Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 35 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 357 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: ,
  • Summary: Two mismatched New York City detectives seize an opportunity to step up like the city's top cops whom they idolize -- only things don't quite go as planned.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 35
  2. Negative: 0 out of 35
  1. It's a comedy of manhood for the age of emasculation.
  2. 83
    This summer's funniest movie.
  3. 75
    So hilarious that even longtime Ferrell haters (me) can't resist it.
  4. For the most part, The Other Guys is seriously silly stuff, in the best sense.
  5. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    63
    Like a padded "Saturday Night Live" sketch. What would have been very funny for 15 minutes, and pretty funny for 45, doesn't maintain the standard over the course of a feature-length film.
  6. Wahlberg is surprisingly committed to the ridiculousness.
  7. 50
    Following the clues, The Other Guys turns more hectic than antic, and somebody didn't pack enough comedy for this long trip.

See all 35 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 80 out of 124
  2. Negative: 24 out of 124
  1. Sep 22, 2010
    10
    O wow this movie was funny. That's just it. It was funny. Also i think more movies are coming out in the future with the same type of oppositeO wow this movie was funny. That's just it. It was funny. Also i think more movies are coming out in the future with the same type of opposite actor cast type thing that this movie did(i don't know wat you wana call it). For example, i saw a preview of a movie when i went to see the other guys, and it was staring robert downy jr. And the bearded guy from the hangover. So i think were going to see alot more movies like this one. Expand
  2. Aug 19, 2010
    9
    The main comedic style of this movie is to set up standard cop movie stereotypes and situations, and then resolve them in utterly unexpectedThe main comedic style of this movie is to set up standard cop movie stereotypes and situations, and then resolve them in utterly unexpected and/or out of character ways. It may not always make sense, but it's always hilarious.

    Also much more comedy dense than recent movies, there aren't that many 'slow' parts, and the ones that were there didn't last long. Definitely held interest the entire running time.

    -1pt for an incomplete plot. The Wahlberg character just isn't given much of a back story outside of a single high-profile screwup, and too much of the main villain's plot happens offscreen.
    Expand
  3. Aug 11, 2010
    8
    Adam McKay and Will Ferrell are back with this wacky cop film. They really found magic with Mark Whalberg and Will Ferrell partnering up toAdam McKay and Will Ferrell are back with this wacky cop film. They really found magic with Mark Whalberg and Will Ferrell partnering up to take down NYC's baddest and sneakiest criminals. One of the best summer movies this year. I had such a good time laughing the entire time. Expand
  4. Apr 8, 2013
    7
    the other guys is a great comedy movie i loved the jokes and the scripts so much that i have seen it 10 times until now and i still find itthe other guys is a great comedy movie i loved the jokes and the scripts so much that i have seen it 10 times until now and i still find it funny it's really amusing to see Mark Wahlberg in a comedy movie it's proves that he can do much better every time and Will Ferrell was funny as usual people were arguing that the jokes was half-funny and the movie wasn't full with comedy i didn't feel all that however i saw the movie bloopers and somehow they had a lot of jokes that didn't work out so they removed it from the Blue ray version so i think that the producer didn't push them into these scenes however this might be the reason why the movie is funny. Expand
  5. Mar 19, 2014
    6
    This movie has a strong start with laugh after laugh but it cannot contain this for the second half of the film. Mark Wahlberg and WillThis movie has a strong start with laugh after laugh but it cannot contain this for the second half of the film. Mark Wahlberg and Will Ferrell are great together and some of their arguments are going to be classics in our generations movie history (tuna vs lion). I give this movie a 64.9 out of 100. Expand
  6. Dec 4, 2010
    5
    While the movie contains cheap laughs and ridiculous jokes, it has a surprisingly nice collaboration between Will Ferrell and Mark Wahlberg.While the movie contains cheap laughs and ridiculous jokes, it has a surprisingly nice collaboration between Will Ferrell and Mark Wahlberg. Usually a cop buddy comedy falls short on comedy and fall out on gags, but this is actually a nice movie that you can enjoy your evening with. Expand
  7. Jan 26, 2011
    0
    This is a terrible movie. Do yourself a favor and don't waste your time. It gets mediocre reviews only because Will Ferrell and MarkThis is a terrible movie. Do yourself a favor and don't waste your time. It gets mediocre reviews only because Will Ferrell and Mark Wahlberg are in it, but they're pretty lousy too. Expand

See all 124 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Will Ferrell and Mark Wahlberg: All Films Considered

    Will Ferrell and Mark Wahlberg: All Films Considered Image
    Published: August 3, 2010
    The co-stars of this week's "The Other Guys" are hoping that the new action-comedy breaks them out of a slump. We look at the best and worst films of their careers to date.