.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
SpangleMay 14, 2016
A riotously funny comedy from director Adam McKay, The Other Guys features solid comedic performances from both Will Farrell and Mark Wahlberg here, as well as a very strong supporting cast, especially Steve Coogan. Strongly written and aA riotously funny comedy from director Adam McKay, The Other Guys features solid comedic performances from both Will Farrell and Mark Wahlberg here, as well as a very strong supporting cast, especially Steve Coogan. Strongly written and a good blend between humor and plot, The Other Guys is actually a pretty interesting comment on the financial crises of the 2000s while being an appropriately funny police comedy. Considered a parody of buddy cop films, you can certainly see that element here as it frequently mocks those types of films, while also being a great comment on masculinity. As a whole, The Other Guys is a thoroughly hysterical film that entertains from beginning to end without stopping. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
cameronmorewoodNov 7, 2012
Another very funny collaboration between Will Ferrel and Adam McKay. I look forward to their next film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Compi24Nov 28, 2012
Fairly entertaining, but slightly confusing comedy that's isn't quite sure what it wants to be. Though, in the end, "The Other Guys" proves to be a worthy addition to Will Ferrel's repertoire.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
TrilobiteGNov 11, 2015
A well thought out, well timed, action packed hilarious comedy coming from the extraordinary minds of Will Ferrell And Mark Whalberg. One of the funniest films I have ever seen, the best buddy cop movie I've ever seen. Exuding Genius.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
molemaster43Apr 6, 2013
I will admit that I am not a fan of Will Ferrell whatsoever. I feel that his movies come off as stupid and tasteless. However, I felt that Will Ferrell, in this movie, meshes very well with Mark Wahlberg to create an incredibly funny comedyI will admit that I am not a fan of Will Ferrell whatsoever. I feel that his movies come off as stupid and tasteless. However, I felt that Will Ferrell, in this movie, meshes very well with Mark Wahlberg to create an incredibly funny comedy duo. Their character mesh so well together, as Will is an easy going guy who doesn't like intensity, but Mark is a cop who wants fame and will do anything to get it. These guys are great. However, they aren't the only characters that shine. Even though they do not appear for that long in the movie, the Rock and Samuel L. Jackson are hilarious together. This is a very funny movie with an interesting plot that I recommend you check out. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
ExKingApr 8, 2013
the other guys is a great comedy movie i loved the jokes and the scripts so much that i have seen it 10 times until now and i still find it funny it's really amusing to see Mark Wahlberg in a comedy movie it's proves that he can do muchthe other guys is a great comedy movie i loved the jokes and the scripts so much that i have seen it 10 times until now and i still find it funny it's really amusing to see Mark Wahlberg in a comedy movie it's proves that he can do much better every time and Will Ferrell was funny as usual people were arguing that the jokes was half-funny and the movie wasn't full with comedy i didn't feel all that however i saw the movie bloopers and somehow they had a lot of jokes that didn't work out so they removed it from the Blue ray version so i think that the producer didn't push them into these scenes however this might be the reason why the movie is funny. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
chepod8Jun 14, 2015
Es uno de esos proyectos de gran presupuesto y gran reparto que funciona de una manera tan extraña a pesar de ir a más a menos y de que las bromas la mayoría son en sentido figurado.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
FranzHcriticOct 16, 2014
An irreverent that dishes out as mush as it can about the NYPD. Will Ferrell and Mark Wahlberg have a fast-paced yet charming chemistry. And the movie was just a laugh riot is as much as I can say about 'The Other Guys'. I look forward to the sequel.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
TeeeApr 30, 2014
This film is hilarious, I have seen it so many times. Mark Wahlberg is outstanding as the straight guy to Will Ferrell. The fact that Dwayne Johnson and Samuel L Jackson are in the film but not the main stars is brilliant and I will nowThis film is hilarious, I have seen it so many times. Mark Wahlberg is outstanding as the straight guy to Will Ferrell. The fact that Dwayne Johnson and Samuel L Jackson are in the film but not the main stars is brilliant and I will now never look at the Toyota Prius the same!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
MovieGuysMar 9, 2014
The Other Guys is downright hilarious at points, sometimes overstaying its welcome. It's entertaining, but sometimes stupid. It's story is fresh, but sometimes a little dry.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
PvtJacksonJan 19, 2014
This is a comedy movie worth spending time on. It's so funny that you surely can't take your eyes off the screen once you start to watch - mainly thanks to the assured comic chemistry between Will Ferrell and Mark Wahlberg.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
XavierBlaqDec 28, 2013
The Other Guys is not a film that will be included on any "Best Movie Ever" lists anytime soon, but that does not mean that this action comedy is not good at what it tries to do. Very similar to other Will Ferrell films like Anchorman: TheThe Other Guys is not a film that will be included on any "Best Movie Ever" lists anytime soon, but that does not mean that this action comedy is not good at what it tries to do. Very similar to other Will Ferrell films like Anchorman: The Legend of Ron Burgundy, The Other Guys revels in over-the-top ridiculousness, but manages to come across as a well put together film at the same time. Honestly though, this movie would not even be half as good if anyone had been cast instead of Will Ferrell and Mark Wahlberg. My only complaint is that the crude humor can get a little overwhelming at times, but this never breaks the rhythm of this great comedy that deserves far more praise than it gets. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
IsayithowitisDec 31, 2013
This was a very funny movie. Mark wahlburg was very funny. It was a fun movie, and came at a time when will Farrell's humor wasn't yet tiresome. Some classic jokes.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
TheBunnyOfDoomJan 14, 2014
One of the funniest movies I've seen in years. Watched it a few times and burst out laughing every time. But it's not a "universally funny" movie. You need to enjoy non-sequiturs, and enjoy being blindsided by unpredictable humor - if youOne of the funniest movies I've seen in years. Watched it a few times and burst out laughing every time. But it's not a "universally funny" movie. You need to enjoy non-sequiturs, and enjoy being blindsided by unpredictable humor - if you don't, you wont understand why its funny. If you're expecting Anchorman (or Taladega Nights, which I hated), dont - this is nothing like it. Those relied on obvious humor, this relies on the unexpected - it relies on you thinking one thing and it presents another. Its a pretty polarizing movie - in the same cinema, some people were rolling around their seats laughing, while others were looking at them wondering what they were laughing at. Similarly, the reviews here are mostly either very positive or very negative. If you *need* obvious linear gags, you will not like this.

By far one of my favorite comedies and well worth a rewatch, but definitely not for everyone.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
heeldavidDec 15, 2014
Ferrell and Wahlberg were Hill & Tatum before there even was a Hill and Tatum. The chemistry between those two is amazing. The dialogue is just so funny as well
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Meth-dudeNov 20, 2014
That movie is really good.Will Ferrell is hilarious and Mark Wahlberg is…well he's Mark Wahlberg.The characters are some massive stereotypes but the movie is not predictable and there is some really good action scenes.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
97criticApr 26, 2015
Another work by McKay and Ferrell it's funny in almost all plots and a little action it is a funny buddy cop.it is one movie that you should watch and enjoy.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
oursmenusierSep 11, 2015
I really like this movie.
It's totally funny, but NOT overfilled with jokes.
The film isn't too realistic, but also not completely unrealistic.
I recommend this movie with some friends and a big bowl of popcorn or crisps ;)
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews